Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 12
  2. Negative: 9 out of 12

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Michael Nordine
    Feb 25, 2014
    The gradual revelation that there's more to Daisy than meets the eye is no great surprise, but it does at least negate — too late! — some of the more troubling subtext.
  2. Reviewed by: Barbara VanDenburgh
    Feb 19, 2014
    It’s a spectacularly wrong-headed, chemistry-free romance, and too dumb to know how sexist it is.
  3. Reviewed by: Dennis Harvey
    Feb 18, 2014
    If the film had a loopier or more fable-styled atmosphere, the concept might have seemed easier to swallow. But Fleming treats Stephen Zotnowski’s script with a glossy literalism that doesn’t do it or the actors any favors.
  4. Reviewed by: Sara Stewart
    Feb 20, 2014
    With any luck, this’ll be the death knell of the idiot-savant rom-com.
  5. Reviewed by: Sheri Linden
    Feb 23, 2014
    Over the decades, there’s been no shortage of boneheaded premises for romantic comedies, but the painfully ill-conceived Barefoot takes boneheadedness to regrettable places.
  6. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Feb 20, 2014
    This ill-advised romance from director Andrew Fleming is the sort of indie lark that nearly drowns in its own whimsy. Wade in at your own risk.
  7. Reviewed by: Stephen Holden
    Feb 20, 2014
    The movie acts like screwball comedy, but there are no laughs as Daisy and Jay’s connection lurches toward implausible romance.
  8. Reviewed by: Robert Abele
    Feb 20, 2014
    It's dispiriting enough that we're still getting movies about the cute side of mental illness, but to turn someone rendered childlike by abusive trauma into desirable girlfriend material — and sporting cast-off stripper attire to boot — is more than a little creepy.
  9. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Feb 20, 2014
    Daisy was written without irony, wit or any grounding in reality. She's a barefooted flower child in a flatfooted fiasco.
User Score

Mixed or average reviews- based on 10 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. May 29, 2015
    I completly agree with DoYourJob's review below. I don't understand why they scored it so low. I always look on metacritic before I watch aI completly agree with DoYourJob's review below. I don't understand why they scored it so low. I always look on metacritic before I watch a movie and this time I was really suprised that it was that low. It made me curious: is this movie really that bad? So while watching it I was expecting bad acting or awful script but it wasn't any different then other hollywod's comedies/romantic movies. So why that low?!
    I find Barefoot intresting movie, sure there was a lot of moments where I knew what was going to happen, but it doesn't seem artificial at all. Daisy was an amaizing character although a bit too sugarcoated.
    Overall I do recommend you to see this movie just beacause of this horrible critic's reviews.
    Full Review »