Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: November 3, 2006
7.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 1067 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
768
Mixed:
96
Negative:
203
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
richardrDec 20, 2008
A classic. If you have to ask, you will never know.
3 of 3 users found this helpful
9
kublay0880Dec 20, 2012
Not funny? insults a foreign country? insults people? are you really going to complain about these things now? The people that say all these things are people that really are not into movies, because that thing of insulting others has beenNot funny? insults a foreign country? insults people? are you really going to complain about these things now? The people that say all these things are people that really are not into movies, because that thing of insulting others has been the killing punch of all comic movies, all comic movies insult other people and other countries. Remember Charlie Chaplin making fun of Hitler? or Team America making fun of China? come on!!! and other dozen movies that come to my mind. Or how about the whole country making fun of their own elected president on national media (George W. Bush) because he was holding a book upside down! I say hypocrites. Leaving my aggravation aside, the movie it's just daring, very brave and smart. It's not perfect but it sure was one of the best comic movies of its time. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
JoeRJan 1, 2009
Raunchy, sick, and somewhat disturbed, Borat is full of laughs.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JamesF.Nov 6, 2006
The most important aspect in the film is the way in which Cohen completely points out the stupidity and ignorance of some of, if not most of the genuine people throughout the film. He helps reveal that in the present in which we live there The most important aspect in the film is the way in which Cohen completely points out the stupidity and ignorance of some of, if not most of the genuine people throughout the film. He helps reveal that in the present in which we live there is still an alarming ammount of racists who still flaunt their completely brainless views. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SquigglesNov 16, 2006
I don't understand why people are rating this movie at zeros. This movie is superb. It is a non stop laugh fest. If people are offended by the anti-jew-ness in the movie, then THEY HAVE NO SENSE OF HUMOR. Baron Cohen is jewish himself I don't understand why people are rating this movie at zeros. This movie is superb. It is a non stop laugh fest. If people are offended by the anti-jew-ness in the movie, then THEY HAVE NO SENSE OF HUMOR. Baron Cohen is jewish himself for crying out loud! There is no other movie like it, and once you see it you feel the need to see it again and again. What really surprises me about this movie it that it shows the true America. My friend was laughing so hard after just 10 or 15 minutes, she spilled her drink all ofer herself. Borat is truly Baron Cohen at his best. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MattS.Mar 11, 2007
I feel like a horrible person for enjoying this movie, but I can't help it! Borat is the funniest movie I've seen since Anchorman! It is niiiiice!!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SnowDayJan 23, 2015
Borat is the funniest movie ever made. I will, for the rest of my life, be quoting the hilarity that ensues in this unique and magically ingenious farce.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
grandpajoe6191Oct 10, 2011
Jagshemash! "Borat: Cultural Learnings of...screw this" is a offensive movie, thanks to the skillfully annoying 'clown' Sacha Baron Cohen, that will create massive haters for its extreme mock/satire. But, as a hater of the movie, I knew thatJagshemash! "Borat: Cultural Learnings of...screw this" is a offensive movie, thanks to the skillfully annoying 'clown' Sacha Baron Cohen, that will create massive haters for its extreme mock/satire. But, as a hater of the movie, I knew that the elusive film wasn't lying about their greedy, selfish, unfriendly portrayal of us; they were correct of our foolishness. Expand
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
10
PaxsterOct 6, 2010
It's a little genius of a comic film with a genius comic behind him. Baron Cohen somehow mixes the ridiculous with the believeable to make people think he really is Borat and then makes the American people look stupid and foolish. But isIt's a little genius of a comic film with a genius comic behind him. Baron Cohen somehow mixes the ridiculous with the believeable to make people think he really is Borat and then makes the American people look stupid and foolish. But is there some dark, underlying, non-comic theme here? Maybe America isn't such a great nation as we all like to think. Expand
10 of 12 users found this helpful102
All this user's reviews
8
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
Like watching a clown getting into a car crash, "Borat" is hard to watch, yet impossible not to watch. In the end, it proves to be an unbelievably amusing mockumentary.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
MorkusY.Nov 27, 2007
If you're easily offended(see those that voted 0)don't watch the movie since you know what you're getting yourself into. This movie is hilarious while taking us on a whirlwind tour of American hypocrisy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ColinS.Dec 1, 2007
Finally was able to watch this film... Certainly not the best "mockumentary" of all-time ("Spinal Tap" will never be dethroned), but Borat is pretty damn close. Despite it's vulgarity, for the most part, this film is very clever. I love Finally was able to watch this film... Certainly not the best "mockumentary" of all-time ("Spinal Tap" will never be dethroned), but Borat is pretty damn close. Despite it's vulgarity, for the most part, this film is very clever. I love the satirical fun poked at white Christian America, if you managed to catch it... I must knock off a point for that completely unnecessary nude fight between Borat and his producer (pointless shock value), but otherwise, Borat is a delight! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DiscoS.Dec 16, 2007
