Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: November 3, 2006
7.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 1083 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
778
Mixed:
101
Negative:
204
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
destinyfan1Aug 17, 2017
HAHAHAH yeah this movie is offensive , but if you don't get offended you whill die of laugh , its those comedies you will remember for many years!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
KakozoFeb 18, 2017
Borat is a comedy that makes us think about our lives...
After I watched it I asked myself "Am I actually living...?
Or I'm just spending my precious time in a disgusting way?"
I really think we should pay more attention to our way of life!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
VerIncognitoDec 19, 2016
Very nice! High five! This "mockumentary" exposes the disgusting prejudices and ignorance of people. With Borat being politically incorrect, it shows that some people are not only willing to go along with it, they endorse it, like the guy inVery nice! High five! This "mockumentary" exposes the disgusting prejudices and ignorance of people. With Borat being politically incorrect, it shows that some people are not only willing to go along with it, they endorse it, like the guy in the rodeo who agreed with Borat on hanging homosexuals and the frat boys who are angry about minorities and women gaining more power that they cannot enslave them anymore. Borat, of course, as a character is funny in his own right. This film will be a 21st century classic for sure, if it hasn't already. It's because it's the worst film ever made...NOT! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
SpangleAug 30, 2016
Borat feels utterly surreal. It is hard to comprehend this film existing, let alone being as acclaimed as it stands today. Risque, gutsy, and impressively smart, Borat is just not my kind of film. Not my type of humor, as it felt like SachaBorat feels utterly surreal. It is hard to comprehend this film existing, let alone being as acclaimed as it stands today. Risque, gutsy, and impressively smart, Borat is just not my kind of film. Not my type of humor, as it felt like Sacha Baron Cohen just said stupid stuff that sounded funny and could be funny, but feels entirely as if you had to be there to get it. As I was not on the set while filming occurred, I did not find it funny. That said, it is impossible not to find it thoroughly impressive they went through with this audacious attempt at a film considering how many groups it likely offended. Overall, Borat is a classic to many. While it caused me to chuckle a few times, I just did not get it. However, I can certainly appreciate what it attempted to do. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
Captain_ChaosJun 22, 2016
Borat manages to be both persistently unfunny and incredibly disgusting. I've never been one for awkward humor, and I just end up feeling sorry for the poor saps on the receiving end of this character, unaware that they are being punked forBorat manages to be both persistently unfunny and incredibly disgusting. I've never been one for awkward humor, and I just end up feeling sorry for the poor saps on the receiving end of this character, unaware that they are being punked for the amusement of the masses. I would not have payed for Borat, and were I the sort to walk out of a movie, Borat would have been the first. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
PeterayMay 20, 2016
In my 40 years this is one of the five movies I have actually walked out of the theater from. I don't understand what is wrong with America these days. This is NOT FUNNY. All they do in this film is try to shock with scatological, sexual,In my 40 years this is one of the five movies I have actually walked out of the theater from. I don't understand what is wrong with America these days. This is NOT FUNNY. All they do in this film is try to shock with scatological, sexual, and taboo behavior while breaking conventions. ...GARBAGE... Worst movie I have ever seen in my life. I'd rather spend two hours staring into the sun. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
CaillouPettisMay 18, 2016
Borat is a different take on a comedy, and something that's never been done before. It's complete with tons of humor that had me rolling in tears from the film, a rare thing for me. Definitely see Borat if you want to experience a differentBorat is a different take on a comedy, and something that's never been done before. It's complete with tons of humor that had me rolling in tears from the film, a rare thing for me. Definitely see Borat if you want to experience a different take on a comedy! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
EpicLadySpongeApr 13, 2016
Dang, that title's so long it can take up most of a review when you're done typing and it still requires you to enter the 150 character limit. With Borat, nothing can make America look incredibly great-looking towards Kazakhstan.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ReviewScopeFeb 28, 2016
One of the best movies of all time, Borat: Cultural Learnings of American for make benefit glorious nation of Kazakhstan is a hilarious movie, while making many statements in terms of racism, sexism and more. I am happy that this movie isOne of the best movies of all time, Borat: Cultural Learnings of American for make benefit glorious nation of Kazakhstan is a hilarious movie, while making many statements in terms of racism, sexism and more. I am happy that this movie is such a success and that it further made Sacha Baron Cohen the legend he is today! Great success! Very nice! I wouldn't recommend his film if you get easily offended though... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
jackalskOct 16, 2015
Intelligent and open-minded people usually lough. Others feel offended .
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TrilobiteGAug 18, 2015
A downright dark, disgusting and hilarious comedy from Sacha Baron Cohen. His humour has no boundaries and it is again one of my favourite kinds of humour in the world. The story needed to pick up at a few moments but in the end a veryA downright dark, disgusting and hilarious comedy from Sacha Baron Cohen. His humour has no boundaries and it is again one of my favourite kinds of humour in the world. The story needed to pick up at a few moments but in the end a very enjoyable comedy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
jimmyp3May 16, 2015
Great Film, very cringe but overall great. Find the 0's quite amusing, as it appears most bad reviews are from people angry at the world or offended very easily.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
lukechristianscFeb 14, 2015
Sacha Baron Cohen is insulting america and being offensive also racist. It can be funny sometimes but it's offensive. Grade F- critics **** you and fans of this movie go **** yourself
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
SnowDayJan 23, 2015
Borat is the funniest movie ever made. I will, for the rest of my life, be quoting the hilarity that ensues in this unique and magically ingenious farce.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
BradySmithJan 3, 2015
This movie may not be as great as many people claim, but it sure is crazy. There are a decent amount of funny scenes. Were all the scenes actually scripted? I don't know, but the mockumentary setup was used pretty creatively anyways. SomeThis movie may not be as great as many people claim, but it sure is crazy. There are a decent amount of funny scenes. Were all the scenes actually scripted? I don't know, but the mockumentary setup was used pretty creatively anyways. Some scenes go way too far, such as a naked hotel fight, and some other scenes actually fell flat for me, but Borat is always an amusing character no matter what's going on around him. It's a funny movie overall, and worth a look if you're into outrageous jokes. It's also a decent satire on how ridiculously some people act, but it's not the masterpiece many have proclaimed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
googolendtimesNov 19, 2014
Crass, provocative, ambitious, bitingly satiric and gut-bustlingly funny, Borat holds the distinction of being perhaps both the best comedy of the decades and one of the most skilful social experiments and commentaries ever attempted.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
ZuqolynOct 2, 2014
I love Sacha Baron Cohen's works, and even though I'm truly amazed by the things he dares to do, Borat was a little uncomfortable to watch. At times it was simply disgusting, and I don't see how those scenes add any humor or meaning to the movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
KaptainHutchinoDec 12, 2013
So stupid it's funny. The titular character delivers many controversial laughs, so stay away if you're easily offended. I'm actually surprised it has such a high score.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ThegodfathersonDec 8, 2013
The movie takes aim at both individuals and social institutions, and this time lampoons not just America but the world outside it by Borat's reactions. In a strange way though, it also says some rather nice things about our country, simply byThe movie takes aim at both individuals and social institutions, and this time lampoons not just America but the world outside it by Borat's reactions. In a strange way though, it also says some rather nice things about our country, simply by comparison to Borat's backwards, savage little home. Ultimately though, it's offensive, vicious, and unrelenting in its satire of everyone and everything. It's also ridiculously funny. There are things in this film that will literally blow your mind. A day after I saw it, I still have a hard time believing that the Borat's big finale actually happened. How does he get away with it? It's a rare movie that manages to be disgusting, filthy, and incredibly intelligent all at once. Sacha Baron Cohen is a genius, and his new film is a comedic masterpiece. Oh, and wow wow wee waa is it ever funny. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
DaEagleNov 15, 2013
A generally offensive, gross and a laugh-out-loud funny movie. There's a lot of laughs to be had, and it's uniquely created by actually combining real-time events with characters made for the story. It's a movie not to be forgotten for it'sA generally offensive, gross and a laugh-out-loud funny movie. There's a lot of laughs to be had, and it's uniquely created by actually combining real-time events with characters made for the story. It's a movie not to be forgotten for it's uniqueness and by the laughs that you'll definitely get by watching this (Final Score: 8.02) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ncstatemikeSep 4, 2013
[9.1] Few can pull off such an incredibly intelligent and culturally aware comedy with the incredible crudity and offensiveness as this one has. Borat is hilarious in every way possible, quite literally. From blaming the Jewish for 9/11 to[9.1] Few can pull off such an incredibly intelligent and culturally aware comedy with the incredible crudity and offensiveness as this one has. Borat is hilarious in every way possible, quite literally. From blaming the Jewish for 9/11 to throwing a chicken on the ground, Borat doesn't leave any ground uncovered. All of this with the unawareness of mostly unwilling participants, this movie may not be the first to do what it does, but it does it in the most clever, satisfying, and entertaining way possible. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TriasadiJul 13, 2013
This movie is terrible.....NOT
Jak siÄ™ masz!
Borat: Cultural Learnings of America for Make Benefit Glorious Nation of Kazakhstan is a classic. I'd say it's one of the funniest movie of all time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
Trev29Jun 11, 2013
Tiring and down-right disgusting at times. The movie made its point a few minutes in, and after that it just becomes boring. I just found it to be obnoxious and vile.
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews
8
KivaJun 9, 2013
Stop reading reviews watch that movie and laugh till you cry
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
CaestusMar 23, 2013
Real amusing and funny film. Laughed hard watching this.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
csw12Feb 24, 2013
Borat has some very funny scenes, especially in the beginning, but I began to notice a little past the half way mark the movie was starting to drag. You can only go so far with shock humor before it becomes redundant.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Tss5078Feb 24, 2013
Out of all of Sacha Baron Cohen's characters, Borat is by far the funniest and that's why he decided to make his first big studio film about him. There is no doubt this movie is hysterical, anyone who doesn't find this funny really must haveOut of all of Sacha Baron Cohen's characters, Borat is by far the funniest and that's why he decided to make his first big studio film about him. There is no doubt this movie is hysterical, anyone who doesn't find this funny really must have something wrong with them, but how far is too far to push the envelope? I don't get offended easily, but lines like "Senator Chocolate Face" and "the Jews repeating their attack of 9/11" were more than slightly over the line. While the line is much further away in the uncensored market, it does still exist, and Cohen does cross it on several occasions. I laughed until I cried, Borat is one of the funniest movies I have ever seen. I was however offended by several of the things he said and that's why It gets 4 instead of 5 stars. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
asdasd33aFeb 7, 2013
I dont mind offensive if it serves some kind of purpose. I guess the creators purpose was to be funny and point out cultural idiosyncrasies. What they got is just offensive pile of that is this movie.

not even remotely funny unless you
I dont mind offensive if it serves some kind of purpose. I guess the creators purpose was to be funny and point out cultural idiosyncrasies. What they got is just offensive pile of that is this movie.

not even remotely funny unless you definition of funny is toilet humor
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
ReviewGuy818Jan 14, 2013
This movie is absolutely hilarious, and great for the over 13 crowd. With it's colorful cast, interesting premise, and original plot, Borat surely is a 9/10. It could have been a tiny bit longer, but aside from that, this film is perfect.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
JawsLaxerDramaDec 22, 2012
The whole purpose of this movie is be a mockumentary. Sacha Baron Cohen is actually a Jewish person; and while some gags are truly worth seeing, to me, Borat: Cultural Learnings of America for Make Benefit Glorious Nation of Kazakhstan isThe whole purpose of this movie is be a mockumentary. Sacha Baron Cohen is actually a Jewish person; and while some gags are truly worth seeing, to me, Borat: Cultural Learnings of America for Make Benefit Glorious Nation of Kazakhstan is worth while. Comically timed, and portrayed by actual people...this movie couldn't have been funnier. B+ Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
kublay0880Dec 20, 2012
Not funny? insults a foreign country? insults people? are you really going to complain about these things now? The people that say all these things are people that really are not into movies, because that thing of insulting others has beenNot funny? insults a foreign country? insults people? are you really going to complain about these things now? The people that say all these things are people that really are not into movies, because that thing of insulting others has been the killing punch of all comic movies, all comic movies insult other people and other countries. Remember Charlie Chaplin making fun of Hitler? or Team America making fun of China? come on!!! and other dozen movies that come to my mind. Or how about the whole country making fun of their own elected president on national media (George W. Bush) because he was holding a book upside down! I say hypocrites. Leaving my aggravation aside, the movie it's just daring, very brave and smart. It's not perfect but it sure was one of the best comic movies of its time. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
Like watching a clown getting into a car crash, "Borat" is hard to watch, yet impossible not to watch. In the end, it proves to be an unbelievably amusing mockumentary.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
7
imthenoobNov 22, 2012
It's not for everyone, Let's just get that clear. It's the kind of humor that some people will find hilarious while others find it stupid. That being said, It's still a funny film imo and pretty memorable as well. I liked it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
NKOASNov 17, 2012
Seeing Borat for the first time was a revelation. No one had ever before pushed the envelope so far, so much, and so...smart. Never before had someone created such a clever satire as to rouse the praises of even the stuffiest critic, whileSeeing Borat for the first time was a revelation. No one had ever before pushed the envelope so far, so much, and so...smart. Never before had someone created such a clever satire as to rouse the praises of even the stuffiest critic, while being so low-brow and dirty as to make even the dumbest guy you went to high school with say "Very nice!" over and over again. Though virtually forgotten now, it's worth the revisit. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
GarianAug 19, 2012
This movie was absolutely hilarious, I'd love to watch it again sometime soon, it kept me laughing throughout the whole thing. The title of the film itself is hilarious. But the best part is that the story isn't even that bad for a comedyThis movie was absolutely hilarious, I'd love to watch it again sometime soon, it kept me laughing throughout the whole thing. The title of the film itself is hilarious. But the best part is that the story isn't even that bad for a comedy film, it is almost believable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TokyochuchuAug 8, 2012
Borat: Cultural Learnings of America for Make Benefit Glorious Nation of Kazakhstan is an unbelievably funny comedy made by an absolute comic genius at the height of his powers. Whilst the documentary nature of the movie ultimately holds itBorat: Cultural Learnings of America for Make Benefit Glorious Nation of Kazakhstan is an unbelievably funny comedy made by an absolute comic genius at the height of his powers. Whilst the documentary nature of the movie ultimately holds it back from attaining perfection, it is such a delight to see Sacha Baron Cohen carefully set up the noose and then watch his idiot victims eagerly walk into it and hang themselves. This is a movie that makes me laugh so much that it's sometimes hard to catch a breath! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
Ozzy0071Jul 20, 2012
Borat is stupid, sooooooo stupid. It isn't even funny. It goes beyond the line of funny, into stupidness, BEYOND stupidness and into something which is just... disgusting. I'm not easily offended, or anything like that, but anyone with senseBorat is stupid, sooooooo stupid. It isn't even funny. It goes beyond the line of funny, into stupidness, BEYOND stupidness and into something which is just... disgusting. I'm not easily offended, or anything like that, but anyone with sense would just find the film just... it's the worst film I've ever seen. I watched an hour of it and I will not watch anymore. I won't even watch the part I've seen again.
I'm a teenager myself (15 years old), and if other people like it when they're just stupid in my opinion. Anyone in the right sense of mind cannot possibly like a film like this. It isn't smart, funny, witty or anything like that which a comedy film SHOULD be. It's just stupid, ridiculous, offensive and sooooooooo graphic. Some of the things it says, some of the things that happen... I swear it should be banned.

Worst film ever. If you want a good comedy, try something like Hot Fuzz.
Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
9
wesker2012Jun 1, 2012
Great social commentary on political correctness and how far people will go to show they accept others who are different from them to make themselves look accepting. But in reality can't handle it once they actually get to know the person.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Tall_But_ShortMay 17, 2012
This is the first Sacha Baron Cohen movie I have ever seen (Hugo doesn't count) and I have to say....it lived up to my expectations. Everyone I know has been telling me to watch this film and it truly is one of the funniest films I have everThis is the first Sacha Baron Cohen movie I have ever seen (Hugo doesn't count) and I have to say....it lived up to my expectations. Everyone I know has been telling me to watch this film and it truly is one of the funniest films I have ever seen. From beginning to end, there is not one boring scene. Sacha Baron Cohen is a great comic and the biggest "troll" of all time. Every single thing he does in this film is hilarious throughout from running nude in a hotel all the way to attempting to kidnap Pamela Anderson. Borat is just plain fun...not for the whole family though. I'm sure Cohen has many haters for this film but I see it as just him doing his job, being an entertainer. And he really delivers. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
joker341May 17, 2012
This is very funny movie!! Sacha Baren Cohen makes me laugh everytime he does something stupid!
This movie is one of my favourites! This movie was nominated for Oscar foe a reason!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
RSKMar 8, 2012
There are only a handful of comedies that I would give a 10, and this is one of them. I've never seen a funnier performance than Sacha's in this movie. All-time classic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
j30Feb 13, 2012
Borat is a flat out hilarious movie, where Sacha Baron Cohen shins on every level. The only reason I don't give the movie a 10 is some of the scenes go on for way too long and kind of lose their welcome. Regardless I highly recommend this film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
spadenxDec 8, 2011
It started off so good and it is funny at parts but it just gets so stupid that you cant look past it. A lot of wasted potential in this film but its still solid.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
snowcoldDec 5, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Jagshemash! I laughed so hard! It's offensive but it's really great! Borat must be one of the funniest movies ever! If you're a jew, you might not like it that much, but Cohen is too...I watched the movie a couple of times, and it is really made perfectly. The mocking of jews, Kazakhstan and the scene in which they run around naked are all great... Watch the movie! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MichaelDNov 23, 2011
All I can say is what a movie! There were some parts that were hilarious and some parts that were just disturbing! But Borat has a different type of humour which you either love it or hate it. But I am one of those people who loves this typeAll I can say is what a movie! There were some parts that were hilarious and some parts that were just disturbing! But Borat has a different type of humour which you either love it or hate it. But I am one of those people who loves this type of humour. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
grandpajoe6191Oct 10, 2011
Jagshemash! "Borat: Cultural Learnings of...screw this" is a offensive movie, thanks to the skillfully annoying 'clown' Sacha Baron Cohen, that will create massive haters for its extreme mock/satire. But, as a hater of the movie, I knew thatJagshemash! "Borat: Cultural Learnings of...screw this" is a offensive movie, thanks to the skillfully annoying 'clown' Sacha Baron Cohen, that will create massive haters for its extreme mock/satire. But, as a hater of the movie, I knew that the elusive film wasn't lying about their greedy, selfish, unfriendly portrayal of us; they were correct of our foolishness. Expand
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
10
ImUnavailableOct 7, 2011
A one of a kind film that is as cuttingly insightful as is it incredibly funny. Borat cleverly manipulates people into saying what they really mean and showing their true selves through various interviews and surreal situations. He engagesA one of a kind film that is as cuttingly insightful as is it incredibly funny. Borat cleverly manipulates people into saying what they really mean and showing their true selves through various interviews and surreal situations. He engages with multiple elements of modern America and manages to extract humor by pushing them past their comfort zones. The fact that a story was intertwined with all this only adds to the films excellence. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
lunixJul 10, 2011
Usually I'm not one to leave a movie in-progress, but I couldn't stand this one. I made it about twenty minutes before turning it off. I was quite pleased that I hadn't wasted movie fare on this unfunny, low-brow stinkburger.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
Bender99Jul 5, 2011
Borat was very funny, but it could of done a little better. They could of made it the greatest movie in the world. But I still think that Borat is one of the most funny movies that I've ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SusanoJun 20, 2011
Not only a truly great modern comedy, but more importantly, still funny after the 100th time you've watched it (well, almost). It's not always funny, but when it is, it's bloody hilarious. I wouldn't call it all that clever though, the funNot only a truly great modern comedy, but more importantly, still funny after the 100th time you've watched it (well, almost). It's not always funny, but when it is, it's bloody hilarious. I wouldn't call it all that clever though, the fun stems from the publics' brilliant reactions. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
PaxsterOct 6, 2010
It's a little genius of a comic film with a genius comic behind him. Baron Cohen somehow mixes the ridiculous with the believeable to make people think he really is Borat and then makes the American people look stupid and foolish. But isIt's a little genius of a comic film with a genius comic behind him. Baron Cohen somehow mixes the ridiculous with the believeable to make people think he really is Borat and then makes the American people look stupid and foolish. But is there some dark, underlying, non-comic theme here? Maybe America isn't such a great nation as we all like to think. Collapse
10 of 12 users found this helpful102
All this user's reviews
8
ERG1008Aug 19, 2010
Sasha Baron Cohen with his feature length film about everyone's favourite Kazakstani.
SBC does have a knack (as he did wth Ali G) of making the general public look stupid through their own ignorance with the etiquette coaches being my
Sasha Baron Cohen with his feature length film about everyone's favourite Kazakstani.
SBC does have a knack (as he did wth Ali G) of making the general public look stupid through their own ignorance with the etiquette coaches being my personal favourite. Everytime I get in a lift now I think about "the room" bit too.
Although a lot of it is staged, it is still very, very funny with a few toe-curling cringe moments thrown in.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
HelpUJul 20, 2009
Want to see a movie that your mommy and the evil government doesn't want you to see? Then prepare to wet your diaper in glee because its Borat. Believe it or not, I actually saw this one with my parents. I remember that day it was at Want to see a movie that your mommy and the evil government doesn't want you to see? Then prepare to wet your diaper in glee because its Borat. Believe it or not, I actually saw this one with my parents. I remember that day it was at the cheap theatre just in case it sucked and we got our moneys worth $1 but I can never replace the time lost. To start off, the jokes weren't funny and repetitive a bad combination in my book. The running joke is that he is from Kazakhstan and doesn't know much about America which is totally ignorant because... the funny thing is.... people in Kazakhstan know more about America than Americans know about Kazakhstan. Sometimes, it seems that Ali G, pulls down his pants and shits on the culture which is as insensitive as the "American" culture Ali is trying to portray. After the movie I didn't even have to ask my parents what they thought, they straight up said," Maybe if you cut out all of the story you could have put it on a crappy version of SNL, Madtv perhaps, and spared everyone of the story." That was my dad... My mom,"It seems like they put all the best jokes in the commercials, which could have been on MadTv as a fake commercial." And I said,"Ya, the movie based itself on a joke that just sucked." And they both concluded, "Ya, we kinda saw that, we knew it was going to suck, we just wanted to see the movie that was supposed to be revolutionary." ("Ya that movie was pretty forgettable,"... "What movie?" And we all laughed) that part didn't actually happen but it pretty much summed up how we felt. Its actually funny I wasn't going to see the movie until my parents took me because I didn't want to see the movie that spawned, "High Five", "Great Success", and "Very Nice" the phrases I heard everywhere too many times and I didn't think were funny at all. And it seemed like everyone was watching it because it was controversial. Why did I give it a 3? I think that the movie actually tried to make a good joke and completely failed in execution. Expand
0 of 5 users found this helpful
9
MilesBJul 16, 2009
How anyone can say that this film is not a genre defining if not comedy-REdefining film is unthinkable. By having a character so seemingly oblivious to the boundaries of acceptability laid down by western culture, he expertly exposes the How anyone can say that this film is not a genre defining if not comedy-REdefining film is unthinkable. By having a character so seemingly oblivious to the boundaries of acceptability laid down by western culture, he expertly exposes the racism and hypocrisy evident in American society. This is a masterpiece of psychological and subversive satire. People who attack this film are narrow minded and ignorant, perhaps not so much offended as they are scared by the revelations of America's metaphorical skeletons in its closet. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DallinPJul 13, 2009
Literally the only movie I ever felt was worth buying so I could watch it over and over again. This movie is raunch and hilarious and really does fit its premise of revealing what America is really like.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LukeM.Jul 10, 2009
One of the funniest, if not the funniest movie I have ever seen. Jack P, while the movie is awesome, if you literally bust a gut every time you saw the movie, you would probably die.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DavidPJul 7, 2009
This movie is over-hyped garbage. I don't understand how this movie has such a high Metascore and some really good movies have such low ones. The entire Borat Metacritic page is a testament to how unreliable professional critics are at This movie is over-hyped garbage. I don't understand how this movie has such a high Metascore and some really good movies have such low ones. The entire Borat Metacritic page is a testament to how unreliable professional critics are at telling a good movie apart from a bad one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
CocoBunnyJun 23, 2009
High expectations, big letdown. While it has its funny moments, it dragged at times. And dragged. And dragged. Surely Cohen could have come up with more funny stuff--or edited some of the lulls out--to fill the whole running time. If High expectations, big letdown. While it has its funny moments, it dragged at times. And dragged. And dragged. Surely Cohen could have come up with more funny stuff--or edited some of the lulls out--to fill the whole running time. If you're a fan of gross-out comedies, you'll like this. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
AshSJun 16, 2009
I personally find this movie to be an amazingly funny satire on the casual racism and prejudice that seems to make up parts of America, rather then a serious film - and it does this greatly.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
GlenMMay 31, 2009
It's OK to hate this movie, to call it sexist, racist, anti-semitic, unfunny etc. What's not OK is to make inferences about the intelligence of those who find it funny. Sorry to burst your bubble but if you hate it you're not It's OK to hate this movie, to call it sexist, racist, anti-semitic, unfunny etc. What's not OK is to make inferences about the intelligence of those who find it funny. Sorry to burst your bubble but if you hate it you're not in an enlightened minority who weren't "sucked in." There are intelligent people with different tastes to you. Otherwise you're defining intelligent as "someone who agrees with me." I hope none of you would break up a friendship or marriage because the other person found Borat hilarious. Peace. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JackPApr 17, 2009
Sacha Baron Cohen is a fantastic satirist. I literally bust a gut laughing every time I see this movie. It's the funniest film of all time without a doubt.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WVFeb 16, 2009
Non-stop gut-bustingly funny. For those horrified at the "adolescent" humour; it is you who are the children, blinded by the lower thinking, unaware of the satire. You are the ones we are lauging at. Go Borat! High-Five!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AaronB.Jan 18, 2009
Side-splitting irreverence from start to finish, but surprisingly a ringing indictment on the ugly underbelly of American society. Loved it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JoeRJan 1, 2009
Raunchy, sick, and somewhat disturbed, Borat is full of laughs.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
richardrDec 20, 2008
A classic. If you have to ask, you will never know.
3 of 3 users found this helpful
0
JohnO.Sep 24, 2008
Horrendous, with glimpses of adolescent humor.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
1
EricH.Sep 6, 2008
Horribly crude. Not funny, just stupidly crude.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
9
SZ.Aug 13, 2008
Hilarious, but disturbing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
AjithS.Aug 7, 2008
This movie wasn't funny at all. I cant understand the high scores.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KevinC.Jul 21, 2008
"WOW"-This is probably the first thing many people said at their first glance at this movie. Not only because of how funny it was, but also because of how Borat was able to say things that we all want to say but don't think is "WOW"-This is probably the first thing many people said at their first glance at this movie. Not only because of how funny it was, but also because of how Borat was able to say things that we all want to say but don't think is appropriate. definitely an awesome movie. HIGH FIVE!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JasonH.Jul 11, 2008
Amazing film. Those who dislike it simply don't enjoy the blend of humor provided, pure and simple.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
WillH.Jul 2, 2008
It really wasn't that great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LeightonB.Jun 22, 2008
I can't imagine why you would like this if you are American, Jewish, gay, a woman etc. It is very offensive. But if your not, then this is an amazingly funny film. I Enjoyed it very much. First Class.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TedK.Jun 20, 2008
Extremely funny. I thought a couple of sequences fell flat, but on the whole it was hilarious.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
LCollinsApr 9, 2008
I'm really trying to think of the reason this film got so many good reviews, but I can't. The movie had very few funny moments, although I didn't sit through the whole thing, it was too crude and boring.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
MichaelV.Feb 5, 2008
I really disliked this movie a lot, but a couple of parts made me chuckle a bit!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DaleS.Jan 30, 2008
This movie is a GREAT SUCCESS! top stuff!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ScottDec 27, 2007
Wah wah wee wah! This film is hilarious - I was rolling around my chair when watching this in the cinema. Simply genius.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DiscoS.Dec 16, 2007
I have nothing but admiration for Sacha Baron Cohen as a comic, writer and actor. He is a genius at finding and poking society's soft spots. As the character BORAT, Cohen has brought to light all the things our Western societies are I have nothing but admiration for Sacha Baron Cohen as a comic, writer and actor. He is a genius at finding and poking society's soft spots. As the character BORAT, Cohen has brought to light all the things our Western societies are most afraid to acknowledge. In fact, compared to BORAT most so-called "comedy movies" these days miss the point completely. BORAT is hilarious!!! By totally obliterating the boundaries of decency, and by highlighting the massive gap between what actual people espouse and what they really think - especially their prejudices - BORAT has done more than any other recent movie to revitalize the comedy genre. From start to finish, this movie is WONDERFULLY OBSCENE! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ColinS.Dec 1, 2007
Finally was able to watch this film... Certainly not the best "mockumentary" of all-time ("Spinal Tap" will never be dethroned), but Borat is pretty damn close. Despite it's vulgarity, for the most part, this film is very clever. I love Finally was able to watch this film... Certainly not the best "mockumentary" of all-time ("Spinal Tap" will never be dethroned), but Borat is pretty damn close. Despite it's vulgarity, for the most part, this film is very clever. I love the satirical fun poked at white Christian America, if you managed to catch it... I must knock off a point for that completely unnecessary nude fight between Borat and his producer (pointless shock value), but otherwise, Borat is a delight! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MorkusY.Nov 27, 2007
If you're easily offended(see those that voted 0)don't watch the movie since you know what you're getting yourself into. This movie is hilarious while taking us on a whirlwind tour of American hypocrisy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
HugoC.Nov 24, 2007
I simply cannot understand why this movie has been critically acclaimed. It does not make sense for me, at all. It is not an intelligent comedy. There are only a few sparse and quick, as a matter of fact, funny moments.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MikeDOct 30, 2007
Whereas the small-screen Borat was a daring and revealing hidden-camera concept, brought to the big-screen he is reduced to a gross-out comedy bastion. The film starts off promisingly, but then the jokes become somewhat weaker, and then it Whereas the small-screen Borat was a daring and revealing hidden-camera concept, brought to the big-screen he is reduced to a gross-out comedy bastion. The film starts off promisingly, but then the jokes become somewhat weaker, and then it all feels really set-up. Not nearly as good as it could have been. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RamonaT.Oct 24, 2007
If you appreciate satire , and have an open mind this is one of the most hilarious movies I've seen in the past five years .It does help to be fluent in Romanian because soon you realize that some of the scenes were produced in Romania If you appreciate satire , and have an open mind this is one of the most hilarious movies I've seen in the past five years .It does help to be fluent in Romanian because soon you realize that some of the scenes were produced in Romania and not in Kazahkstan . Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
movier.Oct 17, 2007
LOOOOOL. Either you love it or you h8 it.I loved it. Ludicrously offensive and funny. I will not be forgetting this film.It is understandable if you h8 it because it is so vulgar and offensive and i have to admit i think borat is a LOOOOOL. Either you love it or you h8 it.I loved it. Ludicrously offensive and funny. I will not be forgetting this film.It is understandable if you h8 it because it is so vulgar and offensive and i have to admit i think borat is a racist.Otherwise, watch this movie now! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RockyS.Sep 17, 2007
I have three words for this movie: obscene, vulgar, disgusting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndrewD.Sep 7, 2007
I loved this film. Sacha Baron Cohen is a genius.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BruceW.Sep 7, 2007
Cohen wrangles invitations for Borat to poshly racist Southern dinner parties, meets with nonplussed feminists (where he compares the size of the female brain to that of a squirrel), wanders dazed and confused into a holy-rolling pentecostal Cohen wrangles invitations for Borat to poshly racist Southern dinner parties, meets with nonplussed feminists (where he compares the size of the female brain to that of a squirrel), wanders dazed and confused into a holy-rolling pentecostal megachurch, and scares the bejesus out of Baywatcher Anderson. This is shockingly blunt comedy and shockingly funny, too. Cohen and Davitian are utterly fearless, poking fun not only at Americans but at the stereotype of the foreign Other as well. As of last weekend, a massive intra-studio bidding war for Cohen's next film has erupted. Oddly, the Kazakhstan Ministry of Information has gone quiet. If they're biting their tongues as hard as I did, they're going to need stitches. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DmitriL.Sep 7, 2007
Borat is oddly endearing. While his short features on Da Ali G Show left viewers wanting more, Borat the movie sates our appetite for his loopy character.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LeonW.Sep 7, 2007
There are moments in Borat, such as that rodeo, when you wonder how Cohen managed to escape without being physically assaulted. But it's not just Cohen's daring that makes the film so effective: It is also the character's There are moments in Borat, such as that rodeo, when you wonder how Cohen managed to escape without being physically assaulted. But it's not just Cohen's daring that makes the film so effective: It is also the character's awe-inspiring oafishness that gives Borat its juice. Whether he's admiring a Victoria's Secret window display a little too enthusiastically, or engaging in a bout of naked wrestling up and down the halls of a glitzy hotel, Borat is constantly revealing new depths to his aggressive, taboo-smashing cluelessness, which is why the movie never runs out of steam. It takes some exceptionally intelligent and witty people to make a dumb comedy this funny and perceptive: Borat may be offensive (to some), infantile, but high-brow, but you won't hate yourself in the morning for loving it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TamarG.Sep 7, 2007
We laugh, not only because the sequence is so shamelessly raunchy, but because the actor's physique is so consummately unappealing. Maybe it's just because I'm an American woman with the requisite body issues, but that makes We laugh, not only because the sequence is so shamelessly raunchy, but because the actor's physique is so consummately unappealing. Maybe it's just because I'm an American woman with the requisite body issues, but that makes me feel kind of bad. Borat is directed by Larry Charles, a director and producer of many episodes of Curb Your Enthusiasm, another classic in the I-can't-believe-he-just-said-that comedy canon. But Baron Cohen's jaw-dropping gall makes even Curb's Larry David look like a blushing wallflower. Whether you attribute that gall to fearless honesty or shameless crassitude is up to you. I'll just be over here, laughing so hard I aspirate my popcorn. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MekhiP.Sep 7, 2007
Cohen, one of four screenwriters on "Borat," extract gems of both verbal and visual felicity throughout. None are more in-your-face--literally--than the nude wrestling match between Borat and Azamat in their Dallas hotel room. This is Cohen, one of four screenwriters on "Borat," extract gems of both verbal and visual felicity throughout. None are more in-your-face--literally--than the nude wrestling match between Borat and Azamat in their Dallas hotel room. This is followed by a chase all around the hotel, ending in a meeting room full of astonished real-life mortgage brokers. The way it's filmed it really does feel like a high-flying improvisation executed by two exceptionally brave actors. With comedy, often it's the loose, slapdash project with little evident polish or money--"Holy Grail" in the 1970s; "This Is Spinal Tap" in the 1980s--that ends up highly esteemed, endlessly quoted, labeled a classic or, like "Holy Grail," turned into a musical. "Borat" belongs in that list, even though its punches are wilder. Four years ago Cohen brought his best-known character, the faux-rapper Ali G, to the screen in "Ali G Indahouse." Unreleased theatrically in the U.S. the film was a huge hit in Britain, but it was a dumbed-down hit, raunchy and obvious. "Borat," by contrast, may be raunchy and abrasive, but dumb it's not. It sticks to its guns and stays true to Cohen's particular talents. As the man from Kazakhstan likes to say: Great success! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ClaudeL.Sep 7, 2007
A fantastic piece of storytelling, comedy, and political ingenuity. It's more troubling when we the fans are more conservative then the critics, that we live in an ignorant, superficial society that advertises loudly but blatantly, A fantastic piece of storytelling, comedy, and political ingenuity. It's more troubling when we the fans are more conservative then the critics, that we live in an ignorant, superficial society that advertises loudly but blatantly, ignores their problems of poverty, intolerance, and racism that is deeply rooted in the foundation of America. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JFAug 7, 2007
Terrible. I'm generally a huge fan of these types of movies, you know, the kind that you don't have to know anything about anything to think its funny? But... this was a disaster. The plot was a mess, every scene was uncomfortable, Terrible. I'm generally a huge fan of these types of movies, you know, the kind that you don't have to know anything about anything to think its funny? But... this was a disaster. The plot was a mess, every scene was uncomfortable, and personally, I just think that every single joke bombed. I expected a lot out of this movie, and it did nothing but disappoint. I wish I could get my money back. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
BobS.Jul 13, 2007
I smiled at some of the clever bits and chuckled at an occasional funny scene, but this is not a bring-tears-to-your-eyes. I go back to Brother Dave Gardener and Richard Pryor who did satire that made you laugh outloud.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
NickEJul 12, 2007
I think we have the 2006 winner for the 3rd annual Most Overrated Comedy award (I call it a "Sideways"). With the exception of a couple of great scenes, particularly the Pam Anderson scene, this was A LOT less funny than I was expecting, and I think we have the 2006 winner for the 3rd annual Most Overrated Comedy award (I call it a "Sideways"). With the exception of a couple of great scenes, particularly the Pam Anderson scene, this was A LOT less funny than I was expecting, and it has no plot. This is generally what happens when you base a movie on a sketch comedy character - to make it last 80 minutes you start relying on the same gags and jokes over and over, and the whole thing really drags. If foreign persons with strong accents and mangled English from backward developing countries are not something you're inclined to laugh at for their own sake, you probably won't find this at all funny. I also don't see the "skewering cultural commentary" that reviewers talked about - if there's any commentary on American culture here it's only the most shallow and stereotyped sort. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NickA.Jun 29, 2007
Jagshemash! Sacha Baron Cohen, star of HBO
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
TinaR.Jun 13, 2007
This movie has couple shockingly laughable scenes, but on the whole it is very uncomfortable to watch and most of the scenes that are supposed to be funny are just idiotic and embarrassing. If someone like this can make money on comedy, then This movie has couple shockingly laughable scenes, but on the whole it is very uncomfortable to watch and most of the scenes that are supposed to be funny are just idiotic and embarrassing. If someone like this can make money on comedy, then anyone can...It's utter nonsense. And most of us would probably do better! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
BrianG.Jun 3, 2007
I was expecting this movie to be very funny from the quotes and stories I heard about it. Wrong. Anything that was supposed to be funny just produced a weak smile. I felt embarrassed for the filmmakers while watching this because everything I was expecting this movie to be very funny from the quotes and stories I heard about it. Wrong. Anything that was supposed to be funny just produced a weak smile. I felt embarrassed for the filmmakers while watching this because everything fell flat. People like to say 'Borat sucks......not!', but it's more like 'Borat is funny or worth watching at all.....NOT!' Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AjH.Jun 2, 2007
You've gotta be kidding! This movie is SUCK, SUCK AND MORE SUCK!!! Just plain ridiculous!
0 of 0 users found this helpful