Beowulf

User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 250 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 53 out of 250
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    The animation and the story are incredible. Definitely one of the best movies ever made. I can't wait to watch it again. One of those movies that make the real world so boring for a few days after you watch it.
  2. Oct 23, 2010
    10
    I loved this movie. I thought it brought a difficult text to life, giving it a new interpretation suited for cinematic length and modern audiences, and would be brilliant for A level literature students. When this poem was first written down it had already been narrated by travelling storytellers for centuries, changing and improvising it into many versions, so those who complain itI loved this movie. I thought it brought a difficult text to life, giving it a new interpretation suited for cinematic length and modern audiences, and would be brilliant for A level literature students. When this poem was first written down it had already been narrated by travelling storytellers for centuries, changing and improvising it into many versions, so those who complain it isn't a strict interpretation should see it in its historical context. I thought the animation was brilliant; dark , chilling, horrific, gory and allowing fight sequences worthy of its heroes. The cast, even behind their animated avatars, were brave and noble. And I thought the story of Grendel's mother was a great plot idea giving an extra, modern twist to the tragedy. All in all, one of the best movies I have seen for ages. Expand
  3. Apr 7, 2013
    10
    I love this movie, one of my favorites. Even though it didn't follow the story of the book as much as I would have preferred, the movie has it's own little storyline thing that is very good. The CGI is extremely well done, as is the script. And the actors they used are amazing. This is the most underrated movie of all time.
  4. JaredC.
    Nov 13, 2007
    7
    For all Beowulf's hip style for poor quality animation, it still needs some work on the screening. The only enjoyment to this picture is the action, which I quite enjoyed. But not a film to go see in the IMAX.* See it in Cineplex.
  5. FredJ.
    Nov 14, 2007
    10
    Awesome.
  6. DarinV.
    Nov 15, 2007
    9
    I started by trying to pick out the mistakes and ended up just being engulfed in a good movie. I saw the 3d screening and I really enjoyed it. Hurray for technology... Art comes in many forms and good art often creates a commentary. There has never been art that was meant to keep the people quiet. As they say "Any news is good news!"
  7. RaeM.
    Nov 16, 2007
    7
    3D animation can be criticized heavily; in my opinion, it was needed for this film. Whenever real live actors and computer animated monsters appear, the realism is destroyed. Since the whole film is computer animated, there is no distinction between real actors and monsters, keeping you glued to the film. Great action, voice acting, and eye candy. It offers a violent, sexy attitude, 3D animation can be criticized heavily; in my opinion, it was needed for this film. Whenever real live actors and computer animated monsters appear, the realism is destroyed. Since the whole film is computer animated, there is no distinction between real actors and monsters, keeping you glued to the film. Great action, voice acting, and eye candy. It offers a violent, sexy attitude, keeping your interest as to what is going to happen next. This film would have been a perfect 10 if it kept everything that it had, but ADDED more to it with regards to the actual story of Beowulf. I love what was done with the story, but if there was more cohesion to the original story on top of what was done to this film, I feel that the audience and reviewers would have been totally blown away. As a final note: PG 13? I guess mass amounts of blood, gore, and violence is no concern for children anymore! Expand
  8. JoeyD.
    Nov 16, 2007
    8
    I went to the theater expecting a visual treat got exactly that. Enjoyed it very much. See it in Imax 3D if you can.
  9. Leonard
    Nov 17, 2007
    10
    This movie was amazing! a must see in IMAX.....i could not belive the level of detail in the characters! this is truly groundbreaking in terms of total cgi movies are concerned. a blast of a movie! plan on seeing again...oh yes!
