Bad Education

Bad Education Image
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 69 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: In the early 60s, two boys - Ignacio and Enrique - discover love, movies and fear in a Christian school. Father Manolo, the school principal and Literature teacher, both witnesses and takes part in these discoveries. The three characters come against one another twice again, in the late 70sIn the early 60s, two boys - Ignacio and Enrique - discover love, movies and fear in a Christian school. Father Manolo, the school principal and Literature teacher, both witnesses and takes part in these discoveries. The three characters come against one another twice again, in the late 70s and in 1980. These meetings are set to change the life and death of some of them. (Club Cultura) Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 34
  2. Negative: 1 out of 34
  1. With Bad Education, the great Almodóvar delivers the finest movie of his career.
  2. 100
    This is a brilliantly structured hall of mirrors that wraps Catholicism and the movie industry into a tasty film noir.
  3. 100
    A rapturous masterwork.
  4. A masterful epic charting love's labyrinths.
  5. A big change of pace for the bad-boy Spanish director. Like his other work, it's kinky and proudly gay, but this time it's not a comedy. It's a serious neo-film-noir, and a pretty darn good one at that.
  6. By turns enthralling, seductive and deeply disturbing.
  7. Reviewed by: Phil Hall
    10
    Such garbage that taking a shower at the Bates Motel is a more appealing alternative.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 40
  2. Negative: 4 out of 40
  1. Dec 27, 2015
    10
    Such a wonderful film - the whole thing, from start to finish is well executed, well acted, well directed and well written. Worth every singleSuch a wonderful film - the whole thing, from start to finish is well executed, well acted, well directed and well written. Worth every single minute in front of the screen. Expand
  2. GinaS.
    Jun 9, 2006
    10
    Watching it last night, my roommate came home just as end credits rolled. I exclaimed "You have to watch this movie" and started it over Watching it last night, my roommate came home just as end credits rolled. I exclaimed "You have to watch this movie" and started it over again. Just as enthralling on 2nd viewing. Expand
  3. May 29, 2013
    9
    I finally saw this film but only after watching Almodovar's more recent "The Skin I Live In," which for me was a far superior movie--one ofI finally saw this film but only after watching Almodovar's more recent "The Skin I Live In," which for me was a far superior movie--one of the best of 2011. However, even second-tier Almodovar is a heightened and idiosyncratic pleasure and is far better than most films made today. And "Bad Education"--with its signature blend of sex, camp, melodrama, and noir--is most definitely and unmistakably Almodovar. This film also features superb music by Alberto Iglesias (who deserves to win an Oscar someday) and impressive acting--the actors incl. Gael Garcia Bernal really throw themselves into their roles. Expand
  4. AnaR.
    Sep 8, 2006
    8
    I was astonished by this movie. it's a mind game. The actors were great.
  5. Apr 5, 2012
    8
    Personally, I believe this is an excellent movie! Unlike many people who love Almodovar, I don't always enjoy all his movies but this filmPersonally, I believe this is an excellent movie! Unlike many people who love Almodovar, I don't always enjoy all his movies but this film is gold! A must in a list of a movie-lover! Expand
  6. Dec 18, 2012
    6
    It's a good story it got me guessing the entire movie, but it's always the same thing with Almodovar a gay or a lesbian drama and lots of sexIt's a good story it got me guessing the entire movie, but it's always the same thing with Almodovar a gay or a lesbian drama and lots of sex and naked people, sometimes it's just too much maybe a scene to set up the idea or the mood of movie. And personally I hate actors faking a foreign accent, yo don't need Gael to perform that character when you have so many real Spanish actors. Expand
  7. JamesE.
    Oct 4, 2005
    1
    I'm not sure what was so special about this other than it pushed the envelope with Catholicism. I was weirded out most of the movie.

See all 40 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: August 26, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.
  2. Film Friday (8/26): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (8/26): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: August 26, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Kenneth Lonergan's Manchester by the Sea, Damien Chazelle’s La La Land, Adam Wingard's Blair Witch, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  3. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: August 24, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Don't Breathe, Hands of Stone, Southside With You, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.