Universal Pictures | Release Date: May 18, 2012
4.8
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 417 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
128
Mixed:
144
Negative:
145
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
JoeCoolFeb 27, 2017
Rihanna running around the ship is one of the more interesting aspects of this movie and that's saying something. The special effects are well done at times, but as a whole this movie fails pretty badly. I'd thought it wouldn't be as bad asRihanna running around the ship is one of the more interesting aspects of this movie and that's saying something. The special effects are well done at times, but as a whole this movie fails pretty badly. I'd thought it wouldn't be as bad as they said, but the critics are right, you're better off not seeing this one unless you really want to see Rihanna in uniform. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
BroyaxJan 2, 2017
Baaaah y a quand même à la louche une demi-heure à trois quarts d'heure (en restant indulgent) d'effets spéciaux comprenant explosions, kabooooms et boum-boums qui satisfont pleinement le petit enfant brisefer qui casse les châteaux de sableBaaaah y a quand même à la louche une demi-heure à trois quarts d'heure (en restant indulgent) d'effets spéciaux comprenant explosions, kabooooms et boum-boums qui satisfont pleinement le petit enfant brisefer qui casse les châteaux de sable à la plage et tous ses jouets à la maison !

Putain de spectacle (superbe design des vaisseaux aliens) et putain de réclame géante pour la Navy bien entendu avec en prime deux pétasses pour meubler : une blonde championne du monde du wonderbra et une certaine chanteuse wesh-wesh afro et affreuse (heureusement elle ne "chante" pas, nous voilà saufs...).

Liam Neeson est juste là pour meubler lui aussi : les "vedettes" sont des **** connards et les deux pouffes susmentionnées. Le reste ou plutôt "les restes" de cette hollywooderie super débilos sont peu ragoûtants pour ne pas dire dégoûtants d'ennui et de stupidité, de remplissage et de naïveté.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
djniceyNov 10, 2015
Its 2015 and I just got round to watching this rubbish. I shouldn't have wasted my time with the 2/3rd's I saw, I didn't even watch to the end because what was about to happen was so predictable, and the farce that came before it so dumb, IIts 2015 and I just got round to watching this rubbish. I shouldn't have wasted my time with the 2/3rd's I saw, I didn't even watch to the end because what was about to happen was so predictable, and the farce that came before it so dumb, I just went and did something else. I thought Riannas acting would be the worst but nope Taylor Kitch took that honour, and somehow the most idiotic character was the captain of the ship... what! The whole movie made no sense at all. Some of the special effects were good, but CGI is in almost every Hollywood movie these days and is so overused that even that didn't save the movie from being one of the worst big budget movies I've ever seen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
homer4presidentMar 29, 2015
Insanely loud, stupid, dumb, poorly written, and all too familiar to what has been wrong with well over 50% of the summer blockbusters that release each year.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
bfoore90Jan 10, 2015
There is absolutely no words to describe how truly god-awful this movie was. It almost felt like something Michael Bay would cook up if he weren't doing any Transformer movies. The story was dumb from the get-go with no depth or substance inThere is absolutely no words to describe how truly god-awful this movie was. It almost felt like something Michael Bay would cook up if he weren't doing any Transformer movies. The story was dumb from the get-go with no depth or substance in it what-so-ever. Liam Neeson was really the only redeeming quality in this overly dumb, Transformers rip-off. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
0
Tessara_VejganJun 14, 2014
Hahahahahahahahahaha. The entire movie was nothing more than a huge USA ego trip. Stupid story, boring characters and worst of all you wanna sell me a story that the entire navy of the world that was gathered there for these games couldn'tHahahahahahahahahaha. The entire movie was nothing more than a huge USA ego trip. Stupid story, boring characters and worst of all you wanna sell me a story that the entire navy of the world that was gathered there for these games couldn't stop the alien ships but some old battleship rotting in the docks could. Are you f****** kidding me? Urgh, I can't believe I actually watched this c***. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
2
AdrianChanJun 9, 2014
This movie has some exciting action scene, but it is just extremely boring. The plot is so retarded. I can't believe I spent money to watch this. Not only the movie is bad, the game is even worse than it. I am not going to purchase anythingThis movie has some exciting action scene, but it is just extremely boring. The plot is so retarded. I can't believe I spent money to watch this. Not only the movie is bad, the game is even worse than it. I am not going to purchase anything with the word "Battleship" on it again. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
2
Invader-NikDec 31, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This should be named "Generic American Propaganda Movie #198"
Personally, I love these type of alien godzilla-esque movies. I enjoyed Pacific Rim very much. But this film is just plain terrible. A loser, who gets arrested suddenly becomes a high ranking officer in the US Navy? Have the US navy sunk so low that they're allowing any old joe to come along? Why did they have to give Liam Neeson such a toilet job? It's ridiculous. Could this film be any more American propaganda? First the Japanese and the Americans work together (which is incredibly unlikely), and then the main character and Rihanna take control of a dinosaur ship that was last used to fight the Japanese Empire almost 70 years back. Slap some old farts on it and you got yourself an Earth saving weapon.

BTW, Rihanna should stay in the Music industry. Hollywood doesn't need her and we definitely don't need her. This film is such a disgrace to the movie industry.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
cag11Nov 26, 2013
It has its good action scenes, but when it comes to the acting, it has no way of ever being good. It has many dialogue that doesn't fit in with the theme, and has such a terrible and random destruction scene. I would recommend saving yourIt has its good action scenes, but when it comes to the acting, it has no way of ever being good. It has many dialogue that doesn't fit in with the theme, and has such a terrible and random destruction scene. I would recommend saving your money for a movie worth watching. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
mikeonkokNov 16, 2013
COMPLETE movie.

I've heard some people talk about battleship in a way of it's so bad it's good or it's a fun goofy bad, but it's not like that whatsoever, it's just complete When it's not throwing cringe-worthy jokes and horrible
COMPLETE movie.

I've heard some people talk about battleship in a way of it's so bad it's good or it's a fun goofy bad, but it's not like that whatsoever, it's just complete When it's not throwing cringe-worthy jokes and horrible acting, which isn't even amusing in a bad way, it's putting you to sleep.
I honestly was having a hard time staying awake in the middle area of the movie.

Absolutely horrible.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
Rtas_VadameeAug 2, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The entire movie is a big joke. Despite the great FXs, the script is unintelligent and focuses mostly on how the american navy can defeat alien space ships who crossed light years in just a short time period and passed through the entire atmosphere of the planet intact. There are also many plot holes. For example the aliens do not try to kill humans until the humans attack them first. The movie gives no scientific explanation for the alien technology, which is made of a non existent material. In addition, the characters can definitely guess the alien biology by looking at animals on earth. There is literally no character development and the movie is so cliche that I could personally guess the entire plot from the start: The Hero saves the world and takes the girl. Finally, the aliens, who by the way have no character development, are simply there for awesome FX and for the american navy to show off. It appears that sci-fi of today prefers extraterrestrial beasts to fleshed out aliens, because they are easier to shoot at rather than "people" you can relate to. Finally, Battleship is a disgrace to the entire Sci-fi genre and disregards all of the aspects that made sci-fi successful. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
dyshpoJul 29, 2013
Micheal Bay directed this with astral projection. so many pointless sequences Bad actors all except for Liam Neeson Dumb story trying to cater to bimbos who don't no sci fi.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
HiddenGhulJul 25, 2013
I didn't like this film, the acting was bad and the plot! What plot? This made Transformers look good, not Rise of the Fallen, fortunately the visuals were spectacular and I can't deny that some of the action scenes were great but the rest ofI didn't like this film, the acting was bad and the plot! What plot? This made Transformers look good, not Rise of the Fallen, fortunately the visuals were spectacular and I can't deny that some of the action scenes were great but the rest of the movie was so stupid and just unbearable. This is what I imagine Teenagers will enjoy...It's bad. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
SavageGamer146May 19, 2013
I would rather play the battleship board game than watch this garbage!!!! NUFF said.
I would rather play the battleship board game than watch this garbage!!!! NUFF said.
I would rather play the battleship board game than watch this
I would rather play the battleship board game than watch this garbage!!!! NUFF said.
I would rather play the battleship board game than watch this garbage!!!! NUFF said.
I would rather play the battleship board game than watch this garbage!!!! NUFF said.I would rather play the battleship board game than watch this garbage!!!! NUFF said.I would rather play the battleship board game than watch this garbage!!!! NUFF said.I would rather play the battleship board game than watch this garbage!!!! NUFF said.
Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
2
MikeBiermanMay 16, 2013
This sunk mine. WOW. Rihanna was terrible. Kitsch was not good. The script stinks. Very noisy, and the plot is ridiculous. Really, really bad. Save yourself the time you will spend drooling through this wonder and do something much moreThis sunk mine. WOW. Rihanna was terrible. Kitsch was not good. The script stinks. Very noisy, and the plot is ridiculous. Really, really bad. Save yourself the time you will spend drooling through this wonder and do something much more enjoyable and rewarding like watching paint dry, or scraping the white stuff off your tongue. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
0
Keano77May 3, 2013
The worst movie I ever seen in my life. I've wasted my time by watching it, it was horrible I would love to kill the director for the bad directing as well as the cast they were below average the only reason I gave it a ZERO and not minusThe worst movie I ever seen in my life. I've wasted my time by watching it, it was horrible I would love to kill the director for the bad directing as well as the cast they were below average the only reason I gave it a ZERO and not minus because Liam Neeson was there. I've never hated a movie like this one the Alinas look like Maggots even the Maggots are prettier. End of the story don't watch it or your gonna waste your time. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
0
sanyrubMar 18, 2013
Atrocious. There´s nothing else to say. This film is nothing. And making a film that is nothing when having a 200 million budget is really difficult. Pathetic.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
0
splinter94Mar 10, 2013
Simply the without legs fighting one on one with a alien, and the alien tooth flying. I feel shame about having to pay to watch this movie. On the other hand, it's unbelievable that a group of old men that just can walk, could prepare a shipSimply the without legs fighting one on one with a alien, and the alien tooth flying. I feel shame about having to pay to watch this movie. On the other hand, it's unbelievable that a group of old men that just can walk, could prepare a ship of the world war two, totally obsolet, and destroy alien technology, Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
0
Philipp1996Feb 24, 2013
Rihanna is the worst actress I've ever seen. So terrible.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
3
contactgbobJan 15, 2013
Boring Rubbish. The acting was fair enough however I think Rihanna should stick to music. but the story and plot is just boring. Ships shoot at space ships things blow up and that's it. There is an attempt at some kind of love story on theBoring Rubbish. The acting was fair enough however I think Rihanna should stick to music. but the story and plot is just boring. Ships shoot at space ships things blow up and that's it. There is an attempt at some kind of love story on the side but it really adds nothing off value to the story and is just pointless. The veterans who help pilot the USS Missouri was just a too bit weird for me it was a nice idea but did not really work in the film fair acting and poor story make for a film that you really can miss. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
anshimanJan 4, 2013
The only reason I didn't give this film a pure zilch score is because of the visuals, presence of Rihanna and some humorous moments. The plot is ridiculously predictable, the acting wooden and the script cheesy and clumsy, Battleship residesThe only reason I didn't give this film a pure zilch score is because of the visuals, presence of Rihanna and some humorous moments. The plot is ridiculously predictable, the acting wooden and the script cheesy and clumsy, Battleship resides in the gutter, where you'll find films by Michael Bay along with the Twilight Saga. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
0
PixarloverNov 14, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. SPOILER ALERT: THERE'S EXPLOSIONS AND AN ALIEN INVASION!!!!!! That's all there is to it. If you're brain-dead, then you might enjoy this Hollywood headache. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
cameronmorewoodNov 5, 2012
You've got to be **** me, Battleship. Funny how I don't remember there being aliens in the board game, when I played it as a kid. And casting Rihanna for one of the lead roles? I should've known this was bad news the second I saw MichaelYou've got to be **** me, Battleship. Funny how I don't remember there being aliens in the board game, when I played it as a kid. And casting Rihanna for one of the lead roles? I should've known this was bad news the second I saw Michael Bay's name on it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
mako_psyOct 17, 2012
Simply put: the only way anyone can enjoy this movie is if they leave their brain at home. It's just pure stupidity, with some of the worst acting you'll see in a long time. Don't get me wrong, the movie itself was a good idea, the problem isSimply put: the only way anyone can enjoy this movie is if they leave their brain at home. It's just pure stupidity, with some of the worst acting you'll see in a long time. Don't get me wrong, the movie itself was a good idea, the problem is that it's just so typically Hollywood you literally have to become a vegetable to enjoy it. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
1
rastapastaOct 10, 2012
There is only one fun element, one remotely enjoyable aspect about this film. I guarantee you that's all that you can call a 'positive aspect' of Battleship. And that's watching the guns fire on the actual warships. Which maybe takes up tenThere is only one fun element, one remotely enjoyable aspect about this film. I guarantee you that's all that you can call a 'positive aspect' of Battleship. And that's watching the guns fire on the actual warships. Which maybe takes up ten minutes of the film or so. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
TheDRauchOct 2, 2012
Though 'Battleship' wasn't the cinematic abortion I anticipated it to be (it's more like a cinematic miscarriage), it remains an unoriginal, exhausting, drawn-out, ridiculous experience. It lives up to all of the trappings of any standardThough 'Battleship' wasn't the cinematic abortion I anticipated it to be (it's more like a cinematic miscarriage), it remains an unoriginal, exhausting, drawn-out, ridiculous experience. It lives up to all of the trappings of any standard summer action blockbuster and could easily be mistaken for another installment in the Transformers series (Transformers 4: The Revenge of Peter Berg). The resulting picture bears barely any resemblance to the game it is based off of and what respects the film does pay to its origins are more cringe-induced than tongue-in-cheek references (Really? The robots' missiles are actually peg shaped?) A better move might have been to have just ditched the board game idea and simply created an "original" product. As far as special effects are concerned, I remember when visuals and slow-motion were aspects of filmmaking used when necessary for effect, rather than as a time-filler to make up for an absence of originality. But even when the filmmakers realize this, they still feel the need to throw in factors like plot and characters, while their focus always remains on the razzle-dazzle. I would be more satisfied simply watching images going by, having no brain stimulation whatsoever, than being forced to watch uncomfortable looking actors try to bring out bland, ridiculous stock characters. In fact, I believe that watching robots blow each other up will cause less brain damage than watching these faux characters interact, if they are misconstrued as deep, real people. Not to say that there aren't any pleasures to be had at all in 'Battleship'. One, for instance, involves the frenetic pursuit of a burrito that, although less absurdly inspired than just plain absurd, delivers some zany fun to an otherwise airless movie. However, as a whole, 'Battleship' can't manage to stay afloat (stupid pun not intended). Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
ZilcellOct 1, 2012
This is the worst film of 2012. The characters aren't all that interesting in the first place, there is only story in the first 30 minutes. This is basically Battle: L.A. all over again, even if it is slightly better.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
2
FlippySuperSep 23, 2012
"There is no way they can ***¨this movie!Its just a movie based on a war board game!it will be a movie about of war of course!" That is what i tought.oh boy was i wrong.Instead they gave me a **** movie with an absurd story,bad"There is no way they can ***¨this movie!Its just a movie based on a war board game!it will be a movie about of war of course!" That is what i tought.oh boy was i wrong.Instead they gave me a **** movie with an absurd story,bad actors,lame development,and lets not forget the thing that f*** it all since the beggining,ALIENS!!!ON A MOVIE BASED ON A SIMPLE ESTRATIGIC WAR GAME!!!!GOD!!!!!!! Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
0
VorlargenAug 23, 2012
This movie is simply stupid.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
1
GalskapetAug 15, 2012
Typical American hero movie with a very predictable story and outcome. The music the old war heroes and the love story. The lines reminds me of Rambo and McGyver.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews