Columbia Pictures | Release Date: June 28, 2017
7.7
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 1076 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
878
Mixed:
119
Negative:
79
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
yosemiteJul 2, 2017
I wanted to like it and thought I would. A novel idea, a kid who drives like Joey Logano but needs to constantly listen to music to drown out tinnitus. A car driving savant but the novelty wore off. Lead was well cast, Spacey and Fox wereI wanted to like it and thought I would. A novel idea, a kid who drives like Joey Logano but needs to constantly listen to music to drown out tinnitus. A car driving savant but the novelty wore off. Lead was well cast, Spacey and Fox were miscast and the story was uneven. Turned soapy at the end . It looked like scenes taken from a dozen movies and blended together. It wasn't the worst movie I've seen but should have been so much better Expand
16 of 20 users found this helpful164
All this user's reviews
6
Tony1984Jul 11, 2017
If you like car chase movies with Tarantino levels of violence and snappy chit chat with top class actors, then this is the movie for you, except the for lead actor that is.. Ansel Elsgort is awful, way out of his depth with no screenIf you like car chase movies with Tarantino levels of violence and snappy chit chat with top class actors, then this is the movie for you, except the for lead actor that is.. Ansel Elsgort is awful, way out of his depth with no screen presence at all, zilch zero nada. In fairness the writers were mawkishly nauseating in establishing his character's virtue 〔Dead Mom, Savantesque, Loves Old Music, Looks after Black disabled Step father, Kind to old ladies, Self Sacrificial....where's the sick bag 〕which doesn't help. Regardless he's abysmal and he ,with the capable assistance of a jarring music director with no sense of tone or timing , ruin it for everybody and we get a 6 at best.....8.5? Get outta here shills Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
6
Colin123Jul 14, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I am surprised this movie got so many great reviews. The characters just don't seem plausible. The sound track is great I will give it that, and the idea about the main character having a 'disability' is interesting but isn't explored properly. Yes, the car chase scenes show a lot of great filming but get pretty redundant. The main character doesn't really cut it as the 'reluctant' criminal. He only goes straight when his hand is forced. He could have made a positive decision much earlier in the film. And all the killing and violence just seems thrown together in some kind of unreality. It is hard to cheer for the main character who only seems to redeem himself at the very very end, which is much too late at least for me. It had a lot of potential but lost me in the end. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
6
TheWaffleNov 20, 2017
Baby Driver is a fun run-of-the-mill action movie, but it's not as spectacular as the reviews would have you believe. The driving sequences are good, but the inter-personal conflicts are far too contrived. It's a heist movie, it's not hard toBaby Driver is a fun run-of-the-mill action movie, but it's not as spectacular as the reviews would have you believe. The driving sequences are good, but the inter-personal conflicts are far too contrived. It's a heist movie, it's not hard to come up with good reasons for tension between criminals, and yet Baby Driver bends over backwards to create artificial tension with random thugs picking a fight with Baby even after he's saved their bacon. The movie also leans heavily on a romance that just doesn't really work all that well in my opinion, the girl is hopelessly in love with Baby from their first scene and it doesn't really go anywhere after that. Finally, Baby's over-wrought conscience is a bit hard to square with his actions in the film. We're supposed to see him as a good kid in a bad spot, but he is an accessory to dozens of serious crimes and put civilians in danger constantly. In the end, I would recommend Drive instead, but Baby Driver is still a good time. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
5
ourtimehascomeNov 27, 2017
It's fascinating just how quickly Baby Driver becomes the typical formulaic nonsense I would expect from less experienced directors. Edgar Wright follows The World's End with this film about a teen named Baby who's a driver. It really isIt's fascinating just how quickly Baby Driver becomes the typical formulaic nonsense I would expect from less experienced directors. Edgar Wright follows The World's End with this film about a teen named Baby who's a driver. It really is quite difficult to make a heist film like this uninteresting, but it's little more than a good soundtrack and fun car chases. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
DefinitelyMaybAug 18, 2017
I seriously don't get all the hype about this film. Sure I love Edgar Wright's direction in Hot Fuzz, Shaun of the Dead and with Scott Pilgrim, but this movie is substandard at best as a comedy heist film. First, it does neither of its genreI seriously don't get all the hype about this film. Sure I love Edgar Wright's direction in Hot Fuzz, Shaun of the Dead and with Scott Pilgrim, but this movie is substandard at best as a comedy heist film. First, it does neither of its genre elements particularly well - I wasn't laughing nor particularly thrilled for most parts. The plot is very generic and lacks any sense of urgency for the most part. Character motivations are all over the place like Edgar Wright's hair and editing-wise, wasn't anything special. People seem to harp on about how great the action is and how its well timed to the songs, but I don't see anything great about it to be honest. Perhaps why I didnt like this film is that I've seen it before. That was a masterpiece called Drive and Baby Driver seems to borrow everything about it. The good things about Baby Driver is that it is midly entertaining and some of the songs are okay, I guess, apart from the fact its blasting at the audicence 24/7 like an angsty teen's mixtape. Expand
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
4
zedzdedSep 27, 2017
i so so wanted to enjoy this movie. in a summer of really terrible movies this had the promise of being a gem amidst all the dreck. the first 15 minutes were really entertaining, a bit surreal in parts and innovative. unfortunately it alli so so wanted to enjoy this movie. in a summer of really terrible movies this had the promise of being a gem amidst all the dreck. the first 15 minutes were really entertaining, a bit surreal in parts and innovative. unfortunately it all went downhill from there with an incredibly uninspiring plot, weak acting from bored actors.

the music gimmick is exactly that, a gimmick. the lead actor is like watching paint dry. the dialogue and character motivations are weak and inexplicable. the female characters are uninspired stereotypes.

what a wasted opportunity for something that could have been amazing. i give it a few marks for the impressive driving scenes and some of the musical bits. the rest of it is just bad formulaic trash.
Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
6
neilsonJul 2, 2017
This movie was only creative and fresh on the surface. Underneath, the plot line is not very interesting and certainly not new. While undeniably slick and well-shot, I found that the characters lacked any sort of realistic dimension thatThis movie was only creative and fresh on the surface. Underneath, the plot line is not very interesting and certainly not new. While undeniably slick and well-shot, I found that the characters lacked any sort of realistic dimension that would allow me to care much about the plot. I was disappointed given the positive reviews and word-of-mouth. Expand
11 of 15 users found this helpful114
All this user's reviews
6
CapnConundrumJul 7, 2017
This is being falsely inflated due to the movie dry spell this summer. The plot is uninspired. None of the characters are even mildly interesting. There are only two characters with consistent personalities, and each of them areThis is being falsely inflated due to the movie dry spell this summer. The plot is uninspired. None of the characters are even mildly interesting. There are only two characters with consistent personalities, and each of them are nauseating. This would make a great music video except they don't even make use of that properly. I enjoyed watching it, but don't expect something great. Expect to have fun and feel like it was worth your money. You'll be happy you saw it. Expect something great and you'll be sorely disappointed. Expand
11 of 17 users found this helpful116
All this user's reviews
5
papadrew7Jun 29, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie is way over hyped. Nothing in this movie has not already been done before a hundred times over. So the new twist on the same old story is that the main character listens to music 24/7. It really doesn't add anything to the story. The movie was also poorly written and you have to suspend any notion of reality when the bullets start flying. SPOILERS: They setup the boss (kevin spacey) as this ice cold brilliant mob boss but then at the end he ends up sacrificing himself to help a kid he just threatened to put in a wheelchair a few hours ago! Sorry to say but this was just an average movie at best. Expand
9 of 14 users found this helpful95
All this user's reviews
5
RegretsJul 5, 2017
You gotta be either on drugs or incredibly imaginative to give this movie anything above a 6. (Sorry, Steven King and friends.) Cheesy script, mediocre soundtrack and if not for Jamie Foxx, average performances. Can't imagine why KevinYou gotta be either on drugs or incredibly imaginative to give this movie anything above a 6. (Sorry, Steven King and friends.) Cheesy script, mediocre soundtrack and if not for Jamie Foxx, average performances. Can't imagine why Kevin Spacey would even do this film. Seems like he's phoning it in. If you're an 17yr old male going for the thrill of the driving scenes, which are quite good, or the gunplay then you'll probably like Baby driver. Expand
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
5
BananafishJul 2, 2017
This movie "checks all the boxes". Protagonist, check. Authority figure, check. Love story, check. Action, check. All star cast, check. I can see why the Hollywood execs pounced. It's not bad, it's not good, it's just alright, and nearlyThis movie "checks all the boxes". Protagonist, check. Authority figure, check. Love story, check. Action, check. All star cast, check. I can see why the Hollywood execs pounced. It's not bad, it's not good, it's just alright, and nearly instantly forgettable. What's sad is that the bar is set so low that an "alright" movie comes out and it gets 86 on Metacritic and people go nuts. Meh. Expand
6 of 10 users found this helpful64
All this user's reviews
4
Esqrobb72Jun 28, 2017
Kevin Spacey and Jamie Foxx made this movie for a paycheck. The dialogue is insipid and the story defies logic. The car chases are terrific, however. This is a typical summer, teenage movie. Anyone over 21 or with an IQ over 100 will beKevin Spacey and Jamie Foxx made this movie for a paycheck. The dialogue is insipid and the story defies logic. The car chases are terrific, however. This is a typical summer, teenage movie. Anyone over 21 or with an IQ over 100 will be insulted. Kevin Spacy: Shame on you. Expand
6 of 10 users found this helpful64
All this user's reviews
6
Kevdog33Jul 7, 2017
The kiss the ring mentality that garnered this movie universal acclaim has me wondering. Are all these critics trying to keep something hidden? Were there children and wives threatened? Or, are they all gutless and not familiar in the carThe kiss the ring mentality that garnered this movie universal acclaim has me wondering. Are all these critics trying to keep something hidden? Were there children and wives threatened? Or, are they all gutless and not familiar in the car chase/heist film. Tis true I score films similar to what a college professor might score a paper. This rag with some decent scenes in the first half fails in the second act with redundancy and lack of ideas. Save your money and time but watch out for Edgar Wright as he has got the goods on all the "real" critics or perhaps even you. Expand
6 of 10 users found this helpful64
All this user's reviews
5
neilmiltonJul 7, 2017
All style no substance. Really boring. Meh. (Loved Spaced, Shaun was okay, thought Scott Pilgrim was astounding visually - quite weak source material).
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
6
foxgroveJul 4, 2017
Flashy, entertaining, but just a little bit too pleased with itself. To base a whole film around a soundtrack is almost certainly asking for trouble and inevitably Edgar Wright's idea and direction are both a lot better than his screenplay,Flashy, entertaining, but just a little bit too pleased with itself. To base a whole film around a soundtrack is almost certainly asking for trouble and inevitably Edgar Wright's idea and direction are both a lot better than his screenplay, which on more than a few occasions pushed the bounds of credibility. The cast are firing on all cylinders but the film annoyingly see-saws between good and fair throughout due to some loose writing. Strangely the music choices are often only ok, although credit must be given for them not having been over used in other films. Standout music piece is a track by 'Focus'(taken from Focus Three if I'm not mistaken)to accompany a chase sequence on foot involving 'Baby Driver' Ansel Elgort, who for once is actually good in a role. As befits a crime thriller the editing is sharp and the sound is clear. It must be said that the film definitely leaves an impression after disappearing from the screen. I just wish that the writing could have made that impression more consistent for me to appreciate the resultant movie better. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
4
nickholbekJul 6, 2017
A film that screems "Look at how I can edit!". Way too try-hard, completely unbelievable in any way. The lead character has no real charm, so swinging round lampposts and singing along to his music for most of the film becomes boring andA film that screems "Look at how I can edit!". Way too try-hard, completely unbelievable in any way. The lead character has no real charm, so swinging round lampposts and singing along to his music for most of the film becomes boring and tiresome. Foxx comes away with credit, as does Hamm. The female characters are appallingly written, and Kevin Spacey was on autopilot (and I love Kevin Spacey). Don't believe the hype folks, its an average film to turn your mind off to. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
4
WesisaLeoJul 7, 2017
Years ago, there was a vehicle called the "Conquest," which was the Dodge-Chrysler version of Mitsubishi's "Starion." It was butt-ugly, and I don't mean Beyonce's derriere, nuh-uh.

But one year, va-va-VOOM they remade that sucker into a
Years ago, there was a vehicle called the "Conquest," which was the Dodge-Chrysler version of Mitsubishi's "Starion." It was butt-ugly, and I don't mean Beyonce's derriere, nuh-uh.

But one year, va-va-VOOM they remade that sucker into a sleek and sexy ride, a ride that looked like the feeling of someone you've lusted after suddenly tipping you the wink.

Folks, "Baby Driver" is the OPPOSITE of what I just described.

If you're familiar w/ Edgar Wright's best-known directing efforts, for examples the brilliant "Spaced" series, his snappy trilogy of films starring Simon Pegg and Nick Frost (also from "Spaced") and the ultra-hip "Scott Pilgrim" which turned Mary Elizabeth Winstead into The It Girl of this decade, folks if you enjoyed those works and were expecting something in that vein, but w/ an even cooler soundtrack and cleverly edited car-chases...

...you will be sorely disappointed by "Baby Driver." Go in w/ no expectations but forgettable entertainment, some witty barbs, one surprising cameo that's cut short way too quickly, and dialogue/situations you'll wince at more often than not, and just maybe you'll see where the glowing reviews for this are coming from.

In other words, go back to your teenage non-jaded years. This is no "Drive," nor "The Driver," and nothing close to that hair-raising street chase from "Nightcrawler." This was "The Transporter" w/o a believable lead nor pulse-raising fight scenes. Or indeed, chase scenes worth recalling. "Baby Driver" does boast Jon Hamm's impression of The Terminator, and an ending that comes after what should have been the ending, after an uncomfortable amount of waiting time.

To wit: This DOES NOT live up to its ridiculous amount of hype. I'm rating this as high as 4 of 10 because it wasn't a bad film, just oh-so very disappointing. You've been warned.
Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
5
metaguestJul 2, 2017
Oh, crikey, the dialogue in this movie was absolutely horrendous. I expected so much more, since the cast was comprised of some very superb actors, but alas, the characters were not developed and the movie spent entirely too much time on aOh, crikey, the dialogue in this movie was absolutely horrendous. I expected so much more, since the cast was comprised of some very superb actors, but alas, the characters were not developed and the movie spent entirely too much time on a boring "love story" that really fell flat. Expand
8 of 14 users found this helpful86
All this user's reviews
6
tibzoidJul 4, 2017
Kind of flabbergasted at the critical praise this cliche-ridden, unexceptional movie has received. "Hot Fuzz" had a million tons more heart, brains and fun than this film. "True Romance" did it better. If "Baby" is great, Hollywood is dead.
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
4
ryecaJul 2, 2017
Way over-hyped indeed. This movie is a two hour music video with a plot that falls apart halfway through and mediocre driving sequences. Seems like an attempt to sell a mixtape. The characters make no sense whatsoever and the final "act" ofWay over-hyped indeed. This movie is a two hour music video with a plot that falls apart halfway through and mediocre driving sequences. Seems like an attempt to sell a mixtape. The characters make no sense whatsoever and the final "act" of the movie is just a waste; they seem confused about what they wanted the characters and movie to be. By the end, it seems like they had a cogent movie but edited away too much, which is crazy because the movie is still long as it is. Also, Ansel Elgort is awful and for some reason they told him to fake a southern accent, which is just ridiculous and in no way supportive of any necessary plot elements. It sounds like he has a speech impediment. Anyway, Jamie Foxx was pretty good in it. Also, to name the movie "Baby Driver" and end the movie with the Simon and Garfunkel song of name is so eye-rollingly cheesy. Expand
5 of 9 users found this helpful54
All this user's reviews
6
m_eldersJul 7, 2017
The first three scenes of the movie had me smiling uncontrollably. They set the stage: Baby is introduced, we get some hints at the dark deal behind the scenes, and we learn that music is everything. The intro was so unique and fresh that IThe first three scenes of the movie had me smiling uncontrollably. They set the stage: Baby is introduced, we get some hints at the dark deal behind the scenes, and we learn that music is everything. The intro was so unique and fresh that I almost didn't notice as every subsequent scene played out beat for beat exactly as one might have expected from the intro, right down to the obvious deaths and betrayals and the disgusting, regressive film stereotypes. The lead man, the lead villain, and the lead criminal are all white men. The female love interest is mindlessly devoted to her man. The white guy criminal is suave and gets the most screen time of the criminals, his wife is sexy and a reflection of him, and the black guy is a scary criminal. I kept expecting my expectations to be subverted because my expectations were embarrassingly bland, but alas. Each character can be described fully in one short, nuance-free sentence, and if you leave the theater saying, "What a unique ____!" I can guarantee that word isn't "plot." Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
5
thanatopsisJul 3, 2017
I love everything Edgar Wright has done, including the TV show Spaced, but overall I didn't like this movie. It was slick and well done, but it just seemed to lack something, like it had no soul. It was formulaic, predictable, and quite dull.I love everything Edgar Wright has done, including the TV show Spaced, but overall I didn't like this movie. It was slick and well done, but it just seemed to lack something, like it had no soul. It was formulaic, predictable, and quite dull. I liked the way the editing was done to the music much of the time, but I didn't care for the music. The characters were unlikeable, especially the lead. Nobody had any chemistry.
It was technically well made, but just didn't come together for me.
It would be a fine rental I suppose. I might have liked it better if the characters and the music were better. The two friends I saw it with were much harsher on it than I am, and they are fans of Edgar Wright as well.
The last Fast and Furious movie was probably better.
Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
5
itmoJul 15, 2017
I went in thinking this might be a step up from the 2011 film "Driver" staring Ryan Gosling. I came out feeling like I had been duped. The characters in this film are the most cliche group of mundane, boring and unoriginal concepts I haveI went in thinking this might be a step up from the 2011 film "Driver" staring Ryan Gosling. I came out feeling like I had been duped. The characters in this film are the most cliche group of mundane, boring and unoriginal concepts I have seen in a while. Black ex-con that swears, Tick, Boss in a suit, tick, pretty girl that can shoot, tick. Where the 2011 film Driver was clever, this film lacks any original story telling. Jamie Foxx makes zero sense in this film, and his performance is weak. Kevin Spacey and Jon Ham don't work in this film at all, Jon Ham as a bad guy just feels off, maybe other actors read the script and thought, "what a pile of crap" pass. It has become really had to believe film critics lately. Wait for it to come to netflix, not worth the effort of driving to the cinema to watch this average movie. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
MeiLongDongSep 20, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Being a fan of racing and cars, I bought this movie without seeing if first (I don't recommend it). It started out cool with a cool opening scene but it never got to where I was expecting it to go. I didn't feel like I was watching an action/musical (which I thought it was gonna be) There was way too much dialogue to be a musical. Spacey's character is a waste of talent and could've been played by anybody along with Fox. The movie started out about a bunch of professional thieves, but thieves they are not. They're just psycho and that's it with no regard for innocent lives or anyone other than themselves and they all blame Baby for their problems even though it ultimately isn't. That cool car on the movie poster? It's in one scene for a minute or two. It isn't the type of film to watch multiple times (an actual musical would've been) so I'm sure that was the first and last time I'll watch it. I was expecting more from all the buzz. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
LukehatAug 18, 2017
A more unrealistic copy of drive, with more driving, more dancing and more action. Vaguely entertaining but poor all round. Don't have more to say than that.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
4
DwebbJul 13, 2017
Not sure what all the hype was about. The soundtrack? Well, pulp fiction this is not. The story was pretty generic and nothing new. In fact it was about as cliched a driving/heist movie as you can get. All the characters including theNot sure what all the hype was about. The soundtrack? Well, pulp fiction this is not. The story was pretty generic and nothing new. In fact it was about as cliched a driving/heist movie as you can get. All the characters including the main character are so over the top its hard to take them seriously even for one moment. I'm not sure what kool-aid all the critics drank from but this movie is neither original nor entertaining. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
herimejsonSep 3, 2017
To be honest, I'm not entertained with the movie. The plot is stupid and unoriginal. The choose of actors, pretty good, no doubts. The ending, I consider the worst part of the movie.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
4
ddelplatoJul 30, 2017
Baby Driver falls short in comparison to Wright’s previous works. A film comprised of flat dialogue, clichéd characters that lack complexity, and sporadic bursts of energy that constantly tease the audience of the film it could have been. IBaby Driver falls short in comparison to Wright’s previous works. A film comprised of flat dialogue, clichéd characters that lack complexity, and sporadic bursts of energy that constantly tease the audience of the film it could have been. I lost count of how many times I slowly shook my head in disappointment, while starring into Jon Hamm’s dreamy eyes. While the plot can be boiled down into one simple sentence, it’s a mystery as to why the film clocks at 112 minutes. Perhaps a consistent pace could’ve made the film a bit more palatable. All in all, Baby Driver will not disappoint your average movie go-er. It’s filled with cheap thrills and a predictable story so your friend can proudly yell, “I told you that would happen!”. However, for those more literate in film, prepare for the worst. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
LamontRaymondJul 2, 2017
Solid film, but didn't come close to living up to the hype. The beginning - with Baby lip syncing, etc. - reminded me of La La Land, and was a little cringe-worthy. Beyond that, my whole crew just thought it was all on a surface level - noSolid film, but didn't come close to living up to the hype. The beginning - with Baby lip syncing, etc. - reminded me of La La Land, and was a little cringe-worthy. Beyond that, my whole crew just thought it was all on a surface level - no depth whatsoever. Sure, great car sequences, but you never get to know any of the characters, and you never feel like anyone or anything is in real jeopardy. Expand
3 of 9 users found this helpful36
All this user's reviews
6
netflicJul 10, 2017
Have you ever seen a heist movie that is also a musical?
Have you heard a sound track where gun shots are used as drums?
I haven't. Here comes "Baby Driver", a very stylish musical-slash-action movie with a script that makes no sense at all.
Have you ever seen a heist movie that is also a musical?
Have you heard a sound track where gun shots are used as drums?
I haven't. Here comes "Baby Driver", a very stylish musical-slash-action movie with a script that makes no sense at all. Even great actors like Kevin Spacey are flat and unconvincing. So, why does this movie have reviews so high? Frankly, I do not know. Good music, racy races (pun intended), a new style, as I already mentioned. But poor script full of cliches of all kinds, no interesting characters. On the other hand, there is something in the film that might make it a cult movie. So, you milage may vary.
Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
5
shoulderoforionSep 13, 2017
Yeah, no, sorry, can't go along for this ride, just watched and though not as annoying as DRIVE, still a less than excellent alt-heist flick. Story was staid, acting was awful, directing was fine, I guess. Found myself rolling my eyes.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
6
Rebecca31Jun 28, 2017
It's a bank heist movie about the driver. Sure we’ve seen that before but it brings a freshness to this genre that you just can’t help but love. Without a doubt the soundtrack is the best thing about Baby Driver. It’s not simply distractingIt's a bank heist movie about the driver. Sure we’ve seen that before but it brings a freshness to this genre that you just can’t help but love. Without a doubt the soundtrack is the best thing about Baby Driver. It’s not simply distracting you with catchy songs like some movies. It incorporates the songs brilliantly they become essential to the story. You can’t imagine Baby Driver without the soundtrack.
Ansel Elgort and Kevin Spacey are particularly great accompanied by Jon Hamm and just the right amount of Jamie Foxx but as for Lily James and Eiza Gonzalez, well they’re just there for the sake of it. Underdeveloped with little to no chemistry with any of the other characters. I thoroughly enjoyed Baby Driver but what lets it down unfortunately was the over the top conclusion. Or should I say conclusions. Feels a lot like Edgar Wright had three different endings in mind, couldn’t choose one so went with all three. This was rather disappointing to see as I had such high hopes and all the critics haven’t stopped fangirling over this movie for months. Well I’m not going to fangirl over it. When it comes down to it you’ve got action, fantastic car chases reminiscent of great action movies through the ages all accompanied by a stand out soundtrack so what more do you want? Recommended.
Expand
5 of 17 users found this helpful512
All this user's reviews
4
GinaKJun 28, 2017
What a disappointment! And this director did “Shaun of the Dead”? True, it was a very long time ago, and he doesn’t seem to make the same movie twice, which usually is a compliment, but not here. Baby Driver is a very long (much too long)What a disappointment! And this director did “Shaun of the Dead”? True, it was a very long time ago, and he doesn’t seem to make the same movie twice, which usually is a compliment, but not here. Baby Driver is a very long (much too long) music video with not very interesting car chases – has no one in Britain ever seen Bullitt? Nicely shot, but no heart, no real emotion, and definitely no conflict. It’s also silly and sentimental, which is odd for a crime film. After about 10 minutes (maybe 5), we all knew how this would turn out. I am tempted to repeat the old waste-of-time cliché – “Sadly, that’s 113 minutes I’ll never see again!” Expand
4 of 14 users found this helpful410
All this user's reviews
6
SpangleJul 1, 2017
After releasing a film every three years since 2004, director Edgar Wright's latest effort comes after a four-year gap due to his flirtations with Ant-Man. Baby Driver, an action film about a man named Baby (Ansel Elgort) who is a getawayAfter releasing a film every three years since 2004, director Edgar Wright's latest effort comes after a four-year gap due to his flirtations with Ant-Man. Baby Driver, an action film about a man named Baby (Ansel Elgort) who is a getaway driver, is perhaps Wright's most commercially appealing film. With the box office to match and the film shaping up to a box office surprise to many this summer, it seems as though Wright has finally found some mainstream acceptance, at least in America. As with many directors who finally escape niche audiences and finally find themselves receiving applauds from the general public (without having to resort to their work being a "cult classic"), Wright has unfortunately compromised some of the frenetic fun of his early work. Though Baby Driver is nonetheless a quirky, funny, and often times surreal film, it winds up feeling wholly underwhelming with Wright ditching what made his earlier films work so well: characters.

Though Shaun of the Dead or Hot Fuzz were both action comedies, they nonetheless had great central characters. The supporting cast got the same treatment in those action films and this was especially true in his other works, Scott Pilgrim vs. the World and The World's End. Unfortunately, this latest work gives very little for any character. Baby, a music-loving kid with tinnitus and who is in love with Debora (Lily James), is given very little depth even as the star. Beyond having a black foster dad and dead parents, it is hard to imagine what was supposed to be learned about the kid. He does not really grow and is never really given room to explore any bit of him beyond brief flashbacks to the car crash that gave him tinnitus and killed his parents along with a cassette tape that has a recording of his mom (Sky Ferreira) singing. Too often, Wright seems to rely upon old school musical classics as a shortcut to actually write dialogue between characters or characters' backstories. It is often excusable when the supporting cast is lightly developed or if a film fails to develop many characters beyond narrative cliches when there is not a single protagonist. Unfortunately, beyond being a good kid with a bad past that has led to him being bound to crime boss Doc (Kevin Spacey) as a getaway driver, Baby gets no depth or nuance. As a result, it is easy to just roll your eyes with how pale he winds up being written.

This same problem is found with the entirety of the supporting cast. His girlfriend, Debora, is shown as being nothing more than idyllic yes man who does whatever Baby tells her to do. Leave work now? Sure. Travel the country right now with a guy you barely know? Sure. Let this guy just follow you home? Of course. She has no ideas of her own. No volition and, crucially, no motivation. Wright, likely, keeps it this way to make it easier to turn her into a stone cold badass at the end with her taking on Buddy (Jon Hamm) and trying to outrun the cops. Neither are convincing moments with how she is set up as nothing more than a young girl trying to make a living at a dead end job. Wright treats her as arm candy, lets her have a moment towards the end, and then reassures the audience she is nothing more than a dream girl from a song and relegates her to being nothing more than cute for trying to save Baby, but let's let the men handle this one, eh? For Doc, he suffers from the same issue, but in reverse. Though he does seem to always like Baby, his turn from a hard-nosed criminal who will never let go of Baby to a soft and sentimental man who sacrifices himself to save his beloved driver is borderline comical. The film may be an action-comedy, but its absurd and ludicrous suggestion that Debora could go from quiet waitress to being Bonnie and Doc could go from being a true monster to being Sulley from Monsters Inc. carries no water. These two, despite their vital importance to the plot, are woefully underwritten. For bank robbers Buddy, Darling (Eiza Gonzalez), and Bats (Jamie Foxx), they are similarly underwritten. All of them are crazy and impulsive with no depth for any of the trio ever being considered. They are just nuts and cannot be trusted. With them all being treated as villains of Baby by the end, this cast of underwritten villains makes it apparent why Wright wanted to work with Marvel: his lack of knowledge of how to write a capable villain would be welcomed, instead of questioned. The only saving grace with the villain is a good motivation for why they become the villain, but it comes off of the back of too little development until then to really make it click.
Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
6
ConorMacleodJul 6, 2017
Sure to be a Cult Classic amongst most audiences, Edgar Wright's Baby Driver has a distinctive beat making it a pretty good ride to experience.

Baby Driver: B- (G3)
1 of 10 users found this helpful19
All this user's reviews
5
ozymandias79Oct 28, 2017
Kind of an over-rated movie. Feels like they tried too hard and failed along the way,
like an imitation Quentin Tarantino film without the gratuitous violence or charisma.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
Donovan84Aug 1, 2017
Over the top movie. If you like this style, by all means see it. It's basically a movie version of the video game Grand Theft Auto. If you like smart caper movies, skip this one.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
TrevorsViewNov 10, 2017
Texas, Las Vegas, Brussels, Sandy Hook, over 142 gun violence victims had no reason to go so soon, but it happened. With so many celebrations of violence killing it at the box office, why do we still wonder how these tragedies continue? EvenTexas, Las Vegas, Brussels, Sandy Hook, over 142 gun violence victims had no reason to go so soon, but it happened. With so many celebrations of violence killing it at the box office, why do we still wonder how these tragedies continue? Even for myself, the news coverage on a new shooting has become white noise to me, it no longer disturbs me in the appropriate manner. Many other young men love watching stylish massacres, yet supposedly join the public worry about gun violence. From my experience, you can learn a lot about someone based on their taste in movies, so Baby Driver’s wide popularity says a lot about the level of care most young men have about gun violence.

Sure enough, director and writer Edgar Wright (Scott Pilgrim vs. the World, Shaun of the Dead) attacks the law in his own fueled world void of any justifiable punishment.

First, I want to cover the lack of setting: instead of letting relevant social problems indicate that it takes place in Atlanta Georgia, the stickers on the cop cars alone indicate that. Honestly, if the location was changed to anywhere else in the world, the story remains the same. Rather than a believable city with different people to learn more about, a role-playing clean slate lets you easily imagine yourself in Baby’s position for the town you live in.

Although Edgar Wright, as he’s most famous for, still pulls it off with a modernized narrative style, this time popping in a fluent radio language. In the first scene, the main protagonist, known as Baby, rocks out to his music in a vibrant red car, his lips in sync to the lyrics, ready to drive some bank robbers away from their heist. The absence of real dialogue in the first two scenes puts you into Baby’s 24/7 mentality—he never takes off his earbuds, as he uses the beats of his tunes to fill in the beats of his new criminal lifestyle. So sure enough, the audio style cuts past Baby’s shades to meet him at eye level: the gun fires and windshield wipers match the music beats perfectly. To take you further into Baby’s mental state, you watch him mix his own tunes together while ignoring sudden flashbacks about his rough childhood. He barely even speaks to anybody, as his roommate speaks only in American Sign Language. It keeps you wondering: What goes on between his ears? Here‘s where Debora comes in, the cute waitress he at last opens himself up to in many sweet, informative conversations about music.

Film editors Jonathan Amos and Paul Machliss (Scott Pilgrim vs. the World) use appropriate jump cuts alongside the exploitation of circle shapes packed with attitude to transition between scenes. Cinematographer Bill Pope (Clueless, The Matrix) keeps up the excitement with a single uninterrupted shot to show Baby’s strut down the street, which later turns into spinning the camera around the actors throughout their heated conversations. Once the camera acrobatics take a breather for some spicy dialogue, Wright keeps his visual metaphors in mind, like Baby looking at his reflection in self-doubt.

Then once the engine starts up again, each piece of stunt choreography hits you hard with its seamless special effects, turning into a wild third act revved high on octane. Edgar Wright really deserves better directing gigs under a greater studio, he’s sure got the talent!

However, the fantastic technical achievement pale in impact compared to its dreadful lack of redemption toward humanity. If you land outside the male millennial core audience, you may notice the negative stereotypes painted on every roadblock to Baby’s freedom. Alongside the White male supremacy, any named Blacks are either a terrorist or a cripple, nothing positive; in the same way, Asians and Mexicans are seen solely as terrorists. To make it more typical, this screenplay fails the Bechdel Test, giving the sole two significant female roles to gorgeous women who never even make eye contact.

Honestly, if you took away the stylish soundtrack and spicy editing, you got another hollow fantasy populated by shallow archetypes. Baby comes off here as a passive protagonist who expresses no personal fears about the gang members. The same goes to Debora, a submissive device thrown in to be a “get the girl” motivator, and the crime boss, an average pokerfaced motivator for the hero to improve. All else in Baby Driver matches the same sensical nature of Fast & Furious; just the villains run out of bullets when the plot demands it.

I’m sorry if this offends you, but Edgar Wright’s artistic strides in musical masturbation could benefit greater once he learns about the consequences of his work to live on in history, otherwise, his fans probably won’t live long enough for it to happen.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
drbriandoddphdJul 8, 2017
It was OK, but not funny at all as some imply. OK, well two chuckles. How come no-one mentions the huge body count and extreme violence, including joyfully mowing down dozens of police?
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
akukulNov 5, 2017
This movie was so bad I can't even finish a review because thinking of it makes me disgusted. I'm so glad I waited for DVD release rather than going to the theatre. I'd give it 5 for acting, music and overall execution, but everything else isThis movie was so bad I can't even finish a review because thinking of it makes me disgusted. I'm so glad I waited for DVD release rather than going to the theatre. I'd give it 5 for acting, music and overall execution, but everything else is just awful. I honestly regret watching it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
fairbrotherOct 9, 2017
On the plus side: most of the analogue action is good; there are a few decent laughs; the soundtrack is generally a pleasure; and Jon Hamm and Jamie Foxx do better than you'd expect with standard-issue Hard Man roles. On the down-side: BabyOn the plus side: most of the analogue action is good; there are a few decent laughs; the soundtrack is generally a pleasure; and Jon Hamm and Jamie Foxx do better than you'd expect with standard-issue Hard Man roles. On the down-side: Baby himself, slick moves or not, is a bland hero, too half-assed cool to register as anything but a nerdy director's fantasy alter-ego; his romance with singing waitress Debora is too-cute by half, stretching whatever credulity the pulpier stuff has, and clashing badly with the final act's cold-blooded mayhem; Kevin Spacey's on auto-pilot; and the ending trails off where it should speed across a definitive finish-line. Entertaining in fits and starts but, on balance, it hits too many pot-holes to fully satisfy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
mw3491Jul 10, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A lot of fellow reviewers have expressed the same cocnern that there's a big dry spell this summer for consumable movies. While enjoyable on the whole, the comedy feels rooted in slapstick and the ending doesn't provide the same truly fun twist that Edgar Wright's other films provide. Ansel Elgort is almost bearable...feels like a continuation of a Dua Lipa music video he stars in where he saves the day driving a light-up Lexus and doesn't say anything or even make any facial expressions really. :| Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
ThereviewermanJul 25, 2017
An excellent idea, but poorly executed. The casting is appealing, the music is compelling, but the plot fails to deliver. At no point it drags you into the characters or the role they play. A strong beginning, with potential and with force.An excellent idea, but poorly executed. The casting is appealing, the music is compelling, but the plot fails to deliver. At no point it drags you into the characters or the role they play. A strong beginning, with potential and with force. Nevertheless, as the story continues, it loses it's edge an it prolongs into the monotonous and perhaps, even boring. A good "Lazy Sunday" film if you spare the time, but most definitely not a must watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
CittadelOct 8, 2017
"Baby Driver" is a great example of the Wes-Anderson-like new wave of movies that is dominating 2017's box offices. This movie shows a more artistic way of telling a story, in which it succeeds in a lot of ways -- but it fails too. Some"Baby Driver" is a great example of the Wes-Anderson-like new wave of movies that is dominating 2017's box offices. This movie shows a more artistic way of telling a story, in which it succeeds in a lot of ways -- but it fails too. Some scenes are a bit too cheesy and made me feel a little cringy. Baby's mega-playbackshow is fun to watch in the beginning, but after an hour of seeing a grown-up perform some sort of musical.ly show everywhere he goes, you'll get fed up with it, trust me. Nevertheless I enjoyed watching this movie, but I don't think I would watch it again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
soydansilvaOct 25, 2017
a film full of many expectations, which wastes much of its intellectual and graphic potential by becoming a "harmless" love story, with crime; and borrows elements from many classics, from John Hughes to Quentin Tarantino.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
FedorkoNov 13, 2017
Definitely entertaining. Had a great soundtrack, nice veteran cast and a creative conceit for the main character. Especially enjoyed Kevin Spacey. However, none of this was enough for me to really get on board with the movie. It was funDefinitely entertaining. Had a great soundtrack, nice veteran cast and a creative conceit for the main character. Especially enjoyed Kevin Spacey. However, none of this was enough for me to really get on board with the movie. It was fun watching these villains rolling around, but I really didn't care if they won or lost. So what? A fun escapist movie with no real substance behind the script. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
DovahKJul 2, 2018
Se hace rápida, no es una obra maestra ni mucho menos, pero es entretenida sin más y está bien para pasar un ratito.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews