New Line Cinema | Release Date: August 21, 1998
8.8
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 436 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
392
Mixed:
30
Negative:
14
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
darkbloodshed13Jul 18, 2015
When I heard that they made a movie about the comic book hero known as Blade, who in the comic books was a jazz musician turned vampire hunter that uses butter knifes, I groaned, but when I saw the movie I thought it was one of the bestWhen I heard that they made a movie about the comic book hero known as Blade, who in the comic books was a jazz musician turned vampire hunter that uses butter knifes, I groaned, but when I saw the movie I thought it was one of the best movies ever. From beginning to end this movie is full of action and blood as we see the mighty day walker take on hordes of vampires. This all leads up to a sword fight with the famed blood god. In conclusion if you want a movie that is just a giant blood bath watch this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
bfoore90Sep 26, 2017
A fun, entertaining movie that is often overlooked as an R-rated comic book movie but still holds up really well and is still pretty cool to watch even though its getting close to 20 years old
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Castiel_AngelSep 22, 2016
Super awesome movie! I don't see how anyone could possibly hate this one. It has a great soundtrack and I would definitely give the acting a 10/10. It also has a great ending there is no sappy "romance" like there is in a lot of these typesSuper awesome movie! I don't see how anyone could possibly hate this one. It has a great soundtrack and I would definitely give the acting a 10/10. It also has a great ending there is no sappy "romance" like there is in a lot of these types of movies. They actually gave it a super fantastic ending. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
ComradeRifleApr 17, 2016
blade don't pay no taxes.
blade don't pay no taxes.
blade don't pay no taxes.
blade don't pay no taxes.
blade don't pay no taxes.

blade don't pay no taxes.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
Cinemassacre94Mar 20, 2016
It's getting closer and closer to the new millennium, and the ever-multiplying vampires are preparing to take over the earth by solidifying their financial holdings, buying lots of urban real estate, and opening trendy vampires-only danceIt's getting closer and closer to the new millennium, and the ever-multiplying vampires are preparing to take over the earth by solidifying their financial holdings, buying lots of urban real estate, and opening trendy vampires-only dance clubs. It's a good thing the humans have Wesley Snipes, a sort of daylight-immune half-breed who possesses vampire strength, speed, and senses, handicapped only by his need for a special thirst-for-human-blood-inhibiting serum and an apparent absence of human facial or vocal expression. A very, very fit Snipes does an exceptionally athletic job of shooting, chopping, burning, and capoeira-ing dozens of vampires in time with a thundering electronic soundtrack while hunting Stephen Dorff, a lowly working-class vampire who wants to move up in the world by summoning the Blood God to subjugate humanity once and for all. Helping Snipes stop this vampocalypse are handyman Kris Kristofferson and hematologist N'bushe Wright. Sure, the story is pretty standard, and the dialogue is laughable or worse. But creative cinematography and non-stop, decently choreographed gratuitous violence make watching this comic-book movie—Blade is a minor, almost-forgotten Marvel comic—entertaining. In fact, it's arguably the best comic-book movie of the year. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
Paramilitary400May 17, 2015
Blade is one of the coolest looking comic book action movies. Wesley Snipes is perfectly cast in the movie and the action is astounding. The movie has a dark atmosphere that suits it because it is a vampire movie.
Blade is enormous fun and
Blade is one of the coolest looking comic book action movies. Wesley Snipes is perfectly cast in the movie and the action is astounding. The movie has a dark atmosphere that suits it because it is a vampire movie.
Blade is enormous fun and the movie doesn't have a dull moment or one unimpressive action scene.
One of my favourite comic book movies that I will never tire of.
Expand
8 of 11 users found this helpful83
All this user's reviews
7
marc5477Jan 23, 2015
Good movie if you are in the mood for destruction and violence against bad guys. The story itself is straight forward and revolves around a vampire killing vampire. You can probably guess most of the plot just based on that one sentence butGood movie if you are in the mood for destruction and violence against bad guys. The story itself is straight forward and revolves around a vampire killing vampire. You can probably guess most of the plot just based on that one sentence but the good thing about this movie is you dont have to put up with a lot of mind endless numbingly bad dialog, horrible over acting and unnecessary scenes. It gets to the point by telling you about the character and plot and then executing without delay. I can point to a lot of action flicks that took themselves too seriously and ended up being embarrassing to watch (Transformers is a good example of bad action movies). A good flick, good enough to be remembered after more than a decade. Expand
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
8
oxanaJan 3, 2015
A steady action-packed movie from the beginning to end. Wesley Snipes as Blade doesn't say much, and is altogether a stereotypical hero. He is irresistable, though; he can do the same things as a bunch of other action actors, and still comeA steady action-packed movie from the beginning to end. Wesley Snipes as Blade doesn't say much, and is altogether a stereotypical hero. He is irresistable, though; he can do the same things as a bunch of other action actors, and still come out of it looking cool and entertaining. I liked the music; it's fitting. Also the fighting scenes are the entertaning type, having little new to offer, but yet far from dull or boring. At times the special effects were really bad, but that is only for a few little moments, which by the end was almost amusing. Good ending and none of the sappy, "necessary" romance anywhere in the film, which I liked. There is a plot, there is action, and the characters come out as their individual selves, with their own little quirks. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
ydnar4Dec 18, 2014
Blade is a bit different from other super hero films. It is one of the earlier movies based on a Marvel character. Although Stan Lee is still involved in the movie as an executive producer. The movie is dark, which we get used to afterBlade is a bit different from other super hero films. It is one of the earlier movies based on a Marvel character. Although Stan Lee is still involved in the movie as an executive producer. The movie is dark, which we get used to after watching the Dark Knight trilogy. It shows a lot more blood and has more swearing than any Marvel hero movie I've watched so if your not a fan of Marvel films you could certainly enjoy Blade. Wesley Snipes is unstoppable in what could be my favorite role that I've seen from him, there is no one else that could've played him better. However I didn't like the villain, I found him a bit weak considering the movie was 2 hours long. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
obeszJan 8, 2014
Blade is a film that has aged extremely well. This especially goes for some of the special effects, the action sequences and fight choreography. Moreover, this film not only served as an obvious influence to the Underworld film series, butBlade is a film that has aged extremely well. This especially goes for some of the special effects, the action sequences and fight choreography. Moreover, this film not only served as an obvious influence to the Underworld film series, but appears to have set the tone for the more severe atmosphere in the films of the ongoing DC comics revival (Batman series, Man of Steel). This is the type of film that compels me to overlook the cheese and plot holes and enjoys the show. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
8
marcmyworksDec 2, 2013
I really love the original Blade. It opened up the door for the Superhero films of the 21st century to be dark, violent as show someone as an anti-hero. It also helps that Stephen Dorf is pretty frickin' hot in this film.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
8
kublay0880Dec 19, 2012
Wesley Snipes was definitely the best option for this character which he gives the right personality to, Chris Christofferson it's also a good addition to the movie. The plot could have been better but it's a very entertaining movie and forWesley Snipes was definitely the best option for this character which he gives the right personality to, Chris Christofferson it's also a good addition to the movie. The plot could have been better but it's a very entertaining movie and for those familiarized with the comic book are also going to enjoy it. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
DalekNov 18, 2012
A very entertaining movie with a very good soundtrack, this film is awesome.
20 of 21 users found this helpful201
All this user's reviews
8
kingshahidJan 14, 2012
The plot itself was to my liking but the movie itself was comparable to Underworld. I prefer Blade over Underworld on both their debuts as a series. I have yet to see the sequels of either though. The costume was much more nicer in UnderworldThe plot itself was to my liking but the movie itself was comparable to Underworld. I prefer Blade over Underworld on both their debuts as a series. I have yet to see the sequels of either though. The costume was much more nicer in Underworld and I enjoyed the Vampire's sophistication in that movie but the action was much more in Blade by Snipes. Expand
9 of 10 users found this helpful91
All this user's reviews
8
heybuddymoviesAug 1, 2011
This movie gets you from the opening club scene of vampire action. Yet another comic I hadnâ
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
10
TysonB.Dec 3, 2005
The start of something great.
1 of 2 users found this helpful