Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: May 12, 2000
2.0
USER SCORE
Generally unfavorable reviews based on 262 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
35
Mixed:
21
Negative:
206
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
amf32Jul 28, 2014
This film had me rock hard from start to finish. John Travolta has never played a more convincing role; I think he really explored the roots of his own life in this motion picture.

The ending was simply "golden"
3 of 14 users found this helpful311
All this user's reviews
10
TomC.Mar 28, 2007
This film is great. You must be a psychiatrist or on medication if you hate this film. My buddy Jon Travolta does an excellent job portraying Bob Marley. I can't wait to show it to Suri when IT takes over and our Xenu comes back. This film is great. You must be a psychiatrist or on medication if you hate this film. My buddy Jon Travolta does an excellent job portraying Bob Marley. I can't wait to show it to Suri when IT takes over and our Xenu comes back. Haven't you all suspected? THIS film is how I converted Katie. I assure you, watch this film and your E-Meter will be off the chart. Just pay 400 thousand dollars to the only true religion and 5 bucks to your local secular video store and you too can be a scientologist! Thanks for your time, and Viacom, f.ck off! I'm fine without you! Expand
1 of 8 users found this helpful
10
DavidD.May 21, 2007
Best bilingual scifi movie of all time In a country where bilingual English/Spanish signage is scoffed at by the illiterate provincial masses, I don't expect a movie as brilliantly bilingual as BattleField Earth to have been embraced. Best bilingual scifi movie of all time In a country where bilingual English/Spanish signage is scoffed at by the illiterate provincial masses, I don't expect a movie as brilliantly bilingual as BattleField Earth to have been embraced. Just as I am ahead of my times for my ability to speak Chinese, so BattleField Earth is ahead of its time in presenting the inhabitants of Psyclo as non-native English speakers who need to tech their enemy their language before they can communicate with him. That aspect was misunderstood by the uni-lingual American masses. In a world where only 7% of the people speak English as their native language, I find it insulting to see SciFi movies where Romulans and Naboo-ians speak perfect English. The "cultural elite" often praise themselves on watching foreign films with subtitles, yet the same people scoff at the best bilingual scifi movie of all times - BattleField Earth. BattleField Earth gets 2 thumbs up from this critic. Expand
1 of 10 users found this helpful
9
MikeFeb 5, 2006
I was expecting it to be different having read the book. I thought it was not bad at all , i don't follow critics opinions, especially were sci fi is concerned. a worse piece of crap was hitchikers guide to the galaxy but you don't I was expecting it to be different having read the book. I thought it was not bad at all , i don't follow critics opinions, especially were sci fi is concerned. a worse piece of crap was hitchikers guide to the galaxy but you don't hear nothing about it, or Vin disel's attempt at sci fi. that moovie sucked so much i forgot the name. Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful
7
YossarianJan 25, 2006
A very funny comedy with two of the funniest performances and two of the funniest characters I've seen from either John Travolta or Forrest Whitaker. What? It wasn't supposed to be a comedy? Too bad. It is what it is. I laughed A very funny comedy with two of the funniest performances and two of the funniest characters I've seen from either John Travolta or Forrest Whitaker. What? It wasn't supposed to be a comedy? Too bad. It is what it is. I laughed myself silly! Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
9
VinnyB.Mar 1, 2007
Far ahead of its time, "Battlefield Earth" was never recognized for the masterpiece allegory that it is. The aliens in this movie are thinly veiled versions of Scientology proselytizers, and their adventures on planet Earth focus on the Far ahead of its time, "Battlefield Earth" was never recognized for the masterpiece allegory that it is. The aliens in this movie are thinly veiled versions of Scientology proselytizers, and their adventures on planet Earth focus on the misunderstandings that often occur between members of the church and the general public. Travolta's character is an unsubtle archetype of every Hubbard-worshiping movie star that has come before him - his natty dreads and over-the-top delivery an uncanny riff on Tom Cruise's performance in "Born on the Fourth of July." His large bulk and space-faring ways can not fail to invoke memories of Kirstie Alley in a far inferior sci-fi flick, "Star Trek II." Indeed, the film makes a case for L. Ron Hubbard as the supreme pop culture Sci-Fi guru of our time, not the overrated Gene Roddenberry. Indeed, "Battlefield Earth" may very well be viewed in the year 3000 much as we look back on near-forgotten masterpieces like "The Inferno" and "King Lear." Watch for Will Smith's brief but hilarious cameo as a Bible salesmen. Other Scientologists making brief cameos include Tom Hanks, Bea Arthur, the kid from "Jerry Maguire," and Fred "The Hammer" Williamson. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful
7
DamienDarko777May 7, 2011
This movie isn't nearly as bad as all that. Sure, it's a bit cheesy but I liked the characters. I think it's done purposely with tongue in cheek, not meant to be a SERIOUS sci-fi but just a fun adventure; Sort of the same way how the IndianaThis movie isn't nearly as bad as all that. Sure, it's a bit cheesy but I liked the characters. I think it's done purposely with tongue in cheek, not meant to be a SERIOUS sci-fi but just a fun adventure; Sort of the same way how the Indiana Jones movies were inspired by those old serial shorts. It has pretty good fx and the actors are clearly into it. The story is cool though unoriginal, but I rooted for the humans to rise up against their alien masters. Don't over-think it, you'll have some fun. Ignore the haters, they just go for the obvious cheap shots. If you like sci-fi adventures, then you could do much worse. Expand
0 of 9 users found this helpful09
All this user's reviews
10
crovieliciousMar 13, 2015
Yes this is very bad film very very bad but i dont know i like it. I like movie setting in other world such as the lord of the rings and star wars. Not for harry potter.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Hemp316Oct 5, 2015
Extremely underrated and overlooked.I think the main complaint of the Movie is that the Movie is based off A work from L. Ron Hubbard who invented Scientology and John Travolta being A Scientologist starring in the Movie.The Acting wasExtremely underrated and overlooked.I think the main complaint of the Movie is that the Movie is based off A work from L. Ron Hubbard who invented Scientology and John Travolta being A Scientologist starring in the Movie.The Acting was nothing special,but was fine.The story is actually really intriguing and overall it was A great film who's really only tarnished by people scoring it so low which is the same and again I believe it is because of the Scientologist part.Maybe if people would get over that then they could truly see the Movie without blinders on. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews