Before Midnight

Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 358 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Jun 23, 2013
    100
    The latest in the wonderful "Before" series does three important things: It breaks out of the courtship formula, yet retains the series' quality, and it moves the lives of Celine (Julie Delpy) and Jesse (Ethan Hawke) forward in ways that are satisfying and believable. True, a romance you once envied might now be a relationship you'd not want to be in, but as long as Celine and Jesse are still talking, there's hope.
  2. Reviewed by: Farran Smith Nehme
    May 23, 2013
    100
    Making a movie this warm, funny, and rigorously truthful about lovers trying to remain partners is even harder.
  3. Reviewed by: William Goss
    Feb 26, 2013
    100
    Before Midnight manages to be an emotionally astute and tremendously enjoyable conclusion to this rather improbable trilogy.
  4. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Jun 6, 2013
    100
    If the first two films belong with the greatest (if talkiest) movie romances of all time, the new film is richer, riskier, and more bleakly perceptive about what it takes for love to endure (or not) over the long haul.
  5. Reviewed by: Bob Mondello
    May 23, 2013
    90
    Delpy and Hawke have never been more persuasive. Nor has the series.
  6. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    May 23, 2013
    88
    Bittersweet, intelligently written, deftly acted and painfully honest.
  7. Reviewed by: Dave Calhoun
    Jun 21, 2013
    60
    Luckily, Hawke and Delpy remain as charming as ever, and their combined goofiness is more endearing than annoying. Winning, too, is the sense that this peculiar project, though imperfect, could grow old with its audience and its cast.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 61
  2. Negative: 11 out of 61
  1. Nov 2, 2013
    10
    Easily the best written script of the year... shear magic... honest, raw, difficult to watch at times, funny, and sexy... best writing of theEasily the best written script of the year... shear magic... honest, raw, difficult to watch at times, funny, and sexy... best writing of the year. I only hope they continue the story following these characters in another 9 years! Expand
  2. Jul 12, 2013
    10
    I am truly and utterly under Jesse's and Celine's spell and hoping that they will surprise us with another snapshot of their lives 9 yearsI am truly and utterly under Jesse's and Celine's spell and hoping that they will surprise us with another snapshot of their lives 9 years from now. Even though Before Midnight is breezy to begin with, it breaks the courtship mould early on without however losing the romantic undertone and the feel real factor that defined the previous two installments. And since the characters have grown older and more mature, so have the films with them. And now based in Greece, it seems like this a Greek tragedy where the deus ex machina is actually true love. Expand
  3. Jun 4, 2013
    10
    Maybe its the fact that I have grown with these characters, and maybe its because I am currently going through a divorce, but the bitingMaybe its the fact that I have grown with these characters, and maybe its because I am currently going through a divorce, but the biting dialogue about marriage, life, death, and parenthood cut through me from the opening scene in the airport to the closing scene on a dock. Breathtaking. A must see. Expand
  4. Feb 5, 2015
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Ms of Sisyphus

    Make no mistake, Linklater may be credited as the director, but this is a Julie Delpy film. And she's on fire! Poor Ethan Hawke. He can barely hold his own and keep stride with her. Delpy reminds us why old-school feminist rage is still so important and relevant. And even though Hawke is a loyal, easy-going stay-at-home dad, he still believes fairies will wipe his pee off the toilet seat.

    I saw this movie last night in a budget cinema in a working-class neighbourhood. I heard men laugh triumphantly after Hawke would sensitively and rationally, as he put it, scold Delpy. He saw anger as a negative. She saw it as a necessity. She was inspired when her children demonstrated outbursts of anger. But Hawke has the privilege of being content. Women in the audience didn't laugh quite as hard when Delpy counter-scolded Hawke.

    Two covered Islamic girls sat beside me and from their laughter I could tell they enjoyed and even related to the gender and cultural conflicts waged between the two characters. (There was an sufficient amount of American-bashing from Ms. Delpy.) But did they agree with Delpy's feminist thesis? Were they prepared to stand up to their religious and patriarchal authority figures in their household and in their community at large? Would they take to the streets and burn their hijabs along with their bras? Or was the message ironic to them? A cautionary tale of a western woman's stubborn but doomed battle for equality?

    And after 50 years and counting, I wonder.
    Expand
  5. Jan 2, 2014
    7
    I was somewhat disappointed with this film after all I read as I expected more. I acknowledge that it is well acted and offers more visualI was somewhat disappointed with this film after all I read as I expected more. I acknowledge that it is well acted and offers more visual variety than the previous two installments in the trilogy. However, I want more from a movie than just a conversation and I hope the director isn't tempted to make another "Before installment as I am not planning on seeing it if he does. Expand
  6. Jul 11, 2013
    6
    The movie is all talk, lots of it. It's wonderful dialogue primarily between two people and excellent acting. However, the story is a oneThe movie is all talk, lots of it. It's wonderful dialogue primarily between two people and excellent acting. However, the story is a one note samba theme and there is little beyond the talk. A great opportunity for scenery in Greece is wasted. As another reviewer said, it could just be a stage play. I don;t go to the movies to see what I can see in a drama on stage. Expand
  7. Nov 25, 2013
    0
    I would not have attempted to watch this had I realized it was the third of a trilogy. Having not seen the first two, I am completely baffledI would not have attempted to watch this had I realized it was the third of a trilogy. Having not seen the first two, I am completely baffled by the high ratings this movie has. There is absolutely no plot. I can understand enjoying the movie if you're already invested in the characters from the previous tales and just want to spend more time with them, but this completely failed to make me like them, and therefore I didn't care about what they had to say (which is all that happens for the entire movie), so it ended up being a waste of my time. Collapse

See all 61 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best and Worst Movies of 2013

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2013 Image
    Published: January 6, 2014
    There were more great movies released in 2013 than in any year in recent memory. Browse our official lists of the year's highest-scoring movies in a variety of categories, and check out 2013's worst films, too.
  2. 2013 Film Critic Top Ten Lists

    2013 Film Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 8, 2013
    Throughout the coming weeks, we'll be collecting year-end top ten lists from dozens of movie critics and publications. Browse the individual lists and view our composite rankings inside.
  3. Summer Movie Recap: Best Films, Prediction Results, and More

    Summer Movie Recap: Best Films, Prediction Results, and More Image
    Published: September 3, 2013
    Find out which summer movies were most liked by critics, and which performed best at the box office. Plus, we check on our users' Metascore predictions for the major summer films to see how accurate they were.