Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: December 18, 2009
7.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 3021 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
2,162
Mixed:
445
Negative:
414
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
TheQuietGamerMar 9, 2011
I honestly don't understand all the hype behind this, the story never really grabbed me and the characters weren't interesting, however I will give them credit for creating a unique alien movie as opposed to every aliens are invading movieI honestly don't understand all the hype behind this, the story never really grabbed me and the characters weren't interesting, however I will give them credit for creating a unique alien movie as opposed to every aliens are invading movie that has been done over and over again, but it's still not that great, an ok movie from beginning to end. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
Meth-dudeMay 17, 2015
The special effects were amazing but the acting performances and the length of the film are the week spots.Sam Worthington tries but he is not good enough to be the main character.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
cameronmorewoodNov 8, 2012
A great vision, with more than excellent visual effects, some of the best I've ever seen in fact. Despite this, the film drones on for the last hour with battle sequences. If you're not a hardcore sci-fi action fan, it'll put you to sleep.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
Trev29Sep 3, 2012
The movie wasn't half bad, but the visuals were about the only thing it could conger up. Script and acting were below par completely and the movie seemed too cliche.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
RayzorMooseNov 15, 2013
Avatar collides.
With absolutely fantastic special effects and an okay script, Avatar succeeds with blazing success. Good acting, fair dialogue, and astounding visuals. The plot holes are prevalent, but the movie itself is with good execution.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
RikiegeFeb 15, 2013
The movie is good, but not so good for me. The film serves only to see it once and then forget about it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
DanBurritoSep 19, 2015
Avatar is a visual treat. But that's the only good thing I can say about it. The world of Pandora is a beautifully rendered world that's so brilliant looking you wish the movie's story was that good. But it's not. We've seen the entire movieAvatar is a visual treat. But that's the only good thing I can say about it. The world of Pandora is a beautifully rendered world that's so brilliant looking you wish the movie's story was that good. But it's not. We've seen the entire movie before- Dances with Wolves, Pocahontas, etc. I don't get why you'll pan some movies for being "great to look at but the story wasn't very good" when you acclaimed this despite having the same problem. The film just tries too hard to be smart but the only reason to watch it is to look at the pretty colours. Seriously, is this REALLY the same guy who made Terminator? Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
MovieManiac83Apr 24, 2015
When his twin brother is killed, disabled ex-Marine Jake Sully is recruited to aid a mining expedition on the distant jungle moon of Pandora as only his DNA will bond with the alien hybrid body, known as an Avatar, that allows humans toWhen his twin brother is killed, disabled ex-Marine Jake Sully is recruited to aid a mining expedition on the distant jungle moon of Pandora as only his DNA will bond with the alien hybrid body, known as an Avatar, that allows humans to breathe the toxic air. With orders to infiltrate the Na’vi, Jake finds himself falling in love with native girl, Neytiri, and complications soon ensue…

Cameron seamlessly melds live action, computer-generated animation and 3-D technology. The motion-capture technique that dazzled in Lord of the Rings reaches a new level of proficiency, enabling more nuance in facial expressions.

But for much of the movie, that hardly matters. The scenes in Pandora — a planet with an Earth-like environment — are so breathtaking that the narrative seems almost beside the point.

An epic battle to drive the Na'vi from their land tests Jake's allegiance. At nearly three hours, the movie grows sluggish, especially during the protracted battle scene.

Overrated but enjoyable.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
bfoore90Mar 6, 2017
Once you get past the enriched environments, brilliant use of CGI and 3D filming, you find that Avatar is a so-so film that is essentially "Pocahontas" in space with blue aliens and marines instead of Indians and pilgrims.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
FilmVirtueMar 12, 2014
Like most of James movies, you can expect scenes of amazing animation and believable plots, but Avatar for me was one of the more boring films by Cameron. I know lots of people would disagree, but I expect that, but to be far I also expectedLike most of James movies, you can expect scenes of amazing animation and believable plots, but Avatar for me was one of the more boring films by Cameron. I know lots of people would disagree, but I expect that, but to be far I also expected more from the movie itself. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
moonman1994Feb 10, 2013
Climatically beautiful, masterful use of 3D and amazing use of colors, and great computer animation. These aspects are the highlight of the film. If you get the opportunity to see Avatar on a movie theater screen then it is a must see due toClimatically beautiful, masterful use of 3D and amazing use of colors, and great computer animation. These aspects are the highlight of the film. If you get the opportunity to see Avatar on a movie theater screen then it is a must see due to it's brilliance on the big screen. However on the small screen much of this brilliance is less in the forefront and this allows you to see through how pretty it is and see how the story is really lacking. Avatar's story line is an unoriginal mishmash of different movies filled with uninspiring characters. Yes this movie will awe you with it's visual effects but if you're looking for a movie with a deep story Avatar is not it. the acting all an all was good and the story was not lacking at any fault of the actors. This movie is a typical James Cameron spectacle with little more than pretty scenery. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
dev92Aug 25, 2012
The idea for the story and technology used to produce this film are both fantastic. However, it just becomes too boring and too predictable extremely quickly. The characters are so generic and the fact that it gets so much praise isThe idea for the story and technology used to produce this film are both fantastic. However, it just becomes too boring and too predictable extremely quickly. The characters are so generic and the fact that it gets so much praise is indicative of the way movie critics are now-a-days. It wasn't a poor film but it isn't one of the best films ever. It was simply a good film as most of them are. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
4
TheWalrus2000Mar 9, 2013
Truly Avatar was a mastermind. Was. Cameron gives the plot too many things to keep up with, not only that but it gives you an unpleasing run time that will leave you bored till the end. Now for the people who disageree with me and say its anTruly Avatar was a mastermind. Was. Cameron gives the plot too many things to keep up with, not only that but it gives you an unpleasing run time that will leave you bored till the end. Now for the people who disageree with me and say its an all time epic film your wrong. Watch it again and you'll realize how boring and forgettable the last battle of the movie was. So overall, this was a very exhausting film to watch. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
BarneyOnMTJan 5, 2016
WHAT I LIKED: A great and genuinely original idea for a big blockbuster - 'Avatar' succeeds on many levels. It explores some serious themes whilst still making you connect with the characters thanks to great acting and development. It's alsoWHAT I LIKED: A great and genuinely original idea for a big blockbuster - 'Avatar' succeeds on many levels. It explores some serious themes whilst still making you connect with the characters thanks to great acting and development. It's also visually stunning, being one of the rare films that aesthetically just makes all moviegoers very impressed
WHAT I DIDN'T LIKE: It's very long: too long for family viewing with younger children and almost too long even for adults - you feel like parts could have been cut without detrementing the overall experience. 'Avatar' is also quite confusing for first watching, but this length stops you from wanting to watch it twice.
VERDICT: A very impressive fleshed out but dragged out piece of film making from Cameron.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Viper8787Apr 21, 2014
In my opinion one of the most overrated movie of all time. The run time was almost 3 hours and there weren't enough entertaining scenes to keep me into it the whole time at all. I also though it took a little while to get going. And even theIn my opinion one of the most overrated movie of all time. The run time was almost 3 hours and there weren't enough entertaining scenes to keep me into it the whole time at all. I also though it took a little while to get going. And even the action scenes were below par to my standards not awful by any means but not as good as everyone says or as I had hoped for. The one thing it had for it was great visual effects and that is why it even gets up to 5 out of 10 for me. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
aaronpaul121May 25, 2012
The visual effects are fantastic but there are certain points in the film that the characters are a little over-the-top. The story is original but a little bit boring. The acting is sometimes good and sometimes weird. This is certainly notThe visual effects are fantastic but there are certain points in the film that the characters are a little over-the-top. The story is original but a little bit boring. The acting is sometimes good and sometimes weird. This is certainly not James Cameron's best, but a solid one though Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
ExKingApr 4, 2013
I'm not really a fan of big budget movies except for Titanic i think having a big budget movie will make it hard to maintain the story and the actors performances and aside from the fact that this movie in 3D i think James Cameron did aI'm not really a fan of big budget movies except for Titanic i think having a big budget movie will make it hard to maintain the story and the actors performances and aside from the fact that this movie in 3D i think James Cameron did a spectacular job with the visual effect and all that technological stuff but is the story solid NO is the performances good NO is the performance by Sam Worthington the leading actor memorable Hell NO he can't act so we left with nothing good and memorable also the story is unstable and messy so for me a solid 6 out of 10 fit to this movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
YoursTrulyNov 9, 2012
As I once heard it put: "A sight to behold. A story to forget".
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
cag11Nov 26, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Although it had a good plot, and somewhat decent graphics, the film was hard to sit through. First there was story, then a battle, then story, then a battle, and it kept going on for a while. The acting was okay for the most part, but there was so much CGI that it takes away from the story. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
RvwFromUpHereMar 1, 2017
No doubt a visual accomplishment, but let's be real, they are looking for a mineral called "unobtanium," this is the blockbuster thrill ride Middle-America has been waiting for their whole lives.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
NikolayGDec 19, 2014
Kids will like this movie better than adults because the story is very hackneyed and cliched. Any adult will have seen it several dozen times already, so to see it again, in a long drawn out overly long movie, is as tedious as he!!. But kidsKids will like this movie better than adults because the story is very hackneyed and cliched. Any adult will have seen it several dozen times already, so to see it again, in a long drawn out overly long movie, is as tedious as he!!. But kids who have never seen any version of this story before, might like it. The story lacks any nuance. The good guys are the indigenous people without technology who worship a tree. The bad guys are the people from earth, who have lots of technology and calmly drink coffee in their helicopters while they blow the primitive people to smithereens from the air. Like someone else said, it is a 3 hour public service announcement. And it lacks any kind of character development.

And by late 2014 standards, the effects - the blue people - look absurdly fake and cartoonish. I can't believe today that people were impressed by this just a few short years ago. It is a visual joke.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
AaronWasserman1Mar 27, 2016
Easily one of the most overrated movies of all time as well as directors of all time. Apart from stunning visual effects, Avatar lacks an interesting story. The movie also suffers from mediocre performances
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
shpreaJun 28, 2013
This movie is meant to look and sound good, and really that's it. Other than all the CGI and special effect, there's nothing much to the movie. The plot is nothing we haven't seen before the characters aren't that interesting, and the 3DThis movie is meant to look and sound good, and really that's it. Other than all the CGI and special effect, there's nothing much to the movie. The plot is nothing we haven't seen before the characters aren't that interesting, and the 3D never adds much. If you want to see a good looking movie, then this is for you. If you want a good story, go see "Dances with Wolves", which has a very similar plot that is twice as good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
TheNewSpielbergMay 1, 2011
A strange mixture of Dances With Wolves and Aliens makes for a an equally bizarre but visually stunning screen epic that unfortunately falls flat on its face when it comes to plot and characters. A crippled soldier is sent undercoverA strange mixture of Dances With Wolves and Aliens makes for a an equally bizarre but visually stunning screen epic that unfortunately falls flat on its face when it comes to plot and characters. A crippled soldier is sent undercover disguised as a blue smurf to convince the natives to move out of their hometown so that the government can obtain a rare and valuable substance known jokingly as "unobtainium". Directed by James Cameron, the same man who swept the world with the 1997 epic Titanic. A movie best experienced in 3-D. All in all, good entertainment. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
4
TheGorillaAug 26, 2011
Congratulations to the special effects and the graphics and the 3D! But, the movie itself is so ridiculous and cheesy. It's terrible. James Cameron can't write a good script. This could have been done a lot better. And, honestly, I'm notCongratulations to the special effects and the graphics and the 3D! But, the movie itself is so ridiculous and cheesy. It's terrible. James Cameron can't write a good script. This could have been done a lot better. And, honestly, I'm not interested in watching sequels. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
4
ypomoniJul 5, 2013
The special effects were indeed amazing, the direction great, the photography too....but this story has been told a hundred times before, and in much better ways. It's an overly simplistic divide between the good guys (the natives) and theThe special effects were indeed amazing, the direction great, the photography too....but this story has been told a hundred times before, and in much better ways. It's an overly simplistic divide between the good guys (the natives) and the bad guys (the greedy invaders). Any moral conflicts seemed to be redundant; in fact, the film was extremely predictable (like we all didn't know what was going to happen when Jake was told the story about the Toruk....). Overall, not a bad film, but the extensive hype and predictable storyline ruined it for me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
supermann234Dec 7, 2014
This movie has a storyline which is confusing. The special effects used were awesome. The places are imaginative in the way they are designed. There are lots of action in this movie. However, storyline, as stated is confusing, thus storylineThis movie has a storyline which is confusing. The special effects used were awesome. The places are imaginative in the way they are designed. There are lots of action in this movie. However, storyline, as stated is confusing, thus storyline is horrible. All these makes it an average movie. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
TubieNov 2, 2010
If you didn't get the chance to watch this in theaters, I feel sorry for you. The non 3D version simply isn't as good. Even on a 1080p screen it shows that this movie was more about the experience of watching 3D well done and not the story inIf you didn't get the chance to watch this in theaters, I feel sorry for you. The non 3D version simply isn't as good. Even on a 1080p screen it shows that this movie was more about the experience of watching 3D well done and not the story in the movie itself. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
6
ovi_bzJan 7, 2011
A very nice 3d movie with a lot of effects and well done graphics. But the story it really sucks. I was very very disappointed after watching the movie. Nothing was original in the idea: the Matrix two worlds, the tree with the eternal lifeA very nice 3d movie with a lot of effects and well done graphics. But the story it really sucks. I was very very disappointed after watching the movie. Nothing was original in the idea: the Matrix two worlds, the tree with the eternal life where all the spirit are gathered, the eco 'not to destroy the forests' idea.... very, very disappointed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
NF123Aug 11, 2010
Looks good but painfully cliched. I for one would recommend a rent just to see lovely it does really look, but it doesn't take long to find how shallow the charachters truly are
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
5
Chrislake94Jun 5, 2011
Overrated. Storyline is predictable, I mean the trailer itself showed what is going to happen already. I don't care if its the highest grossing film ever. I am not going to judge the film a high rating because of that..
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
HighPriestesaMay 18, 2014
Visually it's so stunning and mesmerising, but that's just about it. It's boring, predictable, and too much romeoandjuliettey. More mystery and suspense to it would be a nice touch.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
SeriouslyNov 13, 2010
Avatar is a great movie, but just how great is it? While I thought it was pretty cool that they based all the air and space craft on ones from the Halo series, the story was a bit of a disappointment. I was never really into Pocahontas orAvatar is a great movie, but just how great is it? While I thought it was pretty cool that they based all the air and space craft on ones from the Halo series, the story was a bit of a disappointment. I was never really into Pocahontas or Ferngully when a was younger, and I was never into old movies like Dancing with Wolves, so the story of Avatar did not really stick out to me. Visually the film was quite enticing with it's colourful scenery, it was not all that interesting because of the story. Avatar had much potential, but I am not so sure it lived up to its potential.â Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
4
nirishan9Jan 13, 2013
The movie is nearly fun to watch, but misses that by a thin hair. The story i abominable. Cheese and bore. The effects, while entertaining can't last the length of the movie, which by the first half, is begging you to leave.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
bsykes91Jun 20, 2013
Overrated and shallow, Avatar is one of the enigmas of film making. How could a movie with a tired story line, hilariously one-dimensional characters, and poor script have such good critical reviews? Given, the movie has stylish directingOverrated and shallow, Avatar is one of the enigmas of film making. How could a movie with a tired story line, hilariously one-dimensional characters, and poor script have such good critical reviews? Given, the movie has stylish directing and fantastic visuals, but I could have the exact same entertainment experience on a theme park ride. A good movie is supposed to tell a story and have relatable characters, and Avatar had neither of those things. One thing I will say is that the movie gave me a good laugh, when the stereotypical grunt Marine was in the robot suit and pulled out a comically huge knife, I thought that was the funniest thing ever. If you are looking for a film with some substance, don't see Avatar, but if you just want some eye-candy, you might like it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
ingie44Mar 29, 2014
Where are all these good reviews coming from? I dont get it. The plot is horrifically obvious, the acting banal and the film... boring. I mean ye its kinda pretty but oscars? I just dont get it.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
moheetoDec 22, 2016
this movie is in serious need of a charismatic lead - and unfortunately, in Sam Worthington, it falls way short. The failings of this movie were camouflaged by the razzle dazzle back in 2010 but 6 years later it falls apart rather horribly.this movie is in serious need of a charismatic lead - and unfortunately, in Sam Worthington, it falls way short. The failings of this movie were camouflaged by the razzle dazzle back in 2010 but 6 years later it falls apart rather horribly. it doesn't look pleasant watching this on a modern television. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
SixellaFeb 13, 2011
Save yourself some money. Blow the dust off of your old Pocahontas V.H.S, plug that baby in and TADA! Without all the glamour its the exact same thing, whithout even spending a dime! Don't be fooled people.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
SilverManJun 10, 2012
Four words for this movie: Pocahontas from the future. It's no joke. The visual effects, Pandora, photography, everything is great. But I think James Cameron got so excited by these that he forgot to invest in a good history. No surprise heFour words for this movie: Pocahontas from the future. It's no joke. The visual effects, Pandora, photography, everything is great. But I think James Cameron got so excited by these that he forgot to invest in a good history. No surprise he didn't get th Oscar for Best Movie... Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
5
ChrisTaylor94Aug 8, 2014
What a technical aspect, yes it is great. That is it. This is a very cliched movie with nothing new, charismatic at all. The characters were nothing special, and more of the run in the mill archetypes that you expect.

The plotline was also
What a technical aspect, yes it is great. That is it. This is a very cliched movie with nothing new, charismatic at all. The characters were nothing special, and more of the run in the mill archetypes that you expect.

The plotline was also very standard and the story is very thin.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
JawclAug 17, 2010
Truly I disliked this movie.... A lot. I'm giving it a six for special effects which were amazing. But as for the actual story it really wasn't very original. John Smith goes to the "New World" and saves the girl he loves. Doesn't thisTruly I disliked this movie.... A lot. I'm giving it a six for special effects which were amazing. But as for the actual story it really wasn't very original. John Smith goes to the "New World" and saves the girl he loves. Doesn't this sound like Avatar? I think it was too close to Pocahontas, but some of you may think otherwise. Still, this movie was entertaining but I don't like movies with the "earth god" thing or fantasy.... It's worth seeing though, rent it for sure. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
DGDSNNov 6, 2010
This movie gets a few points in my book for amazing special effects, attempting (ironically) an environmental/anti-corporate message, and a handful of exciting scenes. It is otherwise a trite and pointless exercise in box-office money making.This movie gets a few points in my book for amazing special effects, attempting (ironically) an environmental/anti-corporate message, and a handful of exciting scenes. It is otherwise a trite and pointless exercise in box-office money making. Not only is it a pastiche of many other (better) films, but it is dumbed-down and toothless. The black and white morality, hokey 'spiritualism', and PG romance set to horrible adult contemporary music, screams "Disney!".
On a purely technical note, some of the 'camera' work is suspect, especially those 'quick-zooms' or whatever they call them.
I do not recommend this film to anyone above the age of ten.
Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
5
USGNov 21, 2011
Other than popularizing 3D, Avatar has nothing else to offer. The story is basic and unbearable at times if not predictable. The only thing that is captivating is the effects and technicality for a short time then it and the dialogue appalls.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
Candy-FlossJul 26, 2011
I've never really heard of a film like this that got so many positive reviews especially seeing the literally dazzling special effects, and that was the furthest it got. Even so, it made the film look cheap, yet overrated, and the 3-DI've never really heard of a film like this that got so many positive reviews especially seeing the literally dazzling special effects, and that was the furthest it got. Even so, it made the film look cheap, yet overrated, and the 3-D doesn't make it at all better. It looked more like a LSD-induced fairytale, and that is an excuse for such a inadequate plot. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
djcmusicJan 7, 2012
The movie looked and sounded amazing. No doubt about that, but for being 10 years in the making the plot was a little too umm predictable. Some say thats being too nit picky, I say I could predict the whole movie and it kinda sucks. This isThe movie looked and sounded amazing. No doubt about that, but for being 10 years in the making the plot was a little too umm predictable. Some say thats being too nit picky, I say I could predict the whole movie and it kinda sucks. This is pokahontas basically with blue aliens. Great battle sequences, but the story overall isn't that interesting and again being totally predictable doesn't help it. I thought it definetly had an amazing look to it, but by the end I thought I saw something only about as half epic as it was built up to be. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
SnodogJan 24, 2012
I give this movie, overall, a 4. If i were to break up the movie, my scores would differ.

Visual 10 Sound 8 Storyline 0 Acting 3 Originality 0 The visuals were amazing, of course, anyone could tell you that. However, the plot was
I give this movie, overall, a 4. If i were to break up the movie, my scores would differ.

Visual 10
Sound 8
Storyline 0
Acting 3
Originality 0

The visuals were amazing, of course, anyone could tell you that. However, the plot was disgustingly unoriginal and offensive on some points. The alien race is very clearly representing the Native Americans of Americas past. Not only are they on a very liberal agenda, living off the land, hunting, chanting, no need for technical advancement... etc. they also steal dress and even language and sound of Native Americans which i find extremely disrespectful and distasteful. Second, why are these humans so heartless. I've never encountered a business man so classless and idiotic. The general is all around bloodthirsty for no apparent reason other than the fact that he has a superman complex. While the visuals are amazing, there are no creative creatures throughout the entire film excluding the flying ones. Horses, rhinos, jungle cats, monkeys, lizards... its incredibly unimaginative. The relationship of different departments all under the figurehead of a mining operation is laughable. Science would never take a back seat to pure profit when it came to a world where intelligent life and different species were discovered. I don't care how far into the future this is, the human race has already evolved beyond the point of the barbaric atrocities portrayed in this movie, ESPECIALLY to a new intelligent species. Its insane to think this movie is even plausible, even 20 years ago when the script was being written. It literally makes me sick that all this visual ingenuity is going into a recycled, over hyped peace of garbage like this.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
alexo774Jul 19, 2015
the environbment is realy important and peopl do note understand e that it needs protect. this movie says thaew environment is protec4t and i respect it for that so it make god movies. james ceeameron is myf ather figurte anded sad... likethe environbment is realy important and peopl do note understand e that it needs protect. this movie says thaew environment is protec4t and i respect it for that so it make god movies. james ceeameron is myf ather figurte anded sad... like this moviesz. i like how rhias movie connects to teinetanic.... cuz leonardoo decaprio was in the end in the blue trwwe, and i creid becus i thought he ded... it remindedfrg me of mi childho9ed becaused whey i was yung i wa blue and ded. good job caemerin you make made kate whihslets cry in this movie right????? i give 10 Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
NatDurmanAug 14, 2010
James Cameron has returned from the deep abyss that was Titanic to create something truely remarkable. Avatar is a film shot in digital 3D. However it far suceeds, in terms of techincality, recent films such as Beowulf and UP. It really is aJames Cameron has returned from the deep abyss that was Titanic to create something truely remarkable. Avatar is a film shot in digital 3D. However it far suceeds, in terms of techincality, recent films such as Beowulf and UP. It really is a marvel of architecture. The expressions on the faces of the characters are scaringly un-canny, and the same goes for the environment in which they live in. However all that said, there are some downfalls of this film. For example, the story is extremely thin. It is very easy to get caught up in the beauty of this film, and forget about the cliche full narative, that frankly, if you noticed how bad it was, leaves you feeling like a bit of a sucker. It follows an ex marine called Sam, and is set in the decade of 2050. It starts on board a space ship, that is approaching a fictional planet named 'Pandora'. We later learn that it contains a very valuable substance, and thus why the Americans decide to invade. Sam is chosen, and this is where the 'Avatar' comes in. It is basically a suit that he wears during the time he is in the simulation pod (that allows him to travel to Pandora) it disguises him as one of the 'Na'vi' (the big blue aliens). His goal is to persaude the Na'vi to move away. However in typical fashion he falls in love with one of the indeginous, and we have a classic story. A sort of good cop bad cop scenerio. The good guy being Sam who decides to betray the US and save the Na'vi. The bad guy being an Army General that wants to invade, however he did resemble a character from Toy Soldiers. Without giving away too much, we end up with a happy ending, that like I said earlier, fails to satisfy. However, if you mangage to ignore the story, and just marvel at the CGI, you will be pleased, this is one you have to see on the big screen though, and if you can, see it in 3D. In short it's the cherry without the cake, glamorous but with the essential bits missing. Expand
6 of 11 users found this helpful65
All this user's reviews
6
VAFrankyDec 31, 2010
The pinnacle of the "think with your eyes not with your mind" movement that is currently ruining the fields of cinema, music, and video games. This movie looks astounding in IMAX and 1080p and the special effects are ground breaking. TheThe pinnacle of the "think with your eyes not with your mind" movement that is currently ruining the fields of cinema, music, and video games. This movie looks astounding in IMAX and 1080p and the special effects are ground breaking. The sound quality is also phenomenal and I can see how it is really easy to get sucked into the eye candy that is being offered up. The script and acting however leave much to be desired and you need to be able to look beyond the pretty pictures. Once you get past the shiny solar panels on the space ships and glowing lights on the alien planet the movie doesn't have much substance. This is without a doubt one of the most overrated movies of all time. I wouldn't go as far as to give it a 1 or a 0 but this movie had immense potential and ultimately turned out to be a giant heap of eye candy. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
Poopman157Jul 22, 2011
my mom pulled me out of school to see this. I really expected alot from this movie, and I walked into the theater with "modern classic" in mind, overlooking the fact that I don't like James Cameron movies. Well uh.. thirty minutes in, I wasmy mom pulled me out of school to see this. I really expected alot from this movie, and I walked into the theater with "modern classic" in mind, overlooking the fact that I don't like James Cameron movies. Well uh.. thirty minutes in, I was thinking "Wow cool! Look at that 3D!" but there was that Indy 4 esque "this better not be it" thought in the back of my mind. The characters, the were like robots, with cartoonish generals and that sort of crowd. The weird blue chick was cool at first but soon got very annoying. Also, why is this Sam Worthington guy in so many movies? Why does James Cameron keep casting him? I mean come on, Teller would have been a more reasonable choice than that stooge. Still, the movie has eye-popping FX and the 3D is the best I've ever seen, so it's still probably worth your time if you enjoy other films by Cameron. The mythology is fairly deep, if not cliched, as well so Cameron is technically able to write a story a four year old couldn't. This would all be fine for a animated series, but spending all that money on FX for something like this probably isn't worth. Well, they made an ungodly amount of cashola on this movie, so I guess it was worth it. Then everybody talks about how great this movie is, and The Hurt Locker loses at the Golden Globes. I guess I just got James Cameron'ed again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
gregthreetAug 1, 2012
Going to see this in the cinema was the biggest disappointment I ever had with a movie. Lots of amazing graphics they said, they were right, a unique experience they said, they were right. Hey guys, ever wondered what the most **** up hero ofGoing to see this in the cinema was the biggest disappointment I ever had with a movie. Lots of amazing graphics they said, they were right, a unique experience they said, they were right. Hey guys, ever wondered what the most **** up hero of all time looked like? The main character of avatar is your answer. Big commando man asks him to politely get the "navi" to move down the road just so the earth can have some more oil. Seems fair. So they turn him into a Navi, great, now he just needs to earn their trust and lead them both to a political understanding. But no, this wanker **** their leaders daughter, attacks humans, starts a **** war, kills all the humans and is presented as some kind of role model. **** **** Something like $7billion spent on this film. Probably spent on tipping of critics so they give it a good score. A **** predictable story with HD slapped on its huge ass. Waste of space. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
XposureAug 5, 2012
When I decided to begin watching Avatar, I was expecting a great movie, but that's simply not what was revealed before my eyes. The only truly good thing I can say about it, is that it's got some pretty impressive visuals. The rest of theWhen I decided to begin watching Avatar, I was expecting a great movie, but that's simply not what was revealed before my eyes. The only truly good thing I can say about it, is that it's got some pretty impressive visuals. The rest of the movie is more or less average. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
EDJET787Dec 22, 2012
This has to be one of the most overrated films in the history of cinema. The only reason this movie gets any praise is because of the special effects, which I will admit were really good, but everything else is just below average andThis has to be one of the most overrated films in the history of cinema. The only reason this movie gets any praise is because of the special effects, which I will admit were really good, but everything else is just below average and unoriginal. Avatar is far too long and is something that I would expect Michael Bay to direct. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
Kamal_VoltaicOct 30, 2012
Yes. The visuals were amazing... but that's about it. I seriously don't understand how people can call it the greatest movie of all time, the plot is weak.
It's like a cardboard cut-out of a chocolate cake.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
irmaodDec 15, 2012
is a film with great graphics but the story is no big deal is anyway
a film that sees to the end with a bit of enthusiasm do not know is how is the film with the highest revenue ever
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
yogesh487Oct 30, 2014
This movie deserves a Oscar in visual effects. that being said this movie fails in both the story and acting(specially neteri).
this movie should be of 2 hours max.
and some times at night every tree glowing with different colors seems
This movie deserves a Oscar in visual effects. that being said this movie fails in both the story and acting(specially neteri).
this movie should be of 2 hours max.
and some times at night every tree glowing with different colors seems awful.
and also character development is bad
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
khajvahDec 1, 2011
Too overrated. A movie with computer design only... nothing interesting... it sucks don't waste your time on this...
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
TheSuddernatorDec 15, 2011
To sum up a boring film. i mean yeah the cgi, blue alien concept is good but not for 162 minutes. I was frustrated with the fact that james cameron thought it would be ok just to show off the cgi and leave it to a bunch of 10 year olds toTo sum up a boring film. i mean yeah the cgi, blue alien concept is good but not for 162 minutes. I was frustrated with the fact that james cameron thought it would be ok just to show off the cgi and leave it to a bunch of 10 year olds to create a shabby story with more action scenes than all 3 transformers in a row. im not saying its a bad film, not by any means as i suppose the cgi and idea of pandora is well thought of, its just very boring after you realise that the cgi concept is all your going to see in this 2 and a half hour marathon of a film. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
MereopinionsMar 13, 2013
The action was what you'd expect from such a big block buster. And I kinda like the premise of the story but the story turned out fake and emotionless in my opinion. Also I couldn't find it in me to care about a single character. The love ofThe action was what you'd expect from such a big block buster. And I kinda like the premise of the story but the story turned out fake and emotionless in my opinion. Also I couldn't find it in me to care about a single character. The love of the main characters was poorly developed as well. In the end it's not for me. But those of you that just want to see blue aliens go to battle against mankind because we're invading their planet. Go for it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
NdiAug 18, 2013
You know how some movies and series are all story and no special effects, and they are still awesome, like Dr Who, and Red Dwarf, and animation. Well, Avatar is the exact opposite. A tech demo of what budget can do in this day and age, butYou know how some movies and series are all story and no special effects, and they are still awesome, like Dr Who, and Red Dwarf, and animation. Well, Avatar is the exact opposite. A tech demo of what budget can do in this day and age, but that is it.

Lame recycled story, copied scenes, it's like someone cut some scenes from other movies and re-animated them on a PC with blue people.

The only redeeming quality of the story, frankly, is the fact that the humans are somewhat accurately portrayed. Villains, but not idiotic unexplained villainy, but a nice blend of excusable and inexcusable.

This is a movie that is seen, not understood. Eye candy, and not a very good one at that. The people are blends of 2 Earth animals, the animals are blends of 2 Earth animals, basically, it's just a jungle people story with cream on top.

Under no circumstances is this movie a high scorer. Tech demo, 10. Movie, 5 because of the experience. Seriously, if seeing a movie on a small 2D screen makes it sucky, then it was sucky to begin with.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
PrivateJokerApr 10, 2014
I think I'm a minority on my stance towards this movie. I don't have mixed feelings about it just to be edgy and apart from everyone else, it just rubbed me a little differently. I was largely absent from all the hype that surrounded it whenI think I'm a minority on my stance towards this movie. I don't have mixed feelings about it just to be edgy and apart from everyone else, it just rubbed me a little differently. I was largely absent from all the hype that surrounded it when it was released: I finally saw the movie towards the end of its theatrical run. With that being said, I had a much clearer perspective on it, seeing it in a theater with maybe 10 other people in it, and I can honestly say after seeing it, it's one of the most overrated movies of all time. For starters, I think the movie takes itself too seriously. At it's core, the plot is essentially an updated version of "Pocahontas" or "Dances With Wolves." I was genuinely entertained for the first half hour, in which you're introduced to the main characters and the setting of Pandora, but then movie started to take another turn. The whole thing was simply overshadowed by this very self-righteous, naturalist message about how we have to take care of the planet. Now don't get me wrong, I care for the environment, but when I feel like I'm watching a $300,000,000 EPA PSA, it kind of ruins the effect of a movie that comes from the director of Terminator 2. Throughout the movie, various other sci-fi elements are taken from movies like the Matrix and Jurassic Park, and subsequently accompanied by video game quality dialogue. In a word -- it's all over the place and just comes off sappy. Rather than a sophisticated narrative geared towards adults, Cameron just decided to go completely Saturday morning cartoon with this one, causing tons of merchandise and distribution out the ass that caters mainly to middle school boys who take garbage like this too seriously. But hey, it has amazing special effects, so I guess the it's saving grace is the familiarity of the director, and that it looks pretty. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
5
Ikarus14Aug 25, 2010
Sure, the visuals are distinctive enough but that doesn't excuse the lazy cut-and-paste job done with the script. We've seen this exact story done before numerous times before and done better. A lot of people seem to think that the visualsSure, the visuals are distinctive enough but that doesn't excuse the lazy cut-and-paste job done with the script. We've seen this exact story done before numerous times before and done better. A lot of people seem to think that the visuals make up for it but in the end this film is nothing more than a tech demo at best.
A real shame.
Expand
6 of 14 users found this helpful68
All this user's reviews
4
simplexNov 11, 2010
8 is for the graphics
0 is for the absolute lack of story originality

It's a all visual and no story.
Would not recommend this movie, and am glad I got it for free.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
6
Pepo12Feb 18, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Avatar es una obra maestra para muchos, pero una simpe películita con efectos especiales para muchos otros (me incluyo). Avatar es una historia dirigida por James Cameron, que no abarca ningún interés para verla proximamente en cable, ya que nos dormiriamos a los pocos minutos de empezados. James Cameron hizo películas aburridas como Titanic, y otras. James Cameron se cree un director revolucionista, pero no lo es en lo mas mínimo, ya que sus películas tienen una mirada hacia lo político, hacia el poder, y se encuentran con doblajes casi patéticos a la hora de construít a sus personajes con un idioma bien caracterizado. Avatar es una basofia humana en un mundo lleno de bichos azules. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
theWrathNov 5, 2012
It's the first movie that I saw, who made it perfect with the 3D part. But that's all. Story is boring as hell. I watched Avatar now for the 5th time, the first 3 times I just fall asleep. Sorry, I don't get it!? Why is that movie so great?It's the first movie that I saw, who made it perfect with the 3D part. But that's all. Story is boring as hell. I watched Avatar now for the 5th time, the first 3 times I just fall asleep. Sorry, I don't get it!? Why is that movie so great? Story is nothing new, but the effects are ... Yeah, I'll go and watch the visual demo of my Nvidia, it's the same ... Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
4
phAtBenJNov 25, 2012
Avatar is no doubt my least favorite film of all time for one simple reason: it is everything wrong with Hollywood. Over-budgeted production cost, the lure of 3D to draw viewers, manipulative characters and political messages, and theAvatar is no doubt my least favorite film of all time for one simple reason: it is everything wrong with Hollywood. Over-budgeted production cost, the lure of 3D to draw viewers, manipulative characters and political messages, and the complete lack of depth in the characters and story plague this beautiful looking film. To say that this film is bad would be a lie, but I despise this film so much due to it's one-dimensional characters and predictable and unoriginal story. James Cameron has done some great work in his career (The Terminator films, Aliens, [and even] Titanic), but Avatar is not among that prestigious list. Avatar only goes to prove that visual effects and action scenes do not guarantee a good film. For example, 12 Angry Men is one of the greatest films ever and it contains no action, CGI, and lacks multiple locations; the entire appeal of the film lies in its strong characters, dialogue, premise, and confrontations. Avatar lacks all these quintessential elements, and therefore suffers. Expand
9 of 11 users found this helpful92
All this user's reviews
6
RayPistSep 27, 2013
A bland, cliched story with average acting and although the special effects are superb, it doesn't stop the film from being a mediocre bore-fest that you'll forget in a couple weeks time.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
5
lizJan 22, 2010
Overrated! The storyline and the characters were grossly underdeveloped. The effects were good but I was under the impression that they would be so good that the plant life and the Na'vi would look realistic. And don't get me Overrated! The storyline and the characters were grossly underdeveloped. The effects were good but I was under the impression that they would be so good that the plant life and the Na'vi would look realistic. And don't get me started on the look of the Na'vi! They resembled African-Americans (braids with beads in them and wide noses as well as some of the tribe leaders' clothing which looked like a Masai rip-off) and Native-Americans (noses, long hair, tall thin like the Disney version of Pocahontas, and also their clothing) they were too lazy when it came time to designing their look. I did feel at some points like I was watching a cartoon movie and one which I would never touch with a ten foot pole. I felt that more needed to be told as far as the Na'vi were concerned, and I wanted to see more of the beautiful forests. In fact, at one point I did think that it would have been cool if Pandora had no sunlight so that during the whole film we could see the beautiful glow-in-the-dark plant life. That was my favorite part of the movie and I still hope to have a dream in which I'm surrounded by such beauty! The movie really went down-hill for me when the war started, at first it was fine but then it went on for too long and it turned the movie into another action flick. I feel like I'm the only person who thinks that James Cameron isn't very good. Sure he is good with special effects, but he's no artist who can really be innovative (like those filmmakers who don't take 5 years to make a movie that is generic in terms of storyline which is the most important reason to see a movie) and write great stories with great characters and depth. I did enjoy Avatar as a fun popcorn flick and am glad I saw it but i don't understand why so many people are giving it so much high praise! And I am horrified that it's being nominated for some major awards. I just hope it doesn't win an Oscar like Titanic did (another movie I enjoyed as a good popcorn flick and yet even as a 14 year old with crush on Dicaprio, I knew better than to think it deserved the awards it received!) or I'll go crazy. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
4
JoshMJan 20, 2010
A very pretty, shallow film. It was Ferngully with CGI. It felt like Cameron was trying to cram in every single story cliche he could think of. Extremely generic and boring. Every single thing that happens in the movie can be seen from miles A very pretty, shallow film. It was Ferngully with CGI. It felt like Cameron was trying to cram in every single story cliche he could think of. Extremely generic and boring. Every single thing that happens in the movie can be seen from miles away. Worth a watch to check out the graphics, otherwise, pass. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
SoroushAJan 3, 2010
Special effects simply made me more unintrigued in the 3D film as it seemed too much was fed to the graphics that the characters themselves! Questions were not answered especially for a 3 hr movie (how did he lose control of his legs, how Special effects simply made me more unintrigued in the 3D film as it seemed too much was fed to the graphics that the characters themselves! Questions were not answered especially for a 3 hr movie (how did he lose control of his legs, how did his brother die? etc.) which limited any character building. Special effects: 10, Acting: 4, Storyline: 6, Dialogue: 6, Character development: 5... please is this movie really in the same league as gladiator?? cos i dont remember crying to this movie at any stage! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
vinniegJan 1, 2010
Its Dances with Wolves plus CGI. Incredible CGI, but CGI nontheless. The story was a joke, predictable with childish dialogue. No one can doubt that the effects are wonderful, but we dont go to the movies to see special effects, we go to be Its Dances with Wolves plus CGI. Incredible CGI, but CGI nontheless. The story was a joke, predictable with childish dialogue. No one can doubt that the effects are wonderful, but we dont go to the movies to see special effects, we go to be told a story. This movie is a spectacle, not a story.) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
AndreaKJan 2, 2010
Liked the animation. Didn't like the story. Yes, natives need white americans to save them from other white americans. It's inconceivable that natives could come up with some strategy to save themselves. Is it because white Liked the animation. Didn't like the story. Yes, natives need white americans to save them from other white americans. It's inconceivable that natives could come up with some strategy to save themselves. Is it because white americans are the superior race? Well, that must be it. Learning to be a warrior took the natives years of training...white american took 3 months. Whatever. And we all know the real end of this story. History has taught us again and again ...white americans return with bigger guns and kill/capture everbody. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
KenGJan 7, 2010
If all you care about is special effects, and the visual look of a film, you'll probably love this.The movie is superb with these things. But if like me, you also care about plot, script, and characters, you might well be disappointed If all you care about is special effects, and the visual look of a film, you'll probably love this.The movie is superb with these things. But if like me, you also care about plot, script, and characters, you might well be disappointed with this movie, as very little effort went into these things. To give this movie a high grade, would be rewarding James Cameron for being lazy in a lot of ways. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JoeMJan 9, 2010
Beautiful visuals, some good advances in CGI are shown in this flick. But that is about it. It is a 3 hour tech demo. The story is predictable and most of the characters are flat with the exception of the lead as you would expect. This is Beautiful visuals, some good advances in CGI are shown in this flick. But that is about it. It is a 3 hour tech demo. The story is predictable and most of the characters are flat with the exception of the lead as you would expect. This is Fern Gully almost scene for scene but stretched out. It's nice to see state of the art however I am a little tired of how easily people ignore all other aspects of the film as long as it is pretty enough. I look forward to when these new techniques become more affordable so that we can have the technology along with some more in-depth writing/direction. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
PiotrFeb 1, 2010
There two aspects to think of regarding Avatar: 1. Picture- amazing, milestone, no words to fully acknowledge this! 2. Story/Message- shallow, dull, target group- 10 to 15 years. One clearly catches 2days political situation dressed up in There two aspects to think of regarding Avatar: 1. Picture- amazing, milestone, no words to fully acknowledge this! 2. Story/Message- shallow, dull, target group- 10 to 15 years. One clearly catches 2days political situation dressed up in sci-fi clothing, but again it almost hits you right between eyes, so someone considered general public not to be smart. Worth watching, not worth thinking about. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
KaydeFeb 18, 2010
In the love of all that is holy, why does this movie have a score of 88? Yes, it is a visual spectacle, and yes, the technological innovations it employs are nothing short of fantastical, but this is A BAD MOVIE. The story is generic and In the love of all that is holy, why does this movie have a score of 88? Yes, it is a visual spectacle, and yes, the technological innovations it employs are nothing short of fantastical, but this is A BAD MOVIE. The story is generic and clunky, in addition to the structure of the script being PAINFULLY obvious as one watches the movie. The characters are flat, and the political overtones are a little overdone. It is a visual dazzlement wrapped around an empty shell, and does not deserve to win a Best Picture Oscar. Star Wars was a technological marvel, and it was hugely entertaining, but did it deserve the highest honor possible to bestow upon a film?? No. Neither does Avatar. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
CharlesKFeb 6, 2010
Had Cameron shot in the Amazon in 3D it would have been just as stunning. Had he written a script that made any sense and didn't have holes to drive trucks through it might have been vaguely memorable, had he seized the opportunity and Had Cameron shot in the Amazon in 3D it would have been just as stunning. Had he written a script that made any sense and didn't have holes to drive trucks through it might have been vaguely memorable, had he seized the opportunity and created a truly alien world instead of Earth with 6 legged horses etc etc and 8 foot lean humans with tails it might have soared but the absurdity of all good/all evil, idiot American administrators but sage scientists (not very) and a military using 17th Century techniques just killed it. Too long by 40 mins, too twee by half. Nice 3D. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
EladioMMar 6, 2010
This movie is Dineye's Pocahontas on steroids, nothing more. Excelent FX? Hell, yes! But the plot is weak and the story is full of obvius cliches -- most of them came (no surprise) from the above mentioned "source", Pocahontas.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
SiHApr 6, 2010
Would you go see a play that had a great set but poor plot, character development, use of language and/or acting? If you would then you'll love Avatar.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
AvatarM.Jun 3, 2010
full points for visual prowess but zero points for plot and originality-the whole time i was watching it i was thinking wow this is a return to my childhood-it's the upgraded Pocahontas! I was waiting for the animals to talk..had they full points for visual prowess but zero points for plot and originality-the whole time i was watching it i was thinking wow this is a return to my childhood-it's the upgraded Pocahontas! I was waiting for the animals to talk..had they spend more time on character development and originality there would have been nothing to criticize. In their defense having an original alien movie would be difficult...after all there are so many alien movies out there. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful
6
MaxL.Dec 20, 2009
Spectacular with emphasize on the spectacles. The visual effects and some of the shots are amazing. The story and dialogues, however, are simple minded with cartoonish characters, making the long runtime unbearable. See it in the big screen Spectacular with emphasize on the spectacles. The visual effects and some of the shots are amazing. The story and dialogues, however, are simple minded with cartoonish characters, making the long runtime unbearable. See it in the big screen but don't expect too much. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
MMDec 30, 2009
Overrated. Seriously now, anyone who's read a few books can tell clearly that the storytelling was cheesy and cliche: I literally guessed the entire scope of the plot with all the main "twists" after watching the first 20 minutes of the Overrated. Seriously now, anyone who's read a few books can tell clearly that the storytelling was cheesy and cliche: I literally guessed the entire scope of the plot with all the main "twists" after watching the first 20 minutes of the film. The dialogue was boring and uninventive, sticking straight to the formula. The effects were decent, but I found the 3D to be kind of weak and I think Cameron should have stuck to normal film. It's not a terrible movie, but don't expect to get your heart wrenched out by the story or be shocked by the conclusion - it's exactly what you expect. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
NachoC.Dec 30, 2009
Visually, the film is stunning, the special effects are out of this world, but unlike other Cameron films, this film lacks development or originality. Basically it was a. Pocahontas music and b. it is Dances with Wolves with blue aliens with Visually, the film is stunning, the special effects are out of this world, but unlike other Cameron films, this film lacks development or originality. Basically it was a. Pocahontas music and b. it is Dances with Wolves with blue aliens with it. It was just not what I expected and not in a good way. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
PabloS.Jan 14, 2010
This hurts. Not ever did I want to say anything negative about a James Cameron film, but that's where this is going. I want to start off by saying that I did not find the effects as everyone else, maybe it's because CGI with detail This hurts. Not ever did I want to say anything negative about a James Cameron film, but that's where this is going. I want to start off by saying that I did not find the effects as everyone else, maybe it's because CGI with detail and human emotion isn't such a big deal anymore. I mean we all knew it was heading this way, but this is not CGI without humans, this was mo-cap and its obvious and it should be mo-cap to achieve the Uncanny Valley. All in all we all play video games now and this was not that impressive in a world filled with CGI. Enough about the effects however, the 3D was very well done in the use of depth and being tolerable for two and a half hours, although nothing mind blowing like debris flying at you. Movie theaters still have not achieved the theme park 3D that everyone really wants to see. Now this is where the biggest knock comes and I realize that people are suckers for a good love story, but do you remember Fern Gully? Yup the animated Fox film in the '90's about the rainforrest and fairies, now imagine the fairies being 12 foot blue Native Americans and Sam Worthington is the shrunken guy that realizes that teraing doen the rainforrest is bad. Hmm....ok lets take that story and add millions more dollars to it and make it a sci-fi opus (which it isn't) and tell everyone that they've never seen anything like this. I have and I want my money back. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
felipem.Jan 1, 2010
A nivel visual bastante buena,el resto muy irregular.es como pocahontas en el futuro!.muy predecible.guion con ideas y estereotipos muy trillados.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
mlJan 10, 2010
