Metascore
22

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 12
  2. Negative: 9 out of 12
Watch On
  1. Reviewed by: Michael Nordine
    Feb 25, 2014
    30
    The gradual revelation that there's more to Daisy than meets the eye is no great surprise, but it does at least negate — too late! — some of the more troubling subtext.
  2. Reviewed by: Barbara VanDenburgh
    Feb 19, 2014
    30
    It’s a spectacularly wrong-headed, chemistry-free romance, and too dumb to know how sexist it is.
  3. Reviewed by: Dennis Harvey
    Feb 18, 2014
    30
    If the film had a loopier or more fable-styled atmosphere, the concept might have seemed easier to swallow. But Fleming treats Stephen Zotnowski’s script with a glossy literalism that doesn’t do it or the actors any favors.
  4. Reviewed by: Sara Stewart
    Feb 20, 2014
    25
    With any luck, this’ll be the death knell of the idiot-savant rom-com.
  5. Reviewed by: Sheri Linden
    Feb 23, 2014
    20
    Over the decades, there’s been no shortage of boneheaded premises for romantic comedies, but the painfully ill-conceived Barefoot takes boneheadedness to regrettable places.
  6. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Feb 20, 2014
    20
    This ill-advised romance from director Andrew Fleming is the sort of indie lark that nearly drowns in its own whimsy. Wade in at your own risk.
  7. Reviewed by: Stephen Holden
    Feb 20, 2014
    20
    The movie acts like screwball comedy, but there are no laughs as Daisy and Jay’s connection lurches toward implausible romance.
  8. Reviewed by: Robert Abele
    Feb 20, 2014
    20
    It's dispiriting enough that we're still getting movies about the cute side of mental illness, but to turn someone rendered childlike by abusive trauma into desirable girlfriend material — and sporting cast-off stripper attire to boot — is more than a little creepy.
  9. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Feb 20, 2014
    10
    Daisy was written without irony, wit or any grounding in reality. She's a barefooted flower child in a flatfooted fiasco.
User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 10 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Apr 28, 2015
    10
    What?! Only 22?? I will never understand how an official critic works it seems. They must be extremely bored people, unable to feel anyWhat?! Only 22?? I will never understand how an official critic works it seems. They must be extremely bored people, unable to feel any emotion anymore having seen everything or so they believe, watching a movie like a technician reads an operating manual more than actually experiencing anything. But I'm happy with the idea I was one of the rare few who loved a movie, this makes the whole thing even more intimate. So I truly enjoyed watching "Barefoot". The script is clumsy at times but I think the whole movie is about imperfection and how it is part of life. I found Evan Rachel Wood acting quite good given the risk posed by her character, i.e. a girl who was locked at home during her whole life. I'm not saying she composed a very realistic psychopathology, but she didn't try too hard as it unfortunately happens too often when actors try to play lunatics. On the contrary, she just plays a simple girl, with limits but also a common basis with anyone else, i.e. what makes us human deep inside, before culture and civilization adds layers on top of it. Scott Speedman is also good as the unreliable gambling son of rich southern American parents. Not sure where would his love for a simple girl would come from, but I let it happen. I couldn't say that this movie is good for everyone. I consider it more as a sort of escape from an otherwise rigid code of how a love story is supposed to be and how people in general are supposed to be and so on. So if you want to learn how to be a winner, pass this one. I will watch this movie a second time because it has good vibes, and that's my whole point. Full Review »
  2. May 29, 2015
    10
    I completly agree with DoYourJob's review below. I don't understand why they scored it so low. I always look on metacritic before I watch aI completly agree with DoYourJob's review below. I don't understand why they scored it so low. I always look on metacritic before I watch a movie and this time I was really suprised that it was that low. It made me curious: is this movie really that bad? So while watching it I was expecting bad acting or awful script but it wasn't any different then other hollywod's comedies/romantic movies. So why that low?!
    I find Barefoot intresting movie, sure there was a lot of moments where I knew what was going to happen, but it doesn't seem artificial at all. Daisy was an amaizing character although a bit too sugarcoated.
    Overall I do recommend you to see this movie just beacause of this horrible critic's reviews.
    Full Review »