Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 38
  2. Negative: 4 out of 38
Watch On
  1. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    Jun 19, 2011
    90
    The rare sequel that not only improves on but retroactively justifies its predecessor, this lightning-paced caper-comedy shifts the franchise into high gear with international intrigue, spy-movie spoofery and more automotive puns than you can shake a stickshift at, handling even its broader stretches with sophistication, speed and effortless panache.
  2. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Jun 23, 2011
    88
    Lasseter is back behind the wheel, and you can feel his love for all things automotive in every frame. No humans blot this anthropomorphic romp. Cars do all the talking.
  3. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Jun 22, 2011
    88
    Cars 2 is fun. Whether that's because John Lasseter is in touch with his inner child or mine, I cannot say.
  4. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    Jun 19, 2011
    80
    Cooler cars and more action follow Lightning and Mater as they mix it up with spies and Formula 1 racers in yet another Pixar winner.
  5. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Jun 23, 2011
    75
    In terms of story and atmosphere and overall feeling, Cars 2 is a brand-new experience - and a distinct improvement.
  6. Reviewed by: M. E. Russell
    Jun 23, 2011
    75
    But if it's going to be diet Pixar, at least it's action-packed diet Pixar -- with overwhelming, detail-choked production design that occasionally had my jaw lowering like a forklift.
  7. Reviewed by: Wesley Morris
    Jun 23, 2011
    75
    This is an action movie that nods to Hayao Miyazaki and those sleeky dumb European chase thrillers with guys like Harrison Ford and Liam Neeson.
  8. Reviewed by: Roger Moore
    Jun 22, 2011
    75
    They turn more of the story over to the comic relief, the dopey tow truck Tow Mater, and get a sillier, more kid-friendly movie out of it. Yes, Cars 2 is better than "Cars."
  9. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Jun 24, 2011
    70
    A fun, silly, kid-friendly summer popcorn entertainment.
  10. Reviewed by: Kenneth Turan
    Jun 23, 2011
    70
    These creations have become like family to Lasseter as well as to each other, and they never fail to make us smile.
  11. Reviewed by: Dana Stevens
    Jun 23, 2011
    70
    It's sweet-spirited, visually delightful (if aurally cacophonous), and it will make for a pleasant enough family afternoon at the movies. But we've come to expect so much more than mere pleasantness from Pixar that Cars 2 feels almost like a betrayal.
  12. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Jun 26, 2011
    67
    Marginally better than its predecessor, but the same problem still remains: Cars just aren't very interesting as anthropomorphic animation vehicles (pun intended).
  13. Reviewed by: Lisa Schwarzbaum
    Jun 22, 2011
    67
    Not to get all Dorothy about it, but when it comes to Cars, there's no place like home. The emotional punch of the original is inextricably rooted in the movie's appreciation of off-the-beaten-track America, and all that homegrown vintage car culture signifies.
  14. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Jun 24, 2011
    63
    Although it would be unfair to label Cars 2 as unwatchable, it is surprisingly tedious in parts and not as satisfying as one might expect.
  15. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Jun 23, 2011
    63
    It's not that it's a bad film. But the bar is high, and it's lackluster and predictable, missing that alchemic blend of humor, pathos and indelible characters that give Pixar movies their brilliant shine.
  16. Reviewed by: Michael O'Sullivan
    Jun 23, 2011
    63
    Unfortunately, the sequel shortchanges the very relationships that gave the first movie its surprising heart.
  17. Reviewed by: Carrie Rickey
    Jun 23, 2011
    63
    While the plot may be too twisty for most kids (and adults) to follow, the art of Cars 2 is as imaginative as anything Pixar has ever done.
  18. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Jun 23, 2011
    63
    Cars 2 is like a gorgeous sports car with a toxic tailpipe, a busted navigation system and a loud stereo that plays only commercials.
User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 336 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 126
  2. Negative: 34 out of 126
  1. Aug 13, 2011
    10
    I saw Cars 2 expecting it to be amazing since Cars was my favourite childhood movie and it was amazing. It was the best Pixar, has the bestI saw Cars 2 expecting it to be amazing since Cars was my favourite childhood movie and it was amazing. It was the best Pixar, has the best soundtrack for a pixar and one of the best movies I've ever seen. This was the sequal to my favourite childhood film and it was amazing! Full Review »
  2. Jun 28, 2011
    4
    My 3.5 year old boy loves all Pixar movies, as do I. Cars 2 should be rated PG, not G, as it IS very violent. Guns, explosions, andMy 3.5 year old boy loves all Pixar movies, as do I. Cars 2 should be rated PG, not G, as it IS very violent. Guns, explosions, and killing/death are what the entire movie consists of, oh yeah and racing. We are trying to limit the amount of violence/weapons our son intakes. If you remember, even in Toy Story, Woody never had a gun in his holster, always empty. I don't necesarily mind that Pixar went this route cause it's not there job to cater to young children. I am however disapointed that the MPAA approved a G rating for this film when it CLEARLY should be PG. Full Review »
  3. Jun 24, 2011
    8
    There are some thoughts that people will think that they gonna hate the sequel, and so does the original that the audience won't like theThere are some thoughts that people will think that they gonna hate the sequel, and so does the original that the audience won't like the premise of Cars. I know people likes it or hates it, but I have to say that Cars 2 was really fun to watch and it's very exciting adventure better than the first one. The only thing that I really like in this sequel is secret agents, countries, action, adventure, and new fancy places. That's all I really enjoy myself watching this. Anyways, the story is more better developed that they make a new idea for the sequel that Lighting McQueen and Mater are going to the international world cup to win the race and then there are two secret agent spies that are facing with the bad villain who wants to destroy the cars who filled with oil. The voice acting did great and I really enjoy the new characters that they can bring more fun and more exciting to be decent and cool. The animation is pretty cool and the action scenes were awesome. I really like when the cars are chasing around with guns, explosions, and high-tech gadgets in everywhere that they race. But for my opinion, that I take it back when this movie will not be exciting as now and there's more that they came from where people think it's gonna be suck, so it's nice to make a better sequel once again for making a better cars animation. They know exactly what they can do for it and those animators are having fun for it. So that case, see this movie and see how fun that this movie will take more advantage for better animation, if you think so. Full Review »