Columbia Pictures | Release Date: December 10, 2003
8.6
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 412 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
368
Mixed:
28
Negative:
16
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
0
MovieguyCinemaJan 20, 2004
A nauseating and ridiculous lousy david lynch imitation, utterly meaningless pretentious garbage that is both boring and sickening a the same time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
BlytheM.Feb 13, 2004
Boring from the moment it came on the screen. I left after 20 minutes. Didn't care about anyone, wasn't drawn in by the story about stories.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JakeS.Feb 7, 2004
How can you like a movie when you hate the main character?! Burton, through the character of Edward Bloom (played by Finney and McGregor), takes the "father know's best" adage a step to far, and instead we have a movie which is How can you like a movie when you hate the main character?! Burton, through the character of Edward Bloom (played by Finney and McGregor), takes the "father know's best" adage a step to far, and instead we have a movie which is condescending and irritating. I felt bad for the son, and not the lying father. The visuals are nice though, hence the 1. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
RicoMay 5, 2004
This movie tries too hard to be magical and ends up falling flat. The charm seems forced through no fault of the excellent cast. Tim Burton has been making some stinkers lately.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
SuzanneD.Dec 13, 2003
What a letdown....I went in expecting to love this film and I was really disappointed. It is very dull thruout and not at all up to Burtons capabilities.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
HughM.Jan 9, 2004
Big disappointment! I kept waiting for something interesting to happen, but it never did. Good actors wasted...did Jessica Lange speak, I don't recall.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
BradleyW.Dec 11, 2003
Sorry folks, this film is a clunker. long and terribly boring...just couldnt keep me interested in the few imaginative parts.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MatthewT.Jan 11, 2004
This movie is racist. A father knows all sorts of cool, weird, wonderful friends, but never brings them home to introduce them to his son. Why? Because the cool friends are of a different size/race/culture/species from his white, This movie is racist. A father knows all sorts of cool, weird, wonderful friends, but never brings them home to introduce them to his son. Why? Because the cool friends are of a different size/race/culture/species from his white, middle-class suburban family. This is the essence of American racism--you can have fun with people who are different from you--you can even father children with them, ala Strom Thurmond or Thomas Jefferson--but you can never, NEVER invite them into your home. Big Fish is not just a bad movie, but an evil movie for giving voice to that kind of sentiment in this year, in this century, in this millenium. Tim Burton should be ashamed of himself--if you heard his NPR interview with Elvis Mitchell, you know he already is. Collapse
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
DevonP.Dec 12, 2003
Yawn. What a turkey. I am a huge fan of Tim Burton and all of the actors, but it was like going to the dentist, except when I left I didn't have a good taste in my mouth. Half the audience walked out. People on airplanes are gonna walk Yawn. What a turkey. I am a huge fan of Tim Burton and all of the actors, but it was like going to the dentist, except when I left I didn't have a good taste in my mouth. Half the audience walked out. People on airplanes are gonna walk out, rent Edward Scissorhands, instead. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
jackshrackNov 2, 2010
This was a fairly trite and predictable story in my view. A real dissapoint after watching Edward scissorhandy. You get the feeling that burton has sold out. These kind of mythic, sweeping movies have the same feel as forest gump. TheyThis was a fairly trite and predictable story in my view. A real dissapoint after watching Edward scissorhandy. You get the feeling that burton has sold out. These kind of mythic, sweeping movies have the same feel as forest gump. They are all too transparent with their message and leave nothing to the imagination. The characters are not believable and it feels an hour too long. Expand
2 of 9 users found this helpful27
All this user's reviews