Metascore
34

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 27
  2. Negative: 9 out of 27
  1. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Sep 25, 2013
    30
    Although there’s a strong likability quotient for everyone onscreen here, which ought to keep the movie minimally afloat among its target audience of black viewers starved for a new Tyler Perry offering, Baggage Claim should be left behind at the carousel.
  2. Reviewed by: Peter Keough
    Sep 26, 2013
    38
    “You don’t need a man to define you!” Very true, and so much for feminism. The rest of the film takes a long, convoluted, predictable, and mostly unfunny route to prove that the opposite is the case.
  3. Reviewed by: Sara Stewart
    Sep 30, 2013
    25
    Nothing in this movie would actually happen, so what’s irritating is that it presents itself as a savvy, “Am I right, ladies?” dating commentary.
  4. Reviewed by: Christy Lemire
    Sep 27, 2013
    38
    Baggage Claim is so archaic in its depiction of feminine self-worth — and, frankly, so insulting — it's amazing that it's coming out in 2013, not 1963.
  5. Reviewed by: R. Kurt Osenlund
    Sep 25, 2013
    25
    Writer-director David E. Talbert adapts his own 2003 novel into something as useless as it is implosive.
  6. Reviewed by: Ignatiy Vishnevetsky
    Sep 25, 2013
    25
    Without a coherent lead performance, all Baggage Claim has left are its generic rom-com plot — which has flight-attendant Patton jetting around the country to meet the perfect man in time for her younger sister’s wedding — and profoundly shoddy production values.
  7. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Oct 11, 2013
    20
    Romcom fans deserve something with more heart.
  8. Reviewed by: Nicolas Rapold
    Sep 26, 2013
    30
    Predictability and clichés get in the way of comedy here, especially with a lead character who rarely comes across as more than blandly sweet.
  9. Reviewed by: Peter Debruge
    Sep 20, 2013
    30
    Chemistry you can fake, but charm is far harder to pull off, and Baggage Claim never quite succeeds on that front.
User Score
4.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 11 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 2 out of 3
  1. Sep 7, 2014
    10
    baggage claim is amazing romantic black comedy David E Talbert is basically Tyler Perry put 10x times better. for example like Tyler Perry he makes dumb stupid comedy an stories ( Meet the Browns )that no one cares or understands also When Perry writes a play or directs he adds these humor quotes who noone likes thats why i hate plays. Talbert created a story about a woman ( Paula patton ) an how she tries to find a husband in 30 days before her sister weeding her key is the plane. that was not the answer til the ending it does teach us human beings a lesson in true love but how Talbert shows love he may over done it by black a- fying it like Mr Perry but i am not gonna judge #still enjoyed it. Grade A- Full Review »
  2. Oct 13, 2013
    0
    When I walked out of Baggage Claim, I thought- I payed $20 bucks to get good seats and thought that I went to see a funny movie. Well, it turns out that Baggage Claim is a pile of It's not a comedy and it's not funny at all. It's just another banana puke rom coms that aims towards love affairs. It's not that I don't like these type of movies- look at Think Like A Man, that movie was great. Baggage Claim is stupid and unfunny, DONT WATCH IT. SAVE YOUR MONEY. I saw the teaser for Tyler Perry's Madea Christmas and it totally kicked ass- i would pay $100 to just see that cheap laugh that Perry cooked. It's better than Baggage Claim. Full Review »
  3. Sep 30, 2013
    0
    Baggage Claim is trying to be a romantic comedy with a heartfelt message and sweet atmosphere to it, but it turns into a goopy, false-feeling romcom with almost no feeling or spirit. Full Review »