User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 320 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 98 out of 320
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AH
    Jul 10, 2009
    1
    Old, tired, boring. How many penises, dildos, sex toys until its tiring. I GIVE THIS AWFUL MOVIE A 1 OUT OF 10. Don't bother!
  2. susiew
    Jul 12, 2009
    0
    From seeing the reviews, I thought this would be a really funny movie, much as Borat was funny. I was VERY disappointed. Bruno was nothing but a glorified porn movie. TOTAL waste of money.
  3. JohnK
    Jul 20, 2009
    0
    Being a construction worker all my life, I think this is the sickest movie I have ever attended. I had company walking out during the movie, if that is what you call that filth? Disgusting is the best word. Its a good thing we have alot of good and great movies.
  4. PhilA
    Jul 23, 2009
    3
    The movie has it's funny parts, but frankly, it's just too vulgar. Homosexuality is one thing, but there's just too much penis in that movie to be enjoyable. Frankly, I don't know it received an R rating. I laughed, but left disturbed.
  5. LaxM
    Jul 11, 2009
    2
    There is no point in watching this movie unless you want to see Sasha Baren Cohen wave his instrument in the air and have sex with other guys. There are some funny moments, yes, but they do not make up for the majority of the movie... which is very bad.
  6. May 20, 2012
    0
    Very dull, inappropriate comedy that doesnt make sense. After seeing The Dictator, this movie truly sucked. I only saw one funny scene that i cracked up. I wanted to stop watching it, but i already purchased the movie. Never see this disgrace.
  7. Aug 27, 2010
    0
    Nein! Sacha Baron Cohen goes for funny but instead heâ
  8. JerryB
    Jul 10, 2009
    0
    This was possibly the worst movie I have ever seen - there may have been one funny moment, but I don't recall it.
  9. SamN.
    Dec 11, 2009
    1
    When I found out the amount of danger actor and crewman alike went through while making this movie, I was appalled. To think that so many people went through life and death situations to make this tasteless, unfunny mess of a film frustrates me. Had they put their lives at risk for something as funny as Borat, then that would be admirable. But Bruno isn't even an tenth as funny as When I found out the amount of danger actor and crewman alike went through while making this movie, I was appalled. To think that so many people went through life and death situations to make this tasteless, unfunny mess of a film frustrates me. Had they put their lives at risk for something as funny as Borat, then that would be admirable. But Bruno isn't even an tenth as funny as Borat. Borat was crude, yes, but in an intelligent way that was handled with clever, well thought out writing. We got to see people go from 'oh, he's an odd fellow but I'll try to be accepting' to 'get the Hell away from me you freak'. That's funny. Bruno bombards you with the most repulsive crap over and over again. That's not. It does this so often that I became immune to it all and I was flat out bored by the end of the movie. Expand
  10. Mar 7, 2014
    1
    borat was terrible now this are u kidding me this **** . i got a few laughs but this is wrost then hugo go watch the dicator instead this is not my fav film
  11. JohnF.
    Jul 11, 2009
    1
    Dreary bad taste. A scant 82 minutes of skits with a central theme of anal sex and very dated stereotypical, effeminate, homosexual mannerisms.
  12. AndrewR
    Jul 12, 2009
    0
    To me, Borat was a huge laughfest, so I gave Bruno a try although the trailer looked pretty poor. The movie was a complete flop, hardly anyone in the theater was laughing at anything. Granted one or two moments got a laugh out of me, but trust me, I loved Borat, but Bruno should definitely be avoided at all costs.
  13. konnorM
    Jul 13, 2009
    1
    This is one of the worst movies I have ever seen. It is boring and pathetic...the only part at I laughed at was when the hole of his cock barked "Bruno". The rest was downhill.
  14. AV
    Jul 13, 2009
    2
    Only reason i rated this a 2 is because that is how many times i laughed. this was definitely no borat (at least Borat had a balance of funny and vulgar comedy).
  15. SpungoM
    Jul 16, 2009
    1
    Felt like a really bad 1990's Lorn Michaels film. In other words, a 5 minute SNL skit stretched into an 83 minute movie. The Bruno character was by far the weakest on Da Ali G Show, so no surprises that a Bruno movie would be so horrible.
  16. JillianT.
    Jul 23, 2009
    0
    I liked da ali g show and borat but this was awful... dumb humor, vile antics, stupid storyline (why is there even a storyline? it would have been better without one).
  17. BrettW
    Aug 3, 2009
    4
    Not a very good movie. There are one or two outrageously funny moments but other than that there isn't much to make you belly-laugh. I enjoy awkward shock humor when it works but a lot of it in this movie doesn't work. It may be worth renting this movie to watch with your friends, but save your money and don't see it in theaters. Oh and the people who are giving the film a Not a very good movie. There are one or two outrageously funny moments but other than that there isn't much to make you belly-laugh. I enjoy awkward shock humor when it works but a lot of it in this movie doesn't work. It may be worth renting this movie to watch with your friends, but save your money and don't see it in theaters. Oh and the people who are giving the film a 0 and saying you have to be gay to enjoy the movie, are exactly the type of people this movie was trying to make fun of. I haven't seen anything in my entire life that has offended me enough to say the things that angie a and alisha k are saying. Grow up and get used to seeing things that offend you. And stop bit**ing about it. Expand
  18. CalebG
    Jan 18, 2010
    0
    I usually force myself to finish all movies and books, no matter how bad, but I walked out of this movie. Such a disappointment compared to Borat. I give it a 0/10 because I actually asked for my money back.
  19. Darren
    Dec 7, 2009
    0
    Complete waste of money. I turned it off part way through since it was such a waste of time.
  20. TannerP.
    Jul 11, 2009
    1
    If you like watching homosexual porno, then this movie is for you. Most of the laughter that ensued during the movie was out of pure disgust and "WTF!? I can't believe they put this in a movie" moments. The few genuinely funny moments are outweighed heavily by the cringe worthy moments. The worst movie I have laid my eyes on.
  21. Philip
    Jul 11, 2009
    0
    Avoid this movie! It's nothing like Borat, it's more like a gay porno... In fact, it could put most of those to shame. Saying this movie is 99% debauchery isn't an opinion, it's a fact. The very few laughs won't stop you from feeling violated after cringing through this filth.
  22. ShaneD.
    Jul 10, 2009
    3
    Came close to crossing the line on many occasions and crossed it at least twice. Overall it was sporadically funny, but also very raunchy and not worth the money to see.
  23. MarkB.
    Jul 10, 2009
    3
    Just felt too set up and not as natural and free flowing as Borat. A couple of funny moments but overshadowed by the cheap laughs. Expected better of SBC, unimaginative and no different from any other cheap laugh film. Cop-out
  24. [Anonymous]
    Jul 10, 2009
    1
    The absolute worst movie (if you want to call it that)i've ever tried to watch
  25. WillM.
    Jul 10, 2009
    0
    This was a horrible excuse for a Borat follow up. It crossed the line with nudity. No one needs to see that much dick. not worth my $9.50
  26. joeym.
    Jul 12, 2009
    0
    It sucked.....IT WAS THE WEIRDEST THING I have ever seen!
  27. Mark
    Jul 12, 2009
    0
    One of the worse movies I have ever seen. Disturbing to the eyes and ears.
  28. AmandaF.
    Jul 12, 2009
    0
    Tasteless, offensive, waste of time and money. The previews shown on TV were the only funny moments in the whole movie. Do not see this movie.
  29. BobR
    Jul 12, 2009
    2
    This movie was pathetic... Don't waste your money.
  30. AMovieCritic
    Jul 10, 2009
    4
    I thought it couldn't get more disappointing this summer than Transformers 2, but here's another sequel, of sorts, that totally fails to live up to the original. Bruno, the 2nd cinematic film starring a Sacha Baron Cohen character, falls flat, flat, flat. It's got a couple pretty funny moments, but overall it lacks almost everything that made Borat a classic. Borat, for I thought it couldn't get more disappointing this summer than Transformers 2, but here's another sequel, of sorts, that totally fails to live up to the original. Bruno, the 2nd cinematic film starring a Sacha Baron Cohen character, falls flat, flat, flat. It's got a couple pretty funny moments, but overall it lacks almost everything that made Borat a classic. Borat, for what it was, had a story, it had 2 likable characters driving the thing, it had a great premise and it got many laughs from just showing your average person's reactions to the zany antics of Borat and his camera man as they journeyed across the country. Bruno, unfortunately, only has a little of this; most of its jokes are instead based on a series of bits and interviews, few of which feel real, and almost none of which have any sort of payoff, a lot of them seeming like they should have been on the "deleted scenes" section of the DVD. I kept waiting for a laugh as funny as the hotel room scene and the following chase from Borat and it just never happens. The movie ends with almost no payoff (or explanation of how Bruno managed to afford his own wrestling show,) and I think everyone left a bit disappointed. I was surprised to learn that Bruno's actually a good 5 minutes longer than Borat; it felt so much shorter, somehow, seeming like a much emptier film. This isn't a very funny character, these situations aren't very funny, and it's very hard to tell what was staged and what isn't, which is never a very good thing in a movie like this. I'm not a cynical viewer at all, and I was willing to believe that ALMOST all of Borat was not staged, but Bruno had even me scratching my head and wondering, if this event wasn't staged in advance, how things happened the way they did. A disappointment. Transformers 2 had more laughs, and even that was a movie that disappointed me. Expand
  31. IanM
    Jul 13, 2009
    3
    Bruno doesn't have what it takes. I like Baron Cohen... I loved Borat... Bruno left me feeling, flat, disinterested, unhappy. This time around, the whole thing seems basically unoriginal and 'setup'. I was expecting a kick in the balls, all I got was pretend fellatio - and just as unsatisfying.
  32. tashaw
    Jul 13, 2009
    0
    This was the worst movie i have ever seen in my life. they should take this out of the movies. There is pornography in it. ( i didn't know that the movie theaters promotes pornography.
  33. NotaFanSmith
    Jul 13, 2009
    1
    I checked my watch to see how much longer the movie was about 30 minutes from the end. The comedy genius of Borat is not captured here. Contrived rather than improvised- Cohen doesn't reveal anything of substance here. I would have snoozed had the popcorn in my teeth not kept me up. Waste of time - except the 15 seconds I laughed at Paula Abdul and...I forgot what else made me laugh. I checked my watch to see how much longer the movie was about 30 minutes from the end. The comedy genius of Borat is not captured here. Contrived rather than improvised- Cohen doesn't reveal anything of substance here. I would have snoozed had the popcorn in my teeth not kept me up. Waste of time - except the 15 seconds I laughed at Paula Abdul and...I forgot what else made me laugh. Oh well. Should have rented it. Expand
  34. KristenH
    Jul 14, 2009
    0
    Absolutely disgusting, we walked out of the movie. This should be rated X and for homosexuals only. Truly trashy!
  35. CC
    Jul 15, 2009
    3
    I honestly tried to watch this movie with high hopes and tried to disregard all of the bad things I heard everyone say, but I just walked away a few bucks shorter and whole lot more disappointed. It isn't really that funny. I understand Cohen's attempt to portray homosexuality, and I have no problem with that. The biggest problem is that the movie isn't that funny. The I honestly tried to watch this movie with high hopes and tried to disregard all of the bad things I heard everyone say, but I just walked away a few bucks shorter and whole lot more disappointed. It isn't really that funny. I understand Cohen's attempt to portray homosexuality, and I have no problem with that. The biggest problem is that the movie isn't that funny. The story was also very flimsy and just an excuse to give "reason" to what he was doing. I was honestly disappointed and only wished Cohen could've a much better job with such a brilliant character. Expand
  36. NoahB
    Jul 17, 2009
    4
    This film should have a category of its own - 'Performance Art' or something like that. That's because it's not a 'Comedy' or 'Documentary' or anything else that you may have seen before, other than 'Borat'. If you look at it that way, that it's not a traditional type of film; it doesn't fit into any normal category; then it kind This film should have a category of its own - 'Performance Art' or something like that. That's because it's not a 'Comedy' or 'Documentary' or anything else that you may have seen before, other than 'Borat'. If you look at it that way, that it's not a traditional type of film; it doesn't fit into any normal category; then it kind of makes sense. Otherwise, you're going to be saying WTF? I don't consider this to be a comedy. It's more like a montage of shocking scenes which may make you laugh, but are just as, if not more likely, to disgust and horrify you. Either way, these scenes going to make you react strongly. And I believe that's the main point of Performance Art. If you want to have a strong reaction to something, if you want to be surprised, probably horrified, possibly greatly amused, go see 'Bruno'. Otherwise, you're welcome to stay home and watch reruns of 'Everybody Loves Raymond'. Personally, I laughed at some of the scenes, while others had me covering my face, not wanting to watch or hear what was happening. I would have liked some of the scenes and concepts to be developed more because I thought they were interesting and/or funny, but they were only given very brief exposure. Other scenes, I wish I had never seen them and will try to erase them from memory. Cohen is very talented, though strange. There are lifetimes of material in Bruno, if developed properly. Perhaps he is not interested in developing any of the concepts he has introduced in a deeper, more meaningful and less disgusting way, but he has opened a door for others to do so in the future. After all that, I can't decide if I love or hate the film. I think it's an important film, it's groundbreaking, it will change the world in some way for better or worse, but do I like it? I like parts of it. I hate other parts. Expand
  37. Martin
    Jul 17, 2009
    1
    This movie sucked. There were about 3 or 4 actual jokes, the rest was all just for shock value. It's damn near unwatchable, it's not entertaining. Oh lets show guys doing the gayest thing possible to show how intolerant we americans are! NEWS FLASH, just because straight people dont want to see a bunch of dicks flapping around and two guys making out for a half hour in the deep This movie sucked. There were about 3 or 4 actual jokes, the rest was all just for shock value. It's damn near unwatchable, it's not entertaining. Oh lets show guys doing the gayest thing possible to show how intolerant we americans are! NEWS FLASH, just because straight people dont want to see a bunch of dicks flapping around and two guys making out for a half hour in the deep south doesn't make you intolerant, it makes you ****ing normal. are vegetarians considered intolerant if they are disgusted by animal slaughter at a butcher shop? NO, its something they personally find nasty and that's fine. This movie was a softcore gay porn with a couple jokes. This age of political correctness makes me sick, stop trying to shove your "love everything" agenda down our throats. There's a reason people are disgusted by shit like this, none of them being that it was funny. Manuel Q if you think this is the best comedian film you've ever seen you must be gayer than will and grace. This movie is garbage. For the record i thought Borat was hilarious, but that's because it had more jokes and was more original, bruno was a rehash, and a terrible one at that. unoriginal and unfunny. Collapse
  38. TomP
    Jul 19, 2009
    3
    The homosexuality and stretched, seemingly staged skits far outweighs the funny. The character is nowhere near as entertaining as Borat, and the story was even weaker. An interview with a gay converter was a particular highlight for me, but times when he merely tried to make people uncomfortable using homosexual shock techniques and nudity were just boriing and unoriginal. Wait for this The homosexuality and stretched, seemingly staged skits far outweighs the funny. The character is nowhere near as entertaining as Borat, and the story was even weaker. An interview with a gay converter was a particular highlight for me, but times when he merely tried to make people uncomfortable using homosexual shock techniques and nudity were just boriing and unoriginal. Wait for this on DVD, it's not worth seeing in theatres. Expand
  39. ShirleyF.
    Jul 19, 2009
    0
    I was appalled. We walked out after 15 minutes. Everyone I talked to at the theater said it was a horrible movie including the manager who gave me my money back. (First time I ever walked out on a movie) They even let my 14 year old grandson in and he couldn't wait to leave. If you all feel that this was a good movie then "what is becoming of our morals?
  40. MikeMike
    Jul 21, 2009
    3
    Outrageous and original--I'll give it that. However, the gags are too scripted not to notice, or disgusting for the sake of being disgusting. (Mind you, I enjoy the Jackass movies.) Where Borat was at least mostly plausible, this thing is ridiculously unbelievable. I could not help calling "bogus" through the entire movie. Let's hope the next movie isn't just an attempt at Outrageous and original--I'll give it that. However, the gags are too scripted not to notice, or disgusting for the sake of being disgusting. (Mind you, I enjoy the Jackass movies.) Where Borat was at least mostly plausible, this thing is ridiculously unbelievable. I could not help calling "bogus" through the entire movie. Let's hope the next movie isn't just an attempt at cashing in on the way out. Too bad. Save your money and see this one at home if you must. Expand
  41. DerfP
    Jul 22, 2009
    0
    The film uses shock as the main recipe for laughter, which generally works for me, but not in this movie. The problem is that it's excessive and monotonous, therefore tiring and predictable. Shorter sequences of the shock-scenes would have saved the film by maintaining an element of surprise. I also think the timing of this film is wrong. Too much time has passed since Ali G and The film uses shock as the main recipe for laughter, which generally works for me, but not in this movie. The problem is that it's excessive and monotonous, therefore tiring and predictable. Shorter sequences of the shock-scenes would have saved the film by maintaining an element of surprise. I also think the timing of this film is wrong. Too much time has passed since Ali G and Borat, so arguably the novelty of cringe-flicks has worn off. It seems the director knew this and so decided to make it as tasteless as possible as a plea to the audience that there is still something on offer. There is not. Expand
  42. crystald
    Jul 25, 2009
    0
    Stupid obnoxious movie... can't this guy do anything else? He's not a good actor. it's the same ole same ole as Borat, only this time more vulgar and obscene. People were walkng out. Should be rated NC-17... he makes his money by making fun of others and making fools out of them. I don't like this stupid Jewish moron.... Sacha Baron Cohen. he ha, what a joke he is!
  43. michellem
    Jul 29, 2009
    1
    I'm 20 years old and hang out with lots of immature dirty guys and we drink and make dirty jokes for fun. This movie was so disgusting that we almost left after the first scene. We kept trying to give it a chance and laugh at it, but no... it was awkward and crossed too many lines even for the crudest of crowds. I can't believe the world has come to this, publicly putting porn I'm 20 years old and hang out with lots of immature dirty guys and we drink and make dirty jokes for fun. This movie was so disgusting that we almost left after the first scene. We kept trying to give it a chance and laugh at it, but no... it was awkward and crossed too many lines even for the crudest of crowds. I can't believe the world has come to this, publicly putting porn up on the big screen. The one point I gave it was for the like 3 funny scenes the movie did contain: the military scene, the "gayby" with headphones, and the girl whipping him through the window. Expand
  44. RegularAmericanFellowChristian
    Aug 4, 2009
    0
    Sorry, but I was mislead into going to see this movie by the rating system in place, which much to my astonishment granted an R rating to this movie, which again and again rubs the viewers eyes in Sasha Barron Cohen's genitals. Simply put, I do not want to see a man's scrotum or peenus when I go to a movie. And I would not expect to see a woman's clitoris at an R rated Sorry, but I was mislead into going to see this movie by the rating system in place, which much to my astonishment granted an R rating to this movie, which again and again rubs the viewers eyes in Sasha Barron Cohen's genitals. Simply put, I do not want to see a man's scrotum or peenus when I go to a movie. And I would not expect to see a woman's clitoris at an R rated movie either. So what's going on in Hollywood that this is becoming part of what is acceptable in R rated films? (Same deal in the closing credits to "Hangover"). Expand
  45. Kapeem
    Aug 5, 2009
    0
    I'm a big fan of the Ali G Show, and I know Sacha Baron Cohen is a funny guy, but he failed with Bruno. It's just shock humor and him antagonizing people. No wit, just Tom Green-like antics. Also very disgusting, awkward, and cringe-inducing.
  46. EliasC.
    Dec 15, 2009
    2
    One of the most offensive and unwatchable films I have ever seen seeded throughout with strokes of brilliance that show that if Cohen can get it together, he can produce, write and star in a very good film. This is not it however. The first 20 minutes is simply nauseating. The editor should have left these scenes for the end after the viewer develops at least a little bit of empathy for One of the most offensive and unwatchable films I have ever seen seeded throughout with strokes of brilliance that show that if Cohen can get it together, he can produce, write and star in a very good film. This is not it however. The first 20 minutes is simply nauseating. The editor should have left these scenes for the end after the viewer develops at least a little bit of empathy for the Bruno character. Overall, this film is a waste of talent. Expand
  47. Julien
    Dec 6, 2009
    2
    I am not easily offended, but this movie is an outrage. It's not fun at all. It's pointlessly gross and if there was a message in there, it got swallowed by the tons of sick and idiotic situations. To bad, the topic deserved a better treatment.
  48. STanner
    Jul 12, 2009
    0
    Hard to believe that people view this as entertainment. I could only deal with 45 mins. before walking out. A talking penis...THIS is supposed to be comedy?
  49. B.D.
    Jul 12, 2009
    0
    This movie was nothing but a gay male porno movie. It should have been rated "X". It was nothing but none stop male anal and oral sexual intercourse, with occasional not funny clips. The only good thing about this movie was when it was over, and I was able to leave the theater!
  50. williamc.
    Jul 13, 2009
    0
    Bruno can't be Borat.
  51. ChristianD.
    Jul 15, 2009
    3
    Borat was hilarious, but this wasn't funny at all. Just disturbing.
  52. R.C.
    Jul 16, 2009
    0
    This movie should be rated XXX. It is disgusting and dirty. We walked out of the threater after 15 minutes, requested refund and got it. Do not waste your time with this movie.
  53. BrandonD
    Jul 17, 2009
    0
    I love the Ali G show on HBO with Bruno, but Bruno the movie is TERRIBLE! I think they ran out of creative funny ideas so they decided to shock people and show penises, gay sex, and porn. And that
  54. RyanZ.
    Jul 19, 2009
    1
    I went to this movie with my wife on the weekend and we were the 3rd group of people to walk out by about the 1 hour mark. I can't believe a major studio spent as much money as they did on this super-lightweight project. At least we got a full refund.
  55. HelpU
    Jul 19, 2009
    0
    If you like the fact that you went to see this movie when your mom told you not to, please voice your praise otherwise this isn't a movie, it is the worst and longest joke ever to appear on the silver screen that only feeds on controversy for its punch lines. I have never seen the Ali G Show but he sounds like a pretty cheap comedian that doesn't know how to make a real joke If you like the fact that you went to see this movie when your mom told you not to, please voice your praise otherwise this isn't a movie, it is the worst and longest joke ever to appear on the silver screen that only feeds on controversy for its punch lines. I have never seen the Ali G Show but he sounds like a pretty cheap comedian that doesn't know how to make a real joke rather to get himself in court and on Fox News. Expand
  56. DW
    Jul 19, 2009
    0
    This "movie" should be rated XXXX for explicit sexual content (videos of anal and oral sex acts, although marginally covered over some body parts.) Other than that it was awful, not funny and just another reason that I shouldn't ever go to a theater again. The previews and reviews of this movie completely ignore the explicit content of this movie and are misleading and lies.
  57. MikeK
    Jul 22, 2009
    4
    Borat succeeded largely because the character was so likeable. The situations he found himself in were the result of his presumed innocence and cultural ignorance. The character of Bruno isn't nearly as likeable, so the "victims" of his pranks often generate enough empathy to make you feel bad for them. With Borat, while you sometimes felt bad for his victims, it wasn't the Borat succeeded largely because the character was so likeable. The situations he found himself in were the result of his presumed innocence and cultural ignorance. The character of Bruno isn't nearly as likeable, so the "victims" of his pranks often generate enough empathy to make you feel bad for them. With Borat, while you sometimes felt bad for his victims, it wasn't the dominant emotion. The rating should probably be NC-17. That much sex, gay or straight, simulated or not, is too heavy for the "R". Overall the film disappoints. Expand
  58. AdamO
    Jul 22, 2009
    1
    This movie wasn't funny, but rather crude and disgusting. Scenes that weren't obscene were too similar to those in "Borat" and did not bring forth humor or a sense of a storyline.
  59. alishak
    Jul 29, 2009
    0
    Bruno should be a weird storyline porno. I don't find humor in disgusting gay visuals with poop flying across the screen and brown hand prints smeared on the walls. Any straight person could probably not handle this type of "humor." People are messed up.
  60. angiea
    Jul 29, 2009
    0
    Anyone who likes this movie has to be gay no questions asked. It's not that us straight people "don't get" the movie, it's that were not f***** up enough to think that sh*ts funny. Whats wrong with you people? go rent so more gay porn sick f***s. sick.
  61. TomG
    Aug 13, 2009
    0
    This movie was ridiculously boring most the time and not worth the money I paid to see it. Thankfully I went during Matinee and only paid $4.50 but even that is way too much for this dumb movie.
  62. JamesH
    Nov 21, 2009
    3
    I just am not a fan of Sasha Baron Cohen, I don
  63. ProudAmericanEvangelicalChristian
    Nov 25, 2009
    1
    I was under the impression this movie poked fun at homosexuals. We were shocked and appalled to find out the movie did not do this, but rather made fun of decent ordinary Americans! I was appalled. What is so funny about that? My stomach turned as I watched good Christian Americans made to look like fools. This movie is a disgrace to America! It should be banned.
  64. MiKE
    Dec 23, 2009
    2
    What happened!?!?! Borat was a close to being a masterpiece, yet Bruno is total crap! Why does bruno have to be so mean spirted? The movie should of been so much more!! way more. yet all we got was alot of sick jokes.
  65. Apr 13, 2012
    0
    im sorry but the only way you should see this is if you are homosexual and i dont even think they would like it because its that digusting penises sex toys and jokes glore its basically a gay porn gone bad
  66. Jul 10, 2014
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Bruno: 4 out of 10: I have to admit I am more than a bit disappointed here. Bruno has its share of laugh out loud moments but it simply does not have those great memorable scenes that made Borat such a treat.

    One cannot help comparing Bruno to Borat since in many ways they are the same story. Borat worked because the character was, at least on a movie logic level, believable. He was played as an innocent whom one could root for; even if he had some terrible values upon reflection. He was a lovable character.

    While Borat has an innocent air about him and a charismatic travelling companion, Bruno is as characterized a horrible human being from the get go with a milquetoast traveling companion.

    Bruno is a flamboyantly gay Austrian fashion host that is so horrible, one simply feels nothing but sympathy for Sacha Baron Cohen’s victims. When you start feeling sorry for Ron Paul and Anti-homosexual Christian deprogrammers the movie has clearly gone of the rails.

    Cohen tries to infuse Bruno with countless shots of male gentalia to embarrass (one supposes) his audience, Alas none if it is as cringe inducing as the naked wresting from the first movie (Come to think of it, nothing on earth is as cringe inducing as that scene) and nothing in Bruno comes anywhere close to being that funny.

    While there are certainly scattered laughs throughout the film, Bruno is more in the style of an old Mondo Cane movie than a comedy. It is more about making the audience and his victims uncomfortable than provoking any mirth or insight.

    When I watched Borat, I would tell myself if I met the character on the street I would be polite to him as well. While watching Bruno I was shocked no one punched him in the face.
    Expand
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 34
  2. Negative: 6 out of 34
  1. Bruno is only intermittently funny and all too often the "ambushes" of celebrities and civilians look staged. The movie is even a tad -- dare we say it? -- tedious.
  2. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    70
    Undeniably funny, outrageous and boundary-pushing, this further documentation of Sacha Baron Cohen's sheer nerve will draw an abundant share of "Borat" fans.
  3. Is Brüno riotous? Yes, more so than "Borat," in which Baron Cohen's targets were ducks in a barrel and largely undeserving of ridicule. He doesn't aim much higher here, but his tricks are more inventive.