Blue Jasmine

Blue Jasmine Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 47 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 330 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 47
  2. Negative: 1 out of 47
  1. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Sep 26, 2013
    100
    After all those false dawns, non-comebacks and semi-successful Euro jeux d'esprit, Allen has produced an outstanding movie, immensely satisfying and absorbing, and set squarely on American turf: that is, partly in San Francisco and partly in New York.
  2. Reviewed by: Manohla Dargis
    Jul 25, 2013
    100
    [Allen's] most sustained, satisfying and resonant film since “Match Point.”
  3. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Aug 8, 2013
    88
    Blue Jasmine, which is easily Allen’s best and most powerful movie since 2005’s "Match Point", is filled with terrific performances, including Hawkins as the sweet-natured Ginger.
  4. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Jul 25, 2013
    80
    The way she (Blanchette) anchors this superb dramedy is a thing of beauty.
  5. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Aug 7, 2013
    78
    The saga unfolds in a fairly charming fashion, and only Allen’s abrupt ending breaks the spell. Clearly, the filmmaker has no more ideas than Jasmine about how to resolve her predicament.
  6. 75
    Woody Allen’s first Stateside production in nearly a decade is a sharply observed, post-economic crash comedy-drama that boasts a formidable performance by Cate Blanchett and addresses such pertinent real-world concerns as class, gender and corporate criminality in urban America.
  7. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Jul 23, 2013
    30
    Blue Jasmine is so relentlessly clueless about the ways real human beings live, and so eager to make the same points about human nature that Allen has made dozens of times before, that it seems like a movie beamed from another planet.

See all 47 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 83
  2. Negative: 15 out of 83
  1. Aug 25, 2013
    10
    Great movie, great acting. Cate Blanchette is Jasmine, a woman who has lost touch with reality because she's lost her identity. WoodyGreat movie, great acting. Cate Blanchette is Jasmine, a woman who has lost touch with reality because she's lost her identity. Woody Allen's script and overall concept are both human and divine. This movie is so full of humanity, everyone should be able to relate in some odd way and feel both annoyance and empathy for its characters. I love this movie. Allen at his best. Expand
  2. Mar 7, 2014
    10
    woody ailen is a creative director this is a guy who knows what he is gonna and he is determined to makes plans and goals for himself andwoody ailen is a creative director this is a guy who knows what he is gonna and he is determined to makes plans and goals for himself and others . i found cate blanch in this is perfect Expand
  3. Oct 14, 2014
    9
    Blue Jasmine is one of Woody Allen's best films. Great cast and great performances.
    Cate Blanchett shows the pain that Jasmine is suffering.
    Blue Jasmine is one of Woody Allen's best films. Great cast and great performances.
    Cate Blanchett shows the pain that Jasmine is suffering. You can see how powerful her acting is.
    Sally Hawkins is awesome as Ginger and she's the only who makes a great while Cate is on screen.
    Expand
  4. Feb 8, 2014
    8
    Woody? Welcome back! This is the best Allen's film of almost two decades. Absolutely better and more powerful than "Midnight in Paris" andWoody? Welcome back! This is the best Allen's film of almost two decades. Absolutely better and more powerful than "Midnight in Paris" and "Vicky Cristina Barcelona". This movie has every characteristic of his old films. Expand
  5. Aug 20, 2014
    7
    Wonderful Movie, It looks like a higher version of Young Adults..!!
    I just wish they make another movie as a sequel of this. LOL, I mean i
    Wonderful Movie, It looks like a higher version of Young Adults..!!
    I just wish they make another movie as a sequel of this. LOL, I mean i really wanted to know what happened after the end of the movie..!!
    Expand
  6. Aug 6, 2013
    5
    People are just afraid to truly rate a Woody's film, because they're afraid of his name.
    Well, I don't think the well chewed subject looked
    People are just afraid to truly rate a Woody's film, because they're afraid of his name.
    Well, I don't think the well chewed subject looked any more appealing in this film. A tiring, slow paced, and predictable drama that scored above 40 only because Blanchett's acting was so good.
    I can't believe people said it's "Arguably Woody Allen's best film" when it's not even one of his top ten... baah
    Expand
  7. Aug 25, 2014
    0
    I used to love Woody's movies and I even loved the dramas but this movie is terrible. None of the dialogue rings true, even the direction isI used to love Woody's movies and I even loved the dramas but this movie is terrible. None of the dialogue rings true, even the direction is bad and Woody, you are stealing the basic premise of Streetcar Named Desire and butchering it. Why people are showering praise on this pile of crap is stunning. The actors do a valiant job of trying to bring some truth to this dung heap but nobody could. Louis C.K. can write and direct circles around what Woody is doing now and is totally wasted in this. People walk up to characters in this and spout dialogue that no one would say and no one who has a brain or taste can possible think this is good. The only explanation must be that because of what Woody has done in the past and the controversy surrounding him now, which by the way I do not care about, has made people support his work no matter what but this is possibly his worst movie ever.Stop making movies Woody, enjoy the accolades of the past and let better writers and directors take your place, Louie for one and let us love and remember you at your best, this is movie is far from that. Expand

See all 83 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers

    Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers Image
    Published: June 7, 2013
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers--including a last look at "Man of Steel," the first look at Woody Allen's "Blue Jasmine," and much more--and get a recap of the week's movie news.
  2. 23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    We rank some of cinema's most notable buddy films by Metascore.
  3. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.
  4. Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 22, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at The Magnificent Seven, Sausage Party, xXx: Return of Xander Cage, Snowden, The Girl on the Train, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  5. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 20, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Star Trek Beyond, Lights Out, Don't Think Twice, Ice Age: Collision Course, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.

Awards & Rankings