User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 43 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 43
  2. Negative: 6 out of 43

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 16, 2011
    9
    This is a good old fashioned thinking manâ
  2. Jun 26, 2011
    10
    So what can I say about this movie in general - it has gore, faith, death, love.In that order.
    I wouldn't say it's a horror movie, it takes more from movies like The Wickerman rather than typical horror flicks, though the amount of gore it has makes me think it was also influenced by The Saw movies. The Good - plot was.....fun to watch unravel, it's thrilling, I wouldn't say the ending
    was predictable(coming from a guy, who likes movies with a twist), it was however logical.That much death, violence and deceit can seriously damage a human's mental state.The characters were believable, non-stereotypical(imo). The Bad - maybe too much gore, though it was important to show the violence.After all the medieval times weren't a picnic, but more like a gritty day-to-day fight for survival. Expand
  3. Mar 17, 2011
    7
    A dark, cabalistic medieval-pic that spews the spread of carrion and pandemic pestilence, "The Black Death" is gripping; growing on you like a leprotic sore. As the film advances, the grave urgency to escape a diminishing land of languish intensifies, and the fight for survival begins. The horrifying sights of death and decay are blended cohesively with the times, where the forces of religion and honor are emphasized with rightful adulation. This delineation of the period, and the film's name, however, is stalled once the strong-willed barbarics arrive at their "escape." Here, we see the film take a slant that strays from the times, and becomes lost amidst a mystically situated paragon of life. Following the abrupt, yet laconic change of course, the film is redeemed, where the strong sense of unity, religious piety, integrity, and pride are relinquished towards the picture's close. "The Black Death" is a potently felt exploration into the infestation, desolation, and despair of the Black Ages that doesn't hold back, and delivers, where the forces of human nature emanates. Expand
  4. Mar 22, 2011
    4
    BORING with a capital Oring Although the acting was good the story had no meaning, was totally predictable and no real ending...I kept feeling like there would be a twist or revelation that hadnt already been figured out but it never came
  5. May 30, 2012
    8
    Put simply; this movie is surprisingly good. It's analogous to "Conan The Barbarian" (1982) by John Milius. Pros: 1 - Acting (especially Eddie Redmayne and Sean Bean);
    2 - Writing;
    3 - Intensity and Gore;

    Cons: 1 - Nonstop shaky cam;
    2 - Sporadic pacing;

    Overall: Hardly the best Horror film of 2011, but still very good to Rent.
  6. Jan 7, 2013
    8
    Black Death is a fine piece of film making and what I really loved about it is the fact that it has some well-put twists and surprises that you simply won't see coming. It's not a typical movie that portrays the eternal conflict between good & evil, the church & the blasphemous ... No! it's more of a philosophical journey inside the psyche of a human being, an analysis of how grief and guilt seeds can grow and influence the path of those who see them selves as righteous.

    Let's not ruin your fun with philosophy... Anyway!!! The fighting scenes are beyond awesome, the script is simple for a Gothic Thriller yet very impactful and throughout the movie's running time you feel that the characters' words, intentions and thoughts are really heavy and have the most influence on the way that the story heads. Christopher Smith made the best use of the historical context of the story in order to make us relate to the characters by creating a sort of bond that links us to this band of mercenaries despite their cruelty and ignorance, and no matter how extremely orthodox we think their ideas are.

    This thriller features some award deserving performances from all the main actors especially Sean Bean and Eddie Redmayne, they plunged into their characters and delivered one of the most believable piece of acting I've ever seen! So, if you want a thought-provoking movie that you'd want to debate with your friends afterwards then Black Death is a really good choice!
    Expand
  7. Mar 18, 2014
    10
    Excellent movie. Absolutely loved it. Sean Bean is a master of the craft. Story kept me guessing. I highly recommend this one. Not sure how it got a 6.2, but thats an atrocity. Script is magic. Unfortunately, because of simpletons that score this movie low, the likelihood of another thinking man's/women's movie getting made becomes more slim by the day. Make room for Transformer 18.
  8. Mar 11, 2011
    6
    The movie takes place in a plague-ridden medieval England. Our protagonist is a sensitive young monk, struggling to balance his sexual cravings for his secret lover and his religious purity. That was actually quite annoying. So you got this remote village, that somehow was unaffected by the plague, and this buncha guys set out on a quest to find the cure. Oh, and the young monk tags along with them. I enjoyed the first half of the movie, it had that gritty "dark age" atmosphere you are probably looking for when you watch a movie with the title of Black Death. There is a sword fight in the woods with some bandits, which I enjoyed. The latter half of the movie, when our guys get in the touch with the locals, is too slow and quite boring actually. I don't want to spoil it, but there you have this witch that has taken control of the village and she doesn't like strangers very much. Expand
  9. Jun 20, 2011
    1
    This is a Horrible movie with emphasis on "Orrible". Indeed the title does live up to it's name. I do give this film props for living up to the period but the whole film concentrated on medieval torture and gore. It was predictable, if totally boring through out. They added gore just to make it shockingly irritating. I only got through it all as my husband was controlling the channel changer. I think Ill return back to my facebook page and find something else to watch, thank you! Expand
  10. Dec 26, 2013
    3
    Rubbish. Tonally reminded me of Hammer Horror's Witchfinder General (1968), a medieval snuff masquerading as an action film. The story is meaningless, though if all that was to be accomplished by the writing is the notion that all sorts of religious people kill other religious people for no good reason, then mission accomplished.
  11. Mar 13, 2012
    0
    Very boring film, When I'm watch this movie I believe that I found a great horror title, but sorprise, I'm sleep with this film. Black Death is a very awful film.
  12. Dec 7, 2012
    5
    I'm completely torn on this film. There were parts, particularly in the beginning, that I didn't enjoy that much, but other parts towards the end that I found very excellent. I think the main issue with the film is the pace, it's very slow. It's not at all boring, it's just extremely difficult to get connected or interested to in story. I loved the Medieval setting and the Bubonic Plague as a driving force of the story, but something was missing. As the film progressed, the story picks up a lot. In fact, the last 25 minutes or so were very nice. The intensity picked up, emotions came out, and the film began to dig into some theological ideas that I think really worked here. The ending "twist" was also nice, it wasn't mind blowing or anything, but it was unique and completely fitting. Overall i'd say this is a pretty good film. Not stellar, but I was pleased with the film. I'd recommend it. Expand
  13. Aug 10, 2014
    10
    I'm giving Black Death a 10 because 6.3 doesn't do it justice...and might discourage some from watching it, which would be a pity..Its dripping with atmosphere..A grim 14th century atomosphere of dreariness, damp and disease. Not an out and out horror but enough here to make a few feel uncomfortable and give everyone a sense of foreboding..Every actor delivers..Not one weak performance which is high praise I think. If you enjoy the game of thrones..then you'll get a lot out of this. Sean Bean is excellent as usual. I'm an unabashed Sean Bean fan. Will watch anything with him in it..and Redmayne who I haven't seen before is one I will look out for in the future.. Expand
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Mar 12, 2011
    75
    A moderately creepy, often garishly violent action horror film frontloaded with heretics, Christians, mercenaries, witches, witch-burners, and necromancers. There's something here for just about everyone.
  2. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Mar 11, 2011
    63
    Though deadly serious, Christopher Smith's European-made bubonic- plague melodrama provides good value with lots of blood and guts, as well as a solid cast.
  3. Reviewed by: Jeannette Catsoulis
    Mar 10, 2011
    90
    Here, excessive piety and rampant paganism are equally malevolent forces, the film's baleful view of human nature mirrored in Sebastian Edschmid's swampy photography. As is emphasized in a nicely consistent coda, the Lord's side and the right side are not necessarily one and the same.