User Score
4.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 91 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 91
  2. Negative: 43 out of 91
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 12, 2015
    9
    Bride wars was directed by Gary Winick and has been released in may 2009. In this comedy there are several famous actors such as Anne Hathaway, Kate Hudson and Bryan Greenberg.
    The story wich takes place in Manhattan is about two girls who are best friends. During all their lives, they have always have been together. The day they are engaged, they want to get married at the Plaza hotel in
    Bride wars was directed by Gary Winick and has been released in may 2009. In this comedy there are several famous actors such as Anne Hathaway, Kate Hudson and Bryan Greenberg.
    The story wich takes place in Manhattan is about two girls who are best friends. During all their lives, they have always have been together. The day they are engaged, they want to get married at the Plaza hotel in june. They get 2 dates, but after a mistake in the reservation, there's still just one date and only one of them will be able to get married there. After there is a rivalry between them which change into a war and they play dirty tricks on each over. All of these scenes are funny and very entertaining. In this film, there are a lot of action, so,we don't get bored. I really recommend this film to the people who love romantic comedy. You really should see this film.
    Expand
  2. Jun 5, 2014
    4
    Two bi-polar woman with far too much money and time on their hands seek to destroy each others weddings through a series of photo montages and Candice Bergen's blathering narration.
  3. Nov 16, 2013
    2
    Bride Wars leaves me fighting for survival.
    The movie isn't funny, rarely entertaining, and overall just bad. The acting is poor to average, and the concept is silly. The drama is overdone, and there is no substance whatsoever.
  4. Jun 28, 2013
    0
    I wonder how i even managed to sit through this. Once again Anne represents why she is horrible. This is a career killer along with that French musical trash she made
  5. Feb 24, 2013
    4
    Don't' let the unfavorable reviews fool you. Bride Wars is a decent Rom-Com with heart that's surprisingly entertaining. Plus, I love Anne Hathaway and Kate Hudson.
  6. Feb 20, 2012
    0
    I just wanted to rate the most awful film I've ever seen, stuck on a plane whith nothing else to watch. This is absurd, the two actress must be ashame of that movie and never presente it in their curriculum vitae.
  7. Feb 12, 2012
    4
    Besides the huge amount of cliches and the large lack of laughs, along with the self referential story; the film has a surprising amount of heart, and solid performances from Anne Hathaway and Kate Hudson. I give this movie 36%.
  8. Oct 28, 2011
    8
    The movie was fairly entertaining but a little on the goofy side and with many parts unbelievable. Hathaway had drawn my attention into this one - and other than that the story was mildly interesting even though a bit ludicrous (not in a good way). I still have to give it above average though... not the worst or close to it.
  9. Oct 1, 2011
    10
    I absolutely loved it. It was great. It had the right people to play each character. The acting was fantastic and the movie was very entertaining and hillariouse espesially the part were that one girl gets her hair died blue. When I first saw this movie I was like oh my gosh this is wonderful but not as great as twilight but I will say that all of the other reviews are way to mean andI absolutely loved it. It was great. It had the right people to play each character. The acting was fantastic and the movie was very entertaining and hillariouse espesially the part were that one girl gets her hair died blue. When I first saw this movie I was like oh my gosh this is wonderful but not as great as twilight but I will say that all of the other reviews are way to mean and harsh. Do not be a devil. Expand
  10. Aug 25, 2011
    0
    To spare you an experience that only I can only describe as being less preferable than colonic irrigation, let me describe to you Bride Wars in the best way I can: "Two awful women who are best friends, because awful people stick to their own kind, discover that they are getting married on the same day. After they both rapidly change into a harder level of awful human beings, the kind thatTo spare you an experience that only I can only describe as being less preferable than colonic irrigation, let me describe to you Bride Wars in the best way I can: "Two awful women who are best friends, because awful people stick to their own kind, discover that they are getting married on the same day. After they both rapidly change into a harder level of awful human beings, the kind that hate each other, they engage in 90 minutes of painfully unfunny sitcom set-ups, which we're supposed to enjoy because they are terrible people doing terrible things to each other. Then, contrivances arrive, patch everything up, and the movie ends with a BFF message, even though these two did horrible things to each other." Excuse, I'm going to ponder whether or not this job is worth it. Expand
  11. Jun 10, 2011
    1
    Bad. Re-he-he-healy bad. Story doesn't make sense, characters are unlikable and off putting, humor is tasteless and mean spirited and plot holes are a commonplace. Instead of the two brides fight, couldn't they just have a DOUBLE WEDDING!!?!!? They even mention it on the beginning of the film when they were children with the word "double wedding" completely and utterly mentioned. If thatBad. Re-he-he-healy bad. Story doesn't make sense, characters are unlikable and off putting, humor is tasteless and mean spirited and plot holes are a commonplace. Instead of the two brides fight, couldn't they just have a DOUBLE WEDDING!!?!!? They even mention it on the beginning of the film when they were children with the word "double wedding" completely and utterly mentioned. If that happened then the film would be finished straight away. Awful. Just awful Expand
  12. Dec 13, 2010
    3
    There is something hateful about this movie. Sure, our leading ladies look good on the outside, but underneath they are vindictive and cut throat. I am sure that seriousness about weddings was the intention, but it always seems to go too far...it's almost unsettling. That and am I the only one who thought Kate Hudson looked good with blue hair?
Metascore
24

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 30
  2. Negative: 23 out of 30
  1. Bride Wars pretends to be a satire of wedding mania, but since there's virtually nothing else to the movie, the satire comes depressingly close to endorsement.
  2. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    30
    A shrill, mechanical comedy.
  3. 50
    Bride Wars is pretty thin soup. The characters have no depth or personality, no quirks or complications, no conversation.