Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: December 18, 2009
7.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 3022 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
2,162
Mixed:
446
Negative:
414
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
lizJan 22, 2010
Overrated! The storyline and the characters were grossly underdeveloped. The effects were good but I was under the impression that they would be so good that the plant life and the Na'vi would look realistic. And don't get me Overrated! The storyline and the characters were grossly underdeveloped. The effects were good but I was under the impression that they would be so good that the plant life and the Na'vi would look realistic. And don't get me started on the look of the Na'vi! They resembled African-Americans (braids with beads in them and wide noses as well as some of the tribe leaders' clothing which looked like a Masai rip-off) and Native-Americans (noses, long hair, tall thin like the Disney version of Pocahontas, and also their clothing) they were too lazy when it came time to designing their look. I did feel at some points like I was watching a cartoon movie and one which I would never touch with a ten foot pole. I felt that more needed to be told as far as the Na'vi were concerned, and I wanted to see more of the beautiful forests. In fact, at one point I did think that it would have been cool if Pandora had no sunlight so that during the whole film we could see the beautiful glow-in-the-dark plant life. That was my favorite part of the movie and I still hope to have a dream in which I'm surrounded by such beauty! The movie really went down-hill for me when the war started, at first it was fine but then it went on for too long and it turned the movie into another action flick. I feel like I'm the only person who thinks that James Cameron isn't very good. Sure he is good with special effects, but he's no artist who can really be innovative (like those filmmakers who don't take 5 years to make a movie that is generic in terms of storyline which is the most important reason to see a movie) and write great stories with great characters and depth. I did enjoy Avatar as a fun popcorn flick and am glad I saw it but i don't understand why so many people are giving it so much high praise! And I am horrified that it's being nominated for some major awards. I just hope it doesn't win an Oscar like Titanic did (another movie I enjoyed as a good popcorn flick and yet even as a 14 year old with crush on Dicaprio, I knew better than to think it deserved the awards it received!) or I'll go crazy. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
4
JoshMJan 20, 2010
A very pretty, shallow film. It was Ferngully with CGI. It felt like Cameron was trying to cram in every single story cliche he could think of. Extremely generic and boring. Every single thing that happens in the movie can be seen from miles A very pretty, shallow film. It was Ferngully with CGI. It felt like Cameron was trying to cram in every single story cliche he could think of. Extremely generic and boring. Every single thing that happens in the movie can be seen from miles away. Worth a watch to check out the graphics, otherwise, pass. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
SoroushAJan 3, 2010
Special effects simply made me more unintrigued in the 3D film as it seemed too much was fed to the graphics that the characters themselves! Questions were not answered especially for a 3 hr movie (how did he lose control of his legs, how Special effects simply made me more unintrigued in the 3D film as it seemed too much was fed to the graphics that the characters themselves! Questions were not answered especially for a 3 hr movie (how did he lose control of his legs, how did his brother die? etc.) which limited any character building. Special effects: 10, Acting: 4, Storyline: 6, Dialogue: 6, Character development: 5... please is this movie really in the same league as gladiator?? cos i dont remember crying to this movie at any stage! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
vinniegJan 1, 2010
Its Dances with Wolves plus CGI. Incredible CGI, but CGI nontheless. The story was a joke, predictable with childish dialogue. No one can doubt that the effects are wonderful, but we dont go to the movies to see special effects, we go to be Its Dances with Wolves plus CGI. Incredible CGI, but CGI nontheless. The story was a joke, predictable with childish dialogue. No one can doubt that the effects are wonderful, but we dont go to the movies to see special effects, we go to be told a story. This movie is a spectacle, not a story.) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
AndreaKJan 2, 2010
Liked the animation. Didn't like the story. Yes, natives need white americans to save them from other white americans. It's inconceivable that natives could come up with some strategy to save themselves. Is it because white Liked the animation. Didn't like the story. Yes, natives need white americans to save them from other white americans. It's inconceivable that natives could come up with some strategy to save themselves. Is it because white americans are the superior race? Well, that must be it. Learning to be a warrior took the natives years of training...white american took 3 months. Whatever. And we all know the real end of this story. History has taught us again and again ...white americans return with bigger guns and kill/capture everbody. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
KenGJan 7, 2010
If all you care about is special effects, and the visual look of a film, you'll probably love this.The movie is superb with these things. But if like me, you also care about plot, script, and characters, you might well be disappointed If all you care about is special effects, and the visual look of a film, you'll probably love this.The movie is superb with these things. But if like me, you also care about plot, script, and characters, you might well be disappointed with this movie, as very little effort went into these things. To give this movie a high grade, would be rewarding James Cameron for being lazy in a lot of ways. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JoeMJan 9, 2010
Beautiful visuals, some good advances in CGI are shown in this flick. But that is about it. It is a 3 hour tech demo. The story is predictable and most of the characters are flat with the exception of the lead as you would expect. This is Beautiful visuals, some good advances in CGI are shown in this flick. But that is about it. It is a 3 hour tech demo. The story is predictable and most of the characters are flat with the exception of the lead as you would expect. This is Fern Gully almost scene for scene but stretched out. It's nice to see state of the art however I am a little tired of how easily people ignore all other aspects of the film as long as it is pretty enough. I look forward to when these new techniques become more affordable so that we can have the technology along with some more in-depth writing/direction. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
PiotrFeb 1, 2010
There two aspects to think of regarding Avatar: 1. Picture- amazing, milestone, no words to fully acknowledge this! 2. Story/Message- shallow, dull, target group- 10 to 15 years. One clearly catches 2days political situation dressed up in There two aspects to think of regarding Avatar: 1. Picture- amazing, milestone, no words to fully acknowledge this! 2. Story/Message- shallow, dull, target group- 10 to 15 years. One clearly catches 2days political situation dressed up in sci-fi clothing, but again it almost hits you right between eyes, so someone considered general public not to be smart. Worth watching, not worth thinking about. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
KaydeFeb 18, 2010
In the love of all that is holy, why does this movie have a score of 88? Yes, it is a visual spectacle, and yes, the technological innovations it employs are nothing short of fantastical, but this is A BAD MOVIE. The story is generic and In the love of all that is holy, why does this movie have a score of 88? Yes, it is a visual spectacle, and yes, the technological innovations it employs are nothing short of fantastical, but this is A BAD MOVIE. The story is generic and clunky, in addition to the structure of the script being PAINFULLY obvious as one watches the movie. The characters are flat, and the political overtones are a little overdone. It is a visual dazzlement wrapped around an empty shell, and does not deserve to win a Best Picture Oscar. Star Wars was a technological marvel, and it was hugely entertaining, but did it deserve the highest honor possible to bestow upon a film?? No. Neither does Avatar. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
CharlesKFeb 6, 2010
Had Cameron shot in the Amazon in 3D it would have been just as stunning. Had he written a script that made any sense and didn't have holes to drive trucks through it might have been vaguely memorable, had he seized the opportunity and Had Cameron shot in the Amazon in 3D it would have been just as stunning. Had he written a script that made any sense and didn't have holes to drive trucks through it might have been vaguely memorable, had he seized the opportunity and created a truly alien world instead of Earth with 6 legged horses etc etc and 8 foot lean humans with tails it might have soared but the absurdity of all good/all evil, idiot American administrators but sage scientists (not very) and a military using 17th Century techniques just killed it. Too long by 40 mins, too twee by half. Nice 3D. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
EladioMMar 6, 2010
This movie is Dineye's Pocahontas on steroids, nothing more. Excelent FX? Hell, yes! But the plot is weak and the story is full of obvius cliches -- most of them came (no surprise) from the above mentioned "source", Pocahontas.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
SiHApr 6, 2010
Would you go see a play that had a great set but poor plot, character development, use of language and/or acting? If you would then you'll love Avatar.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
AvatarM.Jun 3, 2010
full points for visual prowess but zero points for plot and originality-the whole time i was watching it i was thinking wow this is a return to my childhood-it's the upgraded Pocahontas! I was waiting for the animals to talk..had they full points for visual prowess but zero points for plot and originality-the whole time i was watching it i was thinking wow this is a return to my childhood-it's the upgraded Pocahontas! I was waiting for the animals to talk..had they spend more time on character development and originality there would have been nothing to criticize. In their defense having an original alien movie would be difficult...after all there are so many alien movies out there. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful
6
MaxL.Dec 20, 2009
Spectacular with emphasize on the spectacles. The visual effects and some of the shots are amazing. The story and dialogues, however, are simple minded with cartoonish characters, making the long runtime unbearable. See it in the big screen Spectacular with emphasize on the spectacles. The visual effects and some of the shots are amazing. The story and dialogues, however, are simple minded with cartoonish characters, making the long runtime unbearable. See it in the big screen but don't expect too much. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
MMDec 30, 2009
Overrated. Seriously now, anyone who's read a few books can tell clearly that the storytelling was cheesy and cliche: I literally guessed the entire scope of the plot with all the main "twists" after watching the first 20 minutes of the Overrated. Seriously now, anyone who's read a few books can tell clearly that the storytelling was cheesy and cliche: I literally guessed the entire scope of the plot with all the main "twists" after watching the first 20 minutes of the film. The dialogue was boring and uninventive, sticking straight to the formula. The effects were decent, but I found the 3D to be kind of weak and I think Cameron should have stuck to normal film. It's not a terrible movie, but don't expect to get your heart wrenched out by the story or be shocked by the conclusion - it's exactly what you expect. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
NachoC.Dec 30, 2009
Visually, the film is stunning, the special effects are out of this world, but unlike other Cameron films, this film lacks development or originality. Basically it was a. Pocahontas music and b. it is Dances with Wolves with blue aliens with Visually, the film is stunning, the special effects are out of this world, but unlike other Cameron films, this film lacks development or originality. Basically it was a. Pocahontas music and b. it is Dances with Wolves with blue aliens with it. It was just not what I expected and not in a good way. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
PabloS.Jan 14, 2010
This hurts. Not ever did I want to say anything negative about a James Cameron film, but that's where this is going. I want to start off by saying that I did not find the effects as everyone else, maybe it's because CGI with detail This hurts. Not ever did I want to say anything negative about a James Cameron film, but that's where this is going. I want to start off by saying that I did not find the effects as everyone else, maybe it's because CGI with detail and human emotion isn't such a big deal anymore. I mean we all knew it was heading this way, but this is not CGI without humans, this was mo-cap and its obvious and it should be mo-cap to achieve the Uncanny Valley. All in all we all play video games now and this was not that impressive in a world filled with CGI. Enough about the effects however, the 3D was very well done in the use of depth and being tolerable for two and a half hours, although nothing mind blowing like debris flying at you. Movie theaters still have not achieved the theme park 3D that everyone really wants to see. Now this is where the biggest knock comes and I realize that people are suckers for a good love story, but do you remember Fern Gully? Yup the animated Fox film in the '90's about the rainforrest and fairies, now imagine the fairies being 12 foot blue Native Americans and Sam Worthington is the shrunken guy that realizes that teraing doen the rainforrest is bad. Hmm....ok lets take that story and add millions more dollars to it and make it a sci-fi opus (which it isn't) and tell everyone that they've never seen anything like this. I have and I want my money back. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
felipem.Jan 1, 2010
A nivel visual bastante buena,el resto muy irregular.es como pocahontas en el futuro!.muy predecible.guion con ideas y estereotipos muy trillados.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
mlJan 10, 2010
Watching the media genuflect is really frustrating. I'm a member of the digital generation and this stuff doesn't impress me anymore. You forget about the 3D fifteen minutes in, and there are many movies that put their CGI to Watching the media genuflect is really frustrating. I'm a member of the digital generation and this stuff doesn't impress me anymore. You forget about the 3D fifteen minutes in, and there are many movies that put their CGI to better purposes without a $300 price tag or killing the suspension of disbelief. Without the pretty graphics we are left with a predictable, cliched plot, terrible characters and dialog, and a blatant political subtext that is insulting to even Sarah Palin's intelligence and left me, a far-left liberal, feeling very annoyed. This movie is like being hit over the head repeatedly with a heavy blunt object. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JosephL.Jan 18, 2010
Been there-done it. Can anyone say "Dances with Wolves albeit in 3D? Am I the only one that is less than wowed with Avatar?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
IanMJan 20, 2010
The film was flashy. That was it. Don't get me wrong I'm sure the technology driving it was revolutionary, but the story is so drab and run of the mill that in the first five minutes I knew what was going to happen. It has a good The film was flashy. That was it. Don't get me wrong I'm sure the technology driving it was revolutionary, but the story is so drab and run of the mill that in the first five minutes I knew what was going to happen. It has a good message, but I fear that this plight was drowned out by loud explosions and glossed over with fancy computers. Also I did not like how in the first six minutes of the film I could tell who the bad guys were. It would have created a much more interesting conflict had the lines between good and evil been blurred as they so often are in real life. We know off the bat that the humans are selfish pigs who are occupying the planet Pandora for nothing more than a monetary greed. Over all I fear this film's quality has been blown out of proportion and the ratings skewed because James Cameron created some new fancy machine that helps us confuse great CGI with great story. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
TizioJan 23, 2010
It's Pocahontas with great effects and music.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
LillieJan 3, 2010
The story is a string of tired movie plot cliches, the music is a variation on the Titanic theme, and the very long battle at the end becomes tiresome fast, nevertheless, it is visually transporting and entertaining, as long as you're The story is a string of tired movie plot cliches, the music is a variation on the Titanic theme, and the very long battle at the end becomes tiresome fast, nevertheless, it is visually transporting and entertaining, as long as you're not looking for anything more. If you don't mind inwardly rolling your eyes every 15 minutes, you will enjoy the visual spectacle. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
AntJan 7, 2010
A stunningly beautiful movie that unfortunately doesn't so much have a plot as a checklist of clichés.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
HomerSFeb 11, 2010
This would've been freaken amazing if I didn't have some Fat Guy blocking half of my view and giving away the entire ending to me.... Seriously, that guy needs to GET A LIFE!!! anyone who watches this movie SIX TIMES and gives away This would've been freaken amazing if I didn't have some Fat Guy blocking half of my view and giving away the entire ending to me.... Seriously, that guy needs to GET A LIFE!!! anyone who watches this movie SIX TIMES and gives away the entire ending to everyone around him seriously needs to go away to another universe. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MarhadiashaK.Feb 1, 2010
It's average. The plot is average, acting average. The 3D effects are not satisfying. The only good thing is the Na'vi facial expressions. Overall, mediocre movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
L.M.Feb 16, 2010
Sigh....well I certainly had high hopes for the movie and I'm glad to say it wasn't that disappointing. While it does have an unoriginal story, the new themes of the Navi (indians basically) are interesting enough. A bit too drawn Sigh....well I certainly had high hopes for the movie and I'm glad to say it wasn't that disappointing. While it does have an unoriginal story, the new themes of the Navi (indians basically) are interesting enough. A bit too drawn out but still enjoyable with suprisingly almost no humor. I would probably send my rating down around the 5 area had I not seen it in 3-D, since you had a sense that Cameron wanted to use it for a way to enhance the movie and not just be eye candy I'll give me credit for that. Needless to say the only thing keeping the movie up this high of a rating is the use of 3-D, hopefully we can now see improvements upon dialouge, acting, pacing, and no cheesy love story for the sequel to possibly get the score it deserves. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
A.E.Feb 21, 2010
Superb special effects can't make-up for a predictible plot and so-so acting. See it in 3D at the theater--no need to ever see this movie on the small screen.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
5
philipd.Mar 3, 2010
Technically noteworthy, but cinematically, a let-down.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
SandyMar 5, 2010
Visuals did just enough to keep me engaged most of the time, but not from nodding off in the face of a dull, incoherent story. I'm not sure whether it would have been better with what must have been left on the cutting room floor, but Visuals did just enough to keep me engaged most of the time, but not from nodding off in the face of a dull, incoherent story. I'm not sure whether it would have been better with what must have been left on the cutting room floor, but James Cameron sank with 'Titanic' and this hasn't refloated him (whatever the dollar count may say). Sci-fi/fantasy for kiddies, yet Ferngully was just so much more fun! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
BillyOMar 5, 2010
When I first saw the movie, the graphics, the 3D, the visual effects hypnotized me, which I believe happened to most of the people who saw it. It sucks you in, making you believe you saw a good movie as you walk out of the movie theatre. When I first saw the movie, the graphics, the 3D, the visual effects hypnotized me, which I believe happened to most of the people who saw it. It sucks you in, making you believe you saw a good movie as you walk out of the movie theatre. After the dazzle wore off half way through the movie I started realizing how predictable the movie was, how stereotypical every character was. The mercenaries were brutal killers, the protagonist falls in love and switches to the "good side",the corporate exec. was willing to turn his head for profit. Where were the variables. I do see the side of the plot that is trying to make a point on what we have become as a society and what we have done to get here. Overall it felt like a very expensive Pocohantas. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
ginoMMar 7, 2010
It escapes me how Avatar is being championed as the standout movie ushering us into a new frontier of film making, when it is nothing more than the next baby step in Cinematography and Cinematography alone. If it were merely a pretty It escapes me how Avatar is being championed as the standout movie ushering us into a new frontier of film making, when it is nothing more than the next baby step in Cinematography and Cinematography alone. If it were merely a pretty picture, inspiring film makers to create new worlds when presented with the plausible impetus to do so, there would be no debate in my mind. But it's not. This movie has been respected by critics and commonplace audience alike. What did it do beyond it's visuals? It was written unwittingly, seemingly with an intent to do just that. The story inspires nothing more than a cheap nostalgic stroll to the over-spun screenplay graveyard of every Hollywood cliche. Pitiful exploits of corny one-liners, narrow characters and predictable plot twists saturate every moment of Aavatar. It is ultimately mundane in every way beyond the visual stimulus. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JackS.Apr 11, 2010
What makes a movie immersive? Is it the visuals or is it the plot and believable acting? I find it to be the latter. Avatar is a movie with a story that has a story that's been done before, with adequate acting (and I use adequate very What makes a movie immersive? Is it the visuals or is it the plot and believable acting? I find it to be the latter. Avatar is a movie with a story that has a story that's been done before, with adequate acting (and I use adequate very generously), and poor pacing. The effects were amazing, but thirty years down the line, these effects will be outdated, and what will we be left with? A movie with an overused plot, adequate acting, and poor pacing, with NO AMAZING EFFECTS. This movie set a bad example for movies everywhere, telling moviemakers all over the world that 3D sells, and that originality and creativity does not. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JacobTDApr 6, 2010
Great visuals, story/been there done that feeling/acting/script were all a D+ at best. This is a C movie. Nowhere near my top 10 for the year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
DominicDApr 9, 2010
This movie was incredibly over-rated.It used devices which are familiar with too many film clichés.It was largely predictable, I came in expecting something that would blow my mind, but nothing about this was impressive; not so much This movie was incredibly over-rated.It used devices which are familiar with too many film clichés.It was largely predictable, I came in expecting something that would blow my mind, but nothing about this was impressive; not so much as to receive such acclaim.The good aspects were the special effects and the 3D and the plot/script was adequate. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
RaymondS.Jun 18, 2010
Boring, but visually amazing.
3 of 5 users found this helpful
4
doorgoJun 19, 2010
Are the visual effects breathtaking? Of course, but it's absolutely unforgivable to give credit to a near scene by scene re-make of Disney's Pocahontas. No one in all of Hollywood could come up with an original script for what was Are the visual effects breathtaking? Of course, but it's absolutely unforgivable to give credit to a near scene by scene re-make of Disney's Pocahontas. No one in all of Hollywood could come up with an original script for what was to be potentially a breakthrough in 3D filming? I refuse to believe there are no ideas left in Hollywood, but obviously you can't get a screenplay made unless it came from a graphic novel or is outright stolen from a previous script(whether it was good or not). It's just a sad shame. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful
5
NormDDec 23, 2009
congrats Cameron! In creating a movie which decries the destruction of primitive societies, you have effectively begun the destruction of the 'primitive' art form of narrative and thematic storytelling. you have gone from congrats Cameron! In creating a movie which decries the destruction of primitive societies, you have effectively begun the destruction of the 'primitive' art form of narrative and thematic storytelling. you have gone from 'king of the world' to shiva the destroyer. say goodbye to hollywood..in 10 years, it'll all be 400 million dollar corporations masquerading as movies. 3d was nice though. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
GregADec 23, 2009
The special effects were quite vertiginous, but I feel like the director did not take a few things into consideration. First of all, does he not understand the insane electricity bill the planet would be receiving every month due to the The special effects were quite vertiginous, but I feel like the director did not take a few things into consideration. First of all, does he not understand the insane electricity bill the planet would be receiving every month due to the lighting sources placed in the ground? I also feel that he left out the Blue Penis demographic, which I believed this would be the only movie of the Winter that could compare to the Blue Penis quota set by Watchmen, which was still quite low. On the whole, the movie was less filled with phosphorescent genitalia than I was hoping for. Four words to describe this movie: NOT ENOUGH BLUE PENIS! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
UldisBJan 11, 2010
Story is so lacking that trailer tells it almost all. This movie is comic like in its plot and characters. Visuals make up for missing story, but engaged me only for about 1/2 movie. Then i got bored and little logical errors ruined reality Story is so lacking that trailer tells it almost all. This movie is comic like in its plot and characters. Visuals make up for missing story, but engaged me only for about 1/2 movie. Then i got bored and little logical errors ruined reality feeling of the movie - e.g. there exists no real communication link between human and avatar - they are connected by magic in otherwise technoworld, why someone makes giant earthmoving machine with cameras that can be taken off with a rock, why early 21st century technology in a distant future, and so on. Last 20 minutes of fighting, killing and dying got me engaged again. Luckily we do not need to kill anybody for real in Colloseum these days - computer graphics are good enough, but basic joy of seeing bad guy killed are ageless. There are two new 'props' i have not yet seen in the movie - universal man-animal interface the natives use to connect with various living things and biological network storage where navi's upload their deceased for eternal storage :) Unfortunately what these things could mean for humanity does concern Cameron not. These are props to make scene. This is not the movie i will keep at home and watch again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JAJan 11, 2010
Really doesn't live up to the hype. Yes, it is very visually impressive, but the character/creature designs are uninspired, and the plot is bland let call it vanillaish, and all the characters are flat one dementional people you cant Really doesn't live up to the hype. Yes, it is very visually impressive, but the character/creature designs are uninspired, and the plot is bland let call it vanillaish, and all the characters are flat one dementional people you cant help but not care about. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
DQSJan 1, 2010
Why do "ground breaking films" so often have scripts that are so stunningly dull and unimaginative. I guess if you only experience life via video games that's the extent of your experience to write from. Wish it had been anything but Why do "ground breaking films" so often have scripts that are so stunningly dull and unimaginative. I guess if you only experience life via video games that's the extent of your experience to write from. Wish it had been anything but predictable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
MiguelGJan 13, 2010
Definition of average. This movie has fantastic visuals and cinematography, and the 3d is a must to experience this movie, however the story, acting, and dialogue is predictable, cliched, cheesy, and a complete copy of Pocahontas, Dances Definition of average. This movie has fantastic visuals and cinematography, and the 3d is a must to experience this movie, however the story, acting, and dialogue is predictable, cliched, cheesy, and a complete copy of Pocahontas, Dances with Wolves, and probably about a 1000 other movies. I saw it for free so I didn't mind so much but I certainly wouldn't have paid to see this movie. The only thing the movie has going for it is the 3d and special effects. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MattiF.Jan 19, 2010
While this film will be remembered as probably the first film with properly natural looking and animated cgi characters and one of the only films so far that managed to use 3d effects without overusing gratuitous "coming at you" shots While this film will be remembered as probably the first film with properly natural looking and animated cgi characters and one of the only films so far that managed to use 3d effects without overusing gratuitous "coming at you" shots I'm afraid that the actual film underneath the graphics it is very light with all the attention focused on the visual flair and not the plot or characters. A score of 4/10 represents what is now at the start of 2010; a mediocre film which showcases current computer graphics technology at its peak. In a few years this technology will be outdated and it is my belief that the film will be mostly forgotten. It is definitely not so bad that it's unwatchable but the far too long run time and simple story mean that I'd never bother watching it again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
jeffrJan 27, 2010
Visually the movie was stunning. My main concern is I did not care about the blue people. Still a good movie and worth the view.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
FrancisK.Jan 27, 2010
Overhyped, boring, derivative, disappointing, laughable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
DaveHJan 31, 2010
Too predictable, it does have amazing visual effects but other than than it has bad to average acting and is a rip-off Pocahontas.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JMJan 31, 2010
Without the visuals, this is a half baked movie. Seriously, watch it in 2D and it will seem a little tedious.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
DexxterBJan 4, 2010
The Good: Avatar has mesmerizing special effects, amazing visuals, and is action packed. The Bad: Cliche story, forgetable characters, cheesy dialogue, extremely annoying voice-overs and the main character is a lifeless soldier who wants The Good: Avatar has mesmerizing special effects, amazing visuals, and is action packed. The Bad: Cliche story, forgetable characters, cheesy dialogue, extremely annoying voice-overs and the main character is a lifeless soldier who wants desperately to be an ugly blue freak (I think the bad parts in Avatar completely outweigh the good parts!) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
AaronL.Jan 6, 2010
Only gets this high of a rating due to the special effects. It is a beautiful film to look at and the visuals are mesmerizing at times. However, if I were Kevin Costner, I'd sue. This is just basically "Dances with Wolves" in outer Only gets this high of a rating due to the special effects. It is a beautiful film to look at and the visuals are mesmerizing at times. However, if I were Kevin Costner, I'd sue. This is just basically "Dances with Wolves" in outer space. Cameron even rips himself off by taking elements of "Aliens" and putting them here. It just seems to me that so much time was spent on the visuals that it affected the time needed to develop a more original script/story. Once again, I really wish Cameron would get a co-writer as he really needs one. Regardless, I recommend seeing it for the stunning visuals. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
WaldoG.Jan 7, 2010
Overblown, overlong and cliched.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
OscarM.Jan 8, 2010
Special effects and visuals - esp in 3D - fabulous!! But o/wise the movie is nothing much more than an updated Disney cartoon, along the likes of Bambi, Pocahontas, or the like. Disappointing that despite all the money thrown at it, Cameron Special effects and visuals - esp in 3D - fabulous!! But o/wise the movie is nothing much more than an updated Disney cartoon, along the likes of Bambi, Pocahontas, or the like. Disappointing that despite all the money thrown at it, Cameron could come up with a rather unimaginative and pedestrian script. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
BobNFeb 23, 2010
Amazing special effects. Nothing more. Plot is silly, childish, typical save the earth-american-imperialists bs. The overt lines about Iraq were laughable, does Cameron think us stupid? Is it that he believes average folk cannot connect his Amazing special effects. Nothing more. Plot is silly, childish, typical save the earth-american-imperialists bs. The overt lines about Iraq were laughable, does Cameron think us stupid? Is it that he believes average folk cannot connect his plot with modern actions? Or is it just that he is an engineer, not a storyteller? Amazing special FX, nothing more. See it in 3D, then forget about it, I certainly did. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
TharS.Feb 3, 2010
What makes this silly film credible are the special effects. Without the "state of the art" CGI revolution, this movie is ,basically, a live-action version of Disney's Pocahontas. Hardly the best picture of the year. most innovative? What makes this silly film credible are the special effects. Without the "state of the art" CGI revolution, this movie is ,basically, a live-action version of Disney's Pocahontas. Hardly the best picture of the year. most innovative? perhaps. but it is far from being the best film of the year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
PhilB.Feb 6, 2010
I struggle to understand how anyone can be so sucked in by the graphics that they overlook the recycled plot, terrible dialogue and mediocre performances. If indeed it does change cinema forever then it's a sad day for film-making when I struggle to understand how anyone can be so sucked in by the graphics that they overlook the recycled plot, terrible dialogue and mediocre performances. If indeed it does change cinema forever then it's a sad day for film-making when focussing on the 3D is a substitute for trying to make a good film. I'm just thankful I've not met a single person who was "blown away", in fact I don't know anyone who'd award it more than a 7. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
4
VadimSMar 16, 2010
The movie is beautifully made , has incredible premise, but every single time you actually start to enjoy it, it throws at you the most generic/cliche plot-twists and characters nullifying any enjoyment you may get from watching this.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
BenR.Mar 24, 2010
Seriously not all that it was cracked up to be, the story was drawn out too long to then just rush the action seen in one last ditch attempt to pull the audience in. Overall, nothing to be rated as a top movie of all time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
PaulG.Mar 4, 2010
A quarter of a billion dollars in special effects? Yep, it was pretty cool looking... However, no amount of special effects can cover up a trite story and heavy handed metaphors. I'm being decent with a four.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
AliZApr 11, 2010
The plot has been used way too many times before. Very unoriginal. Also....its a rip-off of dances with smurfs.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JonHApr 24, 2010
A short summary of my opinion after watching the movie: Pervers material and the story is unbelievable, as in I can't believe anything on the screen. Visuals are very good though.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
Ikarus14Apr 26, 2010
Sure, the visuals are highly distinctive but the unoriginal storyline and lazy dialogue just about put me to sleep.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
LarryDApr 27, 2010
Six. Six is a good score considering the length of the film. It felt more like a retold western set in a futuristic setting than a sci-fi epic. In James Cameron's vision mankind - surprise, surprise - want to harvest a distant planet of Six. Six is a good score considering the length of the film. It felt more like a retold western set in a futuristic setting than a sci-fi epic. In James Cameron's vision mankind - surprise, surprise - want to harvest a distant planet of it's valuable materials with little regard for the planet's inhabitants which paints the long and cliché story driven film that this is: Eco warriors fighting against evil invaders who would sooner destroy the planet than look for an alternative mining site. Dialogue was good, mostly, but in parts seemed a bit off and awkward, especially when you remember that the main character was a human controlling an alien body from a nearby outpost. Visually the film is quite impressive but not not a huge step over what we haven't already seen in other CGI movies over the past ten years. Overall it's an "okay" movie. Not the best and certainly not the "greatest adventure of all time", if you'd even deem it in the slightest bit of an adventure, but worth seeing if you've nothing else on your list of movies to rent. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
RobbyZ.Apr 4, 2010
It looks like "Avatar" was only one of James Cameron's film experiment to test his new stereoscopic technology.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
KathySApr 8, 2010
Too long, vastly over-rated.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
4
ThomasG.May 3, 2010
This movie was pretty to look at, but was nothing more. The story was copied and not very good. Besides, the acting was nothing special.
2 of 4 users found this helpful
4
FredD.Dec 19, 2009
The tech aspects of the movie were great but not nearly enough to save the ham-handed, overbearing and overly politicized story...one review I read that said the "message overshadowed the narrative" was the perfect summary. The script was The tech aspects of the movie were great but not nearly enough to save the ham-handed, overbearing and overly politicized story...one review I read that said the "message overshadowed the narrative" was the perfect summary. The script was amazingly stupid...beyond even those who would say "what did you expect"...more than this my friend...I expected more than this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
BuddJ.Dec 19, 2009
Same old Bull, it was like an old cowboy and indians story. The main charater was named Sully. Why not Tyrone??
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JWSDec 19, 2009
Lots of looking at my watch in the second half and the score had me wanting earplugs. Dialogue was kinda ordinary as well. If this really is the future of film I'm gonna get to catch up on a lot of reading. Lots of style over very Lots of looking at my watch in the second half and the score had me wanting earplugs. Dialogue was kinda ordinary as well. If this really is the future of film I'm gonna get to catch up on a lot of reading. Lots of style over very little substance. As for the anti-American, anti-Military rant some people seem to think it was, I didn't really see it that way, though as said I might have dozed off for a few minutes there. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
LukeW.Dec 21, 2009
visually stunning? yes. a plot line that a 10 year old could have written? yes. it seems like the visual aspects of the movie drove the development of the plot line instead of the other way around. nonetheless, worth seeing on the big screen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JamieCDec 21, 2009
Visual FX in 3D were beautiful. Great attention to detail and very pleasing palette. But the story, characterization and dialogue was weak. It was dragging in parts. Expected more from the action packed ending.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JohnDec 26, 2009
Great special effects, mediocre story line. If you get bored by the story than the CGI will keep you entertained.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MattM.Dec 27, 2009
Excellent special effects, but the plot can't match the visuals.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ElijahF.Dec 27, 2009
I find it hilariously ironic that the technology-dependant, military-based, war-mongering, mining corporation is played by living, breathing, human beings whereas the naturalistic indigenous people represent $30mil in mo-cap technology. I find it hilariously ironic that the technology-dependant, military-based, war-mongering, mining corporation is played by living, breathing, human beings whereas the naturalistic indigenous people represent $30mil in mo-cap technology. Points added for pretty world and well told tale, points deducted for predictable and cliched story. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MattNDec 30, 2009
I would be interested to see a top ten list of favorite science fiction compiled by anyone who gave this movie a 10. I say this because all who are extolling this movie as a 10 seem to only talk about the great visuals (especially in IMAX I would be interested to see a top ten list of favorite science fiction compiled by anyone who gave this movie a 10. I say this because all who are extolling this movie as a 10 seem to only talk about the great visuals (especially in IMAX 3D) What they don't talk about is the story. It is telling. The movie was OK at best. I am sad to say that I saw it first in 2d and then in IMAX 3d just to see if it was that much better. It was not. I preferred it in 2D. Maybe because It was new then or maybe because I could actually focus on what I wanted to. I admit I am no fan of the new 3D gimmick... Long review short. There were a few interesting concepts, like a consciousness arising out of a network comparable to the human brain, (albeit of trees), coevolution creating a world full of closely interacting species, with a physical link instead of behavioral mostly, and the idea that love may be dependent not on species so much as comparable mental capacity once bodies are a thing of the past or almost so. Sadly none of these were developed and the last I think wasn't even thought of by the film-maker. It was pretty but it was hollow. Trust the reviews not the numbers pasted on them. The 10s were wowed by pretty lights the 5s and lower were disappointed by the lack of any interesting story, political preaching or sci-fi made for people who don't like sci-fi. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
DannyWDec 30, 2009
This movie looked fantastic, especially in 3-D, however the story line was a little too long and felt overly cheesy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
StevenZDec 30, 2009
Does anyone remember THE EMERALD FOREST? A child is kidnapped by an indigenous South American tribe and his father has to "go native" to rescue him, learning all sorts of mystic "one with the universe" mumbo-jumbo along the way? That's Does anyone remember THE EMERALD FOREST? A child is kidnapped by an indigenous South American tribe and his father has to "go native" to rescue him, learning all sorts of mystic "one with the universe" mumbo-jumbo along the way? That's AVATAR. The aliens looked like a mashup of TRON and CATS, and the "groundbreaking" nighttime visuals reminded me of a glow-in-the-dark miniature golf course seen under blacklighting. It was entertaining, but hardly the Second Coming! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MattDec 30, 2009
I can't even begin to describe how unsatisfying Avatar was. Cliched story, over-exposition (aka idiot lectures), bad dialogue, numbing amounts of pathos, bad to non-existent character development or exploration of their relationships... I can't even begin to describe how unsatisfying Avatar was. Cliched story, over-exposition (aka idiot lectures), bad dialogue, numbing amounts of pathos, bad to non-existent character development or exploration of their relationships... If you are only in for the sweet CG then this is you're movie. But if you value a decent story avoid Avatar. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JayT.Jan 19, 2010
I had the same problem with this movie as I did with "9". The visuals are stimulating, but everything else nearly falls flat. The first half of the film was engaging and entertaining, while the second half went on much too long. This I had the same problem with this movie as I did with "9". The visuals are stimulating, but everything else nearly falls flat. The first half of the film was engaging and entertaining, while the second half went on much too long. This isn't to say "Avatar" is a bad movie... At it's worst moments it's just below mediocre. It's just that with such a huge budget, I wish they had focused more time on the story rather than the effects. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
Avatarwassoboring!Jan 21, 2010
Fantastic visuals but boring boring boring! It was brutal trying to get through this movie. I left the cinema half way through to have a break for 15 minutes. Once the awe of the 3D visuals had subsided, then all was left was the storyline, Fantastic visuals but boring boring boring! It was brutal trying to get through this movie. I left the cinema half way through to have a break for 15 minutes. Once the awe of the 3D visuals had subsided, then all was left was the storyline, and it was a boring, cliche one at that. The 5/10 rating is purely for the visuals. If this movie was 2D only, I'd give it a 1. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
BrandonSJan 22, 2010
Brilliant special effects, but the storytelling and acting are clumsy and poor. Whereas Toy Story and LOTR matched innovative effects with extraordinary stories, Avatar is solely worth seeing for the magical effects. Worth seeing for sure, Brilliant special effects, but the storytelling and acting are clumsy and poor. Whereas Toy Story and LOTR matched innovative effects with extraordinary stories, Avatar is solely worth seeing for the magical effects. Worth seeing for sure, but not really a great movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
DanielV.Jan 22, 2010
I truly did enjoy this movie. The special effects were fantastic, and Cameron made the right move by delaying this movie until Stereoscopic 3D had been perfected. But that was perhaps only one of few right moves made by him. The plot was I truly did enjoy this movie. The special effects were fantastic, and Cameron made the right move by delaying this movie until Stereoscopic 3D had been perfected. But that was perhaps only one of few right moves made by him. The plot was well overdone, and incredibly predictable. But the lush jungle of Pandora immersed me, and the long run time didn't overstay its welcome. I won't be seeing it again any time soon, if ever again. But I would not be entirely opposed to buying it on Blu-Ray. Bottom line, go see it, 3D is not necessary, but recommended. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
KurtZJan 24, 2010
This is a visually impressive film, but the dazzling effects mask a sophomoric, poorly-written screenplay-- this will age poorly, much as Titanic did, and I think many critics will be embarrassed by the gushing reviews they're giving to This is a visually impressive film, but the dazzling effects mask a sophomoric, poorly-written screenplay-- this will age poorly, much as Titanic did, and I think many critics will be embarrassed by the gushing reviews they're giving to this now. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
DPJan 26, 2010
Getting past the awe of a fast panning 3D environment--which is difficult for many sci-fi junkies--I grade the movie on what we'll think outside of our temporary giddiness. When we come back to this movie, the lack of depth in the Getting past the awe of a fast panning 3D environment--which is difficult for many sci-fi junkies--I grade the movie on what we'll think outside of our temporary giddiness. When we come back to this movie, the lack of depth in the characterization, the weak attempts at philosophy, and the over stated Gia-Green Earth message will not only bore us, it will insult us. Remember Jar-Jar from Starwars Episode 1. We tolerated him on the first viewing, but has made repeated viewings intolerable. Once the shiny green is gone; the movie will be as well--or we'll just stare with pitiful regret at a box on our shelves. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
6
JohnL.Feb 26, 2010
I thought this movie would be awesome. But the only good thing was the eye candy. The story sucked balls and the movie was too long and everything was boring until the battle at the end. I was literally sleeping in the cinema. Basically this I thought this movie would be awesome. But the only good thing was the eye candy. The story sucked balls and the movie was too long and everything was boring until the battle at the end. I was literally sleeping in the cinema. Basically this movie is a waste of 2:30 and 20$ (cinema ticket + bus ticket)... District 9 was so much better. Again I repeat: this movie is an overhyped piece of shit that looks nice. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
AndrewB.Mar 11, 2010
CGI is great, acting is okay, but the story is downright awful. I could guess exactly what would happen next, very predictable, and not interesting. If the story had been more original, then I would give it a 7.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
GarrettN.Mar 25, 2010
The movie was a visual masterpiece, but just didn't have many original parts,and when it did, they were kinda stupid (ie, the hair things).
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
chrisg.May 23, 2010
Cool animation but the anti-american rhetoric was repulsive. Reminded me of a cross between Small Soldiers and The Crucible.
2 of 4 users found this helpful
5
EddyIMay 28, 2010
Well, Avatar Quite possibly the most overhyped movie of all time. Acting is average at best, the plot is unoriginal and was carried out far better in movies released a little over 2 decades ago. However, the visuals are breathtaking, but Well, Avatar Quite possibly the most overhyped movie of all time. Acting is average at best, the plot is unoriginal and was carried out far better in movies released a little over 2 decades ago. However, the visuals are breathtaking, but thats pretty much the best part of this movie. In short, if you're going to spend a decade making a movie might as well give it an original story. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful
5
SomeRandoGuyJun 15, 2010
It's ok, not that awesome, but ok. It's long, and it has a lot of good parts. Problem is i'm not a kind of person for this kind of movie, and i was rather bored in a lot of parts. ANother thing i didn't like(my personal It's ok, not that awesome, but ok. It's long, and it has a lot of good parts. Problem is i'm not a kind of person for this kind of movie, and i was rather bored in a lot of parts. ANother thing i didn't like(my personal opinion) was that all the cool characters died and we were left with a blue smurf and his blue gf, reminded me of that song Blue by eifel65(i wonder why). Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful
5
GeorgeJJun 16, 2010
Graphics phenomenal but story sucked. Unubtainium, really? They couldn't have come up with anything better.
19 of 25 users found this helpful
6
BillJDec 18, 2009
Visually stunning, very short on story. Cameron keeps amazing, but one wishes he would stop being peter pan and maybe stick to serious movie making and one woman in his life.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
LlanderWDec 18, 2009
Nice graphics the theme of Nativie American Indians didnt work well for me. Why would an alien race sound like warriors on a warpath?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
TylerDec 18, 2009
I dont know what to entirely think of this film. The CGI through most of the film is breathtaking, while some parts do look cartoonish, its still quite remarkable. The first half of the movie moves at a rather dull pace. The plot is rather I dont know what to entirely think of this film. The CGI through most of the film is breathtaking, while some parts do look cartoonish, its still quite remarkable. The first half of the movie moves at a rather dull pace. The plot is rather loose and at its core, is nothing more than something we've seen 500 times before - evil men forcing out the local natives. Its worth a watch, but probably only a rental. Nothing really interesting happens until the last 30 or so minutes, which is very well done tho. But nothing unusual happens and it tends to be predictable. Just an average movie with great CGI. I dont know about others, but i was ready to ask Marcus Theatres in Green Bay for my money back, not because of the film, but because of the rediculous 25 minutes of commercials before the film. That probably didnt help my attitude going into the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
AndrewWDec 18, 2009
Giving it a five since the CGI makes up half the film and was amazing. However the story was dull,shallow and tried to copy too much from Dances with Wolves. Also the last 15 minutes of the film was a huge political and environmental Giving it a five since the CGI makes up half the film and was amazing. However the story was dull,shallow and tried to copy too much from Dances with Wolves. Also the last 15 minutes of the film was a huge political and environmental statement which wasn't needed... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
TonyLDec 18, 2009
"Dances with Avatar" Cameron steals the plot of "Dances with Wolves" and changes the environment to a futuristic newly discovered planet. The special effects were amazing, but at times made me dizzy. You've seen the storylines, themes "Dances with Avatar" Cameron steals the plot of "Dances with Wolves" and changes the environment to a futuristic newly discovered planet. The special effects were amazing, but at times made me dizzy. You've seen the storylines, themes and character development in a dozen different movies. At times I cringed at the the dialogue. If you love special effects then this is the movie for you. I suggest going to a red box renting Dances with Wolves for a $1 and watching it through a kaleidoscope. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JeffreyD.Dec 19, 2009
Just beautiful CGI. Not much else. Every Hollywood cliche in two hours that felt like four. Worth renting for the new world of Pandora.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JosephB.Dec 19, 2009
It's a damn solid movie, that makes you feel connected to the characters and the plot. It's not a masterpiece by any means, but it is definitely worth seeing. However, I can't shake the fact that the movie seems to hate you. It's a damn solid movie, that makes you feel connected to the characters and the plot. It's not a masterpiece by any means, but it is definitely worth seeing. However, I can't shake the fact that the movie seems to hate you. Yes, YOU. The problem here is that the movie seems to try and make us feel bad. As part of the backstory, Earth is a crapsack world, and is not a pleasant place anymore. Why? Why is this necessary to the plot? The entire movie is about human's selfishness, so why are you having us feel BAD about our homeworld? That feeling can get very intrusive once you hear about it from the characters. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
AlanGDec 20, 2009
Technically and visually a very good movie, especially if watched in 3D. But story wise, somewhat sophomoric and a rip off of so many movies of the past. It was like watching Star Wars, Apocalypse Now, Harry Potter, West Side Story, Alien, Technically and visually a very good movie, especially if watched in 3D. But story wise, somewhat sophomoric and a rip off of so many movies of the past. It was like watching Star Wars, Apocalypse Now, Harry Potter, West Side Story, Alien, Dances with Wolves, Lord of the Ring and more all rolled into one. The storyline was bearable until it got to one of the rituals which was downright hokey. I also thought it was way too violent. It was violence for special effects sake. The acting and dialogue was also pretty lame. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JohnZDec 20, 2009
Depends on an amazing number of cliches and stereotypes - on the evil side, the US military and a large corporation, both intent on destroying a beautiful luminous ecosystem for the "unobtanium" (no joke) under the ground. On the good side, Depends on an amazing number of cliches and stereotypes - on the evil side, the US military and a large corporation, both intent on destroying a beautiful luminous ecosystem for the "unobtanium" (no joke) under the ground. On the good side, aliens that are essentially 10-foot tall blue Native Americans ("horses", bows and arrows, war paint, tribal leaders, etc etc), a female scientist, a Latina pilot, a paraplegic Marine, and of course the planetary Nature Goddess. Who will like it? Left-wingers and New Age types. Who will be disappointed by all the cliches? Intelligent people and grown-ups. Visually interesting though. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
PauleyDec 20, 2009
You have to separate the movie into two different parts. Visually, it was stunning but not the world-changer that I had been lead to believe that it was - at least for the public. It may be this type of world-changer for the industry. It was You have to separate the movie into two different parts. Visually, it was stunning but not the world-changer that I had been lead to believe that it was - at least for the public. It may be this type of world-changer for the industry. It was beautiful but failed to live up to the high expectations that I had. As a movie, I thought it was the biggest piece of anti-military, anti-corporate America, and pro-enviromentalist propoganda that I had ever seen. It was so one-sided that it hurt the film. Could he not have filled in some backstory on what drove the corporation to need the underground resource other than pure evil greed or give the military a more realistic sense other than simple blood-lust. There was no depth to these elements of the story which exposed Cameron's liberal, self-hating mindset. If he spent as much time and energy into making a great movie as he did into pushing his liberal agenda then it would have been huge success instead of the beautiful propoganda piece that was released. The most successful part of Cameron's operation was making sure the full extent of the bias of his film was not discussed before opening weekend to save the boxoffice. That will not be the case the second weekend. Prepare for the backlash. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful