Bug

Release Date: May 25, 2007
5.0
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 96 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
44
Mixed:
12
Negative:
40
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
FrankJun 1, 2007
Very slow and pointless. Terrible beginning, middle, and end. Not even worth seeing for free.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
JoM.May 28, 2007
The only reason I am giving this movie a "1" is because Ashley Judd is a fantastic actress; her character in this movie is sweet, desperate, and vulnerable, and you can't help but be convinced. Otherwise, I will say that this is the The only reason I am giving this movie a "1" is because Ashley Judd is a fantastic actress; her character in this movie is sweet, desperate, and vulnerable, and you can't help but be convinced. Otherwise, I will say that this is the absolute worst movie I can ever remember seeing in a theatre. Do not be deceived by the critic reviews, this movie will waste 2 hours of your life... We left the theatre amid snickers and mad comments from fellow audience members; apparently no one could believe that they had wasted money on this movie, much less that the movie ever made it to the big screen. It starts off slow & never picks up, and just goes downhill from there, spiraling into a train wreck of weirdness and stupidity. If you want to see a film about paranoia, stick with "A Beautiful Mind" or take a psych class. It would've been almost comical if I hadn't spent twenty bucks on the tickets. Heed my warning; don't waste your hard-earned money. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
JSmithMay 28, 2007
First movie in a long while that I was tempted to walk out on. This flick is for only those people who like to watch wack-o people doing their wack-o thing.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
WoodersonMay 28, 2007
Rapidly descends into arch absurdity. A little restraint by the lead actor or opening up to a more cinematic feel might have helped.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
halbOct 5, 2007
Wow, what a final 30 minutes. I liked it up until that point; then Agnes (Judd) simply goes WAY overboard, which I guess we could all see coming, but it simply wasn't believable... "I AM THE SUPER MOTHER BUG!!!" ?? Puh-leeze. Probably Wow, what a final 30 minutes. I liked it up until that point; then Agnes (Judd) simply goes WAY overboard, which I guess we could all see coming, but it simply wasn't believable... "I AM THE SUPER MOTHER BUG!!!" ?? Puh-leeze. Probably works much better on the stage. Oh well, at least it wasn't boring. The actor who plays Peter (Michael Shannon) gives an incredible performance. And Judd looks pretty darn good naked. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
KayB.Oct 9, 2007
hello? hello? are you kidding me? where are the bugs? two crazy lonely people that can't face reality alone. don't we have enough of that in our day to day lives.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TrentS.Jun 1, 2007
Surprisingly strong adaptation of a very tricky play to pull off. Friedkin is in top form playing with lighting and the limited set better than any film in years. The performances are exceptional, from the smaller role of Brian F. Surprisingly strong adaptation of a very tricky play to pull off. Friedkin is in top form playing with lighting and the limited set better than any film in years. The performances are exceptional, from the smaller role of Brian F. O'Byrne to the leads Ashley Judd and Michael Shannon. Not a traditional horror film by any stretch of the imagination, but truly disturbing in a way no horror film in recent memory has even attempted to reach for. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KennethS.Jun 4, 2007
For anyone who has ever been around a person on the edge of sanity this was a very chilling portrayal of the descent into madness. A great real-life horror film with fantastic acting and direction.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
M.V.Jun 4, 2007
Can I give this a -1?? Warning: Stay Away From This Movie!! Do not pay any money whether at the cinema or as a rental. I begged my wife to let us leave the theater to no avail. She wanted to see if it got better. It got worse. People were Can I give this a -1?? Warning: Stay Away From This Movie!! Do not pay any money whether at the cinema or as a rental. I begged my wife to let us leave the theater to no avail. She wanted to see if it got better. It got worse. People were laughing and leaving. By far the worst movie I have ever seen. Ashley Judd's career is officially over, RIP... her husband won the Indy 500, so at least someone is doing well. The Critics Gave This Slop a 60, So It Is Official, Critics Know Nothing About Movies... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
BrookeWOct 1, 2007
Previews for Bug made the movie seem like a thriller about a virus that causes insanity or delusions
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BobCOct 9, 2007
The biggest problem with this movie was the way it was marketed. This is not a horror movie. It's not a science fiction movie. It's a drama. If you approach it as a dramatic film and take a second to think about the plot and the The biggest problem with this movie was the way it was marketed. This is not a horror movie. It's not a science fiction movie. It's a drama. If you approach it as a dramatic film and take a second to think about the plot and the characters you may actually see an interesting movie about a couple of desperate people who find solice in each others insanity. Others seem to be approaching it in hopes of seeing people who get eaten alive by some kind of alien insects or a skin eating virus. Those people seem to be the ones who are writing negative reviews. Though, that's the problem studios face when they try to sell thoughtful films to a mass audience. The mass audience doesn't really understand it and "knee-jerkedly" call it stupid. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TylerG.May 25, 2007
Great horror film one of the best of the year by far one of the best ever, go see this movie, it has great acting and it's overall a great experience.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
BillC.May 31, 2007
MY rating is a bit of a cop-out. The movie is excellant , IF you decided to see it and you go in knowing something about what's in the film.At times it seemed very David Lynch-ish. If someone is billing this as a horror film or a MY rating is a bit of a cop-out. The movie is excellant , IF you decided to see it and you go in knowing something about what's in the film.At times it seemed very David Lynch-ish. If someone is billing this as a horror film or a slasher movie they got it wrong. It's a well done , small film about insanity/madness and how bizarre and far away from reality someone can get. It's a well crafted , well acted movie about a subject few may find entertaining to watch. It's about as far as one can get from being a popcorn movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BrandiJ.Jun 3, 2007
I cannot believe that the critics found this movie so intriguing. I had to convince my husband to stay thinking it may get better. I was mistaken. The movie began badly and continued to get worse as the movie progressed. It was painful to I cannot believe that the critics found this movie so intriguing. I had to convince my husband to stay thinking it may get better. I was mistaken. The movie began badly and continued to get worse as the movie progressed. It was painful to watch 2 people become more and more insane as the movie proceeds. I could not recommend this movie to anyone even as a renter. I normally find value in every movie I see but this was a waste of 2 hours and $9. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RicardoC.Jun 3, 2007
Don't waste your time with this piece of nothing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JRJun 4, 2007
The worst movie ever! I will be asking for a refund on this movie. Someone must've owed a favor to let this movie hit theatres!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
KayannS.Jun 7, 2007
This movie made absolutely no sense whatsoever please do not waste your precious time (which its so not worth) and money to see this senseless film. By the way there were no BUGS in the movie...and a total of seven characters. Wow this is This movie made absolutely no sense whatsoever please do not waste your precious time (which its so not worth) and money to see this senseless film. By the way there were no BUGS in the movie...and a total of seven characters. Wow this is the first and worst ever movie for me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PooponSep 26, 2007
Luv the user reviews. Either its a very low score or a very high score, not much in between. And that likely shows that this is a great, unique movie experience. I rated it high obviously. This being because it was such a great ride to go on Luv the user reviews. Either its a very low score or a very high score, not much in between. And that likely shows that this is a great, unique movie experience. I rated it high obviously. This being because it was such a great ride to go on with the characters. I only wish we had been completely stuck in the motel room with the characters the entire movie instead of straying to the outside world on occasion. Other than that, the acting was superb and very believable. Micheal Shannon plays one of the craziest people ever and yet comes off intelligent and makes you want to believe what he is preaching. Agnes falls right for it and becomes just as crazy as Peter. I plan to watch it again because I know for a fact there are subtle things I missed....only really good movies require a second viewing to fully understand the movie as a whole IMO. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KennedyF.Feb 22, 2008
Tense and totally engrossing. Amazing performances.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AliciaS.Oct 24, 2007
An awesomely creepy look at how delusion and paranoia can spread. Unbelievable acting. The first half is a little slow, but it becomes more and more creepy as it builds up to a very powerful end. As a Psych major, I ate it up. I have never An awesomely creepy look at how delusion and paranoia can spread. Unbelievable acting. The first half is a little slow, but it becomes more and more creepy as it builds up to a very powerful end. As a Psych major, I ate it up. I have never seen anything else to even begin to compare it to! Unique and clever. A must-see for anyone interested in the human psyche. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
Jo-anB.May 27, 2007
What a great acting job. I really unique movie Think Ashley Judd out did herself; what a contrast to her past movies. Harry Conick is not quite as believable, but I really liked Michael Shannon...it was nice to see a newcomer in the mix.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
GraemedarkMay 28, 2007
Not the average slasher/horror film many may be expecting... there were several walkouts at the screening I attended (all chatty teenagers with too-active cell phones, I'll say). This is basically an intense, psychological arthouse Not the average slasher/horror film many may be expecting... there were several walkouts at the screening I attended (all chatty teenagers with too-active cell phones, I'll say). This is basically an intense, psychological arthouse film, more potent and sophisticated than the teen fare we've been inundated with lately. Definitely for the adventurous cineaste. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
FrankvMay 28, 2007
Distasteful is all that I can say. WHY would Ashley Judd make play a role as a drugged-up, alcoholic, lesbo? Is this a good career move? It was certainly misrepresented in the trailers as a sci-fi horror movie, which it is not. Virtually Distasteful is all that I can say. WHY would Ashley Judd make play a role as a drugged-up, alcoholic, lesbo? Is this a good career move? It was certainly misrepresented in the trailers as a sci-fi horror movie, which it is not. Virtually everyone coming out of the movie wanted a refund. I even saw someone coming out warn away someone who was buying a ticket for the next showing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
GeorgeH.May 29, 2007
The "Showgirls" of Horror!!! The most unintentionally funny thriller in recent memory. I am very surprised people are taking Bug" seriously. At fault - Friedkin 100%. It starts out fine with charming, subtle and quirky humor when the bugs The "Showgirls" of Horror!!! The most unintentionally funny thriller in recent memory. I am very surprised people are taking Bug" seriously. At fault - Friedkin 100%. It starts out fine with charming, subtle and quirky humor when the bugs start to come out, he has Judd and Shannon hamming it up so greatly that all sense of reality is broken and it's then that the movie becomes a comedy. I saw the film in a crowded Chicago theater and we roared with laughter! Even the set in the final scene got laughs. A well-made film but totally misguided with very poor choices abounding. Still, my advice is, "Go see it! It's hysterical!" Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AW.May 29, 2007
This movie has no redeeming value... it is clear that it was made for the stage and was probably a decent enough piece for the theater, but it dies a painful and annoying death on the screen. The theater was full when it started and half the This movie has no redeeming value... it is clear that it was made for the stage and was probably a decent enough piece for the theater, but it dies a painful and annoying death on the screen. The theater was full when it started and half the people walked out along the way... I kept waiting for it to turn the corner, however, perhaps mercifully the credits started to roll. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
PhilO.May 30, 2007
If one intends to enjoy this film thoroughly, one must unequivocally submit themselves to it, investing every ounce of attention and logical reasoning possible. At times, this can be very exhausting, considering the fact that the causes and If one intends to enjoy this film thoroughly, one must unequivocally submit themselves to it, investing every ounce of attention and logical reasoning possible. At times, this can be very exhausting, considering the fact that the causes and effects of the storyline are not wholly apparent. However, with that being said, the film is not a passive experience, and this bit of success can be attributed to the claustrophobic-style of filming that can only be executed this well by the director, William Friedkin. Also, Ashley Judd and the relatively new actor Michael Shannon provide astounding performances, seeming to abandon themselves to their characters. Connick, Jr. also provides a gritty performance, worthy of applaud. Nonetheless, the screenplay is based on a theatrical play written by Steppenwolf grad Tracy Letts, which speaks volumes to me: Bug would probably fare much better on stage than on screen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BobJ.May 31, 2007
the most appealing part of the movie were the preveiws before it, not even flashing some breasts makes the movie watchable
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RichardB.May 30, 2007
Its not the gory gross out torture movie that the current horror fans seem to want, but its a movie with great acting, very original, and really "gets under your skin."
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChadS.Jun 1, 2007
"Bug" is a love story and love makes you do crazy things; that is the essence of the film's "What if Mulder was insane?" scenario. Agnes(Ashley Judd) is on the pipe and snorts coke, but love is the real drug she's hooked on. Not "Bug" is a love story and love makes you do crazy things; that is the essence of the film's "What if Mulder was insane?" scenario. Agnes(Ashley Judd) is on the pipe and snorts coke, but love is the real drug she's hooked on. Not since Jodie Foster in "Nell" has a big-time actress risk looking utterly ridiculous by making the attempt to be primal without any vanity or self-consciousness. She largely succeeds, with a lot of help from Michael Shannon. Although "Bug" needs the time to establish Peter as a benevolent character, more time could've been devoted to the building of suspense rather than the construction of tedium. After all, "Bug" is largely a filmed play. But give the filmmaker credit for not resorting to CGI effects to dramatize the imagery in Peter's mind. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
PaulK.Jun 15, 2007
This definitely takes a long time to get where it's going, but the end of it is payoff worth the wait. A good video pick for the fall/winter.
0 of 0 users found this helpful