Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: May 12, 2000
2.0
USER SCORE
Generally unfavorable reviews based on 297 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
42
Mixed:
23
Negative:
232
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
2
grandpajoe6191Oct 6, 2011
"Battlefield Earth: A Saga of the Year 3000" has everything messed up. The story is messy and disjointed, (with breath-taking slo-mo action popping up in the wrong time every 5 seconds), the dialogue is cheesy and obvious, as well as for the"Battlefield Earth: A Saga of the Year 3000" has everything messed up. The story is messy and disjointed, (with breath-taking slo-mo action popping up in the wrong time every 5 seconds), the dialogue is cheesy and obvious, as well as for the movie's choppy editing. It sure did deserve a lot of razzies.... Expand
8 of 8 users found this helpful80
All this user's reviews
0
cleanwillyFeb 9, 2005
Absolutely one of the worst films I've ever seen. We were laughing so hard in the theatre, I thought we might get kicked out. Travolta's entrance ranks as one of the most unintentionally funny of al time. This is the perfect film Absolutely one of the worst films I've ever seen. We were laughing so hard in the theatre, I thought we might get kicked out. Travolta's entrance ranks as one of the most unintentionally funny of al time. This is the perfect film to air for friends at home, armed with beer, pizza and a roomful of quick wits. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
0
ApocalypseGamerJan 2, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Watch ONLY 3 Minutes of the film. maybe, maybe not. Maybe see how BAD it looks for everyone who likes Sci-Fi film. This is one ofthe WORST movies I've seen. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
0
Midge115Mar 28, 2012
Umm... No. Just don't do this. Ever. It's Passion of the Christ for Scientology. Don't watch this if you don't want to feel like you are clawing your eyes out with sharpened fingernails made of poop. So just avoid this movie at all costs.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
0
MonsieurEamesJul 12, 2012
The worst film I have ever seen. The writing is absolutely horrible. The acting is very poor. I mean come on, John Travolta and Barry Pepper can be good actors, they deserve better than this crap! But most of all, the film is just downrightThe worst film I have ever seen. The writing is absolutely horrible. The acting is very poor. I mean come on, John Travolta and Barry Pepper can be good actors, they deserve better than this crap! But most of all, the film is just downright ugly. The characters are ugly and the film-making concepts that they used for this film are awful. I mean, why is every shot at a slant? This film just makes no sense whatsoever. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
2
cabritaMay 6, 2012
This film has so many wholes you could practically see right through it. The performances are so bad and the director was so lost with how to create an action scene. I see why this film won the worst film of the decade at the razzies.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
KadeemluvmusicMar 9, 2012
There are so many reasons why you should avoid Battlefield Earth:

1. Never make a dull and sleazy script from a novel. 2. A film needs more marketing campaigns. 3. Throw it in a landfill in New Mexico. The film is so bad, I will not
There are so many reasons why you should avoid Battlefield Earth:

1. Never make a dull and sleazy script from a novel.
2. A film needs more marketing campaigns.
3. Throw it in a landfill in New Mexico.

The film is so bad, I will not ever rent or buy a bad box office flop again. I think John Travolta needs to learn a couple of lessons from Pulp Fiction because every time when a critic comes to harass you, that's the reason why sci-fi and adventures don't mix. It's still one of the most disgusting movies since Showgirls and The Adventures of Pluto Nash. No sequel, no nothing. Total B.S. "Battlefield Earth" is so bad, I got a good review in a good way.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
Ven-WedeJan 30, 2012
Battlefield Earth can be quite accurately summed up by just describing how John Travolta appears - bloated, clumsy, unintelligent, overbearing, uninteresting, ugly, ridiculous, pathetic... The list could go on, though there is a lot more toBattlefield Earth can be quite accurately summed up by just describing how John Travolta appears - bloated, clumsy, unintelligent, overbearing, uninteresting, ugly, ridiculous, pathetic... The list could go on, though there is a lot more to get to. The plot is mostly cliched, contrived nonsense; the characters look stupid, do stupid things and say stupid things; but where Battlefield Earth fails on such an IMMENSE scale is the direction. Seriously, the direction is ABHORRENT - never has a big-budget Hollywood movie been directed so awfully. The camera is almost permanently stuck on an absurd diagonal, making it very hard to concentrate, and also causing borderline motion sickness. On top of that, the colours and the lighting are so ugly that it almost defies you to continue watching. Every scene is either in this dull and lifeless blue, or a bewildering menagerie of green, yellow and purple. It's just baffling how anyone could look at this steaming pile and find it anything but excruciating! In addition to this abomination of direction is a cast of grossly unappealing actors, including the emotional flatline, Barry Pepper; the half-asleep Forest Whitaker; and of course, the ham and cheese deluxe, John Travolta. All the adjectives in the world fail to even touch on the complete depth of hopelessness that Battlefield Earth exudes in all facets of production. Let it be the saga of the year 2000, so that all will know of the first mistake humankind made in the new millennium. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
TheguyoffireMar 28, 2012
This was a terrible movie. One of the worst movies i've ever seen. Almost as bad as alone in the dark.................................................
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
2
GagaForGhibliJun 4, 2012
Just No..
Never Will Win A Single Damn Thing..
One Of The Worst Movie's I Have Ever Seen
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
dante_finnJun 28, 2014
In my opoinion this is the wprst film of all time. The camera angles are annoying and the fuxking scene transitions with the "wipes" is annoying as hell. John Travolta's character is just really stupid and cheesy. The slow motion is **** TheIn my opoinion this is the wprst film of all time. The camera angles are annoying and the fuxking scene transitions with the "wipes" is annoying as hell. John Travolta's character is just really stupid and cheesy. The slow motion is **** The script is really poor with lots of plot holes and the design is just really bad. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
GravelordMar 1, 2013
Battlefield Earth: A Saga of the Year 3000 is possibly the worst movie of all time, it comes complete with and incomprehensible plot, wooden and cheesy acting (the best kind) and some terrible camera angles. Now if you roll all of theseBattlefield Earth: A Saga of the Year 3000 is possibly the worst movie of all time, it comes complete with and incomprehensible plot, wooden and cheesy acting (the best kind) and some terrible camera angles. Now if you roll all of these aspects together into one little deformed ball you will create the greatest disaster to ever hit the big screen. I would recommend this movie only to people who like to torture their own brain for 90 minutes (like me.)

0/10- Train wreck from Hell
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
mpmartinJul 10, 2013
Horrible, and difficult to watch the entire movie. Once was enough. I don't often have a reason to rate anything this low, but this is one of those times. I can't find anything about this movie that has any redeeming qualities and I like JohnHorrible, and difficult to watch the entire movie. Once was enough. I don't often have a reason to rate anything this low, but this is one of those times. I can't find anything about this movie that has any redeeming qualities and I like John Travolta, just not in this movie. I think as a parody of sci-fi it would have been better! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
Leo9127Jan 20, 2014
Wow, this movie is bad, first John Travolta's acting is so over the top you will die laughing, the cinematography is the worst ever, almost every shot is leaning for some reason, the special effects are crap, and nothing makes sense. This isWow, this movie is bad, first John Travolta's acting is so over the top you will die laughing, the cinematography is the worst ever, almost every shot is leaning for some reason, the special effects are crap, and nothing makes sense. This is one of the worst movies ever. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
SNLover44Mar 1, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Terrible same with every body's acting in this movie AWFUL JUST TERRIBLE IT'S WIERD AND STUPID SO IS THE BOOK this movie should be banned from shelves and HBO! The Screen play acting setting and cinematography department of this movie just made a star wars and star trek rip off IT DESERVED AND WON A LOT OF GOLDEN RASBERRYS AND I SHOULDVE AND IT DID

--- SPOILER BELOW ---

At the end someone blows up travolta's planet the bomb that travolta planted then barry pepper locks travolta up in a sell where he is surrounded by more than a million brick of gold than Forrest Whitaker is behind them gives the gun to pepper turns out he switched sides and than travolta is pissed that he changed sides and that the movie sucked terribly
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
WheelzFourReelzDec 29, 2014
These reviews aren't lying. This is one of the worst excuses for a film I've ever seen. Everything, from the acting to the costumes to the special effects to the story to the script to the plot holes to the action to the cinematography to theThese reviews aren't lying. This is one of the worst excuses for a film I've ever seen. Everything, from the acting to the costumes to the special effects to the story to the script to the plot holes to the action to the cinematography to the lighting, just sucks. This is the worst movie I've ever seen. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
EpicLadySpongeDec 29, 2015
Ugly, dumb, and predictable, Battlefield Earth has shown what it got to deserve the 0 rating. From John Travolta, this is his worst movie he has ever done so far.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
gameguardian21Mar 24, 2016
Battlefield earth now has another battle to deal with, keeping fans interested as this movie has bad dialogue, story, effects, characters, this is one of those huge messed up movies.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
SoulmanApr 3, 2007
Well... the film is bad. BUT it is not that bad then I thought after reading all the critics. Or maybe it's only not so bad because it is some sort of fun to see such a bad film. I had a good time!
4 of 5 users found this helpful
0
MichaelF.Aug 7, 2001
The worst movie ever made. But "Innerspace" comes pretty damn close (you can take that out if you want Marc). This movie is the reason I will never even be curious in joining the scientologists. The most piece-of-sh** movie ever made in the The worst movie ever made. But "Innerspace" comes pretty damn close (you can take that out if you want Marc). This movie is the reason I will never even be curious in joining the scientologists. The most piece-of-sh** movie ever made in the history of piece-of-sh** movies. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
4
LeifOct 5, 2013
A bizarre ugly film with bizarre ugly characters. The ridiculousness of the story and the fact we have never seen anything like this weird mash-up of alien finance, blackmail, and uninspired Planet of The Apes derivative keeps it oddlyA bizarre ugly film with bizarre ugly characters. The ridiculousness of the story and the fact we have never seen anything like this weird mash-up of alien finance, blackmail, and uninspired Planet of The Apes derivative keeps it oddly entertaining. Travolta overacts to an obscene amount and stumbles around in a strange but intriguing moon boots and dreadlocks combo and makes the film watchable for his odd performance that certainly doesn't lack in conviction, he wants to do this movie and that adds to it even though it is messy schlock poorly directed by Roger Christian who never met a color filter he didn't like. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
MissDraeMar 2, 2014
What the frisk frack paddy wack tittie smack penis whack supercalifragilisticexpialidocious son of a gun **** slap ass **** anal rape tight rope walk is this horse ****
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
georgeNov 4, 2008
After all the brutal reviews I expected BE to be the next Plan 9 on a big budget. Derivative, absolutely - and that's really its worst problem: for all the money and hoopla it looks and sounds like every other sci-fi schlocker, right After all the brutal reviews I expected BE to be the next Plan 9 on a big budget. Derivative, absolutely - and that's really its worst problem: for all the money and hoopla it looks and sounds like every other sci-fi schlocker, right down to the lighting, sound fx, etc; Travolta should never have cast himself in the lead - he's TRAVOLTA, and you can't get past that; at least duds like DUNE tried to create something visually unique. But hey, I've also defended ISHTAR - another movie undeserving of such universal derision; bad? Yep; the WORST? Not even close; if you're looking for TRUE PAIN then test yourself with Roberto B's PINOCCHIO. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful
10
amf32Jul 28, 2014
This film had me rock hard from start to finish. John Travolta has never played a more convincing role; I think he really explored the roots of his own life in this motion picture.

The ending was simply "golden"
3 of 14 users found this helpful311
All this user's reviews
10
TomC.Mar 28, 2007
This film is great. You must be a psychiatrist or on medication if you hate this film. My buddy Jon Travolta does an excellent job portraying Bob Marley. I can't wait to show it to Suri when IT takes over and our Xenu comes back. This film is great. You must be a psychiatrist or on medication if you hate this film. My buddy Jon Travolta does an excellent job portraying Bob Marley. I can't wait to show it to Suri when IT takes over and our Xenu comes back. Haven't you all suspected? THIS film is how I converted Katie. I assure you, watch this film and your E-Meter will be off the chart. Just pay 400 thousand dollars to the only true religion and 5 bucks to your local secular video store and you too can be a scientologist! Thanks for your time, and Viacom, f.ck off! I'm fine without you! Expand
1 of 8 users found this helpful
10
DavidD.May 21, 2007
Best bilingual scifi movie of all time In a country where bilingual English/Spanish signage is scoffed at by the illiterate provincial masses, I don't expect a movie as brilliantly bilingual as BattleField Earth to have been embraced. Best bilingual scifi movie of all time In a country where bilingual English/Spanish signage is scoffed at by the illiterate provincial masses, I don't expect a movie as brilliantly bilingual as BattleField Earth to have been embraced. Just as I am ahead of my times for my ability to speak Chinese, so BattleField Earth is ahead of its time in presenting the inhabitants of Psyclo as non-native English speakers who need to tech their enemy their language before they can communicate with him. That aspect was misunderstood by the uni-lingual American masses. In a world where only 7% of the people speak English as their native language, I find it insulting to see SciFi movies where Romulans and Naboo-ians speak perfect English. The "cultural elite" often praise themselves on watching foreign films with subtitles, yet the same people scoff at the best bilingual scifi movie of all times - BattleField Earth. BattleField Earth gets 2 thumbs up from this critic. Expand
1 of 10 users found this helpful
9
MikeFeb 5, 2006
I was expecting it to be different having read the book. I thought it was not bad at all , i don't follow critics opinions, especially were sci fi is concerned. a worse piece of crap was hitchikers guide to the galaxy but you don't I was expecting it to be different having read the book. I thought it was not bad at all , i don't follow critics opinions, especially were sci fi is concerned. a worse piece of crap was hitchikers guide to the galaxy but you don't hear nothing about it, or Vin disel's attempt at sci fi. that moovie sucked so much i forgot the name. Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful
6
DetoxE.Apr 6, 2009
I have watched this movie several times. I enjoyed watching it. The Alien race is very interesting. The whole movie is somewhat different from the normal Hollywood output. May be not better but at least different! So it is not a very good I have watched this movie several times. I enjoyed watching it. The Alien race is very interesting. The whole movie is somewhat different from the normal Hollywood output. May be not better but at least different! So it is not a very good movie but it is worth watching if one likes the genre. Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful
10
JebH.Jul 5, 2005
Come on guys, this isn't that bad! I thought this movie was a sci-fi treat, begining to end!
0 of 4 users found this helpful
5
TitaniumDragonJul 21, 2009
This movie IS terrible, but it crosses the line from "its awful" to "its so bad its good". It is completely ridiculous, but it is actually quite watchable so long as you laugh at it. There are definitely, definitely worse movies.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RobS.Jun 18, 2001
This was the greatest film of all time! It really changed my life! Plot twists and non stop action make this movie a must see!
0 of 4 users found this helpful
10
DaleD.Dec 6, 2002
A masterpeice, one of the best films ever made.
0 of 3 users found this helpful
10
GilbertMaloneycakesSep 30, 2002
It's fabulous! It's breathtaking! It's completely and utterly appalling! I love it!
0 of 2 users found this helpful
8
JaysonB.Apr 8, 2005
Of course this movie sucked, anyone who expected a good movie after looking at the box it came in is just stupid. It is much more enjoyed if u laugh at it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
RickB.Sep 17, 2005
Not all bad just alittle not very good. I will say i have seen worse.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
7
YossarianJan 25, 2006
A very funny comedy with two of the funniest performances and two of the funniest characters I've seen from either John Travolta or Forrest Whitaker. What? It wasn't supposed to be a comedy? Too bad. It is what it is. I laughed A very funny comedy with two of the funniest performances and two of the funniest characters I've seen from either John Travolta or Forrest Whitaker. What? It wasn't supposed to be a comedy? Too bad. It is what it is. I laughed myself silly! Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
5
JBAug 11, 2006
A generic sci-fi action flick that honestly isn't worth the cost of admission. It's not nearly as bad as some of the other films at this rating level though.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
VinnyB.Mar 1, 2007
Far ahead of its time, "Battlefield Earth" was never recognized for the masterpiece allegory that it is. The aliens in this movie are thinly veiled versions of Scientology proselytizers, and their adventures on planet Earth focus on the Far ahead of its time, "Battlefield Earth" was never recognized for the masterpiece allegory that it is. The aliens in this movie are thinly veiled versions of Scientology proselytizers, and their adventures on planet Earth focus on the misunderstandings that often occur between members of the church and the general public. Travolta's character is an unsubtle archetype of every Hubbard-worshiping movie star that has come before him - his natty dreads and over-the-top delivery an uncanny riff on Tom Cruise's performance in "Born on the Fourth of July." His large bulk and space-faring ways can not fail to invoke memories of Kirstie Alley in a far inferior sci-fi flick, "Star Trek II." Indeed, the film makes a case for L. Ron Hubbard as the supreme pop culture Sci-Fi guru of our time, not the overrated Gene Roddenberry. Indeed, "Battlefield Earth" may very well be viewed in the year 3000 much as we look back on near-forgotten masterpieces like "The Inferno" and "King Lear." Watch for Will Smith's brief but hilarious cameo as a Bible salesmen. Other Scientologists making brief cameos include Tom Hanks, Bea Arthur, the kid from "Jerry Maguire," and Fred "The Hammer" Williamson. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful
9
FredL.May 15, 2005
A provocative look at human nature's ability to overcome the worst hurdles imangiable. Set in the year 3000, Battlefield Earth is a beautiful piece of art. The writing was genious and I doubt I'll ever see a movie as well acted as A provocative look at human nature's ability to overcome the worst hurdles imangiable. Set in the year 3000, Battlefield Earth is a beautiful piece of art. The writing was genious and I doubt I'll ever see a movie as well acted as this again. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful
10
[Anonymous]Nov 14, 2004
Superbly acted, delving into the outer reaches of a humans survival. Flawless, I cryed in the end.
0 of 4 users found this helpful
4
WWABTT123Sep 8, 2010
Before I watched this, I thought it would be good for the audiences around the world but when i watched it, I feel disappointed for this movie and also wasted my money for watching this crap
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
DamienDarko777May 7, 2011
This movie isn't nearly as bad as all that. Sure, it's a bit cheesy but I liked the characters. I think it's done purposely with tongue in cheek, not meant to be a SERIOUS sci-fi but just a fun adventure; Sort of the same way how the IndianaThis movie isn't nearly as bad as all that. Sure, it's a bit cheesy but I liked the characters. I think it's done purposely with tongue in cheek, not meant to be a SERIOUS sci-fi but just a fun adventure; Sort of the same way how the Indiana Jones movies were inspired by those old serial shorts. It has pretty good fx and the actors are clearly into it. The story is cool though unoriginal, but I rooted for the humans to rise up against their alien masters. Don't over-think it, you'll have some fun. Ignore the haters, they just go for the obvious cheap shots. If you like sci-fi adventures, then you could do much worse. Expand
0 of 9 users found this helpful09
All this user's reviews
4
MattMintageJul 26, 2011
You know what, even with the crummy camera-angles and John Travolta as an intergalactic space commander...thing...it wasn't bad to look at it's colorful scenes and comfy science-fiction action. But still...it is an interesting film that evenYou know what, even with the crummy camera-angles and John Travolta as an intergalactic space commander...thing...it wasn't bad to look at it's colorful scenes and comfy science-fiction action. But still...it is an interesting film that even though is said to be the worst, will still have people talking eons to come. Expand
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews
4
python2000Sep 10, 2013
Perhaps not as bad as most make it out to be. But still a bad film. Battlefield Earth fails at keeping the viewer entertained because of it's run time which is 30 minutes too long. It fails at building up suspense and tension, when thePerhaps not as bad as most make it out to be. But still a bad film. Battlefield Earth fails at keeping the viewer entertained because of it's run time which is 30 minutes too long. It fails at building up suspense and tension, when the characters were in danger I wanted them to die. It fails at being an acceptable science fiction movie because of it's bad special effects. The only thing it doesn't fail at is having a good portrayal of Terl. John Travolta (surprisingly) is the best thing about the movie and delivers a good performance. Overall Battlefield Earth is a stupid Star Wars wannabe which doesn't seem to have any plot. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
S.SmurfMay 18, 2005
I give it a 1 and not the deserved 0, because it still managed to successfully evoke the feeling of being ill, including the urge to vomit. Although this is quite an achievement, it probably was not the original goal of the makers.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
StephenC.May 8, 2008
Better than I thought it was going to be and I can still only give it a 2. It's shamelessly pandering to the same people that Scientology does, the not so smart segment of the population. Besides being a not very good sci-fi story in Better than I thought it was going to be and I can still only give it a 2. It's shamelessly pandering to the same people that Scientology does, the not so smart segment of the population. Besides being a not very good sci-fi story in the first place it is also a bad adaptation of a bad story that is badly acted and badly directed. The best thing I can say is some of the acting is so bad it's laughable, especially Mr. Travolta. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JohnD.Jul 6, 2008
Not one character was appealing. I enjoy science fiction a great deal but this reminds me why 99% of the time the movies are never done correctly or are able to be funded. Any made for tv movie would have been much better because at least Not one character was appealing. I enjoy science fiction a great deal but this reminds me why 99% of the time the movies are never done correctly or are able to be funded. Any made for tv movie would have been much better because at least you could blame a lack of funding, but this fails on such a large scale that its imeasurable. Never thought Id ever feel sorry for an actor before but Travolta this was just sad. Its his own fault though. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
[Anonymous]Aug 16, 2001
Can't get worse than this.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
NedD.Sep 14, 2001
Worst movie of 2000? You betcha! Rarely has a movie been so misguided in every department: acting, directing, editing, costume design, make-up, screenplay, cinematography, score, special effects....EVERYTHING! It almost takes some kind of Worst movie of 2000? You betcha! Rarely has a movie been so misguided in every department: acting, directing, editing, costume design, make-up, screenplay, cinematography, score, special effects....EVERYTHING! It almost takes some kind of genius to be able to put together something this catastrophically awful. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
SimonT.Jul 25, 2002
Dianetics ? More like Diuretics, 'cuz I peed my pants laughing at the stunningly ineptitude and horribleness of this movie. Its L. Ron HubBAD !
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ErwinK.Apr 19, 2003
Oh my God!!! I rented this video just to have a good laugh at a crap movie. But its not even funny in a crap way. It is a wholesomely depressingly bad movie that had me in tears at the end. I never believed film-making could ever be this Oh my God!!! I rented this video just to have a good laugh at a crap movie. But its not even funny in a crap way. It is a wholesomely depressingly bad movie that had me in tears at the end. I never believed film-making could ever be this bad. No-one should go through this hell. The U.N. should intervene and charge Roger Christian as a war criminal. For the sake of humanity he should be removed from society. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
DaveC.Sep 9, 2004
Utterly dreadful and appalling, but in a sickly fascinating sort of way, maybe I'm just weird.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
SamNov 20, 2005
It's far from the worst movie I've ever seen, but it's not very good either. I really thought the plot gave it pottential, but the lame effects and acting really ruined it. There are, however, two things that I DID enjoy about It's far from the worst movie I've ever seen, but it's not very good either. I really thought the plot gave it pottential, but the lame effects and acting really ruined it. There are, however, two things that I DID enjoy about this move. As I said before, the plot was interesting and I really enjoyed Travolta's performance. Other than that, I will admit that this is a true, honest-to-God disaster. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
PonR.Jul 7, 2005
It gets 1 point for giving us scantily-clad tribal women sporting exotic tans. Its worth as a movie accounts for the other 9 points, or lack thereof as it were.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
SkeetM.Aug 26, 2005
I've seen many great movies and many bad ones, but this is easily the worst all around flick i have watched. by far. from dialogue to plot to scenery to tone to setting to costum design. it is bad beyond comprehension from start to I've seen many great movies and many bad ones, but this is easily the worst all around flick i have watched. by far. from dialogue to plot to scenery to tone to setting to costum design. it is bad beyond comprehension from start to finish. and in no way am i guilty of exaggeration. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AndrésM.Jul 6, 2006
Horrible and completely stupid. I´d rather use the time to stare at a rotten banana.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
NickASep 16, 2006
Sometimes you feel you have to watch something to see if its as bad as everyone said! I did and it
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AnonApr 7, 2008
The most clichéd science fiction piece I have ever witnessed. Absolutely terribly written and the acting inspired no emotional reaction.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
LaurenJan 20, 2009
It's so bad, it's not even funny. Who gave this movie the green light? I would like to know, cause' they need to re-evaluate their jobs.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AjaxT.Dec 2, 2001
Wow! This is the first movie I have ever seen that I actually vomited on myself. After that, I set the cassette on fire with napalm and told the video rental place that I was willing to pay for it. Wow!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DanL.Jan 25, 2001
Must-see for Film students on what not to do. Wonderful book and excellent actors; the mystery is how a terrible movie could come from that.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
A.PriceJan 29, 2001
This is a bad film made from a bad book written by a bad author.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
SuperD.Feb 21, 2001
What a disappointment. It's a really bad flick - there's no other way to spin it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
CatsMar 12, 2001
Take off every 'Zig'! You know what you doing. Move 'Zig'. For great justice.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BobbyB.Aug 31, 2001
Rob S. you f...ing idiot.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MatthewK.Aug 4, 2002
Godallmighty this one stunk worse than anything else I have ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
CraigK.Aug 5, 2002
SUCKS!!! I gave it a one because of the great makeup job.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AGSep 1, 2002
Worse than watching a Rodney Dangerfield film festival.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
PatC.Dec 1, 2003
I'm giving this movie a 1 because I'm reluctant to say it's totally bad. Some could consider the lack of mental challenge somewhat refreshing. Perhaps. Not anyone I know, but, um, let's see ... Travolta really tried to I'm giving this movie a 1 because I'm reluctant to say it's totally bad. Some could consider the lack of mental challenge somewhat refreshing. Perhaps. Not anyone I know, but, um, let's see ... Travolta really tried to ... well, if one contemplates the story line ... the prison injustices had a hint of credibility, didn't they ... no, really, the effects were almost as good as, um, ... ya got to at least admit this flick could change someone's life, somewhere, somehow, I mean, picture it ... OK, 0. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MackM.Oct 22, 2003
They say that a million monkeys typing for a million years would by chance manage to create something as magnificent as the greatest works of shakespeare. Battlefield Earth? Three monkeys, five minutes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
[Anonymous]Feb 12, 2003
For some strange reason I actually enjoyed this movie...a little...
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
YoonC.Sep 14, 2003
If mankind makes few more movies like this, we deserve to be invaded!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
camerons.Jan 22, 2005
Absolutly awful. But it strangly engages you though with its sheer atrosity of a plot, dreaddful actring and some of the worst costume design I've ever seen. The aliens are just people wearing moon boots for petes sake! Whats even worse Absolutly awful. But it strangly engages you though with its sheer atrosity of a plot, dreaddful actring and some of the worst costume design I've ever seen. The aliens are just people wearing moon boots for petes sake! Whats even worse is that you can tell that John Travolta put alot of money in this. Maybe he should have spent his money on something better, perhaps fuel for his plane. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
matta.Jun 28, 2005
This movie is so bad that, honestly,it is worth seeing for a few laughs (hence the 2). Travolta should never be able to live this down, especially considering that he executive produced it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JasonS.Dec 3, 2006
Almost as bad as 'The Lake House' :-)
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
A.NoteFeb 27, 2007
Every scene in the movie is flooded in either vomit orange, deep purple, or baby poop green. Seriously.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
NathanT.Mar 8, 2007
The hype is accurate! "Battlefield Earth" is one of, if not the worst film in the history of mankind. Ugly, stupid, repulsive, and disturbing in a manner not seen, since, well, the era of L. Ron Hubbard's crummy derivative writing and The hype is accurate! "Battlefield Earth" is one of, if not the worst film in the history of mankind. Ugly, stupid, repulsive, and disturbing in a manner not seen, since, well, the era of L. Ron Hubbard's crummy derivative writing and scam of a religion. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DaleH.Apr 11, 2007
This movie was so bad it was amazing that the stars accepted these roles, in two weeks time the primitive people know how to fly fighter jets? It also moved way too fast and was so stupid how the tryed to talk, piece of crap movie, This movie was so bad it was amazing that the stars accepted these roles, in two weeks time the primitive people know how to fly fighter jets? It also moved way too fast and was so stupid how the tryed to talk, piece of crap movie, don't waste your time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
BenE.Aug 15, 2008
This is possibly the worst movie ever made, but perhaps slightly better than Ben & Arthur.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
kidblockAug 20, 2008
Geez why people give this a higher rating which means they should be put into a mental institution if they like this film. Cause this movie sucks as hell because if poor plot and poor effects in this film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
CatsFeb 28, 2001
In AD 2101. War was beginning. What happen? Somebody set us up the bomb. We get signal. What! Main screen turn on. It's you!! How are you gentlemen. All your base are belong to us!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
ZigMar 24, 2001
Skip the movie, the book was very good though. All your base are belong to us!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
TheScottsmanJun 11, 2001
Granted, the book was so long, it was a hard task to put to film. But this movie did not even come close to doing the book justice! Would have been a better mini series for the SciFi channel or something.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
RogerD.Jul 16, 2001
I've seen worse, just can't remember when.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
RogerD.Jul 16, 2001
I've seen worse, just can't remember when.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AlexB.Jul 24, 2002
This movie should be sealed in a case that reads "break glass only in the event of war" America's new weapon against terrorism...sheer stupidity and boredom.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
Mr.BillingsDec 6, 2003
How's this for a resume..."Yes, we would be honored to accept your offer as a worker here at McDonalds Mr. Travolta... you sound like you know your way around a grill... it says here you were a famous actor! WOW! We could use one of How's this for a resume..."Yes, we would be honored to accept your offer as a worker here at McDonalds Mr. Travolta... you sound like you know your way around a grill... it says here you were a famous actor! WOW! We could use one of those.... wait just a minute!!! This says you starred in Battlefield Earth...HOLY CRAP, was that not the WORST movie of the CENTURY... never mind. Maybe someone alse will hire you." Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MajorC.Jun 27, 2004
Appalling drivel.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
jimJul 21, 2005
I am amazed to see people giving this movie 9s and 10s. I am surprised these people can actually type. This movie was terrible beyond comprehension.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AlanN.Oct 12, 2006
So bad it's funny.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ColeL.Nov 22, 2001
The logic of this movie panned your mind and made your body subdued to shut it off. The entire film was exacuted poorly, they were nto thinking about how the audience would recieve this bizzare idea.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
GustavoH.R.Dec 16, 2003
Horsecr**. Poorly shot, poorly acted, poorly made in every possible way. The screenplay has more holes than than a corpse. It's beyond mediocre.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
slaying_spudMar 4, 2011
Ha ha!!!! I get it now! after watching this overacted, non-linear, headache inspiring film, I get that all the good reviews in this section must be sarcastic! Very good jokes you guys! If you want to see a movie that is so bad that youHa ha!!!! I get it now! after watching this overacted, non-linear, headache inspiring film, I get that all the good reviews in this section must be sarcastic! Very good jokes you guys! If you want to see a movie that is so bad that you can't watch it without a constant headache, then by all means, burn through a few hours of your life with this empty soda can that cost 75 million dollars to make. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
JAM123Aug 19, 2011
This was a terrible movie. It had a terrible plotline and I could barely watch this movie. I couldn't watch this movie and it made me want to kill myself.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
HadrianusAug 25, 2012
The worst movie I saw in my life.The second place goes to Lord of the Flies.I do not like the plot of Lord of the flies;but Battlefield Earth has the worst director and the worst actor:John Travolta(only for this movie).
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
Paul55donovanFeb 5, 2013
An unbelievably terrible alien the film that has reached the level of terrible on every single aspect of the film from poor acting, a hideous color, terrible effects, the awful storyline with plot wholes, and the ridiculous angle shots.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
ThegodfathersonMar 24, 2013
Movies like Battlefield Earth don't even deserve to be in Hollywood business. I don't even think the story was engaging and the acting was horrible as crap. The story that is copying Star Trek doesn't even work, not for even 4 minutes itMovies like Battlefield Earth don't even deserve to be in Hollywood business. I don't even think the story was engaging and the acting was horrible as crap. The story that is copying Star Trek doesn't even work, not for even 4 minutes it doesn't. This whole 3000 bad special CGI effected world is nothing just a fake invitation to invite you to the most horrible movies John Travolta has ever acted in. I advise you not to watch Battlefield Earth, strongly advise you not to. Strongly. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
SchnitzelPoofAug 19, 2013
This movie is so exquisitely bad, it went all the way past the score meter into the negative dimension, came back from the other side, and settled on an almost absolute zero.
The acting is horrible, the dialog is beyond childish, and the
This movie is so exquisitely bad, it went all the way past the score meter into the negative dimension, came back from the other side, and settled on an almost absolute zero.
The acting is horrible, the dialog is beyond childish, and the plot while still making some sense in the book is laughably ridiculous in the film adaptation. From start to finish, there is simply nothing to enjoy here.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
FranzHcriticAug 22, 2013
Let's put this in simple words; this is the worst movie I've ever had the unfortunate coincidence to stumble upon. It's all bull**** Scientology and John Travolta ruins his status. Pulp Fiction was great. Why now do something where all heLet's put this in simple words; this is the worst movie I've ever had the unfortunate coincidence to stumble upon. It's all bull**** Scientology and John Travolta ruins his status. Pulp Fiction was great. Why now do something where all he does is scream like a girl with f****ing asthma while mixing in KISS and Bob Marley. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
ActionPlayerJul 28, 2014
Battlefield Earth, oh where do I begin with this movie? Either start off with the god-awful acting or the terribly written story. Set in the year 3000 we see a bunch of...cavemen. Then later on we get to see John Travolta in one of the worstBattlefield Earth, oh where do I begin with this movie? Either start off with the god-awful acting or the terribly written story. Set in the year 3000 we see a bunch of...cavemen. Then later on we get to see John Travolta in one of the worst alien looking attires I have ever seen. That's it! I'm not going any further with this movie! Watch it for yourself and tell me how it goes. A zero out of ten. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews