User Score
2.2

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 197 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 197

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 18, 2014
    0
    I was able to sit through 20 minutes of this movie, only to find nothing but horribleness. Battlefield Earth has atrocious acting, awkward camera angles, and misplaced dialogue. This movie felt like if the Matrix met After Earth. Only that it is 10 times worse than After Earth. There is literally nothing that it is at least half-decent in this movie! 0/10 (unspeakable)
  2. Jul 28, 2014
    10
    This film had me rock hard from start to finish. John Travolta has never played a more convincing role; I think he really explored the roots of his own life in this motion picture.

    The ending was simply "golden"
  3. Jul 28, 2014
    0
    Battlefield Earth, oh where do I begin with this movie? Either start off with the god-awful acting or the terribly written story. Set in the year 3000 we see a bunch of...cavemen. Then later on we get to see John Travolta in one of the worst alien looking attires I have ever seen. That's it! I'm not going any further with this movie! Watch it for yourself and tell me how it goes. A zeroBattlefield Earth, oh where do I begin with this movie? Either start off with the god-awful acting or the terribly written story. Set in the year 3000 we see a bunch of...cavemen. Then later on we get to see John Travolta in one of the worst alien looking attires I have ever seen. That's it! I'm not going any further with this movie! Watch it for yourself and tell me how it goes. A zero out of ten. Expand
  4. Jun 28, 2014
    0
    In my opoinion this is the wprst film of all time. The camera angles are annoying and the fuxking scene transitions with the "wipes" is annoying as hell. John Travolta's character is just really stupid and cheesy. The slow motion is **** The script is really poor with lots of plot holes and the design is just really bad.
  5. Mar 2, 2014
    0
    What the frisk frack paddy wack tittie smack penis whack supercalifragilisticexpialidocious son of a gun **** slap ass **** anal rape tight rope walk is this horse ****
  6. Mar 1, 2014
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Terrible same with every body's acting in this movie AWFUL JUST TERRIBLE IT'S WIERD AND STUPID SO IS THE BOOK this movie should be banned from shelves and HBO! The Screen play acting setting and cinematography department of this movie just made a star wars and star trek rip off IT DESERVED AND WON A LOT OF GOLDEN RASBERRYS AND I SHOULDVE AND IT DID

    --- SPOILER BELOW ---

    At the end someone blows up travolta's planet the bomb that travolta planted then barry pepper locks travolta up in a sell where he is surrounded by more than a million brick of gold than Forrest Whitaker is behind them gives the gun to pepper turns out he switched sides and than travolta is pissed that he changed sides and that the movie sucked terribly
    Expand
  7. Jan 20, 2014
    0
    Wow, this movie is bad, first John Travolta's acting is so over the top you will die laughing, the cinematography is the worst ever, almost every shot is leaning for some reason, the special effects are crap, and nothing makes sense. This is one of the worst movies ever.
  8. Oct 5, 2013
    4
    A bizarre ugly film with bizarre ugly characters. The ridiculousness of the story and the fact we have never seen anything like this weird mash-up of alien finance, blackmail, and uninspired Planet of The Apes derivative keeps it oddly entertaining. Travolta overacts to an obscene amount and stumbles around in a strange but intriguing moon boots and dreadlocks combo and makes the filmA bizarre ugly film with bizarre ugly characters. The ridiculousness of the story and the fact we have never seen anything like this weird mash-up of alien finance, blackmail, and uninspired Planet of The Apes derivative keeps it oddly entertaining. Travolta overacts to an obscene amount and stumbles around in a strange but intriguing moon boots and dreadlocks combo and makes the film watchable for his odd performance that certainly doesn't lack in conviction, he wants to do this movie and that adds to it even though it is messy schlock poorly directed by Roger Christian who never met a color filter he didn't like. Expand
  9. Sep 10, 2013
    4
    Perhaps not as bad as most make it out to be. But still a bad film. Battlefield Earth fails at keeping the viewer entertained because of it's run time which is 30 minutes too long. It fails at building up suspense and tension, when the characters were in danger I wanted them to die. It fails at being an acceptable science fiction movie because of it's bad special effects. The only thing itPerhaps not as bad as most make it out to be. But still a bad film. Battlefield Earth fails at keeping the viewer entertained because of it's run time which is 30 minutes too long. It fails at building up suspense and tension, when the characters were in danger I wanted them to die. It fails at being an acceptable science fiction movie because of it's bad special effects. The only thing it doesn't fail at is having a good portrayal of Terl. John Travolta (surprisingly) is the best thing about the movie and delivers a good performance. Overall Battlefield Earth is a stupid Star Wars wannabe which doesn't seem to have any plot. Expand
  10. Aug 22, 2013
    0
    Let's put this in simple words; this is the worst movie I've ever had the unfortunate coincidence to stumble upon. It's all bull**** Scientology and John Travolta ruins his status. Pulp Fiction was great. Why now do something where all he does is scream like a girl with f****ing asthma while mixing in KISS and Bob Marley.
  11. Aug 19, 2013
    1
    This movie is so exquisitely bad, it went all the way past the score meter into the negative dimension, came back from the other side, and settled on an almost absolute zero.
    The acting is horrible, the dialog is beyond childish, and the plot while still making some sense in the book is laughably ridiculous in the film adaptation. From start to finish, there is simply nothing to enjoy here.
  12. Jul 10, 2013
    0
    Horrible, and difficult to watch the entire movie. Once was enough. I don't often have a reason to rate anything this low, but this is one of those times. I can't find anything about this movie that has any redeeming qualities and I like John Travolta, just not in this movie. I think as a parody of sci-fi it would have been better!
  13. Mar 24, 2013
    0
    Movies like Battlefield Earth don't even deserve to be in Hollywood business. I don't even think the story was engaging and the acting was horrible as crap. The story that is copying Star Trek doesn't even work, not for even 4 minutes it doesn't. This whole 3000 bad special CGI effected world is nothing just a fake invitation to invite you to the most horrible movies John Travolta has everMovies like Battlefield Earth don't even deserve to be in Hollywood business. I don't even think the story was engaging and the acting was horrible as crap. The story that is copying Star Trek doesn't even work, not for even 4 minutes it doesn't. This whole 3000 bad special CGI effected world is nothing just a fake invitation to invite you to the most horrible movies John Travolta has ever acted in. I advise you not to watch Battlefield Earth, strongly advise you not to. Strongly. Expand
  14. Mar 1, 2013
    0
    Battlefield Earth: A Saga of the Year 3000 is possibly the worst movie of all time, it comes complete with and incomprehensible plot, wooden and cheesy acting (the best kind) and some terrible camera angles. Now if you roll all of these aspects together into one little deformed ball you will create the greatest disaster to ever hit the big screen. I would recommend this movie only toBattlefield Earth: A Saga of the Year 3000 is possibly the worst movie of all time, it comes complete with and incomprehensible plot, wooden and cheesy acting (the best kind) and some terrible camera angles. Now if you roll all of these aspects together into one little deformed ball you will create the greatest disaster to ever hit the big screen. I would recommend this movie only to people who like to torture their own brain for 90 minutes (like me.)

    0/10- Train wreck from Hell
    Expand
  15. Feb 5, 2013
    0
    An unbelievably terrible alien the film that has reached the level of terrible on every single aspect of the film from poor acting, a hideous color, terrible effects, the awful storyline with plot wholes, and the ridiculous angle shots.
  16. Aug 25, 2012
    2
    The worst movie I saw in my life.The second place goes to Lord of the Flies.I do not like the plot of Lord of the flies;but Battlefield Earth has the worst director and the worst actor:John Travolta(only for this movie).
  17. Jul 12, 2012
    0
    The worst film I have ever seen. The writing is absolutely horrible. The acting is very poor. I mean come on, John Travolta and Barry Pepper can be good actors, they deserve better than this crap! But most of all, the film is just downright ugly. The characters are ugly and the film-making concepts that they used for this film are awful. I mean, why is every shot at a slant? This film justThe worst film I have ever seen. The writing is absolutely horrible. The acting is very poor. I mean come on, John Travolta and Barry Pepper can be good actors, they deserve better than this crap! But most of all, the film is just downright ugly. The characters are ugly and the film-making concepts that they used for this film are awful. I mean, why is every shot at a slant? This film just makes no sense whatsoever. Expand
  18. Jun 4, 2012
    2
    Just No..
    Never Will Win A Single Damn Thing..
    One Of The Worst Movie's I Have Ever Seen
  19. May 6, 2012
    2
    This film has so many wholes you could practically see right through it. The performances are so bad and the director was so lost with how to create an action scene. I see why this film won the worst film of the decade at the razzies.
  20. Mar 28, 2012
    0
    This was a terrible movie. One of the worst movies i've ever seen. Almost as bad as alone in the dark.................................................
  21. Mar 28, 2012
    0
    Umm... No. Just don't do this. Ever. It's Passion of the Christ for Scientology. Don't watch this if you don't want to feel like you are clawing your eyes out with sharpened fingernails made of poop. So just avoid this movie at all costs.
  22. Mar 9, 2012
    0
    There are so many reasons why you should avoid Battlefield Earth:

    1. Never make a dull and sleazy script from a novel. 2. A film needs more marketing campaigns. 3. Throw it in a landfill in New Mexico. The film is so bad, I will not ever rent or buy a bad box office flop again. I think John Travolta needs to learn a couple of lessons from Pulp Fiction because every time when a
    There are so many reasons why you should avoid Battlefield Earth:

    1. Never make a dull and sleazy script from a novel.
    2. A film needs more marketing campaigns.
    3. Throw it in a landfill in New Mexico.

    The film is so bad, I will not ever rent or buy a bad box office flop again. I think John Travolta needs to learn a couple of lessons from Pulp Fiction because every time when a critic comes to harass you, that's the reason why sci-fi and adventures don't mix. It's still one of the most disgusting movies since Showgirls and The Adventures of Pluto Nash. No sequel, no nothing. Total B.S. "Battlefield Earth" is so bad, I got a good review in a good way.
    Expand
  23. Jan 30, 2012
    1
    Battlefield Earth can be quite accurately summed up by just describing how John Travolta appears - bloated, clumsy, unintelligent, overbearing, uninteresting, ugly, ridiculous, pathetic... The list could go on, though there is a lot more to get to. The plot is mostly cliched, contrived nonsense; the characters look stupid, do stupid things and say stupid things; but where BattlefieldBattlefield Earth can be quite accurately summed up by just describing how John Travolta appears - bloated, clumsy, unintelligent, overbearing, uninteresting, ugly, ridiculous, pathetic... The list could go on, though there is a lot more to get to. The plot is mostly cliched, contrived nonsense; the characters look stupid, do stupid things and say stupid things; but where Battlefield Earth fails on such an IMMENSE scale is the direction. Seriously, the direction is ABHORRENT - never has a big-budget Hollywood movie been directed so awfully. The camera is almost permanently stuck on an absurd diagonal, making it very hard to concentrate, and also causing borderline motion sickness. On top of that, the colours and the lighting are so ugly that it almost defies you to continue watching. Every scene is either in this dull and lifeless blue, or a bewildering menagerie of green, yellow and purple. It's just baffling how anyone could look at this steaming pile and find it anything but excruciating! In addition to this abomination of direction is a cast of grossly unappealing actors, including the emotional flatline, Barry Pepper; the half-asleep Forest Whitaker; and of course, the ham and cheese deluxe, John Travolta. All the adjectives in the world fail to even touch on the complete depth of hopelessness that Battlefield Earth exudes in all facets of production. Let it be the saga of the year 2000, so that all will know of the first mistake humankind made in the new millennium. Expand
  24. Jan 2, 2012
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Watch ONLY 3 Minutes of the film. maybe, maybe not. Maybe see how BAD it looks for everyone who likes Sci-Fi film. This is one ofthe WORST movies I've seen. Expand
  25. Oct 6, 2011
    2
    "Battlefield Earth: A Saga of the Year 3000" has everything messed up. The story is messy and disjointed, (with breath-taking slo-mo action popping up in the wrong time every 5 seconds), the dialogue is cheesy and obvious, as well as for the movie's choppy editing. It sure did deserve a lot of razzies....
  26. Aug 19, 2011
    0
    This was a terrible movie. It had a terrible plotline and I could barely watch this movie. I couldn't watch this movie and it made me want to kill myself.
  27. Jul 26, 2011
    4
    You know what, even with the crummy camera-angles and John Travolta as an intergalactic space commander...thing...it wasn't bad to look at it's colorful scenes and comfy science-fiction action. But still...it is an interesting film that even though is said to be the worst, will still have people talking eons to come.
  28. May 7, 2011
    7
    This movie isn't nearly as bad as all that. Sure, it's a bit cheesy but I liked the characters. I think it's done purposely with tongue in cheek, not meant to be a SERIOUS sci-fi but just a fun adventure; Sort of the same way how the Indiana Jones movies were inspired by those old serial shorts. It has pretty good fx and the actors are clearly into it. The story is cool though unoriginal,This movie isn't nearly as bad as all that. Sure, it's a bit cheesy but I liked the characters. I think it's done purposely with tongue in cheek, not meant to be a SERIOUS sci-fi but just a fun adventure; Sort of the same way how the Indiana Jones movies were inspired by those old serial shorts. It has pretty good fx and the actors are clearly into it. The story is cool though unoriginal, but I rooted for the humans to rise up against their alien masters. Don't over-think it, you'll have some fun. Ignore the haters, they just go for the obvious cheap shots. If you like sci-fi adventures, then you could do much worse. Expand
  29. Mar 4, 2011
    0
    Ha ha!!!! I get it now! after watching this overacted, non-linear, headache inspiring film, I get that all the good reviews in this section must be sarcastic! Very good jokes you guys! If you want to see a movie that is so bad that you can't watch it without a constant headache, then by all means, burn through a few hours of your life with this empty soda can that cost 75 million dollarsHa ha!!!! I get it now! after watching this overacted, non-linear, headache inspiring film, I get that all the good reviews in this section must be sarcastic! Very good jokes you guys! If you want to see a movie that is so bad that you can't watch it without a constant headache, then by all means, burn through a few hours of your life with this empty soda can that cost 75 million dollars to make. Expand
  30. Sep 8, 2010
    4
    Before I watched this, I thought it would be good for the audiences around the world but when i watched it, I feel disappointed for this movie and also wasted my money for watching this crap
Metascore
9

Overwhelming dislike - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 33
  2. Negative: 29 out of 33
  1. Reviewed by: Cody Clark
    53
    It's a lock to pile up the honors during Hollywood's annual awards season next spring (at the Golden Raspberries and the MTV Movie Awards).
  2. 0
    A million monkeys with a million crayons would be hard-pressed in a million years to create anything as cretinous as Battlefield Earth.
  3. Reviewed by: Sean Means
    0
    In the pantheon of cinematic train wrecks, from "Ishtar" to "Waterworld," set a place at the table for Battlefield Earth.