Lions Gate Films | Release Date: May 4, 2007
8.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 89 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
75
Mixed:
6
Negative:
8
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
JaneG.May 28, 2007
This movie was not believable. Where was the anger and rage most patients exhibit along with their confusion.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
NancyE.May 13, 2007
Too many ponderous, slow close-ups of people staring at each other; their lives seemed impossibly bleak before Alzheimer's: no family, no friends, no pets! And the last thing that would cheer me up is being read poems from Iceland. Too many ponderous, slow close-ups of people staring at each other; their lives seemed impossibly bleak before Alzheimer's: no family, no friends, no pets! And the last thing that would cheer me up is being read poems from Iceland. Bring David Sedaris -- maybe at age 61 I'm just not "grown-up" enough to want to be this depressed at the movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
RogerG.May 12, 2007
Terrible and pretentious about a bourgois dull couple. Skip it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
PatG.May 19, 2007
Well, I went to this movie wanting to love it, but I came out disappointed. The best thing about it is the chance to see Julie Christie. All the actors are good, actually, but the whole is just not engaging. It was not depressing or moving. Well, I went to this movie wanting to love it, but I came out disappointed. The best thing about it is the chance to see Julie Christie. All the actors are good, actually, but the whole is just not engaging. It was not depressing or moving. Rather it seemed like a collection of scenes. Yes, Alzheimer's is tragic. This movie looked at the tragedy, but did not really capture it. Polley does show promise, I think, but she did not fulifll it here. Sigh. I wanted to love it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
AnthonyNMar 15, 2008
This is a very unrealistic portrayal of Alzheimer's disease, cruel to those that have it. There is no poetry in going senile, and this film is inaccurate sentimental tosh. Great acting, great music, great photoraphy, but totally wrong, This is a very unrealistic portrayal of Alzheimer's disease, cruel to those that have it. There is no poetry in going senile, and this film is inaccurate sentimental tosh. Great acting, great music, great photoraphy, but totally wrong, wrong, wrong about what dementia is about. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
AnnV.Dec 5, 2009
Not really about Alzheimer's. It is about a guilty husband. Slow, pretty boring. No truth about dementia in this show.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
PooPooPlatterMay 12, 2007
Why on Earth does everyone think this insincere, stilted, junk tart is well-written and honest? Ick. Forced, awkward, poorly written, overwrought dung. Egoyan wannabe, blech.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
Mr.H.May 12, 2007
Nope. Silly and stilted. Just 'cuz it's odd doesn't mean it's good. Au contraire.
0 of 0 users found this helpful