Metascore
29

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 332 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 21
  2. Negative: 11 out of 21
  1. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    50
    This is one schlockfest that may be enjoyed more by casual viewers than by hard-core fans, since writer-director Paul W.S. Anderson breaks with the established mythology of both properties whenever he feels like it. Like it matters.
  2. 50
    Between the Predators' dripping their glow-in-the-dark green blood and the Aliens' getting their rubber cement mucous all over everything, this is certainly a very sticky movie, though not, ultimately, a very frightening or commanding one.
  3. 40
    A reductive spook show in which a bunch of puny humans get chased around by scary monsters.
  4. 38
    The film is critic-proof and it will find an audience, but it's hard to imagine even the film's target demographic (teenage boys) being overly enthusiastic about the product. It's disposable entertainment of the worst kind.
  5. It's a murky, empty-headed dive into the depths of the Antarctic and the heart of monster movie cliches that leaves you praying for most of the cast to get killed off fast, to put them (and us) out of our misery.
  6. Well, Sanaa Lathan's in there somewhere as the smart and sexy ass-kickin' chick, but it's really all about the monster disembowelments, which happen often.
  7. Take a wretched premise. Imagine the worst picture that could be made from it. Then imagine something even worse. That's Alien vs. Predator.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 90 out of 174
  2. Negative: 57 out of 174
  1. Nov 6, 2011
    10
    I am a big fan of the Alien & Predator series, and I love this movie. I think this film is very underrated and it's really entertaining and fun. Even though it has little gore, it's still a great film. Expand
  2. Feb 20, 2013
    7
    Feels like a Classic, but it could've been better.
  3. Jun 2, 2011
    7
    As a hardcore fan of both franchises, I thought this film worked. I was surprised with the story and how effectively both species were intertwined in history. I found myself making the connections of all the little details I have noticed over the years in the predecessor films. It was also refreshing to see an old regular like Henrikson join the cast. Expand
  4. Jan 11, 2014
    5
    Not as bad as it could have been. My big issue with AVP is that it is a quick film (90 minutes) and it does little to explain why the Predators use the Aliens for sport. Expand
  5. AnsonG
    May 2, 2007
    4
    I saw Alien Vs. Predator and had ambivalent feelings about it. It definitely could have been a lot better, had better actors, better script, better reason and logic, and better atmosphere. It also could have been much worse than it was as well. What is does have going for it to some small degree is that the film was directed by Paul W. S. Anderson, a competent suspense, science fiction director accustomed to working with this kind of material. Anderson gives the audience what he thinks they want to see, and going by the money his movies make he doesn't fall far off the mark most of the time. For me(being someone I gratefully acknowledge as being outside the majority of the movie-going population) he disappoints with his cliché-ridden dialog, tissue-thin, stereotypical characters and plot threads, his over-used CGI effects, and his general arrogance to presume how little the movie-going population knows. Notwithstanding all of that, Alien Vs. Predator has some special moments. What did I like: some of the sets were impressive, a couple of the fights were well-executed, Lance Henriksen (being the only "real" actor in the film, and the Artic setting surrounding this hidden pyramid). I haven't gone into any detail of the plot for two reasons: (1)many other reviewers have already done so and (2)the plot is so ridiculous that any real scrutiny would be more enlightening than anything that happened in the film. Is ALien Vs. Predator entertaining? Yes, it is - like many accidents are. It has just enough going for it to keep the viewer engaged but never really satisfied. Expand
  6. Nov 19, 2011
    2
    It was decent. I was a bit disapointed that the plot wasnt thought out more and it didnt have that many confrontations between the Aliens and Predators either. I dont think I would recommend this to any one. Expand
  7. MikeC.
    Oct 11, 2005
    0
    A wasted premise. whoever financed this is probably kicked themselves or maybe not because it was obviously made just to make money with total disreguard to quality. Expand

See all 174 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Kicking Ass: The Best and Worst Comic Book Movies

    Kicking Ass: The Best and Worst Comic Book Movies Image
    Published: April 12, 2010
    Which comic book movies kick ass, and which deserve to be kicked to the curb? We run through the best and worst examples of films based on comics, from "Superman" to "Howard the Duck."