User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 83 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 83
  2. Negative: 12 out of 83

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 4, 2013
    8
    This was a very good action movie. Nothing more, nothing less. Personally, I thought Stallone looked great for his age, regardless of how he got there. If you go in with zero expectations, then you deserve to be disappointed. This ain't Shakespeare, folks. It's a rough and ready popcorn movie that just happens to be done very well.
  2. Feb 11, 2013
    7
    Hope I look that ripped when I am 66 years old. This is another action movie retro film riding on the success of the Expendables movies. We got one good Expendables film and now we get Arnie, Willis, and of course Stallone shoveled into their own me too action fiestas. If you are a fan of action films and old people jokes then this is the year for you! Oh, this is a movie review not a rantHope I look that ripped when I am 66 years old. This is another action movie retro film riding on the success of the Expendables movies. We got one good Expendables film and now we get Arnie, Willis, and of course Stallone shoveled into their own me too action fiestas. If you are a fan of action films and old people jokes then this is the year for you! Oh, this is a movie review not a rant column. Sorry, the movie is a great Stallone movie. As it should be being directed by the master of this genre. Expand
  3. Feb 4, 2013
    0
    I went in with ZERO expectations and came out in the NEGATIVE column. It was beyond bad. In many ways it's reprehensible. The story is ridiculous and the dialogue is tedious. Seeing a 70 yr Stallone all steroid-ed up with his face still botched up, was unnerving. Seeing him battle the young, hunky
    Jason M... was a just an embarrassment. Skip this one folks! Save your hard-earned dollars
    I went in with ZERO expectations and came out in the NEGATIVE column. It was beyond bad. In many ways it's reprehensible. The story is ridiculous and the dialogue is tedious. Seeing a 70 yr Stallone all steroid-ed up with his face still botched up, was unnerving. Seeing him battle the young, hunky
    Jason M... was a just an embarrassment. Skip this one folks! Save your hard-earned dollars and see something else.
    Expand
  4. Jun 9, 2013
    7
    Now I am quick to call out a crap action movie but I gotta say that it's suprisingly pretty good. The acting is solid and the story, while a bit generic, is enjoyable. I love the action scenes though, Not too gory and rather realistic as well. It's a prett enjoyable movie and worth checking out.
  5. Feb 14, 2013
    10
    A total throwback to the 80's action, amazing, just amazing, you will have a great time watching this movie if you enjoy those full action movies from the past.
  6. Feb 4, 2013
    7
    This movie was a lot of fun. It is exactly what the trailers show it to be. I am glad Stallone is back. Very fun movie. If you like Cobra, Get Carter, The Specialist, or any of his other movies along this line, you will like this one. And isn't entertainment what we go to the movies for?
  7. Feb 16, 2013
    7
    Bullet to the head is a great film, like Arnie's The last stand this film manages to entertain you throughout time. It makes you pretend it's a 1900's crime thriller. Sylvester kicks ass throughout the film, sung Kang is good as a cop and Jason momoa is the ultimate gangster. The killer vs killer style is very well done by director Walter hill. I enjoyed bullet to the head, a must watch.Bullet to the head is a great film, like Arnie's The last stand this film manages to entertain you throughout time. It makes you pretend it's a 1900's crime thriller. Sylvester kicks ass throughout the film, sung Kang is good as a cop and Jason momoa is the ultimate gangster. The killer vs killer style is very well done by director Walter hill. I enjoyed bullet to the head, a must watch. But not as good as movies like pulp fiction, but just good time pass kick ass action. So, 7/10 is my review. Expand
  8. Jul 17, 2013
    4
    Why did this film go into the theaters? This is a straight to DVD action movie similar to the one's done by Steven Seagal and Jean Claude Van Damme. If you are a huge action movie fan you may like this for me it's sub par. D+
  9. Feb 9, 2013
    2
    What kills this movie for me, more than anything else, is the co-star Sung Kang. He's terrific in the Fast Furious movies, but he's criminally underdeveloped, under-directed, and just terrible in this film. He needs to have at least SOME backbone to serve as Sly's foil. Shahi could have been directed better as well. What's more, the ending is terrible. Don't bother considering thisWhat kills this movie for me, more than anything else, is the co-star Sung Kang. He's terrific in the Fast Furious movies, but he's criminally underdeveloped, under-directed, and just terrible in this film. He needs to have at least SOME backbone to serve as Sly's foil. Shahi could have been directed better as well. What's more, the ending is terrible. Don't bother considering this one see Joe Morgenstern's review for further guidance. Expand
  10. Feb 5, 2013
    5
    This is no great film. The script is often stupid (both in terms of dialog and plot) and a number of the main actors are just terrible (Jason Mamoa is abysmal and Stallone is typically stiff) But it is a decent action movie that is actually entertaining in that context for a majority of the movie. Anyone who has zero expectations should not be watching this movie. You need to go inThis is no great film. The script is often stupid (both in terms of dialog and plot) and a number of the main actors are just terrible (Jason Mamoa is abysmal and Stallone is typically stiff) But it is a decent action movie that is actually entertaining in that context for a majority of the movie. Anyone who has zero expectations should not be watching this movie. You need to go in with an action movie expectation and its fine, not great, but fine. But why would anyone trust the reviews of anyone who always gives a 0, a la Marco? Collapse
  11. Feb 12, 2013
    4
    Walter Hill used to be a top action director and Sylvester Stallone was once an action hero. Both men have blown it with this lame dud. Stallone plays a hit man who teams up with a cop (Sung Kang) to avenge their partners and shut down a group of gangsters. Stallone acts more wooden than ever and the character's weak attempt to channel Eastwood's racist curmudgeon in "Grand Turino" isWalter Hill used to be a top action director and Sylvester Stallone was once an action hero. Both men have blown it with this lame dud. Stallone plays a hit man who teams up with a cop (Sung Kang) to avenge their partners and shut down a group of gangsters. Stallone acts more wooden than ever and the character's weak attempt to channel Eastwood's racist curmudgeon in "Grand Turino" is embarrassing. The action and writing are uninspired. Just skip it. Expand
  12. Jan 22, 2014
    7
    A surprisingly old-school feeling action movie that plays well off of Stallone. The action is solid and realistic, and there's even some decently funny moments. Outside of the slow start my only real complaint withthe movie is that it puts too much emphasis on the plot, which is overly familiar and the team up theme of the movie ends up going nowhere. Still, if you're a Stallone fan or areA surprisingly old-school feeling action movie that plays well off of Stallone. The action is solid and realistic, and there's even some decently funny moments. Outside of the slow start my only real complaint withthe movie is that it puts too much emphasis on the plot, which is overly familiar and the team up theme of the movie ends up going nowhere. Still, if you're a Stallone fan or are just looking for an action movie with an old-school feel, then this will provide for a good watch. It's not great, but it's still enjoyable. Expand
  13. Jun 4, 2013
    5
    Can a film built on cliches and hammy acting be any good? No, it can't but it can pass the time better than you might expect. When hit man Jimmy Bobo (Sylvester Stallone) loses his partner Louis (Jon Seda) in a double cross he joins forces with Taylor Kwon (Sung Kang), a DC police officer whose partner was killed by the same group. The problem with Bullet to the Head isn't that it feelsCan a film built on cliches and hammy acting be any good? No, it can't but it can pass the time better than you might expect. When hit man Jimmy Bobo (Sylvester Stallone) loses his partner Louis (Jon Seda) in a double cross he joins forces with Taylor Kwon (Sung Kang), a DC police officer whose partner was killed by the same group. The problem with Bullet to the Head isn't that it feels like been there done that, its that it believes its actually being original, that it isn't the hundredth odd couple action film to exist, at least when the Last Boy Scout came out, it didn't pretend it was something it wasn't, original. Almost the entirety of Bullet to the Head is cliches and while they irritate the film does have some thrills to it. The action is good, not great but its got a certain charm, the film uses profanity properly, it actually feels like it belongs and these two characters meld well meaning the cheesy dialogue does provide a few laughs although the script is filled with unnatural dialogue delivered by actors who can clearly tell its dreadful. The supporting cast is awful with Christian Slater continuing his slow journey to obscurity and Jason Momoa playing a unintentionally hilarious sadist. All in all the film is filled with problems but its oddly still fun watching Sly murder countless numbers of people even if at times it doesn't make a lick of sense. Expand
  14. May 28, 2013
    10
    Awesome 80's throwback right here! Great action, no CGI. This is how it's supposed to be done. Sly might be getting old but he can still smash on some baddies just as good as anyone else. The axe fight was really fun. Keep it up Sly.
  15. Jul 19, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Bullet to the Heat is a decent action film with some high quality fight scenes and good acting. Sylvester Stallone plays his typical BA role and Sung Kang continues to emerge as a potential star on the rise. I also loved the addition, though small, of Sarah Shahi. I really hope she starts to get some bigger roles because she is a fantastic actress and has such a unique and exotic look. The flaws in the movie were pretty major though. The plot development was frantic and sort of a mess and the element of Kang's character being ignorant to the police's involvement seemed kind of silly considering how obvious is was to the audience and even the rest of the characters in the film. The gun play was also horrendous. How many movies are going to use the silencer in this unrealistic fashion? It's really getting old. I also thought Sly's character was a little over the top. It's tough to "root for" a protagonist that you can't stand and his character was a bit too much of a jerk to get in his corner. On a slightly off-topic note, I find it ironic that Stallone has opined against guns and the 2nd amendment but then makes movies like this where there are criminals and crooked cops left and right. Talk about hypocrisy. Back to the point though, this was a decent movie that had some entertainment value but nothing more really. Expand
  16. Feb 18, 2013
    6
    Solid movie that seems like it is out of the 80s with an ok story and good action sequences. Stallone is still awesome per usual. There were some cliche lines that seemed intentionally overdone. The detective (Kang) was poorly acted and annoying at times. Regardless this was definitely the best of the most recent 2 action movies out (Parker and Die Hard). So if you like mind-numbing actionSolid movie that seems like it is out of the 80s with an ok story and good action sequences. Stallone is still awesome per usual. There were some cliche lines that seemed intentionally overdone. The detective (Kang) was poorly acted and annoying at times. Regardless this was definitely the best of the most recent 2 action movies out (Parker and Die Hard). So if you like mind-numbing action movies this is a pretty well done one. Expand
  17. May 24, 2013
    5
    For a recent Stalone flick, this isn't that bad. A few too many hollywood insider jokes, but what do you expect from a guy like Stalone. I suppose the credit mostly due to the direction of Walter Hill and the supporting role played by Sung Kang and Jason Momoa. If you are a dude (or a chick that likes bravado) this movie is a decent middle of the road watch.

    Some nit picking. Why is
    For a recent Stalone flick, this isn't that bad. A few too many hollywood insider jokes, but what do you expect from a guy like Stalone. I suppose the credit mostly due to the direction of Walter Hill and the supporting role played by Sung Kang and Jason Momoa. If you are a dude (or a chick that likes bravado) this movie is a decent middle of the road watch.

    Some nit picking. Why is Jimmy Bobo such a "bad" hitman? He leaves witnesses all over the place. Sentimental Hitmen don't live long.

    p.s. how come I never get invited to topless masquerade balls?
    Expand
  18. Aug 3, 2013
    2
    Stallone, like Scharzeneger is famous for playing dumb meatheads. Why Americans so enjoy watching dumb meatheads beat up other dumb meatheads every time they decide to go to the movies, I don't know. What I do know is that this film wreaks like something produced from a squatting position.
  19. Feb 6, 2013
    5
    Sorry, but the only thing that went through my head the whole movie was "Yo! Adriane" and I kept looking for Sly to jog up those famous Philly steps. I'm pretty sure that other things happened in the movie, but nothing could break my trance. Sly is Rocky. Nothing else matters. If you want to see an action flick with an aging star I'd save my money and go see the new Die Hard movie when itSorry, but the only thing that went through my head the whole movie was "Yo! Adriane" and I kept looking for Sly to jog up those famous Philly steps. I'm pretty sure that other things happened in the movie, but nothing could break my trance. Sly is Rocky. Nothing else matters. If you want to see an action flick with an aging star I'd save my money and go see the new Die Hard movie when it comes out. Expand
  20. Feb 4, 2013
    6
    "Bullet To The Head" is entertaining in a mindless way in fact, it's the perfect 80's film bone-crushing violence, action and slightly "past-their-sell-date" one-liners. If this has been released in 1986 it would be #1 at the box office. An entertaining and oddly out of date film that grinds out for an audience that no longer exists.
  21. May 31, 2014
    5
    I usually don`t like movies where the Main character speaks as the Narrator, and this was no different. Also for some reason I usually find movies located in New Orleans to be bad, and this was no different. Now I usually like movies with Sylvester Stallone, but this was different. It was just an average action movie, and had the low budget feeling. Honestly I can`t blame it on any of theI usually don`t like movies where the Main character speaks as the Narrator, and this was no different. Also for some reason I usually find movies located in New Orleans to be bad, and this was no different. Now I usually like movies with Sylvester Stallone, but this was different. It was just an average action movie, and had the low budget feeling. Honestly I can`t blame it on any of the actors. I just didn`t care for the movie overall. I found it to be a very forgettable movie. Expand
  22. Feb 2, 2013
    7
    Good action movie. A little more than the previews. Not to over the top. Good pacing. Last 15 to 20 minutes were a bit nonsensical. But still a good movie.
  23. Jul 8, 2013
    6
    Too cheesy, but there were a lot of great blood and bullet effects. It also felt a bit too short, but it wasn't the biggest disservice to the graphic novel.
  24. Feb 22, 2013
    6
    It's a good Stallone movie as far as action goes but it is ultimately let down by a cliched plot and stiff characters. Sung Kang plays his usual but he is better in the fast and furious movies. To conclude if you are looking for a popcorn entertainment movie this will be a good movie for you but otherwise it fails to deliver.
  25. Mar 24, 2013
    5
    If only director Walter Hill could make a great Sylvestor Stallone action movie like memorable hits such "Rambo" and "The Expandables", but i guess this is all he can give to us. It's not that it's terrible because it's not terrible, but it's storyline is uninteresting and unoriginal. If this movie had came out in the 80s, it probably could have been a big hit. But since it's 2013, i don'tIf only director Walter Hill could make a great Sylvestor Stallone action movie like memorable hits such "Rambo" and "The Expandables", but i guess this is all he can give to us. It's not that it's terrible because it's not terrible, but it's storyline is uninteresting and unoriginal. If this movie had came out in the 80s, it probably could have been a big hit. But since it's 2013, i don't think we're into those typical action movies anymore. Overall, just a boring, unoriginal story of vengeance. Expand
  26. Sep 3, 2013
    5
    A ho-hum action flick that fills the summer need but won't be remembered. Stallone's face is starting to look like he just lost to Apollo but pretty much all the time.
  27. Jul 30, 2013
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. best chemistry came from the bullets penetrating peoples heads. this was a weird coupling. Watch this an feel alienated. Pacing not the best and they pull it together an then no. This movie feels like your family doing a play Expand
  28. Feb 14, 2014
    7
    this is a good movie even if Sylvester Stallone is in it, not a big fan but this movie is a good one from him.
    Jason Momoa does his job well and is a great actor, the action is ok could be better
  29. Jan 19, 2014
    7
    It was a good movie. There was a lot of action during the whole of the movie and the specials effects were pretty good. Sometimes, the scripts had no sense and some scenes were annoying.
  30. Oct 26, 2014
    4
    A disastrously pointless excuse for a movie. Why does Sylvester Stallone star in a movie in his sixties with a shirt off! Seriously he's old and there's nothing to show! Stallone plays Jimmy Bobo, a fearless assassin who kills his targets and in this movie we are totally unaware if he's working on his own demands or if he's a contracted killer with a boss. He poses another action flickA disastrously pointless excuse for a movie. Why does Sylvester Stallone star in a movie in his sixties with a shirt off! Seriously he's old and there's nothing to show! Stallone plays Jimmy Bobo, a fearless assassin who kills his targets and in this movie we are totally unaware if he's working on his own demands or if he's a contracted killer with a boss. He poses another action flick with not much excitement to promise. The only decent actor is Sung Kang, who plays a detective called Taylor Kwon: a cop who associates with Bobo as they attempt to track down and take out the killer, played by Jason Momoa. Their relationship in this particular case is hard to bear and they might as well have killed each other to save the bother of working together. Bobo also has a daughter who appears in bits of the movie and she's a tattooist who mostly tattoos herself and makes her look ridiculous.

    Director Walter Hill's 1987 action flick, starring Arnold Schwarzenegger, which was Red Heat was quite boring as well as is Bullet to the Head, but Red Heat had Arnie in it and he's more entertaining and fabulous to watch! Bullet to the Head is just a major let down and hopefully there's no sequel on the way any time soon.
    Expand
Metascore
48

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 34
  2. Negative: 5 out of 34
  1. Reviewed by: Jordan Hoffman
    Feb 26, 2013
    42
    Unfortunately the bulk of the picture is cut together like a beer commercial on poorly lit cheap video without much panache. Unless primary colors with a gauzy halo is panache.
  2. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Feb 8, 2013
    40
    It's done with affection, so it's hard to begrudge Hill for indulging in a postcard cliché or two. After all, it - like Hill's movie as a whole - certainly beats a bullet to the head.
  3. 70
    The upshot is a shoot-‘em-up with a lean palette and relatively streamlined carnage, wet but not sloppy. It can almost pass for “classical.”