I have nothing but admiration for Sacha Baron Cohen as a comic, writer and actor. He is a genius at finding and poking society's soft spots. As the character BORAT, Cohen has brought to light all the things our Western societies are I have nothing but admiration for Sacha Baron Cohen as a comic, writer and actor. He is a genius at finding and poking society's soft spots. As the character BORAT, Cohen has brought to light all the things our Western societies are most afraid to acknowledge. In fact, compared to BORAT most so-called "comedy movies" these days miss the point completely. BORAT is hilarious!!! By totally obliterating the boundaries of decency, and by highlighting the massive gap between what actual people espouse and what they really think - especially their prejudices - BORAT has done more than any other recent movie to revitalize the comedy genre. From start to finish, this movie is WONDERFULLY OBSCENE! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ScottDec 27, 2007
Wah wah wee wah! This film is hilarious - I was rolling around my chair when watching this in the cinema. Simply genius.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DaleS.Jan 30, 2008
This movie is a GREAT SUCCESS! top stuff!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TedK.Jun 20, 2008
Extremely funny. I thought a couple of sequences fell flat, but on the whole it was hilarious.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LeightonB.Jun 22, 2008
I can't imagine why you would like this if you are American, Jewish, gay, a woman etc. It is very offensive. But if your not, then this is an amazingly funny film. I Enjoyed it very much. First Class.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JasonH.Jul 11, 2008
Amazing film. Those who dislike it simply don't enjoy the blend of humor provided, pure and simple.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KevinC.Jul 21, 2008
"WOW"-This is probably the first thing many people said at their first glance at this movie. Not only because of how funny it was, but also because of how Borat was able to say things that we all want to say but don't think is "WOW"-This is probably the first thing many people said at their first glance at this movie. Not only because of how funny it was, but also because of how Borat was able to say things that we all want to say but don't think is appropriate. definitely an awesome movie. HIGH FIVE!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SZ.Aug 13, 2008
Hilarious, but disturbing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AaronB.Jan 18, 2009
Side-splitting irreverence from start to finish, but surprisingly a ringing indictment on the ugly underbelly of American society. Loved it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WVFeb 16, 2009
Non-stop gut-bustingly funny. For those horrified at the "adolescent" humour; it is you who are the children, blinded by the lower thinking, unaware of the satire. You are the ones we are lauging at. Go Borat! High-Five!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JackPApr 17, 2009
Sacha Baron Cohen is a fantastic satirist. I literally bust a gut laughing every time I see this movie. It's the funniest film of all time without a doubt.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
GlenMMay 31, 2009
It's OK to hate this movie, to call it sexist, racist, anti-semitic, unfunny etc. What's not OK is to make inferences about the intelligence of those who find it funny. Sorry to burst your bubble but if you hate it you're not It's OK to hate this movie, to call it sexist, racist, anti-semitic, unfunny etc. What's not OK is to make inferences about the intelligence of those who find it funny. Sorry to burst your bubble but if you hate it you're not in an enlightened minority who weren't "sucked in." There are intelligent people with different tastes to you. Otherwise you're defining intelligent as "someone who agrees with me." I hope none of you would break up a friendship or marriage because the other person found Borat hilarious. Peace. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AshSJun 16, 2009
I personally find this movie to be an amazingly funny satire on the casual racism and prejudice that seems to make up parts of America, rather then a serious film - and it does this greatly.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LukeM.Jul 10, 2009
One of the funniest, if not the funniest movie I have ever seen. Jack P, while the movie is awesome, if you literally bust a gut every time you saw the movie, you would probably die.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DallinPJul 13, 2009
Literally the only movie I ever felt was worth buying so I could watch it over and over again. This movie is raunch and hilarious and really does fit its premise of revealing what America is really like.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MilesBJul 16, 2009
How anyone can say that this film is not a genre defining if not comedy-REdefining film is unthinkable. By having a character so seemingly oblivious to the boundaries of acceptability laid down by western culture, he expertly exposes the How anyone can say that this film is not a genre defining if not comedy-REdefining film is unthinkable. By having a character so seemingly oblivious to the boundaries of acceptability laid down by western culture, he expertly exposes the racism and hypocrisy evident in American society. This is a masterpiece of psychological and subversive satire. People who attack this film are narrow minded and ignorant, perhaps not so much offended as they are scared by the revelations of America's metaphorical skeletons in its closet. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PierreC.Oct 26, 2006
Absolutely brilliant comedy! NIIIIIICE as Borat would say. Never have I laughed as much as when watching this film. You just cannot stop laughing! :D
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeD.Oct 29, 2006
This movie is HILARIOUS! I saw it at an advance screening and am planning to go see it again when it opens. The best comedy film I have seen in years. Edgy, fresh and comedy in its purest form. The whole theater was dying of laughter This movie is HILARIOUS! I saw it at an advance screening and am planning to go see it again when it opens. The best comedy film I have seen in years. Edgy, fresh and comedy in its purest form. The whole theater was dying of laughter throughout the whole movie. Well worth the admission price. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful