User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 116 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 75 out of 116
  2. Negative: 21 out of 116
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 22, 2013
    6
    This one took me by surprise. It has much more charm and passion behind it than I though it would. It just gets a touch boring around the mid-point, but the end ultimately rescues it. The leads are well-cast, and the veteran supporting actors (Irons, Davis, Rossum, Thompson) are terrific they didn't get the message that you're supposed to mail it in for this type of paycheck movie.This one took me by surprise. It has much more charm and passion behind it than I though it would. It just gets a touch boring around the mid-point, but the end ultimately rescues it. The leads are well-cast, and the veteran supporting actors (Irons, Davis, Rossum, Thompson) are terrific they didn't get the message that you're supposed to mail it in for this type of paycheck movie. Viola Davis, in particular, is outstanding in her smallish role. Expand
  2. Feb 21, 2013
    6
    It's opposite day in teen romance world: Instead of vampires, it's witches (or Casters, as they call them). Instead of Portland, the deep South. Instead of a mortal girl, it's a boy, He (Alden Ehrenreich) isn't a pretty boy, but has charm and personality. She (Alice Englert) isn't typical pretty either, but can act OK. Much of the screen time is spent with the two of them talking. Not muchIt's opposite day in teen romance world: Instead of vampires, it's witches (or Casters, as they call them). Instead of Portland, the deep South. Instead of a mortal girl, it's a boy, He (Alden Ehrenreich) isn't a pretty boy, but has charm and personality. She (Alice Englert) isn't typical pretty either, but can act OK. Much of the screen time is spent with the two of them talking. Not much real drama is generated. There are some decent special effect sequences, but nothing dazzling. The supporting stars (Jeremy Irons, Emma Thompson, Viola Davis) add most of the movie's character. It's never outright bad and may appeal to young fans of the novel, but if you're looking for a mismatched romance see "Warm Bodies" instead. Expand
  3. Mar 17, 2013
    6
    OK. Extra points for nice production design, engaging characters, and reasonable special effects. Basically, this is just romantic posturing by teenagers in a supernatural context, but with lots of humourous touches, and with a strong evocation of plantation life and environments not to mention good ol' boy/girl redneck values. Jeremy Irons stands out in the supporting cast, probablyOK. Extra points for nice production design, engaging characters, and reasonable special effects. Basically, this is just romantic posturing by teenagers in a supernatural context, but with lots of humourous touches, and with a strong evocation of plantation life and environments not to mention good ol' boy/girl redneck values. Jeremy Irons stands out in the supporting cast, probably because of his hideous cravat. And any movie that makes you feel as if you have missed out on something important by not reading (and particularly by not reading Vonnegut and Bukowski) deserves a speciql commendation. Expand
  4. Feb 15, 2013
    6
    esta película recicla de una manera excelente lo mejor de la saga de crepúsculo y de harry potter y promete ser un éxito debido a su material de origen
  5. Feb 16, 2013
    6
    For a movie I went into without even knowing what it was about, it turns out its a very sub par movie, my advice is definitely bring a date as it is a chick flick
  6. Jun 4, 2013
    6
    Don't compare this to the Twilight films because Beautiful Creatures has a solid story led by a strong cast. Don't get me wrong this film has problems, but it's worth a watch.
  7. Mar 23, 2013
    5
    Clearly, "Beautiful Creatures" is aiming to fill the void left in the world following the conclusions of the "Twilight" and "Harry Potter" film series. Fantasy fans needing to sink their teeth into something new could do worse than this film adaptation of the first book of Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl's Caster Chronicles. Like The "Twilight" Saga, "Beautiful Creatures" adapts a youngClearly, "Beautiful Creatures" is aiming to fill the void left in the world following the conclusions of the "Twilight" and "Harry Potter" film series. Fantasy fans needing to sink their teeth into something new could do worse than this film adaptation of the first book of Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl's Caster Chronicles. Like The "Twilight" Saga, "Beautiful Creatures" adapts a young novel series and tells a story of teen romance with supernatural elements. Thus, comparisons are inevitable, and the studio makes the wise decision to open the film on Valentine's Day, the one day of the year when romance movies are not just tolerated but eaten up in theaters. Young love blooms between Ethan Wate (Alden Ehrenreich), a literati wannabe stuck in small-town Gatlin, South Carolina, and Lena Duchannes (Alice Englert), a visiting witch. Much is made of the two reading and quoting Kurt Vonnegut, Henry Miller, and the street poetry of Charles Bukowski. Lena is worried about being claimed by the Dark, so what should she do to avoid such a fate? Well, for one and the primary concern of the plot here she needs to stay away from the nonmagical "mortal" boy she's fallen for. Adapted and directed by Richard LaGravenese ("P.S. I Love You, The Freedom Writers"), "Beautiful Creatures" doesn't do the best job of storytelling. Late in the film, I was confused and surprised to discover there were two distinct villains, not just one, with the power to resemble others. That seems like critical information that should be spelled out more clearly than it is. Decently acted and nicely shot, "Beautiful Creatures" cannot sustain the intrigue of its opening and literature. It's warmed-over "Twilight", with witches instead of vampires, only the witches are called casters-- as in spell casters. When Lena hits her 16th birthday, she'll be called to fight with the light side or the dark side. It's a bigger yawn than it sounds. As supernatural types, Oscar winners Jeremy Irons and Emma Thompson overact so strenuously--and so outrageously awful with Southern accents- that you fear the damage this may do to their reputations. The movie feels longer than it is, and doesn't come together in a way that will engage many adults or kids outside the targeted teen demographic. That, mixed with the film's closed ending---suggests not much of a future for this franchise. Additional reviews at: http://www.rottentomatoes.com/member/Nesbitt10 Expand
  8. Feb 18, 2013
    5
    The director of Beautiful Creatures obviously has an obsession to the popular Twilight series. For almost the entire movie I felt as if I was watching a remake of Eclipse with a twist that it was about witches instead of vampires. Special effects were decent but sub-par compared to the new standards set by movies like Prometheus and The Avengers. Really only a few characters stand out fromThe director of Beautiful Creatures obviously has an obsession to the popular Twilight series. For almost the entire movie I felt as if I was watching a remake of Eclipse with a twist that it was about witches instead of vampires. Special effects were decent but sub-par compared to the new standards set by movies like Prometheus and The Avengers. Really only a few characters stand out from the rest and it is disappointing to see that their talent in acting may have been wasted on this movie. The plot was what was really disappointing overall however. From the beginning of the movie you may have difficulty following along and each event is hardly strung together. This movie would have done much better if the director had decided to break the movie into a possible two or three part series. While normally I would never want to see a movie like this be able to have a sequel, I believe that if it had then the cast would have been able to work on the story more and possibly progress into a movie that could have been at least decent. It is frustrating to see a movie with potential fall so short of expectations like this. If you truly are a fan on Twilight than you might enjoy this but for anyone else, I suggest saving your money. Expand
  9. Mar 26, 2013
    4
    The tween magic is the only only reason you can watch Beautiful Creatures. The film is a very oddball creation based on the best selling book by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl was better in paper but Beautiful Creatures mixed its special CGI effects with a good screenplay and story but still lacks in spaces that need to be fixed. This film is known for its bad effects and direction but inThe tween magic is the only only reason you can watch Beautiful Creatures. The film is a very oddball creation based on the best selling book by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl was better in paper but Beautiful Creatures mixed its special CGI effects with a good screenplay and story but still lacks in spaces that need to be fixed. This film is known for its bad effects and direction but in the end it does deliver some odd fun. Expand
  10. Feb 23, 2013
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Argh! I don't know how I feel about this movie! I was so friggin' excited for it. I read the book before because I was worried I wouldn't understand, but it felt like I didn't NEED to do that because at LEAST half of the story line was changed!
    I really loved the book, the story, the characters (especially Ethan). But I felt like I watched something that ripped the gist of the story! I liked the movie, but I felt like it didn't present the story like it should have. Like, where was Ethan's mother? She is more than a "dead" person. And the sisters? Instead there are all these changes like Macon loved Ethan's mother? Ah, say what? And Link? Don't want to ruin that bombshell for everyone. But, what the hell is life?
    As I said, I liked the movie but I didn't love it like I thought I would. The trailers make it enticing, but if you've read the book like I did, then you kinda feel a little ripped off.
    The story is more than a "new" Twilight, but the way the movie panned out it's like the writers thought "yeah, let's make it Twilight and people will love it!" No! No one wants a new Twilight! I wanted Beautiful Creatures, and got Beautiful Something-Something.
    Expand
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 40
  2. Negative: 4 out of 40
  1. Reviewed by: Laremy Legel
    Feb 26, 2013
    75
    This film could have gone horribly wrong, but the characters and chemistry are strong, and as such Beautiful Creatures should be lauded for elegantly delivering a tale that at least feels fresh and vibrant.
  2. Reviewed by: Steve O Brien
    Feb 22, 2013
    40
    A semi-successful slice of Southern gothic panto. 

  3. Reviewed by: Xan Brooks
    Feb 16, 2013
    40
    The plot is wildly silly and shot full of holes, maundering endlessly on its slow trawl towards the climax. But the cast at least play it like they mean it, and keep it honest for a spell.