User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 289 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 57 out of 289

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 25, 2011
    7
    This movie was ok. Though I didn't think that the whole espionage story didn't really fit into the whole cars movie thing other than that it was fine. But I expected a little better on the story.
  2. Jun 25, 2011
    10
    I'm glad the drive-in theater i saw this movie at showed this movie as a double feature with pirates of the Caribbean, because if it would've just shown pirates, I would've Demanded my money back. This movie was a hilarious comedy good for all ages. I saw this movie with my friend, and i'm really glad i did, because we we were laughing so hard the movie became a real bonding experience. Mater (voice by Larry the Cable Guy) makes the movie funny, going into the ladies room in japan, mistaking wasabe ice cream and going gonzo with the voice activated disguise machine is adds to the enjoyment of the movie. Love how they brought in popular T.V. shows in with The F/v Northwestern (Crabby, voice by Capt. Sig Hansen) . A message to those of you who didn't like this movie, "don't get your prop in a twist," and go see the movie again. " Expand
  3. Jun 25, 2011
    7
    How can someone not compare the sequels and in that department , part 2 does not make the cut with part 1. Where Cars 1 was funny and great in its character building department, Cars 2 puts too much emphasize on the secret agent plot, forgetting that some of the best moments in part 1 were the quiet and thoughtful moments. It is still enjoyable and makes for some fun-filled 2 hours, but it won't stick as much and I am not sure making Mater the number 1 character really worked. Overall still a positive score as it is so well made , with tons of great animation ideas. Expand
  4. Jun 25, 2011
    4
    [adult review]I am a huge Pixar fan. The only Pixar movies I don't like are the original Cars and of course their worst movie ever, Wall-e. That said, I didn't like Cars 2, but I disliked it less than the other two aforementioned movies. Overall I'd say this movie scores 1 from an adult perspective.

    [child review] to be fair this movie is really just for kids. And viewed from that
    perspective is an entirely great movie. Lots of action, bright colors, and funny characters. From the child's perspective I'd estimate this movie would hit around about an 8. Thus, my score is the average of the two rounded down to the nearest number. Expand
  5. Jun 25, 2011
    9
    Every great album has dynamic contrast... just like Pixar's now 20 year + output. Don't let the naysayers fool you. Cars 2 is an amazing action movie with heart and smarts and so much soul. There is so much depth in this movie. I don't know how anyone could miss it. The movie does rehash some action, comedy and spy movie conventions, but what it also does is keep you invested in the characters - especially Mater. I never knew I could care so much for a rusty old tow truck! I think that anyone with an open mind to culture and diversity will embrace Mater as the lead, and invest in his character arc. In my opinion, the critics who are giving this movie poor reviews are not only missing the point, but are being left in the dust by John Lasseter's craft. Not every movie has to be Wall-E (which I ADORE) or some pretentious, art-house bag of air to have innovation, heart, soul and intelligence. Cars 2 is another milestone for Pixar. Go see Cars 2 and be a kid again... and an adult. Expand
  6. Jun 25, 2011
    1
    As an ardent fan of the first Cars, I'm shocked at what an absolute mess this movie is. I expected to be a bit disappointed; I didn't expect to leave the theater shaking my head. By far the worst film ever released by Pixar, this one officially breaks their magic streak. They took all the heart and artistry of the first movie, and just chucked it out the window on their way to cashing in on all the merchandising possibilities. Owen Wilson may as well have not even shown up, because McQueen is relegated to a minor character in this film, as Mater becomes the centerpiece of a ridiculous (and almost completely unfunny) spy plot. Many reviewers have commented this was aimed at younger audiences than the first film, but no children's animated film you will see this year (or possibly ever) does more to glorify gun violence.
    Occasional glimmers of humor and clever touches are eclipsed by a bewildering, written-by-committee plot that tries to do too much and accomplishes too little.
    Upon leaving my 5 year-old son asked me "What was that movie about...?" I honestly couldn't answer him.
    Expand
  7. Jun 24, 2011
    3
    Terribly disappointing. Very little attention paid to the characters or the animation. Clearly a money grab. Avoid this movie at all cost, the studio should pay for the crap they have delivered.
  8. Jun 24, 2011
    6
    Let's start with this. I'm going to guess that Pixar did not devote enough effort to this movie. Given a cursory glance at the credits, it seemed unusually short for a Pixar movie, but I could've been distracted. Remember also that the release date was move up a year from the original 2012 release date for unknown reasons. It seems that Pixar is under pressure to get movies out every year, rather than focusing on quality, which is quite honestly, a disturbing trend. It shows in the movie as well. The story is a blend of a spy movie with the normal Pixar themes of "don't ditch your friends" etc. The spy sections work well. The normal Pixar themes feel forced and unnatural in the context of the plot. Mater has his moments, but is not a strong enough or deep enough character to carry the movie and ended up being very annoying towards the middle of the film. The animation is as always fantastic, the sets were awesome, the water physics are getting much better, can't complain much there. That being said, Cars 2 is still a pretty fun ride. But it definitely wasn't given the attention that it desperately needed. Hopefully Pixar's just saving it for Brave, their next original movie. Expand
  9. Jun 24, 2011
    8
    There are some thoughts that people will think that they gonna hate the sequel, and so does the original that the audience won't like the premise of Cars. I know people likes it or hates it, but I have to say that Cars 2 was really fun to watch and it's very exciting adventure better than the first one. The only thing that I really like in this sequel is secret agents, countries, action, adventure, and new fancy places. That's all I really enjoy myself watching this. Anyways, the story is more better developed that they make a new idea for the sequel that Lighting McQueen and Mater are going to the international world cup to win the race and then there are two secret agent spies that are facing with the bad villain who wants to destroy the cars who filled with oil. The voice acting did great and I really enjoy the new characters that they can bring more fun and more exciting to be decent and cool. The animation is pretty cool and the action scenes were awesome. I really like when the cars are chasing around with guns, explosions, and high-tech gadgets in everywhere that they race. But for my opinion, that I take it back when this movie will not be exciting as now and there's more that they came from where people think it's gonna be suck, so it's nice to make a better sequel once again for making a better cars animation. They know exactly what they can do for it and those animators are having fun for it. So that case, see this movie and see how fun that this movie will take more advantage for better animation, if you think so. Expand
  10. Jun 24, 2011
    4
    I thought Pixar was better than this. I thought they were above doing cashgrabs. Well, looks like they've been corupted. Cars 2 is a movie that's made only for the money, and it shows. Yes, it's got great animation, good voice acting, and fun action, but everything else is so below Pixar's and even Dreamworks's level. It's very unfunny, Mater was so annoying, the story was so boring, thrown together, and hollow, and the whole movie is just a very mediocre and boring animated movie. C'mon Pixar. You're better than this crap. Expand
  11. Jun 24, 2011
    0
    a loving comedy but its dumb why pixar u dazzle us with ur crative mind but not anymore i rather say go see KUNG FU PANDA 2 then this. this should be uses as a punishment than a gift
  12. Jun 24, 2011
    0
    This film is terrible. You may ask yourself, why did Pixar make a sequel to their objectively worst film ever? Why give Mater and Larry the Cable Guy, arguably the worst "comedian" ever, more screen presence? I'll tell you why. Cars has made 8 BILLION dollars in merchandise sales since it's release. Yes, 8 billion. $8,000,000,000. Really, they would be stupid not to make another one. They are, after all, a business. They're in it for the money. But they should seriously at least attempt to retain their artistic integrity. Since Cars, Pixar released not only their four greatest films, but four of the greatest animated films ever made. They broke their streak with this film. They're artistic geniuses, they're capable of so much more, yet they squander it on this trash. They sacrifice their honor in the name of the all-mighty dollar. So take your kids to see this piece of filth, buy them their Cars toys and backpacks and lunchboxes. Contribute to the artistic downfall of the greatest animation studio ever. This is a terrible film. I gave it an honest chance because Toy Story 3 was a sequel that outdid both of the previous films, proving Pixar can pull of cashgrabs while making a quality film, but this is a piece of trash. If Brave doesn't prove they can continue the quality we saw in movies like Wall-E and Up, I honestly will lose all faith in Pixar. Expand
  13. Jun 24, 2011
    10
    I don't understand where all the hate comes from. This movie rocks! It's hilariously funny, it has a powerfully deep message, the characters are so lovable and relatable, and the movie is just so much fun! I thought the first Cars was better, but still loved Cars 2. Ignore the losers on Rotten Tomatoes! Cars 2 is definitely worth seeing (maybe even twice)!
  14. Jun 24, 2011
    10
    Read some of the reviews and I'm suprised by the responses. The movie was great in my opinion. My young son loved it. The audience, including myself, laughed out loud continually throughout the movie. Overall it was at least just as good as the first movie, if not better. As usual pixar runs away with superior animation. There were lots of humor designed for kids and adults. This time around the movie was more centered around Mator rather than Mcqueen. I am going to go against the grain here and say that the plot and storyline were well laid out and put together quite well. If you like Pixar and the first cars movie, there is no reason you will not like this movie. Expand
  15. Jun 24, 2011
    4
    Big mess, lot of noise, the audience is not required to understand what's going on, who and how. Humans are replaced by talking cars, boats and airplanes, to get used to that half of the movie would have gone. If this movie is intended for kids, they didn't understand it, if it is for grownups they didn't like it. There is no real storyline, scattered events, non-related, just to have the two hours gone, but very slowly, boringly. Expand
  16. Jun 24, 2011
    5
    A plot somewhat long and boring, something that would use as a punishment in case my children do something wrong. Expecting much more than this sequel, very bad pixar.
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 38
  2. Negative: 4 out of 38
  1. Reviewed by: Ian Freer
    Jul 18, 2011
    60
    It's not vintage Pixar, but Cars 2 is still streets ahead of most of the animated pack. For all its energy and Bondian panache, perhaps its problems are insurmountable: Pixar's cars - and their universe - don't resonate and endear as much as its toys, monsters, clownfish and OAP dreamers.
  2. Reviewed by: J.R. Jones
    Jun 30, 2011
    30
    A rare dud from Pixar.
  3. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Jun 26, 2011
    67
    Marginally better than its predecessor, but the same problem still remains: Cars just aren't very interesting as anthropomorphic animation vehicles (pun intended).