Universal Pictures | Release Date: February 16, 2007
7.2
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 70 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
50
Mixed:
17
Negative:
3
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
ShschFeb 26, 2007
If you have the expectation that a spy movie must be an action thriller with blood and fists, then you might as well miss this film. What you have here is a well-acted study of character and psychology. The main story line shows how, as If you have the expectation that a spy movie must be an action thriller with blood and fists, then you might as well miss this film. What you have here is a well-acted study of character and psychology. The main story line shows how, as trust grows, even the best deceiver leaves his ego open to deception. At the same time, the plot reveals just how difficult it must be to remain normal and have a normal life in the world of intelligence, a central theme of the recent movie The Good Shepherd as well. I think the actors are quite convincing and the movie accomplishes its goals. And there is even quite a bit of suspense although it's not of the "who's going to get shot or blown up next" variety. My only disappointment is an elevator scene at the end which I think really adds little and seems more to be added as an afterthought. I highly recommend this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SarahG.Feb 19, 2007
Chris Cooper delivers a performance like nobody has ever seen. One of the best acting performances of all time. In every important way, Breach isn't just a solid thriller; it's also an ambitious and engrossing piece of narrative Chris Cooper delivers a performance like nobody has ever seen. One of the best acting performances of all time. In every important way, Breach isn't just a solid thriller; it's also an ambitious and engrossing piece of narrative journalism. That it's based on a true spying case seems almost incidental. The heart of the picture is the human drama. Without Cooper's performance, Breach would have been a good, workmanlike thriller. His presence lifts it to a whole new level. The movie is serious, intelligent, intentionally claustrophobic and awfully somber -- you remember it in black and white, though it was shot (by the masterful Tak Fujimoto) in color. But you'll remember Mr. Cooper's performance for exactly what it is, an uncompromising study in the gradual decay of a soul. As the New York Times put it "One of the strengths of Breach, a thriller that manages to excite and unnerve despite our knowing the ending, is how well it captures the utter banality of this man and his world." Chris Cooper is truly amazing. In this film, everything comes down to the acting. Chris Cooper, one of our finest screen actors, gets inside the mysterious traitor. Ryan Phillippe has just the right gung-ho determination tempered with a touch of naivete as O'Neill. Meanwhile, Laura Linney nails the role of a career agent. Breach is A wonderfully taut cat-and-mouse thriller. As The Village Voice put it "This is a spy movie bereft of the genre's usual, casual kicks. It's not interested in cheap thrills or playing gotcha with the audience. (Which isn't to say parts of it aren't exhilarating.)" Cooper also pulls off the near-impossible, making us feel dashes of sympathy for this twisted and unscrupulous man. The movie is all Cooper, and he sure as hell delivers. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ShryllMar 26, 2007
Despite an often over-produced soundtrack by Mychael Denna and an unpromising first 5 minutes,
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KevinR.Mar 8, 2007
A high quality thriller that uses tension rather than gagdetry and action to tell the tale of an incredible, disturbing true story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
GaborA.Jun 20, 2007
One of those thrill free thrillers, and unfortunately the drama though superbly acted cannot make up for it. The script makes very little happen but what saves this movie is a couple of scenes that are written, acted, and filmed unbelievably One of those thrill free thrillers, and unfortunately the drama though superbly acted cannot make up for it. The script makes very little happen but what saves this movie is a couple of scenes that are written, acted, and filmed unbelievably well. The most notable of which is the last two minutes of the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DaveFJul 1, 2007
Fabulous nail-biter.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JoshuaS.Jun 27, 2009
This movie is horrendous. They tell the most boring part of the story, the acting is TV melodrama grade, and the script is unintentionally hilarious. I am genuinely shocked that so many critics liked this movie! I tried so hard to be on This movie is horrendous. They tell the most boring part of the story, the acting is TV melodrama grade, and the script is unintentionally hilarious. I am genuinely shocked that so many critics liked this movie! I tried so hard to be on board the first 20 minutes, but I could not stop myself from laughing. Cooper over acts, Linney phones it in and Phillepe and his wife are soooooooooo bad. Seriously, what movie are you people watching? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JerryB.Mar 12, 2007
Our local (DC) movie ctitic (AC) who rarely is wrong (IMHO) gave this 4 stars. I decided to go see for myself, and give it a 9. The main appeal is the plot and central character- they're both real and not invented. Could have been a bit Our local (DC) movie ctitic (AC) who rarely is wrong (IMHO) gave this 4 stars. I decided to go see for myself, and give it a 9. The main appeal is the plot and central character- they're both real and not invented. Could have been a bit longer in developing the reasons why the central character did what he did, I subrtracted 1 point for that, otherwise it's worth the $ and time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BBApr 7, 2007
Cooper was fantastic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TonyB.Aug 7, 2007
Far superior to "The Good Shepherd," to which it has been compared, "Breach" is one of 2007's best films. It is extremely well written, acted, directed, edited and photographed. With all due respect to Chris Cooper, who has become one Far superior to "The Good Shepherd," to which it has been compared, "Breach" is one of 2007's best films. It is extremely well written, acted, directed, edited and photographed. With all due respect to Chris Cooper, who has become one of the critics' darlings, let's not forget the excellent work done here by Laura Linney and Ryan Phillippe. She is as capable as ever, and he is one of our more underrated actors. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
BillV.Jul 10, 2009
A little more study of evil would have made it work better. Fairly intense even though you know the end at the beginning.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JoyceC.Nov 19, 2007
Breach was suppose to be a gripping and heartwarming film like The Shawshank, but on the other hand, Billy Ray captures nobody in the audience from what I saw. Everyone was just cracking their heads, or slowly yawning, and most of the time Breach was suppose to be a gripping and heartwarming film like The Shawshank, but on the other hand, Billy Ray captures nobody in the audience from what I saw. Everyone was just cracking their heads, or slowly yawning, and most of the time people kept on looking at their cell phones to see what time it was. I was extremely anxious fro this film to be over with. Since the trailer looked so amazing and definitely a film to go see. I couldn't wait to see it. At first you really enjoy the script and the storyline as it impatiently moves along. And then you read all these wonderful reviews commented how good Chris Cooper did, which he did all right in his easy role. The first time you see it, you must see it in the theatres and that's when you'll say it was a great movie. Then I couldn't wait for it to come out, because its one of those films that at first you think its okay. But then you read all these dazzling reviews with a metascore of 74, then after a couple of weeks, you start agreeing with the critics. That's when you can't wait for it to come out. But when it came out, I gathered all the family members for a movie night to watch Breach. because at that time I thought it was brilliantly breathtaking. After the film starts, your smile turns into a yawn and all those wonderful actors playing in the film just threw their faces in a toilet and flushed it away. It was weak. The best and only part was when Eric didn't know which pocket his thingamabob went in. That was pretty thrilling. But the film just didn't capture me. The movie makes you so anxious for it to end and when it finally does, you'd rate it a high six or a low seven. But after I started reading some reviews again after a week, I thought of it differently. I thought it was a really good movie. The reason why I rated it a 5 is because I thought back of how weak and dull the film was, I just said you know what, I'm gonna give it a 5 and be done with it because when you read the reviews, you think its good, but when you watch it, its really unentertaining. I prayed for something to happen the first time I watched it but what I think was that Billy Ray was loosing time so he just quickly got it over with and arrested the damn boss. Just watch it once and never again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BlancoA.Feb 16, 2007
It's really a great little film. Chris Cooper is definitely oscar-worthy in his performance of the high level traitor. Even Ryan F. gives an excellent performance. The one weak link in the film, to my surprise, is Caroline Dhavernas who It's really a great little film. Chris Cooper is definitely oscar-worthy in his performance of the high level traitor. Even Ryan F. gives an excellent performance. The one weak link in the film, to my surprise, is Caroline Dhavernas who was so damned funny in TV's "Wonderfalls." She just accepts her situation without much resistance, when I think an FBI wife might put up more of struggle. Anyway, if you're up for 2 hours of modern espionage, you'll go for this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
[Anonymous]Feb 16, 2007
Over rated. Too much of it isn't believable. Not a bad movie, just over rated by the critics. Its a 50 out of 100, not a 70.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
TomD.Feb 17, 2007
Movie was pretty uneventful, starts off slow and never really picks up any speed. No real suspense, drama or thrills. Besides Chris Coopers performance there is little else to get excited about in this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ColinFeb 18, 2007
It was decent, not great. to the person below complaining about seeing the boom in various shots, that was an issue with your movie theater, not the film. almost all films have shots with visible microphones, but theaters are supposed to It was decent, not great. to the person below complaining about seeing the boom in various shots, that was an issue with your movie theater, not the film. almost all films have shots with visible microphones, but theaters are supposed to place a mask on the projector to crop the image. next time you see that, i suggest you complain to the theater manager, not the filmmakers Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JeffH.Feb 22, 2007
Wonderful acting by both leads and an exciting script.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ReidFishmanFeb 24, 2007
A decent psychological spy film that suffers from slow pacing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JamesB.Feb 25, 2007
Well acted, excellent cast. They are wasted in a painfully slow movie with a thin plot (It's a true story-maybe that's the problem). Wait for the DVD.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
NicholasB.Mar 16, 2007
If you have seen the trailer for this, don't bother to see the movie. Chris Cooper is amazing, but the movie is transparent front to back. If someone can explain the reason for the character's sex tape, I'm waiting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
RodneyM.Mar 23, 2007
This movie almost made me sleep. The only "exciting" part was when the main character put the pda in the wrong pocket. Half the info about the case is still classified and they tried to make a movie about it?! I give it a 2, just because This movie almost made me sleep. The only "exciting" part was when the main character put the pda in the wrong pocket. Half the info about the case is still classified and they tried to make a movie about it?! I give it a 2, just because they tried, and it could've been better. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KenG.Mar 28, 2007
Just a very solid job all around.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MichaelB.Jun 13, 2007
More interesting than entertaining, Breach attempts (for the second time) to recreate the Robert Hanssen affair. I really enjoyed this movie. Like some of the other reviewers mentioned, the acting is superb. However, Breach is all story and More interesting than entertaining, Breach attempts (for the second time) to recreate the Robert Hanssen affair. I really enjoyed this movie. Like some of the other reviewers mentioned, the acting is superb. However, Breach is all story and no action, so I can see why some people might find this boring. While it's no The Good Shepherd, it is definitely worth seeing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
MarkM.Jun 18, 2007
Chris Cooper is wasted in this movie, a fascinating real-life tale which relegates his character, Hansen, the FBI traitor, to a supporting role. The wooden Ryan Phillipe, a fresh-faced pretty boy protagonist, just doesn't have the chops Chris Cooper is wasted in this movie, a fascinating real-life tale which relegates his character, Hansen, the FBI traitor, to a supporting role. The wooden Ryan Phillipe, a fresh-faced pretty boy protagonist, just doesn't have the chops to sell his role as a wannabe FBI agent. Equally awful is the (usually good) Laura Linney, who substitutes clipped speech and salty jargon in lieu of projecting any real authority. These two are miscast, but in many ways the real problem is script. The plotting fails to make anything of Hansen's actual breach, telling but not showing anything of it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
CareyR.Jun 24, 2007
One of the best movies I have seen this year. Suspense in abundance.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LonC.Jul 1, 2007
So far the best picture I've seen in 2007, thanks to solid performances by the three leads, especially Chris Cooper as FBI operative Robert Hannsen. Excellent writing, direction and cinematography add up to a totally engrossing So far the best picture I've seen in 2007, thanks to solid performances by the three leads, especially Chris Cooper as FBI operative Robert Hannsen. Excellent writing, direction and cinematography add up to a totally engrossing political thriller, heads above the overly-long, overly-ambitious The Good Shepherd. Bravo to all! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JaredC.Jul 20, 2007
A all right drama movie with gripping scenes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PeterC.Feb 17, 2008
The mistake of reviewers who pan this film is their expecting something before entering the theater: cat-and-mouse action, a bright color palette, a plot that doubles back on itself, someone other than Ryan Phillippe, a need to understand The mistake of reviewers who pan this film is their expecting something before entering the theater: cat-and-mouse action, a bright color palette, a plot that doubles back on itself, someone other than Ryan Phillippe, a need to understand the mystery of Hanssen, no Catholic bashing, a fast paced movie, etc. I hate slow pacing and dopey theatrics and The Good Shepherd takes the cake. This movie is one of a piece in terms of mood and tone. It has tension, but is able to make religiousity compelling. It is a story about being confused about what makes someone a good Catholic and a patriotic American. And you are going to be left with a mystery because this man is so tightly wound, even though there are sufficient clues. He has a mess of a personality, but no awareness of that. Instead, he projects that mess onto everyone else, with airtight logic that is only comprehensible to himself. That is what paranoia is all about. How do I know? I'm a psychiatrist and work in the DC area. If not paranoid, enough persons I have met who can't talk about their work, but you know where they work, ain't the life of the party. The core of this movie is both about a man (played with brilliant restrained tension by Chris Cooper") and about a good and idealistic boy who finds himself betraying those closest to him. Neither one believes he has a choice in the matter but to betray his country or betray those closest to him. This is a top ten film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RicardoA.Feb 7, 2008
Oh, god, how much do I love spy movies with no car chase in them. Brilliant movie! More than brilliant Chris Cooper!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
KyleS.Feb 16, 2007
Could have enjoyed this more but Phillippe drags it down. Cooper is great!
0 of 0 users found this helpful