Metascore
47

Mixed or average reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 38
  2. Negative: 9 out of 38
  1. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Jun 23, 2011
    85
    Bad Teacher is hardly a perfect picture, but in the context of every other comedy on the summer movie landscape - from the faux empowerment of "Bridesmaids" to the neurotic frat-guy heteromania of "The Hangover Part II" - it feels revolutionary.
  2. Reviewed by: Todd Gilchrist
    Jun 18, 2011
    80
    Bad Teacher is a worthy successor to the benchmark black comedy "Bad Santa" (without being at all the same).
  3. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Jun 24, 2011
    75
    The fact that there are so many good comic bits here allowed Kasdan to assemble a great comic cast.
  4. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Jun 23, 2011
    75
    Brazenly funny in its own right - until it turns into a goody two-shoes.
  5. Reviewed by: Nathan Rabin
    Jun 23, 2011
    75
    Teacher underutilizes a smartly cast-against-type Timberlake and the perpetually winning Segel, but Diaz ultimately earns a rooting interest in the unlikely redemption of her scheming opportunist.
  6. Reviewed by: J.R. Jones
    Jun 26, 2011
    70
    Diaz, costars Jason Segel and Justin Timberlake, and a sharp supporting cast manage to deliver a crappy good time, mercifully devoid of any heart-tugging teacher-student subplots.
  7. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Jun 24, 2011
    67
    Has its lewd funniness, though not often enough to make it worthy of not only "Bad Santa" but, more to the point, "School of Rock."
  8. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Jun 23, 2011
    63
    Timberlake is not afraid to make himself look like an idiot. He is, in fact, already the comic actor Diaz may yet become: a looker who knows how to use his looks to get away with murder.
  9. Reviewed by: Connie Ogle
    Jun 23, 2011
    63
    Thank Segal in part, because the guy is always funny, and Timberlake gets some of the biggest laughs in a particularly crude sex scene (though the song with which his character woos Miss Squirrel is perhaps the film's funniest moment).
  10. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Jun 23, 2011
    63
    A raunchy comedy that's funnier to think about than to watch.
  11. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    Jun 23, 2011
    63
    The picture doesn't inspire or reward high expectations, but it raises smiles.
  12. Reviewed by: Manohla Dargis
    Jun 23, 2011
    60
    Ms. Diaz has found her down-and-dirty element in the kind of broad comedy that threatens to get ugly and more or less succeeds on that threat.
  13. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Jun 22, 2011
    60
    Probably it's a combination of those and other elements that leads to Diaz's bad teacher not being as bad as she might have been and Bad Teacher not as good as it could have been.
  14. Reviewed by: Joshua Rothkopf
    Jun 21, 2011
    60
    The movie works-to the extent that it does-because of its sharply un-PC script (credited to Lee Eisenberg and Gene Stupnitsky) that sometimes feels like a Hollywood rewrite of "Election."
  15. Reviewed by: John DeFore
    Jun 18, 2011
    60
    For all her desk-stashed booze and inappropriately tight skirts, the movie offers Diaz a pretty bland badness.
  16. Reviewed by: Chris Hewitt (1)
    Jun 18, 2011
    60
    Broader than Bad Santa and less consistently funny, it's still gleefully rude, crude and often a lot of fun.
  17. Reviewed by: Kimberley Jones
    Jun 30, 2011
    50
    It IS consistently funny. Its trash-can humor is tasteless, no doubt, but hey, that doesn't make it unpalatable.
  18. Reviewed by: Mary Pols
    Jun 26, 2011
    50
    Bad Teacher revels in being distasteful. But it can't just let a bad woman be bad; she also has to be burdened with physical insecurity, even if it makes no sense. Can you imagine if Billy Bob Thornton's character had become Bad Santa so he could steal to fund his penis implant?
  19. Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
    Jun 24, 2011
    50
    A frustrating mix of smart flash and smirking impudence.
  20. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Jun 24, 2011
    50
    Most of the laughs are collected by Lucy Punch as chirpy, borderline-psychotic teacher named Squirrel.
  21. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Jun 23, 2011
    50
    Of these characters, the rival played by Lucy Punch is the most colorful, because she's the most driven and obsessed. The others seem curiously inconsequential, content to materialize in a scene, perform a necessary function and vaporize.
  22. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Jun 23, 2011
    50
    Bad Teacher keeps running away from its combustibly nasty premise. Damn shame.
  23. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Jun 23, 2011
    50
    The product is akin to a mediocre '80s sex comedy (with minimal nudity) and "daring" is a descriptor only the most naïve and puritanical would employ.
  24. Reviewed by: Roger Moore
    Jun 22, 2011
    50
    Bad Teacher is a pulled punch, a pot-smoking/kid cussing/teacher copulating farce that is less than the sum of its parts.
  25. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Jun 22, 2011
    50
    We're just watching a film try to pass off misanthropic blunt-wittedness as "edge."
  26. Reviewed by: Leslie Felperin
    Jun 18, 2011
    50
    What's singularly lacking here is any sense of how to use the underage characters, who, apart from one or two, are a barely distinguishable gaggle.
  27. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Jun 23, 2011
    42
    This is a comedy never proceeding beyond its idea pitch and attractive casting.
  28. Reviewed by: Dana Stevens
    Jun 26, 2011
    40
    From time to time, Bad Teacher gestures vaguely at the movie it could have been. Diaz slouches and snarls effectively through the early scenes. It isn't till we realize her redemption will be unsatisfying that the character starts to curdle.
  29. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Jun 23, 2011
    40
    Barely makes the grade in either humor or provocation.
  30. Reviewed by: Rick Groen
    Jun 23, 2011
    38
    Bad Teacher should be a hoot. But it isn't. Love the theory here, hate the practice.
  31. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Jun 23, 2011
    38
    Misanthropic to the extreme, Bad Teacher fails across the board.
  32. Reviewed by: Ann Hornaday
    Jun 23, 2011
    38
    This fitfully funny but mostly dull misfire defines exactly where the line can be drawn between truly subversive humor and lazy cynicism.
  33. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    Jun 22, 2011
    38
    Despite aping its title in order to suggest quality by association, Bad Teacher has nothing in common with "Bad Santa" -- including, alas, a genuinely nasty sense of humor.
  34. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Jun 23, 2011
    30
    It's all just an embarrassment, the kind of pointless slog you'll encounter on Netflix in two years and wonder, How the hell did that get made?
  35. Reviewed by: Karina Longworth
    Jun 21, 2011
    30
    In a role hardly larger than a cameo despite the fact that he's ostensibly the male romantic lead, Segel never tries to hide that he's only here to pay his mortgage - which makes him the most likeable presence on-screen
  36. Reviewed by: Amy Biancolli
    Jun 23, 2011
    25
    Most of the cast doesn't know what to do with their shallow characterizations and lackluster dialogue. The best lines were harvested for the trailer - so if you've seen that, you've seen it all.
  37. Reviewed by: Wesley Morris
    Jun 23, 2011
    25
    You don't want to think, what would Preston Sturges or Alexander Payne do with this material? But there is a seed of satirical cynicism in this movie that a smart, clear mind could have finessed. Jake Kasdan is not that director. He doesn't appear to know what to do.
  38. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Jun 23, 2011
    10
    How much do I loathe this film? A lottico is putting it mildico.
User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 230 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 81
  2. Negative: 25 out of 81
  1. Jun 24, 2011
    7
    Just when I was beginning to feel Stan Marsh cynical about the summer, what a welcome relief! I had little expectation save for a few solid laughs. I laughed, a LOT - far more than I expected to. With all of the cookie cutter schlock that has "something for everyone" box office appeal these days, my standards have become ridiculously low for comedies. This raised them right back up there, kinda like the original Hangover did. Cameron Diaz's Teacher is as fun as Billy Bob's Santa was. Hollywood should embrace the antihero more and the superhero less. Full Review »
  2. Oct 3, 2011
    0
    Bad Teacher. Bad movie.
    The woman was horrible til the very and I mean very end. Her rival through the movie, though annoying, got everything
    bad she didn't deserve happen to her! It's something I wish I hadn't waste my time on. I went to the bathroom during it just so I could leave the room for a while. Also, not enough Jason Segal... Full Review »
  3. Jul 9, 2011
    5
    I'm surprised that this movie let me down at so many points. The characters were unlikeable and disappointing. I thought that Scott Delacorte (Justin Timberlake) was the funny nerd guy, but he wasn't. The plot is stupid (I mean come on, her goal his to win the bonus so she can get a breast surgery to please a guy). In my opinion, there were a lot of weird and awkward teachers in this movie (something we can all relate to). Some parts were cliche, that I already saw in other '' school '' type of movies. Cameron Diaz was okay as Elizabeth Halsey. I had a few chuckles while watching this film. I'm not giving it a lower mark because I manage to get entertained a little bit. Still, this movie could have been better if the characters were more developed and that it took itself more seriously. Full Review »