  10. SteveZ
    Nov 17, 2007
    7
    Beowulf is a highly enjoyable action packed thrilling theme park ride. It was the funnest experience at the movies I ever had. The entire film was in 3-D and it was just fun, a lot of fun. It was really like a ride, I can't stress that enough. Spears coming at you, dragons breathing a you, etc. It was full of those kind of things. And this is obviously starting a push for 3-D, seeing Beowulf is a highly enjoyable action packed thrilling theme park ride. It was the funnest experience at the movies I ever had. The entire film was in 3-D and it was just fun, a lot of fun. It was really like a ride, I can't stress that enough. Spears coming at you, dragons breathing a you, etc. It was full of those kind of things. And this is obviously starting a push for 3-D, seeing as all the previews were for future entire-3D (come out at you) movies. The 3D was awesome, but behind what is the film behind it? If not in 3D it would have probally gotten a c-something from me. The story, although based on a classic, is for the most part one dimensonal. There's a few things that get you thinking, but that was not the point- it's obviously tough strong good guy vs. Bad guy. Or more correctly, -bda-girl. Bad, bad girl. Angelina Jolie, is naked, even though there's just a little gold. And Beowulf is naked for a large protion too. But what's the problem- there isn't. It's just amazing how many sex jokes were snuck into this pg-13 movie. Brilliant animation abounding, it was a thrill ride. But the characters wern't too lively-, it was like seeing the people in shrek, they showed no emotion. That's not to say the movie's not good. If enjoyed as a 3d- ride through a stylized epic- it is. But a non 3d, shallow, low-story film would only be other wise. Solidity echoes throught this niqe film that can't be missed. I'll take this over the "epic poem" any day! Expand
  11. BenB.
    Nov 17, 2007
    7
    If you're going to rate 'Beowulf' fairly, you need to grade it on two seperate scales. On one scale is the 3-D and animation, which are (and this a word I rarely if ever use to describe anything) perfect- pore to pore, pimple to pimple, these characters and their world comprise what is without a doubt the single most realistic animated film ever. It doesn't hurt that If you're going to rate 'Beowulf' fairly, you need to grade it on two seperate scales. On one scale is the 3-D and animation, which are (and this a word I rarely if ever use to describe anything) perfect- pore to pore, pimple to pimple, these characters and their world comprise what is without a doubt the single most realistic animated film ever. It doesn't hurt that the 3-D is put to very good use, not so much a ploy as it is a plot thread in of itself, as it totally and completely submerges us into the story. But if this sounds like a rave review, don't be mistaken- if anything, Beowulf is more of a failure than a success. Why? Well, for one, these characters, as realistic and stunning to look at as they are, are only that- stunning to look at. They have no depth, soul, and heart, which makes it very difficult to even care about them, let alone what they're doing or what's even happening the movie itself. The actual plot itself is a bit of a letdown, too- I realize that it's based on an old poem, but from what I've heard, they do change it quite a bit, and it's a shame that the story eventually desolves into a simple case of back and forth, back and forth (I won't reveal anything, but suffice to say, should you see it, you'll immediately see what I'm talking about, and just as quickly get heavy eyed). All in all, it is an entertaining, visually astonishing film... but altogether, it's just not a very successful or meaningful one. Expand
  12. JonW.
    Nov 17, 2007
    10
    Now ranks as one of my favorite films, all-time!
  13. CharlieS.
    Nov 18, 2007
    10
    This movie was great. Action was great. The book was good too. The movie didnt really 100% go along with the book but it was well made. If you see the movie in IMAX it is INCREDIBLE.
  14. RogerS.
    Nov 18, 2007
    8
    I found this movie's anti Christian point of view from the Viking world rather interesting. The Dragon scene is one of the best ever.
  15. RayanC
    Nov 18, 2007
    10
    Beowulf is top notch. The scenes were amazing. with the 3d look I was blown away. It was great.
  16. MicaM.
    Nov 18, 2007
    10
    I recently read the book (poem) and the movie turned out to be very good even though there were some flaws. The animation was really great. I didn't think it would be like this, but it was amazing. The action was good and the whole concept was great.
  17. ThomasH.
    Nov 18, 2007
    10
    Great. Amazing. Please win Oscar nomination.
  18. RileyK.
    Nov 18, 2007
    9
    Great. Barely any flaws. But great.
  19. ChampL.
    Nov 18, 2007
    10
    I like how this movie had great new 3d animation. it was so great that i want to see it again.
  20. HiroS.
    Nov 18, 2007
    8
    I am from Japan and I have never seen anything like this movie. The poem I read in class was somewhat like this. and i am wowed at this moment.
  21. JanieS.
    Nov 18, 2007
    8
    I like this movie. Beowulf is the greatest action movie so far. Ray Winstone was really great.
  22. CharlesT.
    Nov 18, 2007
    10
    I love Robert Zemeckis. Even though some of his movies were downfalls, this movie was good. The 3d animation was amazing. How is that done? Great. Should win best animation for Oscar.
  23. ChrisS
    Nov 18, 2007
    7
    I love this movie. It was really great. Though it had some weird flaws. I didn't like some parts. It was okay. overall 7/10.
  24. SpencerC.
    Nov 18, 2007
    9
    The animation for this film was nothing short of awe-inspiring. The story played perfectly to Niel Gaiman's strength: Re-inventing mythology. Despite what some people may say, this is a recreation, not a changing of the original story. It is BASED on the original epic poem, not an exact telling of it. Despite this, it is fairly faithful to the story for the most part. Niel The animation for this film was nothing short of awe-inspiring. The story played perfectly to Niel Gaiman's strength: Re-inventing mythology. Despite what some people may say, this is a recreation, not a changing of the original story. It is BASED on the original epic poem, not an exact telling of it. Despite this, it is fairly faithful to the story for the most part. Niel Gaiman's storytelling genius truly comes through to create an epic masterpiece. One must keep in mind that the original story was written hundreds of years ago, so the method of storytelling is a bit different from todays status quo for action-fantasy movies. If you see it expecting that, you will be disappointed, but if you view it with an open mind, you will have the time of your life. So much meaning can be drawn from this movie (Birth, life, and death or the follies of man and the consequences thereof to name a couple). My one complaint is Angelina Jolie. She plays her part well, and her voice works, but she absolutely does not look the part. She just looks too much like herself, which distracts from the story. That was the only thing in the movie that I could find to complain about. I absolutely recommend watching this film... several times... Expand
  25. GeorgeH.
    Nov 18, 2007
    10
    Wonderfully enjoyable and unexpectedly sexy - and I'm talking about the hunky, naked lead himself! If you're gonna see it, you MUST experience it in 3-D. It made movie-going an actual event.
  26. JoeD.
    Nov 18, 2007
    10
    Beowulf is truly an epic film. Many people will be turned off by the films use of CG, but sitting back and taking in the film is one of the best movie experiences I've seen in a very long time. This movie is downright haunting at how well the characters can instill their emotion in the spectator.
  27. SteveT
    Nov 19, 2007
    9
    First of all, don't pay attention to the critics that only enjoy movies about gay swans and kids with one arm. This movie is for the warrior at heart. I really enjoyed this retelling of a classic. I like the contrast that shows the difference between the deeds of heroes and their lives. . It shows the human falicy that can exist in even the most legendary of men. Also the 3-D was First of all, don't pay attention to the critics that only enjoy movies about gay swans and kids with one arm. This movie is for the warrior at heart. I really enjoyed this retelling of a classic. I like the contrast that shows the difference between the deeds of heroes and their lives. . It shows the human falicy that can exist in even the most legendary of men. Also the 3-D was spectacular. Axes, swords, blood, guts, and fire right in your face! Top notch stuff!. I am defiantly going to see this again. If you want gay swans..stick to the art house. If you want satisfying action with some sword swinging gusto..check out BEOWULF! Expand
  28. JosephA
    Nov 19, 2007
    9
    I really liked it! Adventure packed!
  29. TristanS
    Nov 19, 2007
    7
    The film is very entertaining and the animation is superb, but don't go in looking for the same depth from the epic poem. The movie is a big budget, sex- and-sword action film. Don't be distracted by the animation to think it is for kids, Beowulf is mainly aimed at young men who find Angelina Jolie hot. The movie isn't deep so if you don't expect too much from the The film is very entertaining and the animation is superb, but don't go in looking for the same depth from the epic poem. The movie is a big budget, sex- and-sword action film. Don't be distracted by the animation to think it is for kids, Beowulf is mainly aimed at young men who find Angelina Jolie hot. The movie isn't deep so if you don't expect too much from the storytelling, you will be pleasantly surprised. Expand
  30. JoeL.
    Nov 19, 2007
    8
    English majors, rejoice. Canterbury Tales can't be long in following... The visuals (I saw in 3-D) dominate this film, because you can create so many gorgeous shots with impossible focus and rollercoaster pans when you are working with animation. The story is myth and the imagery is completely harmonious with that approach. Gaiman's story is really a reimagining of the poem, English majors, rejoice. Canterbury Tales can't be long in following... The visuals (I saw in 3-D) dominate this film, because you can create so many gorgeous shots with impossible focus and rollercoaster pans when you are working with animation. The story is myth and the imagery is completely harmonious with that approach. Gaiman's story is really a reimagining of the poem, where Hrothgar and Beowulf have common vulnerabilities and flaws (specifically Angelina Jolie nude) that cost them their chance at happiness. One thing that CGI still can't replicate well is the movement of the mouth. Polar Express, Final Fantasy and Beowulf still lack the sneer, spittle, pursing of the cheeks and the baring of the upper teeth that distinguish live movement from flat lip flapping. The other negative is the poor development of the king's wife's character, which is another dreamed-up concept; for it to be believable, Gaiman should have given her something to do other than be the kept woman and damsel in distress. The final battle with the dragon ranks as one of the most intense CGI experiences, in the same class as Gandalf's descending battle with the underworld demon in LOTR: Two Towers and Harry Potter's duel with the dragon in HP: Goblet of Fire. Don't take your children under 13, seriously. Grendel is as nightmare-inducing as the creature of the original poem. Expand
  31. dglitcher
    Nov 19, 2007
    10
    Best thing I have ever scene in digital 3d at IMAX . the whole movie through is packed with the 3d effect . Unlike nightmare before Christmas which redid 2 scenes and the opening credits in the 3d. .... cant wait till Phillips wowvx is out . This will be the best showcase of what digital 3d can do .
  32. Katrina
    Nov 19, 2007
    8
    I thoroughly enjoyed this movie. It was well-made and well-acted. I'm surprised that some people hated it.
  33. JoeyF.
    Nov 19, 2007
    10
    You don't go to movies like Troy, 300 and Beowulf for a perfectly scripted, deep original story. You go for the glory, the epic scope and the sheer beauty of the art. You go for the battles, the over the top love stories and the universal connection. They're kind of what I imagine musicals must be for girls...kind of cheesy yes but that's beside the point. This movie You don't go to movies like Troy, 300 and Beowulf for a perfectly scripted, deep original story. You go for the glory, the epic scope and the sheer beauty of the art. You go for the battles, the over the top love stories and the universal connection. They're kind of what I imagine musicals must be for girls...kind of cheesy yes but that's beside the point. This movie delivered above and beyond in every category I went to it for. Beauty, passion, excitement, epic battles and a timeless epic story. People that complain about the plot forget that it's based on (and an an improvement on in my opinion) an ancient story that's really pretty straight forward. If you want a sweet unique touching movie go see Lars and the Real Girl. If you want an balls to the wall, sexy as hell, blood and guts thrill ride go see Beowulf. You won't be disappointed!! Expand
  34. JohnDoe
    Nov 20, 2007
    8
    Ok, for the life of me I don't understand the negative reviews. Let me compare it to an earlier "Blockbuster" this year. This is the type of Movie I expected to see when I walked into 300, but didn't get from 300. Its Beautiful to look at, full of action, and "overall" the dialogue is engaging. I found it a relief to have actually enjoyed an action movie for once this year as Ok, for the life of me I don't understand the negative reviews. Let me compare it to an earlier "Blockbuster" this year. This is the type of Movie I expected to see when I walked into 300, but didn't get from 300. Its Beautiful to look at, full of action, and "overall" the dialogue is engaging. I found it a relief to have actually enjoyed an action movie for once this year as all I have gotten was 2 hours of dull drool and 20 minutes of campy action that took itself too serious. And for god sakes as far as an enjoyable theater experience, see this thing in 3D, you cant beat it. Expand
  35. ArthurC.
    Nov 20, 2007
    7
    Visually stunning, especially the Digital 3-D that I saw. However, I don't know if I would've liked it much if I just saw the 2-D movie. There are some grand ideas here that seem to fall short, as if the screenwriters wanted to explore themes, but got lost thanks to the studio making cuts. I would've like to hear more about the loss of myths thanks to the move from Visually stunning, especially the Digital 3-D that I saw. However, I don't know if I would've liked it much if I just saw the 2-D movie. There are some grand ideas here that seem to fall short, as if the screenwriters wanted to explore themes, but got lost thanks to the studio making cuts. I would've like to hear more about the loss of myths thanks to the move from polytheism to monotheism. It's mentioned, but feels more like an afterthought. The action scenes, however, are stunning, and the whole 3-D element gives it the feel of a great theme park ride. It succeeds in spades on that aspect alone. All it needs is a better told story. Expand
  36. JeffK.
    Nov 21, 2007
    9
    This movie was purely entertaining. Solid story, great voice acting and stunning special effects. This will prove to be a high water mark in CGI actor movies much like Terminator 2 was for live action film.
  37. GeorgeG.
    Nov 22, 2007
    8
    Its a shame that people give this movie negative reviews based on its style especially when its style is such an achievement. But be warned, if you cant enjoy this film because of a lack of experience with, or an appreciation for this style, you wont be able to get past it. I found it refreshing that this movie doesn't try to do anything other than provide an entertaining thrill Its a shame that people give this movie negative reviews based on its style especially when its style is such an achievement. But be warned, if you cant enjoy this film because of a lack of experience with, or an appreciation for this style, you wont be able to get past it. I found it refreshing that this movie doesn't try to do anything other than provide an entertaining thrill ride. Those expecting anything else are looking for a different movie, which isn't the fault of the movie, its the fault of the viewer. Expand
  38. ChuckW.
    Nov 22, 2007
    9
    Not the greatest adventure movie of all time, but definitely not the worst, either. Yes, there are some corny lines, but this isn't supposed to be Shakespeare. Very enjoyable and thoroughly well done visually. It is what it is and it's very good at what it is.
  39. AaronH
    Nov 23, 2007
    9
    This movie is a lot of fun! It has great heroes, monsters, hot women, exciting action, just enough drama, and a nice sense of humur. The 3D version rocks, but it is easy to focus almost completely on the visuals and not the story itself.
  40. SeanF.
    Nov 23, 2007
    9
    While this movie doesn't overcome all the present hurdles of representing emotionally vivid characters in CGI, It plays excellently to the strengths of the medium. The score and voice acting is masterful done and Grendel is successfully portrayed with an air of violent horror. It could have been more epic than it was, but it remains a shining example of a sometimes troubled medium While this movie doesn't overcome all the present hurdles of representing emotionally vivid characters in CGI, It plays excellently to the strengths of the medium. The score and voice acting is masterful done and Grendel is successfully portrayed with an air of violent horror. It could have been more epic than it was, but it remains a shining example of a sometimes troubled medium and is definitely worth seeing. Expand
  41. DomH.
    Nov 24, 2007
    10
    How can people not like this film? It's fantastic, engaging, beautifully made and different than other things you see nowadays. Thoroughly innovative and fun. I never wanted it to end.
  42. ScottR
    Nov 25, 2007
    9
    Most people may not like the film that much because the deepest message is one that takes some thinking and pondering to interpret. Also, the last half of the movie is completely different from the classic medieval poem. My guess is English majors will not enjoy it. The CG is phenomenal. The score is beautiful. Many images that I will not soon forget. An incredible movie overall.
  43. NiceGirl
    Nov 26, 2007
    10
    It was the best!! The movie was packed with 3D effects and I've never seen anything like it. Beowulf is one of the most entertaining movies I've ever seen so far.
  44. BobR.
    Nov 27, 2007
    8
    Fantastic graphics. Great actors. Interesting reworking of the English language's oldest epic.
  45. ErnestP
    Nov 28, 2007
    8
    Best 3D movie to date. Technology vastly improved. Did not overdo 3D imaging.
  46. ToddR.
    Nov 29, 2007
    10
    Critics suck. best popcorn movie i've seen in a long, long time
  47. BobC
    Dec 1, 2007
    10
    What??i can't believe this movie getting 0s,this movie was incredible,best animated movie since toy story in my opinion. don't listen to those harsh criticizers. My guess is that they are old english scholars still reciting the beowulf poem or something. 10/10,hands down. watch it and be amazed.
  48. CrackA.
    Dec 2, 2007
    10
    Saw this in Imax 3D
  49. MichaeS.
    Dec 2, 2007
    10
    Great film. The first scene with Grendel in the hall is breathtaking, really took my breath away. I've never seen such a thrilling and downright scary scene.
  50. TomD.
    Dec 2, 2007
    10
    IMAX is the way to go, best looking thing I ever saw. Without it slips a little but that didn't matter cause it does something no other non kiddy movie has ever done. Adult subject matter and CG finally as one and those stupid Final Fantasy movies don't count.
  51. RitB
    Dec 4, 2007
    10
    This movie is a technological feast for the eyes. If you see it, see it in 3-D and be prepared to be amazed. I've seen 3-D movies before and having objects come out of the screen and poke at the audience is one of the main draws of 3-D. There's plenty of that in this movie but also something else I don't recall seeing --- that is having objects appear to come from behind This movie is a technological feast for the eyes. If you see it, see it in 3-D and be prepared to be amazed. I've seen 3-D movies before and having objects come out of the screen and poke at the audience is one of the main draws of 3-D. There's plenty of that in this movie but also something else I don't recall seeing --- that is having objects appear to come from behind the audience and move toward the screen. The story was good and interesting and the battle scenes, especially the last scene with the dragon, were exciting and imaginative. A great movie which will stay in my memory for a long, long time. Expand
  52. ChadS.
    Dec 8, 2007
    8
    Wiglaf(Brendan Gleeson) is like the guy in John Ford's "The Man Who Shot Liberty Valance" who says(about the Jimmy Stewart character), "When the legend becomes truth. Print the legend." This adaptation of the eleventh century historical poem by an anonymous writer is about as literary as Roland Joffe's torching of Nathaniel Hawthorne's "The Scarlet Letter", but it has an Wiglaf(Brendan Gleeson) is like the guy in John Ford's "The Man Who Shot Liberty Valance" who says(about the Jimmy Stewart character), "When the legend becomes truth. Print the legend." This adaptation of the eleventh century historical poem by an anonymous writer is about as literary as Roland Joffe's torching of Nathaniel Hawthorne's "The Scarlet Letter", but it has an accidental sophistication, an intertextuality which transforms this special-effects extravaganza into an ingeniusous display of meta-fiction. It's fun to imagine that Wiglaf is the anonymous poet who wanted to honor his friend, so he left out the juicy innuendoes and concentrated on Beowulf's good points. As a writer of the times, an epoch in which our literary heroes were archetypal, infallible men of bravery and valor, it's only natural that Wiglaf would neglect to document his friend's affair with Grendel's hot mom. This seemingly stupid Hollywood take on a hallowed text from the English canon is not so stupid if you're aware that it's widely speculated among theologian scholars that the Old and New Testaments were censored texts. This movie transforms the original "Beowulf" into a censored text. Expand
  53. JabezT
    Dec 9, 2007
    10
    I just saw this in 3D IMAX and while I am not usually a big action film fan, this was the frickin' bomb! It's visually stunning and the action sequences are amazing. Scholars will undoubtedly be aghast at the liberties taken with the original, but for the rest of us, fasten your seat belts and enjoy the ride. If you are going to see only one movie in the theater, this is the I just saw this in 3D IMAX and while I am not usually a big action film fan, this was the frickin' bomb! It's visually stunning and the action sequences are amazing. Scholars will undoubtedly be aghast at the liberties taken with the original, but for the rest of us, fasten your seat belts and enjoy the ride. If you are going to see only one movie in the theater, this is the one. It will be dreadful as a home rental on the small screen--I don't care how big your home theater is. See it 3-D IMAX if at all possible. Is this the beginning of a melding of video games and film? Perhaps and that is certainly disquieting in concept, but for now, I AM BOEWULF. Expand
  54. StanW
    Dec 10, 2007
    10
    These movie critics make me laugh. Of course this is not some deep thought provoking movie. It is a fun, action packed adventure. You got to see it in 3D. The 3D effects are fantastic. My girlfriend loved it. Real men like action movies with hotties , like Angelina. We don't like slow sub-titled boring movies that win film festivals.
  55. GTASoldier
    Dec 12, 2007
    7
    After reading the poem and then watching the film, I have to say I'm pretty impressed with how the story of Beowulf is being adapted from the Old English Tale to the big screen although there are some inaccuraccies. This brings me to my pro/con list: Pro - The Characters are being well played. Gives a decent sense of action and power Con - 30% Inaccurate because: A) I don't After reading the poem and then watching the film, I have to say I'm pretty impressed with how the story of Beowulf is being adapted from the Old English Tale to the big screen although there are some inaccuraccies. This brings me to my pro/con list: Pro - The Characters are being well played. Gives a decent sense of action and power Con - 30% Inaccurate because: A) I don't really remember any part of the Tale having Grendel's mother seducing Beowulf. B) The battle of Beowulf vs. Grendel's mother was skipped and instead was replaced with her seducing the warrior. C) In the tale version, Grendel kills one of Beowulf's sleeping Geats. That's is when Beowulf comes in and fight the beast. In the film version, Grendel comes in and nearly kills everyone, and Beowulf comes in after that. Overall: It's really decent how they put Beowulf on screen. But the director added / deleted stuff off the story and that pretty much makes it inaccurate. All in all, Beowulf gets a 7 out of 10. Expand
  56. Ville-MarkusN.
    Dec 15, 2007
    8
    Pretty good animation-movie (?) and i would like to see more movies like this. Story could been better and they should have use more special effects but after all good movie.
  57. NickB
    Dec 26, 2007
    8
    A cool animated film, although I kept expecting Beowulf to fidn Shreck and bone him like a fish! Seriously, though, the adaptation is an interesting reimagining of the Beowulf story, treating Beowful himself as an unreliable narrator, while tying in the various elements of his life in to a coherent whole. Not for purists of myth, perhaps, but those who enjoy studying the film for its A cool animated film, although I kept expecting Beowulf to fidn Shreck and bone him like a fish! Seriously, though, the adaptation is an interesting reimagining of the Beowulf story, treating Beowful himself as an unreliable narrator, while tying in the various elements of his life in to a coherent whole. Not for purists of myth, perhaps, but those who enjoy studying the film for its merits as a modern remake will enjoy it. One side note: I found the Grendel bits almost painful to watch, like experiencing some sort of weird acid trip. The film got better after he was dead, thankfully! Except for John Malkovich, whos typically painful performance as a an egocentric, opinionated and driven narcissist continues to haunt all films he aspires to act in; I wish the guy would stop ruining movies with his stale one-act performance and retire, please! Expand
  58. ZakorV.
    Dec 29, 2007
    7
    Nicly done. The CGI looked good and didn't distract from the story too much. It was refreshing to see a CG film for adults.
  59. [Anonymous]
    Jan 12, 2008
    9
    I liked this movie a lot. But God, why is it PG-13? It had Angelina Jolie with the anatomy of a barbie doll. And the ending was satifying. But Beowulf is so cool and is a visual masterpiece. I give it a 9/10
  60. MotörHead
    Jan 24, 2008
    9
    Really liked this movie. State of art animation. And Anthony Hopkins is doing well as usual. Even the animated Anthony. Not bad.
  61. MarkK.
    Feb 9, 2008
    8
    A little shallow, but still a very impressive animated movie with some fantastic action.
  62. ChrisB.
    Feb 12, 2008
    8
    Occasionally perfect, occasionally appalling animation. But it works esp in this sort of story.
  63. HomarusA.
    Feb 13, 2008
    9
    Impressive storytelling through animation.
  64. LuisG.
    Feb 20, 2008
    8
    What does the academy have against robert zemeckis .. heres an animated feature that was both incredible to watch and beautiful crafted and voiced picture.... not even a tech nomination ?
  65. ChristopherJ
    Feb 23, 2008
    10
    Intense action rivaling LotR and 300.
  66. SimonP.
    Feb 26, 2008
    8
    Really well done and very scary in its own way just love the way Grendel is done.
  67. IraM.
    Mar 7, 2008
    9
    Intense action, fantastic visuals, excellent story, awesome violence. thumbs up.
  68. Jim
    Mar 18, 2008
    10
    The best real 3d movie I have ever seen. It is great that they have managed to capture the personalities of the real actors. The definition of an action movie.
  69. JiaqiC.
    May 19, 2008
    8
    Interesting action, accentuated by the absorbing and involving nature of the new Real D format. The characters were however, still as plastic as previous 3D offers and dialogue bland and corny.
  70. JakeH.
    Jun 19, 2008
    10
    Obviously This movie was impressive what did you think? No Blood or guts? PaaaaLease! Great Job, Robert Zemeckis.
  71. HamedM.
    Jul 22, 2008
    9
    We should thank Mr.Zemeckis and the Anonymous writer of Beowulf for reminding us that: We father our own children of deeds.
  72. Oct 27, 2010
    8
    just wait though why he may roam. always, a hero comes home.
  73. Aug 4, 2011
    8
    BEOWULF is an amazing movie, but it is clearly for adults only. Even though it has blood, gore, and nudity galore, the animation concept was quite seemingly used to be rated PG-13 rather than rated a well-deserved R--the animation is quite realistic, believe it or not. Besides that fact, I have not read the epic poem off which this film is based, so I can't exactly dictate how faithful itBEOWULF is an amazing movie, but it is clearly for adults only. Even though it has blood, gore, and nudity galore, the animation concept was quite seemingly used to be rated PG-13 rather than rated a well-deserved R--the animation is quite realistic, believe it or not. Besides that fact, I have not read the epic poem off which this film is based, so I can't exactly dictate how faithful it is to the source material, but it was well-produced, well-acted (or voice-acted, if you wish), and intensely thrilling in a great stupefying way that will leave you emitting at least fifty "wow"s throughout its entirety. Expand
  74. Oct 7, 2014
    9
    This is a epic movie. This movie is like pixar went for adult audiences. I think it should get more love than it has on here, it really is an amazing movie
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Director Robert Zemeckis not only deploys 21st century movie technology at its finest to turn the heroic poem into a vibrant, nerve-tingling piece of pop culture, but his film actually makes sense of Beowulf. In Zemeckis' hands, it's an intriguing look at a hero as a flawed human being.
  2. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    60
    For all its visual sweep and propulsively violent action, this bloodthirsty rendition of the Old English epic can't overcome the disadvantage of being enacted by digital waxworks rather than flesh-and-blood Danes and demons.
  3. Reviewed by: Tom Ambrose
    80
    It’s not a reinvention of the wheel, but in 3D this is an astonishing experience that borders on ‘must-see’, and raises the bar for what James Cameron is planning with Avatar. And you’ll be glad to know that the creepy dead eyes thing has been fixed.