Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
Watch On
  1. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Nov 21, 2013
    60
    Why does the movie waste so much time on empty adoration from celebrity fans and skim past the significant tragedies that contributed to her complex life? Parental neglect, sexual assault, severe mental illness — all of these factors shaped the woman Page became. But perhaps even today, no one wants to consider the sadness behind her 1,000-watt smile.
  2. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Dec 5, 2013
    50
    Only when it makes the claim for Page as a pivotal figure in American culture does it overstate the case and become tiresome.
  3. Reviewed by: Kenji Fujishima
    Nov 19, 2013
    50
    Mark Mori goes a bit overboard in hammering home his appreciation of Bettie Page's significance, allowing the film to occasionally lapse into repetitiveness.
  4. Reviewed by: John DeFore
    Nov 22, 2013
    60
    Page's no-regrets spirit and the enraptured testimonials from those who knew her in her prime (including some swooning ex-lovers) overpowers clumsy filmmaking.
  5. Reviewed by: Manohla Dargis
    Nov 21, 2013
    60
    No life is seamless, and not every biographical portrait needs to be, but this one is so riddled with awkward transitions, including on the soundtrack, that it tends to lurch distractingly, as if Mr. Mori were still trying to figure out how to piece the whole thing together.
  6. Reviewed by:  Diana Drumm
    Nov 25, 2013
    58
    This film has all of the pieces to be a great and thorough documentary (a cult turned popular subject, new and old footage, interviews with admirers, friends and colleagues, authorization by the lady herself), but misses the mark.
  7. Reviewed by: Dennis Harvey
    Nov 20, 2013
    60
    It has a somewhat routine midlevel-cable-production feel. But the content is engaging, and the use of old movie clips to illustrate biographical details... is amusing.
User Score
tbd

No user score yet- Awaiting 1 more rating

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 2
  2. Negative: 1 out of 2
  1. Oct 2, 2014
    3
    I did not know Bettie Page before this movie. And I've gotta admit I admire her courage and personality. But the movie itself felt reallyI did not know Bettie Page before this movie. And I've gotta admit I admire her courage and personality. But the movie itself felt really repetitive and dull. Full Review »
  2. Dec 8, 2013
    5
    Poorly executed but OH so informative, BETTIE PAGE REVEALS ALL won't change the world in terms of filmmaking but the subject matter and Page'sPoorly executed but OH so informative, BETTIE PAGE REVEALS ALL won't change the world in terms of filmmaking but the subject matter and Page's influence on pop culture is so important that you will be immersed. It's wonderful to hear Page's own voice and recollections but the really great doc about Page is still yet to come. We'll wait but in the meantime we do have BETTIE PAGE REVEALS ALL which is a nice try at best. Full Review »