Magnolia Pictures | Release Date: May 30, 2008
7.6
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 21 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
16
Mixed:
2
Negative:
3
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
kelamAug 1, 2008
This is the best documentary I have ever seen;far better than those dumbed down and biased movies of that judgmental prick Michael Moore
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
QuietGiantSep 29, 2016
This could have easily been a much simpler, dryer film. Instead of being a bland recital of the same information you can get a thousand other places or propaganda pushing either the pros or cons of steroids, BSF relates the issue to AmericanThis could have easily been a much simpler, dryer film. Instead of being a bland recital of the same information you can get a thousand other places or propaganda pushing either the pros or cons of steroids, BSF relates the issue to American culture itself, illuminating the contradictions between the exaltation we give our greatest performers and the ridicule for the measures it takes to be such in the modern world. Its comparisons to legal performance enhancing drugs, more dangerous nonenhancing legal drugs, the supplement industry as a whole, and 'reefer madness' fearmongering can be both enlightening and desensationalizing. This is not an endorsement of steroid use but an analysis of its motivations and critique of those on both sides of the fence that happens to demystify many popular (often negative) assumptions.

All of that wouldn't amount to as much if it wasn't just so damn entertaining to boot. Right from the start it hooks you with its charismatic narration and choice footage and then keeps drawing you in with insightful interviews and the personal tale of the film's central family. It's one of the best documentaries I've seen; the kind where you wonder how you hadn't watched it sooner. Just try to leave prior bias at the door.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
BDaddyOct 5, 2008
Documentary movies are usually boring, but this is informative and asks intelligent questions. I especially liked the interview of Carl Lewis and Ben Johnson -- 100m nemesis both caught using steroids. This will challenge your opinion as to Documentary movies are usually boring, but this is informative and asks intelligent questions. I especially liked the interview of Carl Lewis and Ben Johnson -- 100m nemesis both caught using steroids. This will challenge your opinion as to why steroids are illegal -- it did mine. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DerekS.Oct 6, 2008
I thought the movie was perfect at showing the truth about steroids. Lou Lumenick is a dolt though, Bell showed that only 15% of the population using roids are professional athletes, with 85% being the average gym rat.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
arbieSep 1, 2008
Really, really fantastic. A wonderfully produced film that shows great balance -- I enjoyed this almost more for its quality and approach to the material than the material itself. The subjects are utterly human. It's easy to really want Really, really fantastic. A wonderfully produced film that shows great balance -- I enjoyed this almost more for its quality and approach to the material than the material itself. The subjects are utterly human. It's easy to really want them to succeed as a result of this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
tonydjrNov 19, 2008
Great movie! About family, choices, the grayness of heroes, and the conflict between the regulation and usage of steroids for athletes, regular joes, and the ill, who need it the most. Makes you wonder about atheletes, their choices, how Great movie! About family, choices, the grayness of heroes, and the conflict between the regulation and usage of steroids for athletes, regular joes, and the ill, who need it the most. Makes you wonder about atheletes, their choices, how others perceive them, and what you would do given their situation. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
JayHSep 27, 2008
Very well researched and informative, it has a good balance on view points. Decent narration. I was always interested in the film, but it does get a bit repetitive. Still fascinating and it certainly makes you think.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
IIISPQRIIIOct 2, 2012
Bigger, Stronger, Faster has been one of the most interesting documentaries I have seen recently. Not interesting in the sense that the film maker presented a valid look into the hypocrisy of criticizing steroid use, but because heBigger, Stronger, Faster has been one of the most interesting documentaries I have seen recently. Not interesting in the sense that the film maker presented a valid look into the hypocrisy of criticizing steroid use, but because he unknowingly created a film about his family's struggle with steroid use. This film is definitely one sided in favor of steroids and the way it's presented leaves you feeling like the primary goal for the film maker was to justify his brothers' use of steroids. I even suspected near the end that the film maker was still on the needle. Interviews are typically in favor of steroid use and even a majority of the people being interviewed are on steroids. The logic defending steroids in this film really holds no weight since it could be easily used to defend everything from crack to the behavior of financial institutions that caused the recession. So is it still cheating if everyone is doing it? Would you jump off a bridge if everyone was doing it? Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
0
JonHNov 7, 2008
Some fat lazy deluded bible-bashing drug-taking family presenting their uninformed opinions on the silver screen as if they were scientific fact.
0 of 0 users found this helpful