Watching the media genuflect is really frustrating. I'm a member of the digital generation and this stuff doesn't impress me anymore. You forget about the 3D fifteen minutes in, and there are many movies that put their CGI to Watching the media genuflect is really frustrating. I'm a member of the digital generation and this stuff doesn't impress me anymore. You forget about the 3D fifteen minutes in, and there are many movies that put their CGI to better purposes without a $300 price tag or killing the suspension of disbelief. Without the pretty graphics we are left with a predictable, cliched plot, terrible characters and dialog, and a blatant political subtext that is insulting to even Sarah Palin's intelligence and left me, a far-left liberal, feeling very annoyed. This movie is like being hit over the head repeatedly with a heavy blunt object. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JosephL.Jan 18, 2010
Been there-done it. Can anyone say "Dances with Wolves albeit in 3D? Am I the only one that is less than wowed with Avatar?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
IanMJan 20, 2010
The film was flashy. That was it. Don't get me wrong I'm sure the technology driving it was revolutionary, but the story is so drab and run of the mill that in the first five minutes I knew what was going to happen. It has a good The film was flashy. That was it. Don't get me wrong I'm sure the technology driving it was revolutionary, but the story is so drab and run of the mill that in the first five minutes I knew what was going to happen. It has a good message, but I fear that this plight was drowned out by loud explosions and glossed over with fancy computers. Also I did not like how in the first six minutes of the film I could tell who the bad guys were. It would have created a much more interesting conflict had the lines between good and evil been blurred as they so often are in real life. We know off the bat that the humans are selfish pigs who are occupying the planet Pandora for nothing more than a monetary greed. Over all I fear this film's quality has been blown out of proportion and the ratings skewed because James Cameron created some new fancy machine that helps us confuse great CGI with great story. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
TizioJan 23, 2010
It's Pocahontas with great effects and music.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
LillieJan 3, 2010
The story is a string of tired movie plot cliches, the music is a variation on the Titanic theme, and the very long battle at the end becomes tiresome fast, nevertheless, it is visually transporting and entertaining, as long as you're The story is a string of tired movie plot cliches, the music is a variation on the Titanic theme, and the very long battle at the end becomes tiresome fast, nevertheless, it is visually transporting and entertaining, as long as you're not looking for anything more. If you don't mind inwardly rolling your eyes every 15 minutes, you will enjoy the visual spectacle. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
AntJan 7, 2010
A stunningly beautiful movie that unfortunately doesn't so much have a plot as a checklist of clichés.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
HomerSFeb 11, 2010
This would've been freaken amazing if I didn't have some Fat Guy blocking half of my view and giving away the entire ending to me.... Seriously, that guy needs to GET A LIFE!!! anyone who watches this movie SIX TIMES and gives away This would've been freaken amazing if I didn't have some Fat Guy blocking half of my view and giving away the entire ending to me.... Seriously, that guy needs to GET A LIFE!!! anyone who watches this movie SIX TIMES and gives away the entire ending to everyone around him seriously needs to go away to another universe. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MarhadiashaK.Feb 1, 2010
It's average. The plot is average, acting average. The 3D effects are not satisfying. The only good thing is the Na'vi facial expressions. Overall, mediocre movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
L.M.Feb 16, 2010
Sigh....well I certainly had high hopes for the movie and I'm glad to say it wasn't that disappointing. While it does have an unoriginal story, the new themes of the Navi (indians basically) are interesting enough. A bit too drawn Sigh....well I certainly had high hopes for the movie and I'm glad to say it wasn't that disappointing. While it does have an unoriginal story, the new themes of the Navi (indians basically) are interesting enough. A bit too drawn out but still enjoyable with suprisingly almost no humor. I would probably send my rating down around the 5 area had I not seen it in 3-D, since you had a sense that Cameron wanted to use it for a way to enhance the movie and not just be eye candy I'll give me credit for that. Needless to say the only thing keeping the movie up this high of a rating is the use of 3-D, hopefully we can now see improvements upon dialouge, acting, pacing, and no cheesy love story for the sequel to possibly get the score it deserves. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
A.E.Feb 21, 2010
Superb special effects can't make-up for a predictible plot and so-so acting. See it in 3D at the theater--no need to ever see this movie on the small screen.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
5
philipd.Mar 3, 2010
Technically noteworthy, but cinematically, a let-down.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
SandyMar 5, 2010
Visuals did just enough to keep me engaged most of the time, but not from nodding off in the face of a dull, incoherent story. I'm not sure whether it would have been better with what must have been left on the cutting room floor, but Visuals did just enough to keep me engaged most of the time, but not from nodding off in the face of a dull, incoherent story. I'm not sure whether it would have been better with what must have been left on the cutting room floor, but James Cameron sank with 'Titanic' and this hasn't refloated him (whatever the dollar count may say). Sci-fi/fantasy for kiddies, yet Ferngully was just so much more fun! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
BillyOMar 5, 2010
When I first saw the movie, the graphics, the 3D, the visual effects hypnotized me, which I believe happened to most of the people who saw it. It sucks you in, making you believe you saw a good movie as you walk out of the movie theatre. When I first saw the movie, the graphics, the 3D, the visual effects hypnotized me, which I believe happened to most of the people who saw it. It sucks you in, making you believe you saw a good movie as you walk out of the movie theatre. After the dazzle wore off half way through the movie I started realizing how predictable the movie was, how stereotypical every character was. The mercenaries were brutal killers, the protagonist falls in love and switches to the "good side",the corporate exec. was willing to turn his head for profit. Where were the variables. I do see the side of the plot that is trying to make a point on what we have become as a society and what we have done to get here. Overall it felt like a very expensive Pocohantas. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
ginoMMar 7, 2010
It escapes me how Avatar is being championed as the standout movie ushering us into a new frontier of film making, when it is nothing more than the next baby step in Cinematography and Cinematography alone. If it were merely a pretty It escapes me how Avatar is being championed as the standout movie ushering us into a new frontier of film making, when it is nothing more than the next baby step in Cinematography and Cinematography alone. If it were merely a pretty picture, inspiring film makers to create new worlds when presented with the plausible impetus to do so, there would be no debate in my mind. But it's not. This movie has been respected by critics and commonplace audience alike. What did it do beyond it's visuals? It was written unwittingly, seemingly with an intent to do just that. The story inspires nothing more than a cheap nostalgic stroll to the over-spun screenplay graveyard of every Hollywood cliche. Pitiful exploits of corny one-liners, narrow characters and predictable plot twists saturate every moment of Aavatar. It is ultimately mundane in every way beyond the visual stimulus. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JackS.Apr 11, 2010
What makes a movie immersive? Is it the visuals or is it the plot and believable acting? I find it to be the latter. Avatar is a movie with a story that has a story that's been done before, with adequate acting (and I use adequate very What makes a movie immersive? Is it the visuals or is it the plot and believable acting? I find it to be the latter. Avatar is a movie with a story that has a story that's been done before, with adequate acting (and I use adequate very generously), and poor pacing. The effects were amazing, but thirty years down the line, these effects will be outdated, and what will we be left with? A movie with an overused plot, adequate acting, and poor pacing, with NO AMAZING EFFECTS. This movie set a bad example for movies everywhere, telling moviemakers all over the world that 3D sells, and that originality and creativity does not. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful