User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 516 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 40 out of 516

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 16, 2012
    3
    Plot wise it is hard to believe it is a pixar movie. The story is flat and boring. While, other Pixar movies such as Up, Finding Nemo, Monsters Inc., and so many others were instant classics that anyone no matter their age could enjoy, this was a 1 character story that could be explained in 10 seconds. I get what they were trying to do by having a female princess who was tough andPlot wise it is hard to believe it is a pixar movie. The story is flat and boring. While, other Pixar movies such as Up, Finding Nemo, Monsters Inc., and so many others were instant classics that anyone no matter their age could enjoy, this was a 1 character story that could be explained in 10 seconds. I get what they were trying to do by having a female princess who was tough and tomboyish but it felt like that was all the movie was and that simply isn't enough for it to be a great movie. Pixar isn't the only studio in town anymore, with rivals making masterpieces such as Rio and Bee Movie. I hope that this is only a 1 time hit and miss from Pixar because it would be a shame if this is when they start going downhill. Expand
  2. Nov 15, 2012
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This time, it's Kelly Macdonald's turn to be the princess, the future queen of Scotland. As Merida, she gets to be brave, but brave how? In Elizabeth, Macdonald plays Isabel Knollys, one of the then-princess' girlfriends, first glimpsed in a meadow, where she climbs off a horse and joins the idling others, who stop their dancing in order to greet the future queen's rival. Elizabeth, meanwhile, undulates alone, pretending not to notice the male presence. Whereas Merida grabs the reigns of her own horse, Isabel needs a man to do the riding, Elizabeth's man, the Earl of Leicester, who would later marry the lesser wench, while "The Virgin Queen", a Protestant, was busy antagonizing the Catholics. Unlike Elizabeth, the reluctant princess' formative years is distinguished by the obfuscation of a love interest and friends, both male, and more pointedly, female. It's a filmic calibration, calculatedly so. Instead of a true love, a man without the pedigree to marry a princess, Merida has a bow; no beau at all, no analog to Elizabeth's earl. Brave, despite its comic tempering, can't quite obscure the fact that Merida hatches a murder plot against the queen. Elinor, due to her interpellation into a patriarchal structure, turns a deaf ear to Merida's plea that she "just listen". The mother is too preoccupied with her daughter's betrothal, thereby circumventing an open dialogue about the redhead's lesbianism. At the outset of Brave, a transfiguration is suggested, when Merida, as a wee lass, encounters a will-o'-the-wisp while retrieving an errant arrow. According to lore, this floating body of blue light is reputed to drive people off safe paths. Metaphorically speaking, as life journeys go, heterosexuality, for a princess and future queen, would seem to be a less complicated road. Marry, and live happily ever after. Merida, however, is no storybook princess. At the archery contest, she declares, "I'll be shooting for my own hand," and afterwards, in the castle, the proto-feminist ranting persists, as the victorious princess, proud of her performative emancipation, tells Elinor, "I'm not going to be like you," before charging off into the woods on her horse. By perchance, the will-o'-the-wisp returns, finding the lost girl at her most vulnerable. Intuiting what Merida wants, the spirit leads the princess to a witch, who then concocts an elixir, a cake, with the power to "change" the queen(into a corpse?). As Elinor writhes and spasms, her daughter sits bedside, oblivious to the potentiality of her mother's death. The girl's overriding concern is that the queen should remand her impending nuptials. She tries to coax some last words out of the queen before the poison takes effect. But unexpectedly, Elinor turns into a bear, causing Merida to remark, "The witch must have given me a gamy spell." These seemingly benevolent words are double-edged, treacherous words that the audience, who presumes the heroine to be good, will vault past, never once entertaining the notion that the tainted cake was meant to kill. After all, it's a children's film. Scan the castle interiors; scan the crowd at the playing field for a girl, a peasant, perhaps, a secret lover who has to escape detection from the parental royals.The cake, and the violence which proceeds its consumption by a matriarchal figure, recalls Heavenly Creatures, when Pauline tells her mother to take the last pastry, to "treat yourself", just before the girls murder Honora Parker. With mom out of the way, Paulie thinks her fate is changed; she and Juliet(first seen dressed as a princess) can now be together. "She doesn't seem to "bear" us any grudge," Juliet says, as the torrid lovers make their last-minute preparations. Neither does Elinor, who adjusts to her new form in record time. That's because she's one, too: a lesbian. While searching for the sprite, Merida lets loose a Freudian slip of sorts, shouting, "Fine, don't come out while my mom is watching." She knows, though; the father, too, about them both. Later, back at the castle, the king tells Merida, "Just like your mom, you devil." He knows that the bear is his wife; he believes Merida. Only as a beast, a monster, can he justifiably kill his gay queen. "Don't let her out!" the king barks out at the housekeeper, or else he'll have to kill Merida, too, bear or not. Brave, in essence, is Mulan with kilts. Even more sexually confused than her Scottish counterpart, only in drag, as Ping, can Mulan love Li Shang. She too is leery about marriage. "When will my reflection show, who I am inside," the cross-dresser sings. Subconsciously, she purposefully sets the matchmaker on fire. But alas, to be a dutiful daughter, Mulan will marry the handsome captain, and please her tradition-bound parents. Merida, however, has other ideas. Like Joan, who passes on sailing to Kiloran in "I Know Where I'm Going", Merida, too, stays on dry land for love. Expand
  3. Nov 9, 2012
    7
    Brave was another good Pixar animation film. Although, it had a very predictable ending. Other than that, it had a good storyline on the twists and turns.
  4. Nov 4, 2012
    5
    Unfortunately, Brave is too thinly plotted to be on the level of animated films like "Up" and "Toy Story 3". Sure, Cars 2 may not have the charm of previous pixar shows, but at least the plot knew where it was going. Brave is a risk that doesn't pay off because Merida doesn't get the narrative she deserves. Merida is a great character, but she deserves more than this.
  5. Nov 4, 2012
    7
    it's disappointing that the film often times resorts to physical humor, but this is still Pixar. Animation is superb; the soundtrack outstanding; and the story, even though not taking any risks aside from a cool twist, is heartfelt.
  6. Oct 2, 2012
    7
    This film which is animated is set in the olden times of Scotland, gives us a glimpse of what Disney/Pixar think about the old days, it
  7. Sep 20, 2012
    9
    Brave is an odd one from Pixar, they have never made a movie quite like this one before. Which is strange as it is really rather traditional, but seeing as Pixar has never done traditional before it makes "Brave" really stand out. Due to this fact it is hard to rank Brave up along with the rest of Pixar's films, as it is just too different. Now, the film strongly reminds me of "How ToBrave is an odd one from Pixar, they have never made a movie quite like this one before. Which is strange as it is really rather traditional, but seeing as Pixar has never done traditional before it makes "Brave" really stand out. Due to this fact it is hard to rank Brave up along with the rest of Pixar's films, as it is just too different. Now, the film strongly reminds me of "How To Train Your Dragon", which is no bad thing, but the humour is much more in the veins of the "Aardman cartoons" in its style. Without giving anything away, Brave is about a girl and her mum, learning to love each other: another classic storyline. As per usual in Pixar films Brave's voice acting is top of the line, offering the best of Scottish talent in great and finely tuned characters. There is one problem really, we didn't really get enough time with many of the characters which is a bit of a wasted opportunity as they are all fantastic and many of them provide the comedy throughout the film (like one of the other tribe's son's voice is impossible to comprehend, a very funny recurring joke, as no one else in the film can understand him either). All in all I don't think it's one of Pixar's best, but it does oddly stand out if you know about Pixar films, it is a little too short however, which is a shame as an extra 15 minutes would have worked wonders. 87/100. Expand
  8. Sep 12, 2012
    6
    Brave is visually lush but lacks the spark that an Animated film needs to stand out. It's also quite run of the mill and wouldn't feel out of place as an eighties disney movie. Its not terrible by any stretch but while Pixar has a strong history of Kids movies that are just as enjoyable for adults, Brave is best left to the kids (and nothing wrong with that)
  9. Sep 11, 2012
    7
    The storytelling was not as solid as other Pixar films, but I found myself enjoying it anyway. Still as humorous as the others, quite emotional, and exceptional acting. If this was created by Dreamworks, it would probably be one of their best features. However, this is Pixar, and their standards are much higher. But I think we're lucky we don't have to see Brave 4.
  10. Sep 7, 2012
    3
    BRAVE is nothing short of an EPIC FAIL.
    I gotta give it to Pixar: even when they screw up, they do it big time. There is no saving this movie, and I have a hard time understanding all the good comments when it's so evident it misses all but the most important spots. Though visually impressive, I've hated it in a way I never expected, even more so because I've loved most of the previous
    BRAVE is nothing short of an EPIC FAIL.
    I gotta give it to Pixar: even when they screw up, they do it big time. There is no saving this movie, and I have a hard time understanding all the good comments when it's so evident it misses all but the most important spots. Though visually impressive, I've hated it in a way I never expected, even more so because I've loved most of the previous Pixar movies, and respected those I didn't. Why? Because time and again, Pixar has always managed to impress me not just with its technical excellency, but most of all with the profound originality of its plots, the charisma of its characters and the beautifully detailed and rich atmosphere of its movies. There is nothing of that here! The characters are completely flat, unbelievable cliches, and Merida itself is the worst of them all, I've stopped tolerating her after like 5 minutes. The movie, more or less, manages to hold itself together in the first part, but it literally commits suicide in the first ten minutes of the second part and from that moment it's a long and painful downfall to the worst Disney story templates. When the script should capitalize on dramatic moments, it trips over itself with several sequences of bad comedy which, other than not funny, are downright irritating. The villain is virtually non-existent and the whole point of the story resolves in a pesky, predictable mother-daughter relationship renewal. The movie also suffers a lot from the celtic atmosphere remaining largely unexploited. Long story short: weak story, nonexistent characters and predictable outcome made this movie a miserable product way under the expectations. It could have been a great movie if only it had been developed more seriously.
    Expand
  11. Sep 6, 2012
    10
    Disney and Pixar do not deny ever and lead us in our cinemas Brave. Meanwhile, the film manages to give us a vision of the crazy Scottish landscapes with stunning graphics and tells a simple story but what about the family and its importance and how important is the dialogue between different generations.
  12. Aug 16, 2012
    5
    I enjoy watching Pixar movies with my kids - they're original, appealing to adults and kids alike, and above all fun. I just didn't get this one, I found myself bored mostly, which was a big of a surprise, though it would've been far more of one if I hadn't read some reviews beforehand. IMO, compared to How to train your Dragon, this is a distant second. When you actually compare theI enjoy watching Pixar movies with my kids - they're original, appealing to adults and kids alike, and above all fun. I just didn't get this one, I found myself bored mostly, which was a big of a surprise, though it would've been far more of one if I hadn't read some reviews beforehand. IMO, compared to How to train your Dragon, this is a distant second. When you actually compare the characters of those two movies, it's genuinely a shock to find Pixar being the one to roll out such one-dimensional, shallow characters. In How/Dragon the characters have far more depth and like-ability. Expand
  13. Aug 15, 2012
    8
    After a dissapointing Cars 2 from Pixar, I hoped Brave would make it up, and it kinda did. The story is simple and not the best thing of this movie. The characters are superb, there is like this girl named Marida who is in my eyes a badass. Than you have his dad who is like a cool dad, and than you have also other characters who are very nice. The animations are very beautiful with so manyAfter a dissapointing Cars 2 from Pixar, I hoped Brave would make it up, and it kinda did. The story is simple and not the best thing of this movie. The characters are superb, there is like this girl named Marida who is in my eyes a badass. Than you have his dad who is like a cool dad, and than you have also other characters who are very nice. The animations are very beautiful with so many details. But some thing aren't very good: there isn't very much bow and arrow, especially in the second half of the movie, the worst part and the ending is meh. The movie is good but not as you would expect from a Pixar movie. Expand
  14. Aug 12, 2012
    8
    Dosen't have the heart of the usual Pixar films, but it does deliver on entertainment and laughter.
    Dosen't have the heart of the usual Pixar films, but it does deliver on entertainment and laughter.
  15. Aug 10, 2012
    8
    Not on par with your typical Pixar fare, but this is still incredibly well-animated and affecting as an interesting folklore. Also, the development of new animation technology to add 3D layers to the characters should be noted.
  16. Aug 10, 2012
    8
    After watching this movie in 3D, I said to myself what a great movie that I saw. Brave provide a great style of Pixar that can be watchable by everyone including adults and children. It's the best animation movie that I have seen this year and it will be nominated for Oscar for sure.
  17. Aug 8, 2012
    6
    Let's keep this review nice and simple. It is a delightful film about the importance of family, but with a very simple plot line. There really wasn't any protagonist to cause any conflict that really kept me absorbed. It is a nice movie with a predictable ending; nothing more.
  18. Aug 5, 2012
    6
    Brave isn't a typical Pixar film, in fact it plays more like a Disney Animation with its traditional storyline and tales of morality. I will go further to say that this approach, along with its fairy tale-like setting, felt like something from a Brothers Grimm collection. Its not as inventive as most of the other pixar films, but the well told story, positive message and the heartfeltBrave isn't a typical Pixar film, in fact it plays more like a Disney Animation with its traditional storyline and tales of morality. I will go further to say that this approach, along with its fairy tale-like setting, felt like something from a Brothers Grimm collection. Its not as inventive as most of the other pixar films, but the well told story, positive message and the heartfelt climax almost compensates. Its filled with wild bursts energy and is never short on humor, thanks to the striking action pieces and beautifully animated characters. Brave boasts a great sound palette and mix, and fantastic voice acting from a primarily Scottish cast. I yearned for more creative ambition in this film, but it was good none the less, and never short on depth. In the end it is not Pixars finest efforts, but it certainly wasn't there worse. Expand
  19. Aug 1, 2012
    9
    My honest rating for this movie is an 8.5. I give it a 9 only because I think an 8 is too low. While this movie had some issues, it was for the most part entertaining to watch. Pixar's visuals are always outstanding, and the music and voice acting paired very well with the visual scenes. A strong female lead impressed me as the script departed from the traditional cookie-cutterMy honest rating for this movie is an 8.5. I give it a 9 only because I think an 8 is too low. While this movie had some issues, it was for the most part entertaining to watch. Pixar's visuals are always outstanding, and the music and voice acting paired very well with the visual scenes. A strong female lead impressed me as the script departed from the traditional cookie-cutter princess role. Overall, an enjoyable movie with a good message, good morals, and wonderful audio and visuals. Expand
  20. Jul 31, 2012
    5
    Brave is one of Pixar's best looking movies but overall one of their weakest. Always to goofy and never as emotionally investing as could have been, and with Pixar, it should have been.
  21. Jul 29, 2012
    8
    I remember when Pixar creating good movies, Toy Story, Monsters Inc, The Incredibles, Up, Ratatouille, Wall*e. The last year we watch Cars 2, the ill-fated sequel of Cars. Now they try return with Brave... This new movie is really interesting in some parts but have some things wich appear more of a Disney movie, but the movie is really good. The trama is about Merida (the girl who looksI remember when Pixar creating good movies, Toy Story, Monsters Inc, The Incredibles, Up, Ratatouille, Wall*e. The last year we watch Cars 2, the ill-fated sequel of Cars. Now they try return with Brave... This new movie is really interesting in some parts but have some things wich appear more of a Disney movie, but the movie is really good. The trama is about Merida (the girl who looks like Shaun White) a girl who wan't reign, after she transforms her mother into a bear (yes like in Brother Bear), but the people of the kingdom hate the bears and her father try kill her mom, and appear a really bad bear and he was a man. Ok the trama it's same that the Bear Brother trama, but the development is funny and emotive, the animation is really excellent. The characters are amazing have cool moments along the movie. Brave obviusly is not the best Pixar movie, but is better than Cars 2, and with this demostrate that they can return to the throne. Expand
  22. Jul 28, 2012
    6
    I thought 'Brave was an okay movie, but it was not as good as 'Up' or 'Toy Story' or several other Pixar films. One of the flaws (which can also be seen as a positive - I'll explain later) is that there is no clearly defined villain. As with a lot of other Disney/Pixar films, the memorable villains often end up stealing the show. The lack of one in 'Brave' really hurts the already kind ofI thought 'Brave was an okay movie, but it was not as good as 'Up' or 'Toy Story' or several other Pixar films. One of the flaws (which can also be seen as a positive - I'll explain later) is that there is no clearly defined villain. As with a lot of other Disney/Pixar films, the memorable villains often end up stealing the show. The lack of one in 'Brave' really hurts the already kind of boring main story. That is the other flaw of 'Brave'...the story. To be simple, it's boring. However, 'Brave' does have some good things going for it. Where the film really excelled was in it's breaking from tradition. I really appreciated that the main character was female and that she did not fill any of the typical 'female hero' molds. She was not overly tough or overly 'girly', she was a normal human being. As mentioned before, there also really isn't a clearly defined antagonist. This can also be seen as a positive. Every character has a good and a bad side and 'Brave' does a great job in recognizing that. To sum it all up, this is not Pixar's best, but if you have a daughter I would highly suggest taking her to see it. Other than that, the film's opening short 'La Luna' was the highlight for me. Expand
  23. Jul 23, 2012
    7
    Pixar is one of my most beloved studios in the movie industry. They have created the most memorable animated movies ever. So its fair to say that Brave, Pixar's latest, had a good wealth of expectation given the brilliant record of great movies the studio has produced. The movie had a lot to live up to, and sadly it doesnt quite get there, but nevertheless it ends up being irresistiblyPixar is one of my most beloved studios in the movie industry. They have created the most memorable animated movies ever. So its fair to say that Brave, Pixar's latest, had a good wealth of expectation given the brilliant record of great movies the studio has produced. The movie had a lot to live up to, and sadly it doesnt quite get there, but nevertheless it ends up being irresistibly charming. The reason I believe Brave doesnt quite capture the essence of the other Pixar movies like Up or Nemo, relies on the fact that its story develops mostly on the same place. There seems to be a lack of progression that other Pixar movies seem to develop with such mastery, a sense of discovery. Still, as already expressed, Brave is a very nice movie to see. Its story, while simple, is told with class and mastery. Its visuals are some of the best the studio has ever produced too. Its funny, its interesting and overall it is a worthwhile movie to watch. Certainly better than Ice Age 4 or Madagascar 3! Expand
  24. Jul 22, 2012
    8
    I absolutely loved this movie. Its one of my favorite Pixar movies and my second favorite movie of the summer (Sorry but The Avengers still reigns supreme). The animation is absolutely amazing and don't even get me started on how gorgeous the animation for Merida's hair is. Don't even bother with the ridiculously lukewarm reviews that the critics have been giving this movie. Go see Brave ASAP!
  25. Jul 17, 2012
    5
    Brave is a very strange movie!! It takes off straight out the gate, then introduces its story, throws in way too much slapstick and then its all over. I sat thinking...'what just happened'. The story is very weak and the whole premise is ridiculous!!Pixar seems to have gotten lazier as there waists have gotten bigger. Dont get me wrong, its amazingly beautiful and the cgi is incredible,Brave is a very strange movie!! It takes off straight out the gate, then introduces its story, throws in way too much slapstick and then its all over. I sat thinking...'what just happened'. The story is very weak and the whole premise is ridiculous!!Pixar seems to have gotten lazier as there waists have gotten bigger. Dont get me wrong, its amazingly beautiful and the cgi is incredible, but the story is boring and could have been told by any other studio!! Maybe Pixars magic couldnt last forever...its a pity but was great while it lasted!! Expand
  26. Jul 17, 2012
    10
    This is so far the only movie I have ever been motivated to write a review for, it was a story that I totally got into and lost myself. Seeing the daughter and mother work through their two different life views in this magical world was totally exhilarating. Their transformation both literal, and figurative spreads freedom and the ability to define ones own destiny throughout theirThis is so far the only movie I have ever been motivated to write a review for, it was a story that I totally got into and lost myself. Seeing the daughter and mother work through their two different life views in this magical world was totally exhilarating. Their transformation both literal, and figurative spreads freedom and the ability to define ones own destiny throughout their kingdom. Every young girl should see this movie, if only to realize that the inner strength she holds within is best used when selfishness and petty fears are pushed aside. Expand
  27. Jul 14, 2012
    10
    It was a great movie! This movie has a great levek of depth and magic. It is simply beautiful. There was great humour, intresting characters and most important of all showed great values of family, friendship and self belief. This movie reminds you of those simple things in lifethat make us who we are and sometimes we take forgranted. Its a perfect movie. I highly reccommend it! This movieIt was a great movie! This movie has a great levek of depth and magic. It is simply beautiful. There was great humour, intresting characters and most important of all showed great values of family, friendship and self belief. This movie reminds you of those simple things in lifethat make us who we are and sometimes we take forgranted. Its a perfect movie. I highly reccommend it! This movie deserves greater reviews and scores. Expand
  28. Jul 13, 2012
    6
    Brave is the new Pixar movie and unlike others as Toy Story, Monsters Inc., or Up; it did not surprise me very much, the story and characters are repeated. The original thing is the protagonist, the first female leading character of Pixar movies and it is also noticeable that the main conflict is the relationship with the mother. This is like our actual society, in which woman can fightBrave is the new Pixar movie and unlike others as Toy Story, Monsters Inc., or Up; it did not surprise me very much, the story and characters are repeated. The original thing is the protagonist, the first female leading character of Pixar movies and it is also noticeable that the main conflict is the relationship with the mother. This is like our actual society, in which woman can fight for their rights, speak up for what they want, decide which path to follow, live well without a husband and be able to raise a family on their own.
    Another interesting thing about this film is the title and the ironic situation that hides, because Merida is brave, she fights with weapons, climbs cliffs and waterfalls and fights against wild animals. Although in order to change from girl to woman, she must be brave, but of another kind, which means brave to take her own decisions knowing and accepting the consequences, to honor the will of her parents and to ensure the good of her people.
    The problem in the plot is the relationship with the mother, which occurs because nor Merida or Elinor listen to what the other have to say. The queen does not trust the ability of her daughter and Merida is blind by her stubbornness. So Merida must change the fate, look inside, mend the bond torn by pride.
    Finally, the images of Brave are amazing, the characters, the landscapes, the animals and especially the hair of Merida which is astonishing, totally worth the creation of a new software.
    Expand
  29. Jul 13, 2012
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. There is an agenda to this movie that I would keep in mind if you decide to attend this movie and If you want to promote it than spend your money on it. the agenda is one of self centered behavior being acceptable and what ever you want to do to promote your own behavior, what ever that is including disrespect of others it is O K. The "heroine" is one of the most rebellious and self centered animated individuals I have ever had the pleasure of watching. In this "Its all about me" styled of movie this agenda most probably fits in, on the other hand if you wish to keep your kids from believing that is is all about them and their disrespect of your authority as a parent is O K t as well as the disrespect of others it is not a movie for your family. The tradition of mate selection represented in this movie is obviously out dated but the rebellious spirit this movie represents is not. . I do not very often think poorly of Pixar movies but this one of them. I must say the animation is well done, it is to bad the story line and the general theme is not. I thought is would be something different than what is was. Expand
  30. Jul 12, 2012
    7
    Good, but not as good as other Disney/ Pixar collaborations. It ranks above Cars 2, but it's just about the bottom from there. With movies like Wall-E to live up to, that fact is not surprising. I'd say it's one of the greatest animated movies of the year however. The main character is spunky and fun to watch. As are the rest of the family. In fact, most of the characters were interesting.Good, but not as good as other Disney/ Pixar collaborations. It ranks above Cars 2, but it's just about the bottom from there. With movies like Wall-E to live up to, that fact is not surprising. I'd say it's one of the greatest animated movies of the year however. The main character is spunky and fun to watch. As are the rest of the family. In fact, most of the characters were interesting. It had a few really good laughs and chuckles throughout. If you have seen the trailers, do not be fooled. It is not really an adventure across the land as advertised. the commercials did a terrible job of showing this movie. their are no hints as to the plot. which in some ways is good, but many would be surprised as to the plot. Interesting, but not the best. That is why I gave it a 7. Expand
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Reviewed by: Ian Nathan
    Aug 12, 2012
    80
    No less lovely than former films, in many ways lovelier, but Brave is boutique Pixar: less ambitious, more succinct, excellence at a lower ebb.
  2. Reviewed by: Ben Child
    Jun 25, 2012
    80
    For the animation studio's debut foray into fairytale, Pixar has delivered a rousing family melodrama.
  3. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Jun 25, 2012
    85
    My heart belongs to Bear Elinor, whose movements and mannerisms are a tender echo of Human Elinor's – her character is designed and drawn just that carefully.