Buena Vista Pictures | Release Date: October 24, 2003
6.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 83 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
52
Mixed:
19
Negative:
12
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
FreedomFightersOct 31, 2016
When a film company has made so many iconic films, anything less than "spectacular" has to feel a bit disappointing. And despite this, "Brother Bear" is still an entertaining film. It's funny, it's got some nice animation, some greatWhen a film company has made so many iconic films, anything less than "spectacular" has to feel a bit disappointing. And despite this, "Brother Bear" is still an entertaining film. It's funny, it's got some nice animation, some great characters, and some nice heart. It's not a new "classic" and it definitely feels more like a "2000's Disney film" as opposed to an amazing film, but it's good fun for kids and adults alike. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
klyted2Feb 29, 2016
im giving it a 7 cuz of his **** brother who turned his brother into a bear over self defence wtf thats stupid but this movie is funny at times but it lacks allot of music
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
EpicLadySpongeFeb 28, 2016
Brother Bear is a fun bear movie that takes life changing events and uses them to make us feel sad. The important part about Brother Bear is every part in the movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
sil3nt_nickMar 27, 2013
Great tale of a boy learning the ways of the wild bear after he kills one, avenging his brother's death. He learns throughout the film about the bear's point of view, accompanied by a young bear named Koda.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Halozone16Sep 24, 2011
This is the great movie whe i was child, but sometimes is simmilar to the other movies.
But is funny, beautiful the forest, and drama. Well is short than the others disney movies, but great.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
anonreviewApr 23, 2011
In terms of childhood favorites, this movie is certainly up there. Amazing visuals and soundtrack, excellent plot, and funny dialogue, this movie is one of the greats of Disney's creations. Excellent, worth the 10 stars, and a must-see forIn terms of childhood favorites, this movie is certainly up there. Amazing visuals and soundtrack, excellent plot, and funny dialogue, this movie is one of the greats of Disney's creations. Excellent, worth the 10 stars, and a must-see for Disney Die-Hards. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
TonyM.Sep 24, 2004
This Waz One OF The Best Movies Ive Seen This Year I Think It Shows Alot About Brother Hood And That it is so cute how kenai then best bear in the intire world is so cute his fur and eveything is just so cute about him And Koda to waz also This Waz One OF The Best Movies Ive Seen This Year I Think It Shows Alot About Brother Hood And That it is so cute how kenai then best bear in the intire world is so cute his fur and eveything is just so cute about him And Koda to waz also one of the cutest things in the whole world Joaquin Phoenix and Jeremy Suarez r two of the best chracters in the whole intire world they just did a good job over the bears voices. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
ZuXianT.Jun 28, 2004
A great show for family to watch... a pure and dramatic show which shows you brotherhood would be like... we muz learn to forgive and forget to make peace in the world... i really loves this show as it was damn touching and funny too.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
K.C.Apr 30, 2004
Wonderful movie for the entire family. Don't believe the critics ratings. How many of them took their family to the movie?
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JackieApr 17, 2004
This movie was adorable. I was watching it on a field trip. And it shows you are what you are. Koda was adorable.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
9
KennethC.Jan 1, 2004
This is a emotionally powerful film about personal redemption, brotherhood and empathy. It strikes the delicate balance of appealing to adults as well as kids. Just the sequence where the hero must come to terms with making a terrible This is a emotionally powerful film about personal redemption, brotherhood and empathy. It strikes the delicate balance of appealing to adults as well as kids. Just the sequence where the hero must come to terms with making a terrible mistakes and its consequences puts it above many of the films made today! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
TracyD.Dec 14, 2003
I like this movie. It is to die for so is Seabiscuit and good boy.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
DanO.Nov 23, 2003
I am so glad that the user rating is higher than the unfairly low rating by obviously jaded critics. I took two boys and two girls to this movie, ages 4 - 8, and they all loved this movie. I also enjoyed the movie and can't think why I am so glad that the user rating is higher than the unfairly low rating by obviously jaded critics. I took two boys and two girls to this movie, ages 4 - 8, and they all loved this movie. I also enjoyed the movie and can't think why some have panned it so much for adults. No it doesn't have the sophisticated humour of Shrek, but it is still enjoyable. As a parent I also enjoyed not having to cuddle my child at the beginning as in Finding Nemo, or explain why a brother would kill brother as in the highly regarded Lion King. I find it unfortunate that many critics can't rate a kid's movie as a kid's movie. Perhaps they should take a child with them and they might experience the movie differently. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
Dr.SteveNov 15, 2003
I saw this with my wife and our six-year old son. This is one of the more entertaining animated features I've seen. It starts a bit slow, but really picks up after Kenai is transformed into the bear. The best part, by far, were the two I saw this with my wife and our six-year old son. This is one of the more entertaining animated features I've seen. It starts a bit slow, but really picks up after Kenai is transformed into the bear. The best part, by far, were the two moose played by the MacKenzie brothers of Great White North fame (Rick Moranis and Dave Thomas). Almost every line they had drew laughs. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PaulaW.Nov 12, 2003
The poor reviews are hard to understand. Brother Bear is a kid's movie, and as a kid's movie it is great. It's got endearing characters, lots of cute animals, and gorgeously animated scenery. The moose provide comic relief, The poor reviews are hard to understand. Brother Bear is a kid's movie, and as a kid's movie it is great. It's got endearing characters, lots of cute animals, and gorgeously animated scenery. The moose provide comic relief, and the moral of the story is a nice lesson about maturity. Just one caveat: the hunting scenes were a little too intense for the 27-month old who saw it with me, even though there is no actual gore. Oh, and the Phil Collins songs are skippable. I actually enjoyed this more than The Lion King, which to me seemed to be trying too hard to bring the adults in with a story that nevertheless remains kiddie-level. I also liked it better than Shrek, which just annoyed me with its precocious attempt at hipness. It was more heartwarming and aesthetically pleasing than Ice Age. It didn't have the clever charm of Lilo and Stitch, but I don't think kids really need that. There's plenty of time for cleverness and snark later in life. Let kids be kids - take them to see Brother Bear. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PaulaW.Nov 12, 2003
The poor reviews are hard to understand. Brother Bear is a kid's movie, and as a kid's movie it is great. It's got endearing characters, lots of cute animals, and gorgeously animated scenery. The moose provide comic relief, The poor reviews are hard to understand. Brother Bear is a kid's movie, and as a kid's movie it is great. It's got endearing characters, lots of cute animals, and gorgeously animated scenery. The moose provide comic relief, and the moral of the story is a nice lesson about maturity. Just one caveat: the hunting scenes were a little too intense for the 27-month old who saw it with me, even though there is no actual gore. Oh, and the Phil Collins songs are skippable. I actually enjoyed this more than The Lion King, which to me seemed to be trying too hard to bring the adults in with a story that nevertheless remains kiddie-level. I also liked it better than Shrek, which just annoyed me with its precocious attempt at hipness. It was more heartwarming and aesthetically pleasing than Ice Age. It didn't have the clever charm of Lilo and Stitch, but I don't think kids really need that. There's plenty of time for cleverness and snark later in life. Let kids be kids - take them to see Brother Bear. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
8
TimC.Nov 2, 2003
Saw this movie with my entranced 6 and 3 year olds. I loved it and found during this seemingly endless spree of bllod bath films, heart warming. A joy to see with my children and be able to relax and not worry about explaining something to Saw this movie with my entranced 6 and 3 year olds. I loved it and found during this seemingly endless spree of bllod bath films, heart warming. A joy to see with my children and be able to relax and not worry about explaining something to them later, or worry about them duplicating parts of the movie later. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RLSOct 24, 2003
Great for kids...and the Moose are funny...animation is vivid for 2-D. Not sure what the critics were thinking...so it doesn't have a bunch of smart-alec humor for adults and teens...for your kids this is a great choice of film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful