Metascore
41

Mixed or average reviews - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 5
  2. Negative: 1 out of 5
  1. Reviewed by: Kevin Thomas
    Sep 2, 2011
    80
    A rousing example of Bollywood-style pure escapist entertainment.
  2. Reviewed by: Richard Kuipers
    Sep 1, 2011
    50
    Indian helmer Siddique delivers a middling melange of action, romance, music and slapstick in his hotly anticipated Hindi version of "Bodyguard."
  3. Reviewed by: Lisa Tsering
    Aug 31, 2011
    50
    In Bodyguard, Khan seems to have a tongue-in-cheek awareness of his major strengths - able comic timing and a cartoonishly muscular physique - and in case that's not obvious enough, he flexes his biceps to the beat in the film's opening song and literally winks at the camera.
  4. Reviewed by: Andy Webster
    Aug 31, 2011
    40
    Mr. Khan, seasoned Bollywood beefcake, is a well-muscled hunk who doesn't take himself too seriously in fight scenes. If only the film's archly slick director, Siddique, had adopted the same winking attitude toward the romantic arc. A twist near the end sends this contrived movie into a maudlin stratosphere from which it doesn't recover.
  5. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    Sep 2, 2011
    30
    The overweight, gays and little people are cheerfully mocked while writer/director Siddique ratchets up his story's disparate comedy-romance-action elements to an insanely over-the-top degree.
User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 14 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Sep 3, 2011
    10
    A really good movie, good action, really good comedy and romance. This is one of the best indian movies that i have watched, and hollywood should learn some comedy and romance attributes that were played in this movie. I did not know that indian cinema was delivering such gems, well most of what i saw was subtitles, it was worth it, subtitlles did a terrific job of engrossing me into the movie. I love the songs in the movie. I had to go see it because my friends are indian, i saw it and i was really really amazed, you would also. A must watch for everyone! Well ..why are you reading this? Go! watch it now! lol Full Review »
  2. Sep 3, 2011
    9
    This is an excellent Hindi film, the critics are either wrong or tired of the Hindi film genre! All of the actors are excellent and with subtitles it is just as enjoyable. Some of the effects are sketchy but when has that mattered? It's a good 2 and a half hours. Full Review »
  3. Sep 5, 2011
    10
    The best movie ever made! This movie has a very good story, good action, really good comedy. I recommend it to everybody, Go watch this today! Salman Khan is one of the finest actor, and Kareena ( i hope im spelling it right) is a talented lady who also delivered a remarkeble performance. Full Review »