Metascore
9

Overwhelming dislike - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
1.9

Overwhelming dislike- based on 110 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Bucky is a small town grocery bagger, going nowhere in life – until he discovers that his conservative parents were once adult film stars! Armed with the belief that he has found his destiny, Bucky packs up and heads out to LA, hoping to follow in his parents’ footsteps.(Columbia Pictures)
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 13
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 13
  3. Negative: 13 out of 13
  1. Reviewed by: Alison Willmore
    Sep 9, 2011
    30
    That Bucky Larson's humor is stuck at a toilet-centric grade school level is less damning than how little of that or any humor it contains - the film, directed by Tom Brady (The Hot Chick), sets up scene after scene that wanders around in the general vicinity of a joke idea without ever approaching anything like a punchline.
  2. Reviewed by: Roger Moore
    Sep 9, 2011
    25
    It's an ugly movie to look at and a faintly nauseating one to sit through, truth be told.
  3. Reviewed by: Tom Russo
    Sep 10, 2011
    25
    Never thought we'd say this about a movie, but Bucky Larson probably doesn't wring as much out of recurring bodily-fluid gags as it could.
  4. Reviewed by: Robert Abele
    Sep 9, 2011
    20
    The scenario makes for an inept, lazy R-rated movie whose sole purpose is as a glossary of euphemisms for genitalia and sexual acts.
  5. Reviewed by: Nathan Rabin
    Sep 9, 2011
    16
    Apparently no one told Ricci she was acting in a comedy, not a touching drama about a young woman overcoming a formative trauma to achieve her dreams.
  6. Reviewed by: Andrew Barker
    Sep 10, 2011
    10
    One of the most astonishingly unfunny films of this or any other year.
  7. Reviewed by: Kimberley Jones
    Sep 15, 2011
    0
    What does startle is how tiresome it all is.

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 34
  2. Negative: 22 out of 34
  1. Jun 19, 2012
    10
    This is better then most of the comedies out there. If a person doesn't get the humor then they probably shouldn't be writing a review. iThis is better then most of the comedies out there. If a person doesn't get the humor then they probably shouldn't be writing a review. i would happily suggest watching this movie. Expand
  2. Sep 13, 2011
    10
    This could very well be the death of rated R comedies. To say Bucky Larson: Born To Be a Star is an atrocious mess with horrible performancesThis could very well be the death of rated R comedies. To say Bucky Larson: Born To Be a Star is an atrocious mess with horrible performances would be an accurate description of this movie. Where Bucky Larson fails is everywhere. It does nothing right. It is an abomination to the art of cinema. There is nothing redeeming about seeing this. Adam Sandler, whom I have a stronger hate for, should be ashamed. We got through Zoo Keeper and Just Go With It, but THIS is where it ends. What is there to say? Bottom line, if you want to see a "Rated R Comedy", watch Zack and Miri Make a Porno. That movies is leagues better than this. Expand
  3. Sep 28, 2011
    5
    i enjoyed the first half hour of this film and i thought theyve got something good here but then sadly the next hour of the film was dull.i enjoyed the first half hour of this film and i thought theyve got something good here but then sadly the next hour of the film was dull. nick swardsons excellent comedic talent is wasted in a fairly bad script Expand
  4. Dec 6, 2011
    0
    Such trash to the fact that they make toilet humor look worst than it ever was, I would compare this to Scary Movie comedy but not even. ThisSuch trash to the fact that they make toilet humor look worst than it ever was, I would compare this to Scary Movie comedy but not even. This movie over uses toilet humor and d*ck jokes sooo much that its not funny, their is a certain level of how much of this humor you can use but this is over the top and gross that it makes Adam Sandler look bad for co-producing this and releasing it in his company. This is just another one of Happy Madison's failed abortions. Expand
  5. Nov 13, 2011
    0
    movies like these give me hope. that i will be a good filmmaker. i can't believe movies like these get made!!! only because they have peoplemovies like these give me hope. that i will be a good filmmaker. i can't believe movies like these get made!!! only because they have people like adam sandler being a producer. that's the only reason they get made. if i brought them the script for this movie they'd laugh me out of the building, but put adam sandler as a producer and bam it gets made!!! BULLSH*T Expand
  6. Sep 12, 2011
    0
    Absolute, utter garbage. Nick Swardson is so void of talent that he should be banned from breathing. Everything about this film isAbsolute, utter garbage. Nick Swardson is so void of talent that he should be banned from breathing. Everything about this film is completely embarrassing to the film industry as a whole. Seeing an actress like Christina Ricci in this film is just a disgrace and proof that her career is in the toilet. There is nothing worthwhile to say about this movie, if someone were to like this then they probably have no soul and/or no brain. Burn any copies you find and stop being friends with anyone who likes this kind of swill. Very strong candidate for worst film of the year. Expand
  7. Sep 22, 2011
    0
    I first saw the trailer thinking it was a joke...some sort of funny or die skit. It was so horrendous I had to go see the movie. Lets just sayI first saw the trailer thinking it was a joke...some sort of funny or die skit. It was so horrendous I had to go see the movie. Lets just say my first impression was right. Don't waste the money but watch it eventually for a laugh at how horrible it is. Expand

See all 34 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best and Worst Movies of 2011

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2011 Image
    Published: January 5, 2012
    Get our final rankings for the past year's best- and worst-reviewed films and see how 2011 compared to previous years.