United Artists | Release Date: October 11, 2002
6.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 219 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
155
Mixed:
11
Negative:
53
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
10
AD_PhoenixApr 21, 2014
As relevant today as it was 12 years ago, Bowling For Columbine features Michael Moore addressing the subjects of firearms, race, fear and prejudice in a totally engaging documentary that never falls short and continues to surprise andAs relevant today as it was 12 years ago, Bowling For Columbine features Michael Moore addressing the subjects of firearms, race, fear and prejudice in a totally engaging documentary that never falls short and continues to surprise and educate even up to its bittersweet end. Participatory documentary at its finest. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
StevenFSep 8, 2013
The dark and comic tone of "Bowling for Columbine" attempts to outline the seriousness of its content, through its condescending questions to various citizens and first hand look at some unimaginable situations, the film is a look at theThe dark and comic tone of "Bowling for Columbine" attempts to outline the seriousness of its content, through its condescending questions to various citizens and first hand look at some unimaginable situations, the film is a look at the simplicity of picking up a firearm in America, writer, investigator, director and the sarcastic Michael Moore narrates various facts about the National Rifle Association, the pro-gun movement, he interviews some of the most colourful individuals on screen, including a young man who sleeps with a gun under his pillow and a young man who makes his own bombs, including homemade napalm.
The title refers to the tragic actions of two gun-wielding and bomb-making students who massacred students and teachers in Columbine High School, after a carefully orchestrated attack, an event that made people question gun control in the United States. We then see a video collage with words to various deals and decisions that the American government has made over the years, giving weapons to a country they later invade, removing democratically elected presidents and replacing them with dictators, which ironically has Louis Armstrong's "What a Wonderful World" playing over it, a startling reminder of what those in power of capable of. We then see video footage of the Columbine tragedy, as a teacher makes a frantic call to the emergency services as the gunmen turned to face the room the caller was in. What happened after was equally as disturbing, the blames, security measures and segregation of children was quite unbelievable.
The film explores this blame and questions just what makes the Free World different from every other country, we share the same entertainment and pop culture variance, things which are blamed for these mass shootings, why does the rest of the world not have such a startling firearm death statistic as the USA. Moore has created a satirical view of serious issues that need addressed, he questions why larger issues are clouded by more menial ones, he also combines this with a perfect soundtrack, one which reflects the material on show, his interactions with a wide variety of people, from rural to urban areas of the States and even up to Canada, trying figure out the source if these problems, he puts the real problems right in "important" people faces and it's unfortunate to see such a cold reaction.
This is touching, disturbing and influential documentary that hits the problems where they hurt, but accepts the fact that it can't do enough to change a nation, little instances happen, but they are blips on a massive scale that barely matter.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
BKMDec 25, 2012
Is it unbiased, fair and logical? Absolutely not. But that's not what Moore is aiming for (no pun intended). Bowling for Columbine is an unapologetic pro-gun control polemic infused with scathing humor and pointed attacks on everyone fromIs it unbiased, fair and logical? Absolutely not. But that's not what Moore is aiming for (no pun intended). Bowling for Columbine is an unapologetic pro-gun control polemic infused with scathing humor and pointed attacks on everyone from the national media to corporate America. The film doesn't come close to providing any real answers to the problem of gun violence, but it does strike a chord when it turns its attention to the culture of fear that is ingrained in our collective psyche. Just don't take it as gospel. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TubieNov 2, 2010
This is probably the best documentary Michael Moore ever did and the reasons are easy to understand. This was a very well written and it shows that he invested a lot of sentiment and time in this. It's great and even if you don't agree withThis is probably the best documentary Michael Moore ever did and the reasons are easy to understand. This was a very well written and it shows that he invested a lot of sentiment and time in this. It's great and even if you don't agree with his politics you should still be able to admire this great piece of work. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TerryB.Dec 18, 2007
I don't know if other people watched the same movie that I watched. In the movie, Moore is just telling the truth. Now I know that the truth hurts some people, but lets be serious...our governments top priorities are on bombing the hell I don't know if other people watched the same movie that I watched. In the movie, Moore is just telling the truth. Now I know that the truth hurts some people, but lets be serious...our governments top priorities are on bombing the hell outta some country on the other side of this planet when there are starving families that barely get by from day to day. The government should concentrate on healthcare and childrens' education. Moore is just opening our eyes to how messed up our governments priorities are and how it's putting fear into every american in this country. How could you watch the president of the NRA show no sympathy whatsoever for the 6 year old girl that was shot by a gun at school and not get pissed at him for that?!? Maybe I actually have a heart with a concience, but some people need to open their eyes to what is going on in this country. And not all people of america are gun happy assholes...there are many great people in america and they just don't see those people. It's the government and gun-loving idiot who are screwing many people over. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
4
AliciaJul 26, 2007
Sooooooooooooooo overrated! Surprisingly I did enjoy parts, but only after I began to approach the 'documentary' as an entirely fictional movie. I'm an Aussie and we all 'hate' Americans but i was under the Sooooooooooooooo overrated! Surprisingly I did enjoy parts, but only after I began to approach the 'documentary' as an entirely fictional movie. I'm an Aussie and we all 'hate' Americans but i was under the impression that they're all fiercely patriotic. Michael Moore attacks his country and its institutions in a desperate attempt to be scandalous and get people to watch bowling for columbine. How could he use a tragedy like this? And even more importantly how could he receive awards for fictitious events in the category of documentary? Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
RirenJan 31, 2007
Bowling For Columbine is an example of a sad and increasingly popular trend in documentary: to no longer inform, but to program. Like most sensationalist works, it goes for the emotional reaction instead of the logical. It's very good Bowling For Columbine is an example of a sad and increasingly popular trend in documentary: to no longer inform, but to program. Like most sensationalist works, it goes for the emotional reaction instead of the logical. It's very good at stirring up a cloud of feelings whenever it's logic is weak and might be criticized by a thinking audience. It preys on factual confusion and cynicism to paint an anti-patriotic picture, something done much more thoroughly and intelligently in other mediums such as the books of Noam Chomsky. But where you could argue with Chomsky's writing, Moore's theatrics are unrelenting - rather than let you disagree, he will coyly pretend he wasn't making that point, throw something at you so that you are too uncomfortable to respond, and change the subject so that you won't have the chance to think things through. Moore has made a great contribution to turning documentary into the next great form of propaganda. The only thing he has to be proud of is how many millions of dollars he has duped audiences out of in doing it. Please, if you want to educate yourself on the great problems facing modern society, read a book. Leave this documentary to the liberals who, like a quire, relish in being preached at my their own congregation. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
GingerO.Feb 15, 2006
Whether we like Michael Moore or not, I believe it is important to understand and take into account that his documentary
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
amurabim.Aug 31, 2005
Hilarious, funny, entertaining, thoughtful, universal & extremely controversial but the best documentary ever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GabbyH.Mar 30, 2005
What a great flick. Not only does it give feeling, it informs us Americans that we actually can be ignorant and we aren't all that we think we are. People who give this movie a low rating are uninformed as to what the situation really What a great flick. Not only does it give feeling, it informs us Americans that we actually can be ignorant and we aren't all that we think we are. People who give this movie a low rating are uninformed as to what the situation really is in America right now. We can rebuild this nation in 2008, as soon at Dubya is out of office. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BethL.Oct 29, 2004
I thought it gave a lot of information...moore likes to push people's buttons and i think that is so funny!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BillB.Oct 28, 2004
I think it's the best movie ever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
MattN.Oct 24, 2004
This documentary is a misrepresentation of America and of its people. I think the only thing Moore did in this documentary, if you can call it that, is decieve people. His facts are incorrect, his quotes are wrong, he is a liar. The only This documentary is a misrepresentation of America and of its people. I think the only thing Moore did in this documentary, if you can call it that, is decieve people. His facts are incorrect, his quotes are wrong, he is a liar. The only question I have is if Moore loves Canada so much and hates America no one here wants him to stay. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
NickJun 25, 2004
Interesting...though it was later proven he cut and pasted pieces of film to make it look like Charlton Heston came to Columbine, CO 4 days or whatever after the shootings...interesting nonetheless.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ChuckY.Jun 15, 2004
Waaaaaaaaaay overrated.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
IHateHicksJun 6, 2004
I want everyone in the south to please leave this here United States of America. You guys need to put down the guns and pick up some books and learn how to do stuff besides shootin' each other and rabbits.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DWP102589Jun 1, 2004
I'm a Canadian and have one thing to say to all you Americans who gave this movie bad ratings: SHUT THE **** UP!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanC.Apr 17, 2004
One of the best documentaries of all time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MohammedO.Apr 3, 2004
This is a great film, and I would watch it again. Michael Moore did a great job presenting our disturbing obsession with guns and violence. Thank you Michael Moore!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DonaldL.Mar 9, 2004
This movie is not a documentary. Michael moore faked a good portion of this film. The socialism he spouts only works in heaven where they don't need it, and in hell where they already have it. If you give up your guns the only people This movie is not a documentary. Michael moore faked a good portion of this film. The socialism he spouts only works in heaven where they don't need it, and in hell where they already have it. If you give up your guns the only people that will have them are the criminals who will rob and shoot you. And the government who if Mr. moore gets his way will oppress you. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AaronF.Mar 6, 2004
This documentary perfectly sums up how scared the USA is as a country, of itself. Sod them and their twisted psyches, I'd rather emigrate to Canada!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidR.Feb 10, 2004
BFC was the most powerful movie I have ever seen. I encourage everyone with an open mind to see this film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SarahD.Feb 10, 2004
All I have to say is thank you Micheal Moore, thank you...
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
HarmonyK.Feb 9, 2004
The reason I give it a seven is because the things he shows and their importance. But I would have to give him a 3 on the interviews and interviewes and how he handled them.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ZoranL.Feb 2, 2004
Just great. screw the wrong facts. get the right massage. peace.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
SarahM.Dec 16, 2003
This is a film full of deceitful footage and lies. Most of the figures shown in the movie have no real base at all (ex. the numbers of gun related crimes in different countries). Moore cuts and pastes people's speeches to mean something This is a film full of deceitful footage and lies. Most of the figures shown in the movie have no real base at all (ex. the numbers of gun related crimes in different countries). Moore cuts and pastes people's speeches to mean something totally different than their original meaning. It is not a documentary at all! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrandonS.Dec 13, 2003
Any one that says this movie is bad is a closed minded conservitive fool swung way to the right. Use you head, we're not little kids.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JaneNov 18, 2003
I'll tell you what documentary isn't biased - Capturing the Friedmans. And it's an exponentially better film. I have seen this a couple times to see if I was missing something. Nope. Moore exploits his interviewees and uses I'll tell you what documentary isn't biased - Capturing the Friedmans. And it's an exponentially better film. I have seen this a couple times to see if I was missing something. Nope. Moore exploits his interviewees and uses shoddy editing techniques to get his points across - something I simply cannot condone in a film portraying something as serious as the Columbine incident. Columbine may be the worst film of the past year. If not, it was surely the most infuriating in its falseness. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoelC.Nov 17, 2003
It has been a long time since a movie has moved me like this one. I'm surprised I haven't seen this film yet but now that I have (I heard I had to see it) it has opened up my eyes a little I guess. A few people who like guns or It has been a long time since a movie has moved me like this one. I'm surprised I haven't seen this film yet but now that I have (I heard I had to see it) it has opened up my eyes a little I guess. A few people who like guns or something gave this movie bad reviews, but it is an excellent movie that goes from being really funny in parts, and then moving you and opening your eyes up a bit. But definitely don't listen to the people who gave it bad reviews, it is a documentary, and the websites they describe that have facts against Moore are made by people who are Liberalist's and like guns so obviously they will do what they can to cut down Moores brilliance in opening people's eyes with this film. One of the websites a ignorant redneck Fascist mentioned (who gave this movie a bad rating) that "he was a fat slob, with Cool Aid and pizza stains on his shirt,"... maybe, but at least he's a fat slob with a heart. Anyway, must see flick. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
AmbassadorTexNov 11, 2003
First - why a "3" instead of a "0". Well, as a film, BFC has some technical merits. As a writer and performer, Moore has some skill with confrontational, cutting humor. But let's face it - he presented this as a documentary so it must First - why a "3" instead of a "0". Well, as a film, BFC has some technical merits. As a writer and performer, Moore has some skill with confrontational, cutting humor. But let's face it - he presented this as a documentary so it must be judged, to a great extent, on its accuracy. For those looking for studies on Moore's dishonesty, check this article - it's devastating: http://www.frontpagemag.com/Articles/Printable.asp?ID=6841 Yes - it's from Horowtiz' site...but that doesn't discredit the detailed facts (WITH footnotes to sources!). There are entire websites dedicated to publicizing Moore's outrageous statements. Again, they are polemical...but after reading a survey of Moore's own words and critical reviews, it *should* be very difficult for any intellectually honest person to continue to defend Moore as a source for reliable reporting or analysis. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JustinP.Nov 6, 2003
Bowling for Columbine is an entertaining, thought-provoking and interesting reflection on America's obsession with guns and violence. Moore's tacit accusation that the U.S.s fascination with firearms is deadly and morbid is well Bowling for Columbine is an entertaining, thought-provoking and interesting reflection on America's obsession with guns and violence. Moore's tacit accusation that the U.S.s fascination with firearms is deadly and morbid is well made. Its easy to sympathize with Moore's disgust with the effects of America's bizarre attachment to guns, which he cleverly lampoons. But where the movie falls apart is in its superficial, shoddy and obnoxiously arrogant assumption that the director knows the obvious answers to all the complex questions the movie raises regarding violence in the US and modern society. His contention that US military action encourages American youth to murder their schoolmates is extremely dubious, but he levels it as if it were self-evident and incontrovertible. Moore makes fun of all the theories of the causes behind events like Columbine, but comfortably never puts himself on the line by offering a coherent theory of his own. It is always easy to ridicule, but difficult to propose convincing explanations and effective solutions. Unfortunately, Moore overindulges in poking fun, wallowing in his own cleverness, overimpressed with his own often very vague and questionable insights. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MoffNov 1, 2003
Can somebody please identify which elements of this film are actually lies? everyone here who says the film is full of lies hasn't bothered to actually point out which bits are lies such that we can verify this by our own research. IfCan somebody please identify which elements of this film are actually lies? everyone here who says the film is full of lies hasn't bothered to actually point out which bits are lies such that we can verify this by our own research. If you're going to accuse someone of lying, at least tell us where the lies are. I find it interesting that most of the bad reviews of this film are written by people who feel the need to refer to Michael Moore's weight, which I find relevant, but if this is not the case, please explain why Michael Moore being fat is in some way detrimental to the impact of the film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KarliW.Oct 29, 2003
This is the best movie i have ever seen! really touched me.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GenevieveL.Oct 27, 2003
Great movie!! Interesting facts that most poeple aren't aware of or just accept to live with it.... Im real pround to live in canada were the guns are strickly watch! Super movie, the reallity thats it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ThewisekingOct 24, 2003
An absolute mess. this film is an obvious and quite tedious jumble of simple sophomoric ideas. the only unifying theme is the the fat mans obvious misanthropy and self-hatred. mr. moore clearly resents everything he has become; a bloated,An absolute mess. this film is an obvious and quite tedious jumble of simple sophomoric ideas. the only unifying theme is the the fat mans obvious misanthropy and self-hatred. mr. moore clearly resents everything he has become; a bloated, poorly educated, arrogant American. his exploitation of the victims of violence borders on the pornographic, and his insights are on par with those of high school freshman. the french gave this an award in an attempt to spit in our faces. we should drop messieur moore on paris. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JasonC.Oct 23, 2003
Depends on where you live to properly rate this movie. If you're an American Conservative, chances are you're gonna hate this movie. If you're a Canadian, like me, or anyone else in the world, it's eye-popping and true. Depends on where you live to properly rate this movie. If you're an American Conservative, chances are you're gonna hate this movie. If you're a Canadian, like me, or anyone else in the world, it's eye-popping and true. Moore's thesis is that the media strikes fear into Americans, and does everything to prove it. The Marilyn Manson interview, the dropouts from Columbine, the Matt Stone interview, the "Cops" show, etc. I don't see, even if you're an American Conservative, why you can't like this movie. Moore simply gives you the shocking stats, and leaves you wonder. NEVER EVER does he say in his movie that the media is bad. He simply states his thesis, and presents his side of it. He lets you to be the judge. And, even if it is incredibly biased in some ways, which documentary isn't biased? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
SarT.Oct 16, 2003
I find it funny and somewhat ironic that people will say "People who say this movie is nothing but lies are wrong", and then point to nothing with which they can back that claim, other than their own desire for it to be true. Sorry guys, but I find it funny and somewhat ironic that people will say "People who say this movie is nothing but lies are wrong", and then point to nothing with which they can back that claim, other than their own desire for it to be true. Sorry guys, but unless you can show me irrefutable evidence of its truth, I'll have to believe what I see, which is that Michael Moore is an unpatriotic, deceitful liar, who does nothing but walk away with the egg on his face after "playing" the Stupid White Male part. This is like the Blair Witch Project all over again -- only at least with that movie, people eventually figured out that it was nothing but a made-up story. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
GeorgeOct 5, 2003
I'm sure Moore had good intentions with this film, yet his quest is hypocritical as he has to line the whole movies with lies and deceit in order to back up his points. The movie is at times unfocused and many times contradicts itself I'm sure Moore had good intentions with this film, yet his quest is hypocritical as he has to line the whole movies with lies and deceit in order to back up his points. The movie is at times unfocused and many times contradicts itself and its own points. Anyone who believes this movie is truthful needs to consult their local fact-checker, as it is apparent Moore never used one. Why would he? If we were to infuse the truth into Bowling for Columbine, there would be no movie, and no point to watch it... I'm afraid whatever message Moore was trying to convey (which changes multiple times in the movie) is lost in the delirious lies and deception he weaves with malicious intentions. This film is not a documentary in any definition of the word and I feel that Moore shouldn't have received any award for it being one. Though-provoking for all the wrong reasons by dangerously deceiving its audiences. Can't hardly wait for Fahrenheit 911 to come out... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KeithE.Sep 20, 2003
As far as documentaries go, this was extremely interesting and fun to watch. Some critics claimed that Moore was biased and showed only one side of the story. That is entirely untrue. He spoke with many intelligent people during the film who As far as documentaries go, this was extremely interesting and fun to watch. Some critics claimed that Moore was biased and showed only one side of the story. That is entirely untrue. He spoke with many intelligent people during the film who were unable to explain the phenomenonal murder rate that the US was experiencing. Throughout the movie I believe Moore was searching for an answer that proved him wrong, but that answer never came. Fear the media! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
Tommy2Much4USep 19, 2003
Moore is sincere in his ignorance. Aaron is an idiot -- get a real country.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
TonyB.Sep 19, 2003
Thought provoking, and sometimes funny...but that's pretty much all it's good for. Micheal Moore talks about how the media demonizes blacks and hispanics, and yet he then turns around and demonizes guns and anyone who would want to Thought provoking, and sometimes funny...but that's pretty much all it's good for. Micheal Moore talks about how the media demonizes blacks and hispanics, and yet he then turns around and demonizes guns and anyone who would want to own one. He then panders to cheesy melodrama when he pulls out the picture of the little girl at the end. I mean come on...if I were that kids parents, I'd be pissed that my childs image was used for such a loaded purpose. The scariest part is that Marilyn Manson and Matt Stone were quite possibly the most on-the-ball people in tghe whole movie. Over all, not bad, makes you think, and does have some good ideas to offer, but mostly it's just makes statments rather than ask questions. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TonyG.Sep 17, 2003
In his own style, this movie was REAL ... people of the world (mainly america ) are controlled through media and are distracted from the truth. forget about the guns ... this world is full of NUKES and CHEMICAL DEATH SHOWERS!!!! and a bunch In his own style, this movie was REAL ... people of the world (mainly america ) are controlled through media and are distracted from the truth. forget about the guns ... this world is full of NUKES and CHEMICAL DEATH SHOWERS!!!! and a bunch of heartless beings from every land are in controll of them. Bankers and secret organizations run our world. through france, britan , and U.S.A ... more films like this need to be made... where we can expose these high powers and show the world that we are not sheeple... life is alot more beautiful than the orchestrated false world you see on television everyday. if you dont belive me ask the 70 million PEACEFUL native American Indians ... Oh wait , they were slaughtered for the land on wich you and i now stand....... "PEACE FOR PEACE" don't fight for peace its a contradiction! ............ Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
KostisT.Sep 16, 2003
I loved this one. The reason i give it a 6 is that moore is not objective and doesnt have the slightest respect for the "bad guys", if you can call them such. Oh and the ending was awful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarcO.Sep 15, 2003
Astounding, Moore's filmaking reminds me of the confrontational and passionate comedy of the late Bill Hicks. You can disagree with moore all you like but you can't doubt the mans commitment or belief in his choosen profession. Astounding, Moore's filmaking reminds me of the confrontational and passionate comedy of the late Bill Hicks. You can disagree with moore all you like but you can't doubt the mans commitment or belief in his choosen profession. Proof that more documentaries should hit the cinemas and video shelves, Inspired. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DamianP.Sep 14, 2003
Unfortunately, some people will never wake up to reality, even if it is presented as entertainment.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
YoonC.Sep 14, 2003
It's always welcome to have a documentarian tackle a controversial subject but Moore the boor debases the debate on gun control into paranoid, deranged camp. I would suggest that before Moore confronts an issue in the future that he at It's always welcome to have a documentarian tackle a controversial subject but Moore the boor debases the debate on gun control into paranoid, deranged camp. I would suggest that before Moore confronts an issue in the future that he at the very least learn the value of honesty, sobriety, and a modicum of respect even for his enemies. This film is hateful and arrogant, with Moore brandishing the camera like a shotgun, shooting blindly, not so much aiming carefully at targets as indiscrimately blasting everything even remotely complex or ambiguous into smithereens. Not suprising in our talk show culture of trashtalk and celebrity worship. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
BarryS.Sep 14, 2003
Wow. It seems the PRO/ANTI gun fundamentialists have really weighed in on this one! But I'm neither. I give this one a "1" not because or the gun debate, but because of how Mr. Moore used something so tragic for his own gain. I think Wow. It seems the PRO/ANTI gun fundamentialists have really weighed in on this one! But I'm neither. I give this one a "1" not because or the gun debate, but because of how Mr. Moore used something so tragic for his own gain. I think Freddy W. was right, I think Mr. Moore wrote to fit his own conclusions. Very sad, both in fact, and Mr. Moore's fiction. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
LanceL.Sep 12, 2003
No way. How does anyone make such an unabashed movie, replete with lies and half-truths, and not get lambasted in the media? Even the NRA would look at this movie and just laugh. It is sad that Moore took such a tragic event and trivialized No way. How does anyone make such an unabashed movie, replete with lies and half-truths, and not get lambasted in the media? Even the NRA would look at this movie and just laugh. It is sad that Moore took such a tragic event and trivialized it by marginalizing the truth. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
KelR.Sep 11, 2003
Let's live under a government Hitler would be proud of... NO GUNS for citizens!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
FreddyW.Sep 9, 2003
If Mr. Moore had stopped to get his facts straight, this movie would have been a 5 minute short-film (no disrespect for that media intended). The critics loved this movie, only because of their liberal fundamentalist views. I myself went If Mr. Moore had stopped to get his facts straight, this movie would have been a 5 minute short-film (no disrespect for that media intended). The critics loved this movie, only because of their liberal fundamentalist views. I myself went into this movie with an open mind, but found his rhetoric to be self-serving. He started out with a conclusion and then wrote a script to fit it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MelissaSep 9, 2003
Left-wing anti-gun liberalistic rhetoric, thinly disguised as a documentary. Tragedies should never be used as anecdotal dogma. Shame on Mr. Moore and those who funded this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
GWildfireSep 7, 2003
I have researched the figures, Moore lied. About the most accurate point of the movie, Moore did correctly identify Charleston Heston, as Charleston Heston, beyond that, he was snortin? butt crack. It gets a little credit as a comedy. A I have researched the figures, Moore lied. About the most accurate point of the movie, Moore did correctly identify Charleston Heston, as Charleston Heston, beyond that, he was snortin? butt crack. It gets a little credit as a comedy. A ?documentary?? NEVER! It?s 100% crap. I?ve lost friends and relatives to ?Victim-disarmament? better known by the ignorant as ?gun control?. I?ve also had friends and relatives saved by guns. No, guns wouldn?t save every victim of criminal violence, but neither will seatbelts save every accident victim. But I STILL were my seatbelt! 30 minutes of actual research, will show anyone the danger and deaths caused by gun control. The cops killed 2 of the victims of Columbine. (What is that? Nearly 10%?) Armed citizens and teachers have proven far more reliable, than the cops, at stopping mass killings. (Pearl, Mississippi, Shoney?s, Anniston. Alabama, The Virginia Law School Massacre, to name just a few.) Name the mass killings, where the victims were not first disarmed, either by the Government or ?Company Policy? . . . neither of which the murderers obeyed! The movie should have been called ?Fishing for Fools? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattsSep 5, 2003
Very interesting and entertaining documentary. they should play this in high schools.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MasonF.Aug 31, 2003
A movie full of lies, and lacking correct context, it twists and bends, and even breaks things to make moore's stance look right.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JoshuaB.Aug 31, 2003
It's amazing to me how some people can watch this excellent movie about the root of gun violence, and all they have to say is that Michael Moore is a liar! As far as I could see he only gave us facts and interviews. And Moore It's amazing to me how some people can watch this excellent movie about the root of gun violence, and all they have to say is that Michael Moore is a liar! As far as I could see he only gave us facts and interviews. And Moore doesn't blame any individuals. He obviously blames the media for pumping us full of fear every single night on the news. "Watch you're eating right now could kill you. Tonight at 11." A great look at a controversial issue that should be required viewing for every American (even those darn un-Americans). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
SteveAug 31, 2003
This could have been a great movie. There were so many great points to be made. I would give this movie a 10 if Moore didn't put so much spin on the facts. An example would be at the begining of the movie, he signed up for a rifle at a This could have been a great movie. There were so many great points to be made. I would give this movie a 10 if Moore didn't put so much spin on the facts. An example would be at the begining of the movie, he signed up for a rifle at a bank, left, came back a couple days later and filmed it as if he got the bank account and gun in the same day. This is just another hollywood moron who thinks that he should decide the issues that should be important to us. An intellegent person would look at both sides and think for themselfs. Too liberal & too biased. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AMovieCriticAug 28, 2003
I thought this was a very good movie. It may have been dragged out a little, and some of Moore's ideas were a little far fetched, but it was a very interesting movie. It's cool that you can both laugh, be shocked, and scared during I thought this was a very good movie. It may have been dragged out a little, and some of Moore's ideas were a little far fetched, but it was a very interesting movie. It's cool that you can both laugh, be shocked, and scared during one movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JohnAug 25, 2003
So unbelievably disappointing, I almost died. Bowling for Columbine is inept, dull, and sadly one-sided. It is less a documentary than one man's quest for popularity at the expense of others. That said, Moore is guilty of the capitalism So unbelievably disappointing, I almost died. Bowling for Columbine is inept, dull, and sadly one-sided. It is less a documentary than one man's quest for popularity at the expense of others. That said, Moore is guilty of the capitalism her so strangely criticizes: he will stop at nothing and overcome any obstacle (even sadly misinformed Americans) to achieve his desired level of famous-need . The film is hypocritical and unsatisfying to last year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
IsabelC.Aug 25, 2003
Inane, full of factual distortions and quite simply shallow fluff.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JDAug 25, 2003
Lies, damn dirty lies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MichaelM.Aug 25, 2003
This doesn't qualify as a documentary. Its highly biased. He uses inflated numbers to back his position and if he really only wanted to do a film on violence in America he would have included all violent crime not just gun crime. Of This doesn't qualify as a documentary. Its highly biased. He uses inflated numbers to back his position and if he really only wanted to do a film on violence in America he would have included all violent crime not just gun crime. Of course when you compare all crime in the US against places with gun control the US numbers aren't nearly as shocking. Violence will occur despite the means to how its committed. Americans are just lazy, reactionary and use a double standard when they judge things. Even Americans like myself are saddened by the way people act today. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
BobM.Aug 22, 2003
Dark comedy/ documentary. Don't take this movie too seriously folks. This movie takes the problem of gun violence in America and...well, makes a mountain out of a mole hill. Sensationalism is what it's all about. All in all Dark comedy/ documentary. Don't take this movie too seriously folks. This movie takes the problem of gun violence in America and...well, makes a mountain out of a mole hill. Sensationalism is what it's all about. All in all it's worth watching if your bored and that's about it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
KrissyHAug 22, 2003
I rate this movie with a one. It would have been a zero, but I do have to give credit for some of the humor. This movie is a disgrace to America. His facts are based on his point of views. If he hates America so much then maybe he I rate this movie with a one. It would have been a zero, but I do have to give credit for some of the humor. This movie is a disgrace to America. His facts are based on his point of views. If he hates America so much then maybe he shouldn't live here. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PaulaW.Aug 22, 2003
First of all, the grammar and spelling in most of the 0 reviews speak for themselves. It's too bad the talk-radio jerks who give these people their marching orders can't issue some decently written sample rants. The best thing First of all, the grammar and spelling in most of the 0 reviews speak for themselves. It's too bad the talk-radio jerks who give these people their marching orders can't issue some decently written sample rants. The best thing about Bowling for Columbine, what earned it the Oscar for Best Documentary, beyond the creativity with which the filmmakers explore the issue of guns and gun violence from every angle, is that it finds no easy answers. It looks at all the usual suspects and finds them lacking: our violent history (no more violent than Germany's), a high rate of gun ownership (no higher than Canada's), poverty (worse in a lot of countries), broken families (the divorce rate is higher in the UK), and so on. The opening scene, in which Michael Moore signs up for a bank account that comes with a free gun, had me cringing in fear of my least favorite Moore tactic: harrassing PR people and security guards at large corporations. But pointless confrontation is kept to a minimum, and one segment that had me worried, a showdown at Kmart headquarters, leads to an amazing payoff. Highlights: a mostly sympathetic segment with the Michigan Militia; some footage of the Columbine school shootings and their aftermath including an evil chest-pounding speech by Charlton Heston at a Denver gun-industry meeting (it's not Moore's fault if Heston looks and acts like an old vulture); a bunch of good montages; and a surprising interview with Marilyn Manson. Just the American history cartoon by the South Park guys alone is worth the price of your rental. Go watch it already. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
CatherineAug 20, 2003
One-sided and cruel to the people Moore interviews. Also, as far as the reviewer below stating how Pres. Bush is the biggest terrorist we have to fear - - please tell me what you're on! I would love to know! But seriously, Bush One-sided and cruel to the people Moore interviews. Also, as far as the reviewer below stating how Pres. Bush is the biggest terrorist we have to fear - - please tell me what you're on! I would love to know! But seriously, Bush doesn't put parents through plastic shredders in front of their children. Nuff said. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
AmyAug 20, 2003
Simply a man's quest for fame, money, and admiration through the exploitation of others. It's worse than most reality TV shows.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
ElliottAug 20, 2003
Hugely overrated. It is very poorly organized (see Village Voice review) and is less an informative documentary than one man's in-your-face opinion on gun obsession in America, told through a series of interviews with only people Hugely overrated. It is very poorly organized (see Village Voice review) and is less an informative documentary than one man's in-your-face opinion on gun obsession in America, told through a series of interviews with only people ignorant enough to make his point agreeable. It does contain many funny scenes, but really, how hard is it to poke fun at the completely ignorant??? Also, still can't believe this conquered Winged Migration at the Oscars. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
mrgAug 20, 2003
moore is fat, annoying bastard. yet his movie is great. this film was made by american FOR americans. people outside already know and experience the terror or "peaceful" big-brother just bombing whoever they dislike, ignoring social moore is fat, annoying bastard. yet his movie is great. this film was made by american FOR americans. people outside already know and experience the terror or "peaceful" big-brother just bombing whoever they dislike, ignoring social disadvantaged, small, poor, hungry, weak or living in poverty. afterwards you can always say: boooh! they had mass-destruction weapons, blah, blah, mickey mouse... but even moore does not know WHY all that guns and violence - the father of one of the victims answered his questions with another question. he thinks fear and selling fear is the cause (or tries to show it that way, so even SLOW people -an avarage dumb american gets the point). But it's far more simple: a gun makes a poor and weak feel strong, makes him forget that he'll be nothing for the rest of his life, ripping his a*s in some*-mart, living on a credit... just pool the trigger, you know the rest... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JoeW.Aug 19, 2003
I don't disagree with any of the points Moore has made in the film, but I seriously don't think he works as a journalist and as a spokesperson for the truth in America. He totally screwed up the grand centerpiece Heston interview I don't disagree with any of the points Moore has made in the film, but I seriously don't think he works as a journalist and as a spokesperson for the truth in America. He totally screwed up the grand centerpiece Heston interview by nagging him too much and irritating him. And the whole deal with Wal Mart and the kids who were shot...it was pointless and anticlimatic, and he seemed to do the whole event just for his own patriotic glorification. He also cast the illusion that he walked out the bank with a gun the same day he registered, which is wrong, in fact, there is a 1-2 week waiting period before you actually get a hold of the firearm. So that also discredits his idea of the handing out of guns at the bank dangerous in the first place. He's trying too hard to be a controversial and eye-opening spinster, and obviously he got rapt attention with this film because it portrayed the ills of a society to a generally mainstream audience as opposed to small-party conspirators that have been trying to do the same for years now. Too bad Moore's ugly mug and irritable personality doesn't make him effective when it comes to the issues that really matter, just like in the Heston interview, when he really could have let the international star dig himself into a huge hole. I admit, there was some good points in the film, such as the issue dealing with fear and the news media, but overall it just felt wrong and tried to arrest the viewer with startling (and incorrect) facts. Sorry Mike. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ColbyC.Aug 19, 2003
I've noticed a lot of people saying that Michael Moore is "un-American" for making this movie. In fact, he IS American for making this movie.....because only in America COULD he make it. I personally don't agree with his views, and I've noticed a lot of people saying that Michael Moore is "un-American" for making this movie. In fact, he IS American for making this movie.....because only in America COULD he make it. I personally don't agree with his views, and I think he's wrong on a lot of points.....but once again, because I'm an American I can say that. Watch the movie with a grain of salt, take his "arguments" at face value and judge for yourself. Once again, its everyone's right to not like this movie....but no one can deny that it makes you think..... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
TimothyF.Aug 12, 2003
I would first like to say that this movie is a discrace to the Awful Truth series which I enjoyed. The fact that anybody can produce a Documentary a film used for the sole purpose of convaing facts to the public, Moore produced a documentary I would first like to say that this movie is a discrace to the Awful Truth series which I enjoyed. The fact that anybody can produce a Documentary a film used for the sole purpose of convaing facts to the public, Moore produced a documentary containing nothing more then a bunch of lies strung togther with horrifing visuals. Being an Australian with my predjudices of American Society it was easy for me to be swallowed up in this sea of lies, because I believe from all the media coverage that Americans are gun toting maniacs. I'm sorly disappointed in Moore's attempt to distort the facts just for the chance to make a quick buck. Next time Moore's should try making a documentry with really facts not some predigested media BigMac. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarkP.Aug 12, 2003
I must say that the other reviews posted here are quite interesting. I'm an Australian and thoroughly enjoyed the documentary. I was totally in dismay at how gun-mad America really is. In Australia we are often baffled at how I must say that the other reviews posted here are quite interesting. I'm an Australian and thoroughly enjoyed the documentary. I was totally in dismay at how gun-mad America really is. In Australia we are often baffled at how America's solutions to its problems are "shoot first, ask questions later", and "Bowling for Columbine" highlighted our beliefs well. I think that those who are slandering Moore as unAmerican are the very people Moore is portraying in his movie. There is certainly a massive gun problem in American, and while the movie may have emphasized the point to the extreme, it gets the needed message across. My congratulations go to Moore for an excellent insight into the true America. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StevenG.Aug 10, 2003
Not a better movie...riviting..fact based!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JayG.Aug 7, 2003
Hey Mitchell K, why don't you actually SEE the movie instead of getting your marching orders from Rush, Hannity, Mann Coulter or whatever crazy ass monkey you listen to. Moore IS proud to be american, but he is ashamed of the violent Hey Mitchell K, why don't you actually SEE the movie instead of getting your marching orders from Rush, Hannity, Mann Coulter or whatever crazy ass monkey you listen to. Moore IS proud to be american, but he is ashamed of the violent fetish americans love to act out. Actually SEE the film and you'll be amazed as it is more about violence in america as opposed to gun totting idiots that you think it's about. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JonnyR.Jul 24, 2003
Sorry all you gun crazy people, the movie isnt full of lies as some would have you think. One part of the movie was not as importent as others so editing was used, but not in a negitive way, but to get his point across. This isnt meant toSorry all you gun crazy people, the movie isnt full of lies as some would have you think. One part of the movie was not as importent as others so editing was used, but not in a negitive way, but to get his point across. This isnt meant to appel to everyone, it is satire, obviously some people dont get that. Its very easy just to cover your ears and say everything in this movie is a lie, but that would be incorrect. However some are missing the whole point of the movie, it isnt anti gun or anti america, in fact it is pro america. I met Moore once, before I did he was speaking with an audience, not about how to hate america but that we should fix america, he really believes the country can be fixed and it should be. Most of the people that say this movie is terrible and full of lies are conservative, which is fine, but look at our president, he lied about weapons of mass destruction (which is worse then sex) and convinced a nation that war was nessecary. Back to the movie though, it takes a grim look at guns in our country as well as canida, showing how similar we are about guns and at the same time how different we act. This movie isnt ment to trick you into believe things, it's ment to get you to think, not to trust the media and get your mind out there. If you put all you energy into dissagreeing with the movie (and not just listening to some fake tell you what to think and I'm not talking about moore) then the film is doing its job of getting you to think. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MitchellK.Jun 24, 2003
Moore is a ... Liar....He used creative editing to make this abomination of a Movie to hold respectable gun owning Americans responsilbe for the acts of a few...He should have his oscar removed...he is an Unamerican and a non patriot who Moore is a ... Liar....He used creative editing to make this abomination of a Movie to hold respectable gun owning Americans responsilbe for the acts of a few...He should have his oscar removed...he is an Unamerican and a non patriot who makes up a story to suit his own means and predjudices...saying Charlton Heston and the NRA are the KKK is an Insult...Moore should be proud to be an American. Moore should get the Facts Strait before making such a movie...well just shows that any Idiot with a camera can make a movie. Do Not Watch This Movie...Its an Insult to not the NRA or the Federal Government and the Military...but it is an insult to yourselves. "0" is not only this movies rating but Moore's IQ as well. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MarkD.May 12, 2003
The below quote is taken from another review of this film. The person who wrote this is just the type of person Moore warns about in his work. Its more than against gun culture, it is against the people who are too short sighted to see past The below quote is taken from another review of this film. The person who wrote this is just the type of person Moore warns about in his work. Its more than against gun culture, it is against the people who are too short sighted to see past the biggest terrorist in the world in charge of their country. Superb film "It's sad to think that a poor movie as this won an academy award. I saw it and hated it. First, I thought the movie was very poorly produced and shortsighted. Second, how can some fat ass go up there and make such sickening comments about the war when I see so many American and British soldiers fighting so valiantly for a just cause: to liberate the world of tyranny. Let's consider that Bush never initiated the war. Sadaam Hussein is the master of deceit, a master of cruelty and murder. There's no limit to what this monster would do if given the capabilty. Thank God for a President to look beyond the present, to what will happen to the world if we sit around to let Saddam continue to build up his military aersonal. It's truly a shame we can't replace a our soldiers being held captive as POW's in exchange for a dumb ass like Moore." Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GrahamMay 10, 2003
Moore is a wonderful, warmhearted man, and he deserved that oscar. What he said at the speach was great!!!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BertoM.Apr 29, 2003
Are americans really like this?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MarkS.Apr 24, 2003
This is not the best documentary ever made, not by far. But it is two important things; entertaining and thought provoking. One thing that "Patriots" and "Anti-Americans" forget is the value of discussion. This movie provokes discussions This is not the best documentary ever made, not by far. But it is two important things; entertaining and thought provoking. One thing that "Patriots" and "Anti-Americans" forget is the value of discussion. This movie provokes discussions about not only gun ownership, but also violence in general and perhaps most importantly the dangers of a lazy, uncritical and unprofessional media. If people talked about the issues raised instead of just saying the movie is all true or all false the US would be much better off. I think that any true "Patriot" should thoughtfully debate the issues raised in the film, while not being hesitant to find out which parts of the movie are accurate and which are not. If people do this, the movie will truly be a success and maybe us Americans will recognize that people everywhere basically want the same things. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BradApr 24, 2003
Funny and True stuff.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RashidaM.Apr 18, 2003
The film is very insightful. It sheds light on places that American's would rarely allow themselves to see anything. It confronts racisim, viloence, and most importantly the fear that has caused such perils in this nation.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CassieBlancaApr 16, 2003
Excellent, fantastic, movie. Im not a big documentary fan (however, This is Spinal Tap and Best in Show are great) but this movie changed that. It's humerous, yet serious, a perfect combination. It is all true, and Michael Moore is a Excellent, fantastic, movie. Im not a big documentary fan (however, This is Spinal Tap and Best in Show are great) but this movie changed that. It's humerous, yet serious, a perfect combination. It is all true, and Michael Moore is a true genious. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DerwinC.Mar 30, 2003
Although some people accuse this movie of being "unbalanced", i think it's point is to get people to think instead of instantly react (which was an actual observation made in the movie), and to this, the movie worked superbly.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JustinT.Mar 28, 2003
I have not had the chance to see this movie however I would like to present some facts about the movie: http://www.hardylaw.net/Truth_About_Bowling.html http://www.moorewatch.com/comments.php?id=P201_0_1_0
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CarstenK.Mar 26, 2003
Best documentary i've ever seen. i don't think that it's against america or its soldiers. it's just a look at the mad situation, that every lunatic can possess as many weapons as he likes - which is not understandable forBest documentary i've ever seen. i don't think that it's against america or its soldiers. it's just a look at the mad situation, that every lunatic can possess as many weapons as he likes - which is not understandable for anyone living outside the US (like me). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
SteveM.Mar 24, 2003
It's sad to think that a poor movie as this won an academy award. I saw it and hated it. First, I thought the movie was very poorly produced and shortsighted. Second, how can some fat ass go up there and make such sickening comments It's sad to think that a poor movie as this won an academy award. I saw it and hated it. First, I thought the movie was very poorly produced and shortsighted. Second, how can some fat ass go up there and make such sickening comments about the war when I see so many American and British soldiers fighting so valiantly for a just cause: to liberate the world of tyranny. Let's consider that Bush never initiated the war. Sadaam Hussein is the master of deceit, a master of cruelty and murder. There's no limit to what this monster would do if given the capabilty. Thank God for a President to look beyond the present, to what will happen to the world if we sit around to let Saddam continue to build up his military aersonal. It's truly a shame we can't replace a our soldiers being held captive as POW's in exchange for a dumb ass like Moore. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RichardR.Mar 23, 2003
Terrific movie. Moore looked like a jackass at the Oscars (awesome dig, Steve Martin!), but in this country, jackasses are free to show themselves in any (legal) way they'd like. Again, the movie is excellent and eye-opening.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ErosW.Mar 10, 2003
It is very sad to think that there are so many people who judge this movie as anti-american, when in fact Michael Moore is a real patriot. Loving your country means being its harshest critic in order to improve it. Sticking a flag bumper It is very sad to think that there are so many people who judge this movie as anti-american, when in fact Michael Moore is a real patriot. Loving your country means being its harshest critic in order to improve it. Sticking a flag bumper sticker on your car doesn't make you a patriot... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AaronMar 4, 2003
It's very sad to think that there are so many anti-americans.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SamB.Mar 1, 2003
this film is excellent. michael moore's thought provoken clever second documentary should be recommended viewing for every one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JohnA.Feb 27, 2003
Moore is at his best when he's being ironic and at his worst when he's being self-righteous and confrontational. A thought-provoking film with basically no conclusions reached.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AGFeb 13, 2003
This movie is great. Very well done and thought out. Biased? A bit. Thought provoking? Most Certainly. Keep in mind that the movie is based on both fact and opinion. Micheal Moore doesn't necessarily tell you to believe what he believes This movie is great. Very well done and thought out. Biased? A bit. Thought provoking? Most Certainly. Keep in mind that the movie is based on both fact and opinion. Micheal Moore doesn't necessarily tell you to believe what he believes Although he does state his opinion, he also lays out the facts for you to figure out. Once again, it one of the best documentaries I've ever seen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattR.Feb 9, 2003
This film should be required viewing for all Americans. Unlike the previous reviewer, I believe that is PRECISELY because of the use of facts, sensibly woven into very emotional subject matter that it succeeds. Like a solid argument, Moore This film should be required viewing for all Americans. Unlike the previous reviewer, I believe that is PRECISELY because of the use of facts, sensibly woven into very emotional subject matter that it succeeds. Like a solid argument, Moore back up his theories with facts, more often than not startling or shocking. I appreciated the fact that it didn't devolve into a right vs. wrong debate, or pointed fingers off the bat. Well balanced, and easily the best film of the year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
SteveH.Jan 19, 2003
Vastly overrated. Has some interesting parts but overall comes off as incoherent propaganda. Virtually devoid of useful facts or logic - the movie relies on stirring emotions to manipulate and throws in a mishmash of issues but fails to tie Vastly overrated. Has some interesting parts but overall comes off as incoherent propaganda. Virtually devoid of useful facts or logic - the movie relies on stirring emotions to manipulate and throws in a mishmash of issues but fails to tie them together. Lazy and self-serving filmmaking. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DavidA.Dec 27, 2002
This movie has one flaw, and that it gilding Canada a bit too much. Other than that, however, Moore makes the most sense I've ever seen when tackling the American gun issue. That columbine scene, as well as where he leaves the picture This movie has one flaw, and that it gilding Canada a bit too much. Other than that, however, Moore makes the most sense I've ever seen when tackling the American gun issue. That columbine scene, as well as where he leaves the picture of girl on Heston's front porch...words don't do it justice. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MaartenvanR.Dec 23, 2002
A stunning and thought provoking film, displaying the effects of fear created by the profit seeking media madhouses of the USA. Moreover, it portrays accurately the many factors contributing to the "sickness" of american society.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DaveO.Dec 20, 2002
The best movie that no one will ever see!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JonahB.Dec 7, 2002
Michael Moore is on target for about 98% of the movie. The Marilyn Manson interview was an eye-opener, as was the Heston one (but for the wrong reasons). Overall, a very important movie that asks all the right questions in a tremendously Michael Moore is on target for about 98% of the movie. The Marilyn Manson interview was an eye-opener, as was the Heston one (but for the wrong reasons). Overall, a very important movie that asks all the right questions in a tremendously entertaining way. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RyanM.Nov 23, 2002
A documentary to end all documentaries. One of the best movies of the year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful