Casino Royale

User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 948 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 85 out of 948
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. EricY.
    Mar 19, 2007
    9
    I haven't seen a James Bond movie in a long time, but this was a choice on my flight to Europe. I thought that the action was awesome from the beginning and I really enjoyed it. Poker is huge right now, so kudos to the filmmaker for cashing in on that as well. What a great movie!
  2. JakeE.
    Mar 22, 2007
    9
    I never thought it possible that this series could be rejjuvenated that way that it was, but drawing on, and in the process updating, the original book Ian Fleming Bond novel of Casino Royale re-created the character as Fleming originally saw him. And for all those Daniel Craig doubters, he does more than silence the critics as a more rogue Bond.
  3. KeithA.
    Mar 29, 2007
    7
    It had several very good scenes but it's not as great as the critics make it out to be. Craig did a good job, but he's much more intimidating than any previous Bond which takes away the character's subtle charm. The action sequences and dialogue are top-notch but the plot isn't that interesting (not to mention a predictable twist), it was too long, and the villian goes It had several very good scenes but it's not as great as the critics make it out to be. Craig did a good job, but he's much more intimidating than any previous Bond which takes away the character's subtle charm. The action sequences and dialogue are top-notch but the plot isn't that interesting (not to mention a predictable twist), it was too long, and the villian goes down like a PUNK. It's the best bond since GoldenEye, but it could've been better. Expand
  4. DAR
    Mar 30, 2007
    9
    Thought this was the best Bond movie in the series to date. From what I can tell, those who really didn't like this movie prefer the "formula" that Bond films have followed for the most part - diabolical villain with a doomsday device and/or plan for world domination, to be thwarted by a 007 who cheats death and injury while holding a gun in one hand and a beautiful woman in the Thought this was the best Bond movie in the series to date. From what I can tell, those who really didn't like this movie prefer the "formula" that Bond films have followed for the most part - diabolical villain with a doomsday device and/or plan for world domination, to be thwarted by a 007 who cheats death and injury while holding a gun in one hand and a beautiful woman in the other. While those films have their own entertainment value, elements of suspense and a plot that leaves you with unanswered questions were not their hallmarks. Casino Royale takes a much different turn, one which I think is for the better, by being a smarter Bond film in that regard - devoid of the run-of-the-mill sequences that didn't set the previous Bond films apart from any other action flick. And, aside from MoneyPenny and Q not being present, all of the other standard Bond film elements that make the series unique are still in place, albeit more subtlely introduced than most Bond fans are used to. Craig played the role as well as Connery ever has, presenting a much more well-rounded character than we're used to seeing. All in all, a fantastic 007 film, perhaps only topped (or equaled, I should say) by From Russia with Love, Goldfinger, and On Her Majesty's Secret Service. Expand
  5. Hagg
    Apr 13, 2007
    8
    Well I have read all of the negative comments here. I going to attempt this drunk! LOL The people complaining are lost, this is telling of how he became who he was in other movies. So of course no toys and since he is always scared, of love in the connery movies of course no get the girl ending. As for charming that is learned not given trust me. Also for the person saying no American Well I have read all of the negative comments here. I going to attempt this drunk! LOL The people complaining are lost, this is telling of how he became who he was in other movies. So of course no toys and since he is always scared, of love in the connery movies of course no get the girl ending. As for charming that is learned not given trust me. Also for the person saying no American cars in Europe you have never left your city. In my military time I have been all over and fords and opels(gm overseas) are everywhere. Read the books and understand what you are being shown before making ignorant remarks. Expand
  6. RussW.
    Apr 7, 2007
    9
    I entirely agree with JimmyLoneWolf's review. At least somebody has half a brain out there. 1, 2, or 3 stars? What the hell is going on with you people? Don't you know what a good film is? Jesus Christ! Casino Royale rocked... Eva Green was, and remains, one of the only Bond girls I have ever been able to believe (the only other one being Pussy Galore, despite the name).
  7. MartinS.
    Apr 8, 2007
    9
    This is the James Bond that Ian Fleming had in mind.
  8. LenR.
    May 5, 2007
    8
    A worthy new Bond. The action grabs you from the beginning and and keeps going.
  9. Walter
    Jul 22, 2007
    8
    Outstanding. A new face to what had become a ubiquitous and BORING character. To all the traditionalists panning this new, more aggressive, more human Bond, I say "please realize that the old Bonds were tired (looking), too soft, and too worried about their perfectly quaffed hair to kick as!" This Bond is tough, athletic, and cares not about the people he kills. Relentless, youthful, and Outstanding. A new face to what had become a ubiquitous and BORING character. To all the traditionalists panning this new, more aggressive, more human Bond, I say "please realize that the old Bonds were tired (looking), too soft, and too worried about their perfectly quaffed hair to kick as!" This Bond is tough, athletic, and cares not about the people he kills. Relentless, youthful, and invested with a mean streak, this Bond is finally refreshing and full of action. WELL overdue. Watch, take it in, and enjoy the much-needed overhaul. Expand
  10. JGross
    Oct 30, 2008
    8
    What makes this film great IS the lack of gadgets, ridiculous villians and stupid plots. It has a gritty realism that allows you really to get into the film.
  11. KrisK.
    Feb 5, 2008
    10
    This was one of the best movies ever made! Thank God for Casino Royale!
  12. AllenT.
    Feb 5, 2008
    10
    Yes! They resurrected the Bond franchise!
  13. JamesCool
    Feb 5, 2008
    10
    This is one of the best movies I've ever seen.
  14. DavidD
    Jun 8, 2008
    8
    I am not a huge Bond fan even though i have seen almost all the films. I thought Pierce B. was a great Bond but the action in his films sucked so bad. They were so unbelievable. In this film, it was like, finally, a film that you can believe the action could happen. Not too much CGI and the stupid camera movement of so many action films these days was steady, not moving around all the I am not a huge Bond fan even though i have seen almost all the films. I thought Pierce B. was a great Bond but the action in his films sucked so bad. They were so unbelievable. In this film, it was like, finally, a film that you can believe the action could happen. Not too much CGI and the stupid camera movement of so many action films these days was steady, not moving around all the time. The bad in the movie was the main woman. She is not good looking at all!! Even with all that make up. Also, the poker games were just stupid. Not once have i ever seen those scenarios in a poker game. Too unbelievable. But overall, it was a very good movie. Expand
  15. MattR
    Dec 29, 2009
    9
    Finally, a Bond movie to actually get the character of Bond right. Not even Sean Connery played Bond so accurately as Daniel Craig, who played him as Ian Flemming visioned... cold, broken, yet witty and clever. A lot of these negative reviews state that they've gotten rid of the cars, gadgets, Q, Moneypenny... good! That's the best part about this movie - it's fresh, Finally, a Bond movie to actually get the character of Bond right. Not even Sean Connery played Bond so accurately as Daniel Craig, who played him as Ian Flemming visioned... cold, broken, yet witty and clever. A lot of these negative reviews state that they've gotten rid of the cars, gadgets, Q, Moneypenny... good! That's the best part about this movie - it's fresh, exciting, unpredictable. The last several Bond movies have followed a formula that made them feel like the same movie each time. Other negative reviews say that the plot made no sense, but that's far from the film's fault, it says more about those people than the film. The way the plot comes together at the end is amazing and is story-telling mastery that the series has never been able to achieve in the past. Action scenes were incredible, particularly the parkour chase in the beginning and the Venice shootout at the end. Acting was great, especially Eva Green (playing Vesper Lynd) and Daniel Craig. I really grew close to the characters, making the plot twist all the more shocking. The one negative thing I have to say about this movie is that it feels like it drags on a little in the middle, and all the more if you don't understand how poker works. It's still completely engaging and entertaining all the way through, but the action-drought in the middle may slightly bother some. Only a very minor complaint. Expand
  16. jt
    Jan 7, 2009
    8
    Very good movie overall. Starts over with bond from the beginning. It humanizes bond in a good way. Howeverwhen i thinik of bond danieal craig is the last image that comes to mind. if this movies was done with connery or brosnan it would be so much better.
  17. RobertB
    Aug 3, 2009
    9
    Great movie! Best Bond in a long time. This is how Bond should be.
  18. Billw
    Sep 6, 2009
    10
    One of the best James bond movies. I love the plot, Daniel are very cool and i think he is the real James bond.
  19. WesterlyQuetin
    Nov 14, 2006
    10
    In a film where Daniel Craig is praised as the best Bond ever... Eva Green steals the film and dominates cinema history with a flawless performance, surpassing performances like Liv Ullmann in Scenes from a Marriage or Meryl Streep in Sophie's Choice.

    If she is not at least nominated, she flat out deserves to win, for an Oscar... there will be hell to pay.
  20. BaqirT.
    Nov 15, 2006
    9
    Superb! Thrilling action, especially in Madagascar and at Miami Airport. Bond Girls are lovely (as usaul), especially Caterina Murino.
  21. VladA.
    Nov 17, 2006
    9
    Totally new direction for Bond and I like it a lot. I knew Daniel Craig was the right man for the job since Layer Cake, but he managed to exceed my expectations. He added layers upon layers of humanity to the character which, in the hands of a good director, should keep the series fresh for as long as he is still Bond. Btw, Jojo C., by more qualified, do you mean better looking or better Totally new direction for Bond and I like it a lot. I knew Daniel Craig was the right man for the job since Layer Cake, but he managed to exceed my expectations. He added layers upon layers of humanity to the character which, in the hands of a good director, should keep the series fresh for as long as he is still Bond. Btw, Jojo C., by more qualified, do you mean better looking or better actors? Yes, it's a rhetorical question. Expand
  22. JanScholl
    Nov 17, 2006
    7
    I am not a Bond fan-and my tickets were free-but I had a pretty good time other than the snake/ferret scene. The ending was a bit odd--so I am assuming the next two films will clear up the whole thing with Ellipsis? Might buy it come dvd time.
  23. DebbieY.
    Nov 18, 2006
    10
    Amazing.
  24. Starfox
    Nov 18, 2006
    9
    Welcome Back Mr. Bond. Like an old friend who has been gone for far too long, James Bond is back - darker, more realistic and more fun than he has been in a long long time. This is a fantastic reboot to the series and demonstrates a bold new direction (and continuous storyline) for films to come.
  25. halb
    Nov 18, 2006
    7
    "One of the best films of the 20th century"...? Please. First of all, we're now in the 21st century, last time I checked my calendar. Secondly, it is merely a good film, one of the better in the 007 franchise, but not a great film. Flawed by an early false climax and not-totally-unexpected plot "twist" a good 30 minutes before the true climax -- which wasn't really all that"One of the best films of the 20th century"...? Please. First of all, we're now in the 21st century, last time I checked my calendar. Secondly, it is merely a good film, one of the better in the 007 franchise, but not a great film. Flawed by an early false climax and not-totally-unexpected plot "twist" a good 30 minutes before the true climax -- which wasn't really all that satisfying, in my opinion, just a set up for the next film. Craig is truly excellent as Bond. Expand
  26. Fantasy
    Nov 18, 2006
    10
    Wow! Finally, a Bond movie that takes off the kid gloves and portrays 007 as a "cold blooded" fearless assasin. His only job is to take care of the bad guys at all costs, using crude, but unconventional ways of acheiving his objective. As for Daniel Craig, the blonde ruggedly handsome actor who portrays the new 007, don't worry about accepting him as Bond, James Bond. After about 5 Wow! Finally, a Bond movie that takes off the kid gloves and portrays 007 as a "cold blooded" fearless assasin. His only job is to take care of the bad guys at all costs, using crude, but unconventional ways of acheiving his objective. As for Daniel Craig, the blonde ruggedly handsome actor who portrays the new 007, don't worry about accepting him as Bond, James Bond. After about 5 minutes into the film CRAIG IS 007, and he may be the best of all time, with all due apology to Sean. He takes away the cartoon fluff of the character and instead portrays the hardness that a real agent must have wheter he works for the CIA or Brittish Intelligence. And the plot of the movie is fast paced and ends with the audience begging for the adventure to continue. Having seen every Bond film ever made from the beginning this is such a welcome holiday treat. Kudo's to all for a great production and to Daniel Craig who may be one of the best actors in the world? With this performance and also his character in INFAMOUS the Truman Capote film now playing, it won't be long before he catapults to Superstar status. Go see and enjoy! Expand
  27. MegW.
    Nov 19, 2006
    10
    Sean who? Daniel Craig is EXCELLENT as the new James Bond. He's suave, arrestingly gorgeous but believable as a cold blooded killer. The stunts and action scenes in the film are the most realistic a Bond film has had in years and the women were stunning. it was nice to see non-Hollywood actors in the film and the color of the movie took you back to the early Sean Connery Bond films. Sean who? Daniel Craig is EXCELLENT as the new James Bond. He's suave, arrestingly gorgeous but believable as a cold blooded killer. The stunts and action scenes in the film are the most realistic a Bond film has had in years and the women were stunning. it was nice to see non-Hollywood actors in the film and the color of the movie took you back to the early Sean Connery Bond films. I got lost in the first few scenes thinking what decade it was set in. Clever and by far the best Bond films since the first 3. Expand
  28. BlueMan
    Nov 19, 2006
    10
    Best Bond since the begining of the series. Something for all in this one. Great action, believable characters, and interesting story line. Bond is back, with a vengeance!
  29. BenSmith
    Nov 19, 2006
    8
    This is a very enjoyable movie, and well worth it to see. This takes a turn away from the flashy, glitzy other Bond films and takes on a more gritty air. Great fun to watch. I'd love to give this a 10, and it almost deserves it, but the ending tends to drag on just a littl bit. Go watch it! You won't be disappointed.
  30. ChaseM.
    Nov 19, 2006
    10
    Far and away the best Bond picture in 20 years. Craig has a chance that no other actor since Connery has had in adding to the James Bond character- and he does so superbly. With a great story and a wonderful supporting cast, Casino Royale easily jumps into the top 3 Bond movies.
  31. JasonS
    Nov 21, 2006
    10
    One of the best Bond movies ever!
  32. BillC.
    Nov 21, 2006
    9
    Just about a perfect film to turn around a series that had grown into a parody of itself. A story that can be followed and action that is not so dependant on outragous gimmicks.Those who doubted Daniel Craigs ability should shut up now. Those who feel the film lacks enough comedy have no appreciation for the original series and should stick with Austin Powers on DVD. Bond is back and Just about a perfect film to turn around a series that had grown into a parody of itself. A story that can be followed and action that is not so dependant on outragous gimmicks.Those who doubted Daniel Craigs ability should shut up now. Those who feel the film lacks enough comedy have no appreciation for the original series and should stick with Austin Powers on DVD. Bond is back and it's a good thing Brosnan has hung up his license to kill. Bill C. Expand
  33. [Anonymous]
    Nov 20, 2006
    9
    Good movie. Good action. Good versatility in the sequences of love, casino scenes and action. and that signiture "bond...james bond" was in there which sealed it. i like the old-school classic-ness of the movie without the over-the-top futuristic things that plagued the last few bond movies.....BUT...that movie was a little too long...(that's why not a 10).
  34. Chris
    Nov 20, 2006
    10
    The best bond movie ever, without question. The goofiness of the old bond movies are gone. The portrayl of death makes the largest change in this movie. Bond no long kills people like cartoon characters, he murders them brutally. Enough good things cannot be said about this movie, you simply must go see it. Bond is recreated and is better than ever. And all you closet cases out there needThe best bond movie ever, without question. The goofiness of the old bond movies are gone. The portrayl of death makes the largest change in this movie. Bond no long kills people like cartoon characters, he murders them brutally. Enough good things cannot be said about this movie, you simply must go see it. Bond is recreated and is better than ever. And all you closet cases out there need to get over the entire Daniel Craig not being pretty thing. I'm sure he can get a lot more pussy then you. Expand
  35. JaneH
    Nov 21, 2006
    8
    Great Bond (actor), but the editor must have dozed off watching all the action sequences and forgotten where he put his scissors. Some of the best set pieces make little sense (leaping from cranes/sinking Venetian palazzos). Try consulting the writer(s) of the Bourne films for tips on integrating thrilling action with logic.
  36. ChrisB
    Nov 21, 2006
    10
    I used to be a Bond fan, now I'm a reborn Bond fan.
  37. ChazG.
    Nov 22, 2006
    10
    This film has every aspect which makes a good film great. I'm glad to see the Bond story taken more seriously than we have seen in the recent film following Goldeneye. Pros: Overall great quality film ie: Script & Cinematography were stellar. One of the best "on foot" chase scenes ever! Cons: My only complaint was the lack of some more intuitive & believable gadgets. If you are a fan This film has every aspect which makes a good film great. I'm glad to see the Bond story taken more seriously than we have seen in the recent film following Goldeneye. Pros: Overall great quality film ie: Script & Cinematography were stellar. One of the best "on foot" chase scenes ever! Cons: My only complaint was the lack of some more intuitive & believable gadgets. If you are a fan of the "Old School Bond Movies" this movie is a must see. Expand
  38. AngelM.
    Nov 22, 2006
    10
    Casino Royale is by far the best Bond film in years, I am extremely happy that the producers decided to take the franchise in this new direction. As for Daniel Craig's James Bond, he has just fit nicely in the shoes of the great Sean Connery as the best Bonds on film. By far the best movie I've seen all year.
  39. KentE.
    Nov 22, 2006
    10
    As we have seen in Munich and Layer Cake, Daniel Craig has the charm and intensity he needs to be Bond. But Casino Royale has seen him make Bond his own. From the over confident swagger and quick wit to a genuine sense of menace - he got it all right. I simply cannot imagine a better Bond than Mr. Craig has given us - contemporary and classic ! That's a real feat !
  40. RichardS
    Nov 22, 2006
    7
    Very good in many ways: Craig, the stunts, the action in general, the dialogue and the brilliant opening credits etc. But it is also flawed: the opening song is absolutely dreadful, even worse than Madonna's abomination. Words cannot describe how bad the song is. A few other problems: the repeated use of mobile phone calls to reveal identities becomes grating. Also, the story has too Very good in many ways: Craig, the stunts, the action in general, the dialogue and the brilliant opening credits etc. But it is also flawed: the opening song is absolutely dreadful, even worse than Madonna's abomination. Words cannot describe how bad the song is. A few other problems: the repeated use of mobile phone calls to reveal identities becomes grating. Also, the story has too many holes and improbabilities. But overall a success - an excellent start and Craig is superb. Expand
  41. SETHD
    Nov 22, 2006
    10
    Rateing a bond movie, or deciding wich one is your favorite is like determining what your soda of choice is. There is no wrong answer its a matter of taste. they are all intrinsically the same. Until now. Casino Royale opens up new doors, creates a brand new atmosphere and breathes a whole new breath into an otherwise over sweet franchise. I can't regard this film high enough.
  42. KateG
    Nov 22, 2006
    10
    Best Bond movie in years, and maybe ever. Daniel Craig does a spectacular job as 007. Very impressive. Eva Green was a sensational a-typical Bond girl, who could actually act! So glad that the story came back down to earth and relied on great acting and a smart plot rather than gimmicky special effects and gadgets. Bond is smarter and darker and better because of it. Bravo!!
  43. AnonymousMC
    Nov 22, 2006
    8
    Best Bond since Goldeneye. The last half-hour was completely unecessary, but all in all a worthy movie. This Bond is stripped of all goofy gadgets and one liners, and armed instead with badass fighting skills and cunning.
  44. Robertxxx
    Nov 23, 2006
    8
    though I thought clive owen was the natural choice for the new bond, Craig proves to be sensational in a part that totally redesigns our concept of the master agent...a tad long, but ends with a double bang.
  45. RobertH.
    Nov 23, 2006
    10
    This has to be my favorite Bond movie yet, and I've watched every one religiously. The new Bond roars with excitement while at the same time showing that he is human and can let down his defenses to the most dangerous of foes, women. Craig shines in Casino Royale, proving that even though he doesn't necessarily look the part, he plays it better than any Bond since Connery. The This has to be my favorite Bond movie yet, and I've watched every one religiously. The new Bond roars with excitement while at the same time showing that he is human and can let down his defenses to the most dangerous of foes, women. Craig shines in Casino Royale, proving that even though he doesn't necessarily look the part, he plays it better than any Bond since Connery. The only bad thing i have to say about it is that the Bond girls weren't quite as good-looking as I'd hoped, but the acting and action make up for it in the end. Expand
  46. BilB.
    Nov 24, 2006
    10
    I thoroughly enjoyed this movie. Daniel Craig pulls Bond of flawlessly. While there may not be a lot of suave womanizing in this Bond, there is a genuine roughness about him that is more believable than in any other Bond film. A must see.
  47. AnonymousMC
    Nov 25, 2006
    10
    The only reason you won't love this movie is if you're expecting the usual blow up the secret volcanoe base while still caring about whether or not my drink is shaken and not stirred plot. This is deeper, more exciting, and there isn't just and obvious badguy with a scar and a cat and a maniacal laugh.
  48. NeilW.
    Nov 26, 2006
    9
    Finall, there's a Bond who shows us what it means to actually kill: it's brutal, it's very physical, and it devours your soul. Craig is just that. Apart from that, we finally get to see some true acting (just think of Pierce Brosnan's "I have only one facial expression" stance...). One point deducted for extremely annoying Sony product placement. But still - go and see it!
  49. GeorgeC.
    Nov 26, 2006
    8
    The name
  50. R.R.
    Nov 26, 2006
    8
    A very smart, sophisticated action film with better (albeit uneven) scripting and acting than the previous efforts... but is it Bond? I was horrified from the beginning to hear that Craig got the part, and I have to admit to being more than pleasantly surprised. His physical style, a little ungainly if effective, is a take on the character that's pretty close to Fleming's A very smart, sophisticated action film with better (albeit uneven) scripting and acting than the previous efforts... but is it Bond? I was horrified from the beginning to hear that Craig got the part, and I have to admit to being more than pleasantly surprised. His physical style, a little ungainly if effective, is a take on the character that's pretty close to Fleming's original vision. This James Bond is just starting out, and he's sorting out things as he goes along. The action scenes are all intelligently done, some of the repartee (vide the scene on the train) is brilliant and funny, the dialogue frequently examines and challenges the comfortable Bond myths, and Eva Green is a godsend. And yet, a "true" Bond film requires all of the following: inspired, cutting edge gadgets that, yes, have to be a little on the little-boy-toy side, a gargantuan bad guy whose scope is beyond petty cash (and who preferably owns a base of operations beneath the ocean), and, need I say this, Q and Moneypenny. Seeing as the film shows us Bond's beginnings, I am desperately hoping that its open end, with Bond finally giving us his calling card "My name is...etc. etc.", points to a future film more in the classic vein. Summing up: a refreshingly taught reinvention of a classic that hopefully won't forget its roots in future installments. Expand
  51. Anna
    Nov 27, 2006
    9
    Craig is impressive as Bond. And finally a Bond story worth telling is brought to the screen. N,o he's not Connery, but he's close.
  52. ChrisH.
    Nov 27, 2006
    9
    I loved this movie, acion scenes were great. Bond got his ass kicked but still saved the day..almost. Daniel Craig is the man. Go all in and see this movie while it is still in theatres.
  53. Raphael
    Nov 28, 2006
    9
    This is one of the best Bond-Movies ever to hit the big screen. For me it is right up there with Goldfinger, Goldeneye and a view to a kill. Daniel did a great job, and wore his tux just as nicely as Sean would do!! And whoever mentions the lack of gadgets again, is an utter fool! BOND IS NOT ABOUT GADGETS, BUT ABOUT PURE ACTION AND THRILLING MOVIES!
  54. RachitS.
    Nov 29, 2006
    9
    Not bad for a new bond movie. I really like the action. its pretty raw. But the ending is a little wiered.
  55. RoyG.
    Nov 29, 2006
    10
    The gadgets and plots of the previous Bond movies were over the top and cartoonish. Craig's Bond is more believable, the stunts realistic, the double and triple crosses dizzying and the conclusion left me wanting more. Great movie!
  56. DerekG.
    Nov 29, 2006
    9
    This was EXACTLY what Bond needed. I always thought the newer ones were kind of cheesy. This new one is exactly the de-cheesing the franchise demanded to stay alive. The way the book imagined him.
  57. ANeil
    Nov 30, 2006
    9
    Best bond in decades. Funny that the people who panned it basically complained that all the cliches werent included. Hey, how about the fact that it was the way flemming actually wanted Bond to be? Connery's early movies didn't have all the silly gadgets either. Back then they were actually realistic. A garrot in a watch? Okay. An invisible car? Gimme a break. Great to see them Best bond in decades. Funny that the people who panned it basically complained that all the cliches werent included. Hey, how about the fact that it was the way flemming actually wanted Bond to be? Connery's early movies didn't have all the silly gadgets either. Back then they were actually realistic. A garrot in a watch? Okay. An invisible car? Gimme a break. Great to see them go back to a raw Bond, the way a secret agent should be. 3 or 4 movies like this and Craig will become Connery's equal. Expand
  58. UD
    Dec 11, 2006
    9
    Daniel Craig puts on a tour de force performance rivaled only by the historical importance of the Connery era Bond films. The filmmakers have taken the lure of the Bond universe as a base to create not only the best action film of 2006, but also, far and away the best 007 movie ever. Everything here seems to work perfectly and the producers were right to relieve Bond of his silly, Daniel Craig puts on a tour de force performance rivaled only by the historical importance of the Connery era Bond films. The filmmakers have taken the lure of the Bond universe as a base to create not only the best action film of 2006, but also, far and away the best 007 movie ever. Everything here seems to work perfectly and the producers were right to relieve Bond of his silly, cartoonish persona in favor of an actual human side with depth. All in all, a movie not to be missed. Expand
  59. JustinP.
    Dec 10, 2006
    9
    A superb prequel, with great plot, action, and intrigue - even if at times it seems somewhat predictable. However, the filmmakers have taken the film in a brave direction, opting to have a less suave Bond, a gritty man with more under the surface - the man before he became the legend. The classic James Bond theme music is also conspicuously absent from the film until the climax - the A superb prequel, with great plot, action, and intrigue - even if at times it seems somewhat predictable. However, the filmmakers have taken the film in a brave direction, opting to have a less suave Bond, a gritty man with more under the surface - the man before he became the legend. The classic James Bond theme music is also conspicuously absent from the film until the climax - the moment when Bond starts stepping into the shoes of the 007 that we have all come to know and love. Beautiful! Expand
  60. SteveC
    Dec 19, 2006
    8
    I finally saw the film. I was shocked at the complete and total boldness in risks taken by the filmmakers. My hat is off to the risk takers and it was well worth it. If you had told me that they would make a Bond film with a blonde Bond and discard most of the bond standards from the music to the usual lines including all the tongue in cheek campy stuff and a lack of gadetry and action I finally saw the film. I was shocked at the complete and total boldness in risks taken by the filmmakers. My hat is off to the risk takers and it was well worth it. If you had told me that they would make a Bond film with a blonde Bond and discard most of the bond standards from the music to the usual lines including all the tongue in cheek campy stuff and a lack of gadetry and action sequences with cars, boats, planes or other mobile wonders, I would say that the movie would fail big time. I would be wrong. This film throws those standards back in your face and announces that this is a NEW Bond. It does this right up to the end when it shocks you back into Bond heaven with the final line and the roll of the credits that screams that Bond is back. This is a fantastic ressurection capable of extending the series for years to come. Well done. Expand
  61. StephenM
    Dec 2, 2006
    9
    Bound to be an instant Bond classic. Detractors will say no CGI or gadgets makes a Bond movie not, but they have no roots in the franchise. Go back and watch Dr. No, From Russia with Love and On her Majisty's Secret Service. Realism, limited gadgets and great stories. Just like Casion Royale.
  62. BamdadS.
    Dec 2, 2006
    10
    One of the best movies ever! Awesome Cast, Awesome Story! Just watch it!
  63. G.C.
    Dec 20, 2006
    9
    Simply amazing. good fun.
  64. JackB.
    Dec 23, 2006
    9
    More than a good addition to the Bond series; an excellent film.
  65. LukeTheDuke
    Dec 28, 2006
    10
    A great new Bond. Daniel Craig takes Bond to a new level. Once again, another great James Bond film.
  66. Kevin
    Dec 3, 2006
    8
    This was a much better Bond flick than the last few have been. One thing I couldn't help but thinking about the whiners who bitched and moaned about Daniel Craig: they are all fools with lots of egg on their face. He did a GREAT job. The opening scene was my favorite in the movie, very video-game-esque, but in a good way. Not a perfect flick, but very entertaining, and much more This was a much better Bond flick than the last few have been. One thing I couldn't help but thinking about the whiners who bitched and moaned about Daniel Craig: they are all fools with lots of egg on their face. He did a GREAT job. The opening scene was my favorite in the movie, very video-game-esque, but in a good way. Not a perfect flick, but very entertaining, and much more characterization than what you'd expect. Expand
  67. anandk.
    Dec 30, 2006
    10
    awesome gr8 movie of bond, specially daniel craig to watch.
  68. AndyS.
    Dec 3, 2006
    9
    I was very impressed with the movie in nearly all aspects, especially Daniel Craig, who is phenomenal as Bond. I think Ian Fleming would be proud of this movie.
  69. PeterB.
    Dec 4, 2006
    9
    This movie is one of the best Bonds films ever! Craig is brilliant as Bond, bringing new life to a dying character. Eva Green and Mads Mikkelsen are equally impressive as one of the only intelligent Bond girls and one of the creepiest villains respectively. Judi Dench is also magnificent as M. The only complaint is that the film might be a bit overlong.
  70. PatC.
    Dec 4, 2006
    8
    A splendid tour de force for the Bond series, even if breaking into his boss's house was over the top.
  71. NicholasB.
    Dec 8, 2006
    9
    I have never been a Bond fan, ever. The last Bond movie I saw in the theatres was Goldeneye and to say the least it was disappointing. The thing that makes this movie great is that Daniel Craig plays Bond as a secret agent first and a tuxedo wearing, womanizing cad second. I like to think of this movie as the "Bourne Identity" Bond.
  72. grantcowans
    Dec 8, 2006
    10
    i think it was brill between me and u if i wasnt bovared what people think i would have a big cry over it because when his girlfreinf died a the end it was sad i think it explains everythink about him and why he uses his girlfriends i give 5 stars
  73. DanaM.
    Dec 8, 2006
    9
    Great entertainment. Worth the $10 I paid to see it. Slows a little in the middle and happens to be a tad long but still is a must-see if you like Bond movies. Don't pay attention to the nay-sayers.
  74. JoshL.
    Jan 11, 2007
    9
    Another James Bond movie made, another classic to add to your video collection. Nowadays, who isn't a fan of James Bond? This time, we have a new actor in the place of James, a British man by the name of Daniel Craig. I believe that he did a fantastic job as the main role, and they are already filming a new Bond movie with the same actor. Casino Royale is very different from your Another James Bond movie made, another classic to add to your video collection. Nowadays, who isn't a fan of James Bond? This time, we have a new actor in the place of James, a British man by the name of Daniel Craig. I believe that he did a fantastic job as the main role, and they are already filming a new Bond movie with the same actor. Casino Royale is very different from your average Jame Bond flick. The action isn't as cartoonish, and the movie has a much darker feel than the others. For some, it's good news, and for others, it's bad news. First the bad news, some girls will not have a fun time watching the movie. As they seldom look for dark, violent, and serious movies. I think that Casino Royale may have lost some female James Bond fans. I also think that the movie is missing a bit of emotion, as the new Bond is nearly emotionless. Which isn't a bad thing, I don't mind empty emotions in my movies, as long as the storyline and acting make up for it. But I'm not talking about my personal preference. The bottom line is that this year's Bond, is nothing like the previous Bond. Some will like him, and some will not. It all depends on what you expect from a movie. In a nutshell, the one's who crave emotions from the main characters, may not like this movie. The ones who like more action, less talk, this film is for you. I have a lot more to tell you on the good side of the film, before we get into the actual plot. There isn't as much action in the movie as all of the other Bond films, but it's more violent and ferocious. The storyline might be a little hard to follow, but after a few viewings, you gain the complete knowledge. Think of it like this: Each time you watch the film, you learn something that you didn't know from the previous viewing. A good amount of the movie takes place at a poker table. It may be a bit boring for some, but not for me. After all, who doesn't like to sit down and watch a very dramatic version of World Series of Poker? I didn't think so. The film takes place in many different locations. From the Bahamas, all the way down to Europe. The locations make the theme of the movie change pretty rapidly. So why is the movie 2 and a half hours long? It's simply because a lot of things take place in the movie, various action scenes, information being discovered, which all leads from one thing to another, until the very dramatic ending, which I won't tell you. The main villian is very strange, and his role is more realistic than any other 007 film. What makes this film more realistic than the others, is how all of the events can actually happen in reality. Nothing over the top, and the events are similar to real life. No other action film I have seen contains such realistic events. Overall, this is one of the better films of the James Bond series. It is one of the most unique action films I have seen, and I would definately recommend it to action movie fans, and James Bond fans. People from all over the world can enjoy this film, as it is likeable by many people. Casino Royale has been in theatres for 2 weeks, and has made a total of $94.2 Million, and is one of the most successful Bond films. If you are going to see an action movie in theatres, what can be better than this? Nothing. Expand
  75. AnonymousMC
    Dec 3, 2007
    10
    Possibly the best Bond movie there has ever been. Great acting by everyone and a Bond that actually gets hurt once in awhile is much better. The only reason why people won't give good reviews is because they can't deal with change. How many times can you do the same movie over and over? Saying this movie is a failure couldn't be farther from the truth. From criticalPossibly the best Bond movie there has ever been. Great acting by everyone and a Bond that actually gets hurt once in awhile is much better. The only reason why people won't give good reviews is because they can't deal with change. How many times can you do the same movie over and over? Saying this movie is a failure couldn't be farther from the truth. From critical acclaim to the best box-office results for a Bond, it's anything but a failure. My personal favorite movie, can't wait for the next one.. Expand
  76. ReidF.
    Jan 27, 2007
    8
    With this film, Daniel Craig has re-invented Bond into a gritty, intelligent action character. Let
  77. zephosf.
    Oct 27, 2007
    9
    I can't help but laugh at the low rankings here that procede to call Craig a betrayal of the Bond name. You fellows may need to actually do your research. Much like Batman Begins, this revitalizes a character who had become something of a cartoon back to his gritty human roots. That alone made this a great film, but of course everything else is carried out with finesse. Its telling I can't help but laugh at the low rankings here that procede to call Craig a betrayal of the Bond name. You fellows may need to actually do your research. Much like Batman Begins, this revitalizes a character who had become something of a cartoon back to his gritty human roots. That alone made this a great film, but of course everything else is carried out with finesse. Its telling when the crd agme central to the movie is more exciting than the generic over the top combat seen in the recent Bonds prior to this. Bond is alive again, and I couldn't be happier. Expand
  78. JohnB.
    Mar 15, 2007
    9
    Gotta love the old-fashioned Bond fans trying to trash this film. I rate it for what it is: an outstanding thriller. The makers threw away all the Bond cliches and focused on making a terrific action film instead. Who gives a damn if Daniel Craig isn't a typical Bond, which is the only criticism I think can be mustered against him? He is fantastic in this role. Eva Green is a perfectGotta love the old-fashioned Bond fans trying to trash this film. I rate it for what it is: an outstanding thriller. The makers threw away all the Bond cliches and focused on making a terrific action film instead. Who gives a damn if Daniel Craig isn't a typical Bond, which is the only criticism I think can be mustered against him? He is fantastic in this role. Eva Green is a perfect Bond Girl, extremely sexy while being more than Bond's match in wits. Ignore the trolls ripping this film unless they come up with criticisms beyond comparisons to the tired Bond films of the last several years; this is a fantastic move and will be remembered as one of the decade's very best action films. Expand
  79. KevinB.
    Apr 17, 2007
    10
    Best Bond movie ever, I never thought anyone could be better than Sean Connery until now. Daniel Craig is the best. Excellent.
  80. DavidS.
    Oct 31, 2008
    9
    This has to be amongst the best Bond films, if not the best. I'm re-watching them all to try and decide exactly where it sits, but it's definitely top three material. I've read through these reviews, and it's amazing. The anti- ones are riddled with spelling mistakes, refer to Craig as being 'un-Bond like', want a return to Moore-esque cartoonery, complain This has to be amongst the best Bond films, if not the best. I'm re-watching them all to try and decide exactly where it sits, but it's definitely top three material. I've read through these reviews, and it's amazing. The anti- ones are riddled with spelling mistakes, refer to Craig as being 'un-Bond like', want a return to Moore-esque cartoonery, complain about product placement, complain about the shortage of gadgets, and complain about missing characters who weren't even in the book. Craig's portrayal is the truest to the books yet. Flemming's Bond was never the suave Rat-Pack connery Bond, or Moore's Seventies playboy caricature (incidentally my favourite Bond, after Craig). Product placement has always been there. Jinx's dreadful car in Die Another Day. The car Moore took from a showroom in The Man with the Golden Gun. Brosnan's Omega watch. Moore's Seiko watches. Smirnoff vodka. In any case, branded products were an importnat indicator of Bond's tastes and social standing in the books. There are plenty of gadgets in the film, but our expectations have gone up. EVERYBODY these days has a mobile phone, probably with a built in camera, maybe GPS, access on their computer to satelite images of anywhere in the world, etc etc. It's just harder to impress us with gadgets these days. The gadgets he does have are far more beleivable, and his having them is easier to accept-he isn't 'coincidentally' issued with exactly the right tool for the any unlikely scenario he finds himself facing. Read the books. Re-watch the films. And if you're going to critisise, at least put a little thought into it. Expand
  81. AnthonyF
    Jul 16, 2009
    7
    Casino Royale is the film the producers wanted to do for so long. I want to say "too little to late" to them because James Bond is a cold war relic. Now that they've changed him into something different may not be easy to deal with by some fans. It will be hard for me to deal with but I still enjoyed the film before it last half-hour, which is a murky mess. Kudos to Craig for playing Casino Royale is the film the producers wanted to do for so long. I want to say "too little to late" to them because James Bond is a cold war relic. Now that they've changed him into something different may not be easy to deal with by some fans. It will be hard for me to deal with but I still enjoyed the film before it last half-hour, which is a murky mess. Kudos to Craig for playing Bond so well. Expand
  82. jamesw
    Sep 13, 2009
    10
    The bond franchise has needed an overhaul for years, and Daniel Craig is the perfect engine. much closer to how Fleming envisioned bond in his books. an assassin, who does his job, without remorse. the first time bond has been portrayed on screen faithfully to Ian Flemming's original vision , bravo Daniel Craig, bravo !!!!
  83. AndyC.
    Nov 15, 2006
    9
    James Bond is ultra cool again at last. He's arguably not been this cool since Goldfinger. The whole cast are excellent, but Daniel Craig is outstanding. He even manages to make Pierce Brosnan seem faintly preposterous and I was a fan of Brosnan. Craig is aided by some cracking dialogue that capture just the right level of sardonic wit - but without the cheese! My big worry is that James Bond is ultra cool again at last. He's arguably not been this cool since Goldfinger. The whole cast are excellent, but Daniel Craig is outstanding. He even manages to make Pierce Brosnan seem faintly preposterous and I was a fan of Brosnan. Craig is aided by some cracking dialogue that capture just the right level of sardonic wit - but without the cheese! My big worry is that without a decent director, Higgis on script polishing and no Flemming book to work from, Bond 22 will be a much lesser affair. But that's another story. Casino Royale is alot better than I expected and leaps directly into my top five Bond films, maybe even top three. Expand
  84. NickE.
    Nov 16, 2006
    8
    A fantastic Bond film. Great acting but may be too slow for those who like the old Moore/Brosnen style. Worked for me though it could possibly have a better final battle.
  85. VR.
    Nov 17, 2006
    9
    This movie is perhaps THE closest to any of the Bond books and this Bond completely fits the tux. In this outing it's more about the man than the mission and for those who can forgive the absence of laser-guided anythings and concentrate on what made the agent who he is - then you will not be disappointed in the least.
  86. JudyT.
    Nov 17, 2006
    8
    It's Bond. Craig is a good one, but it's the same chases, the same formula especially where the love interest is concerned, the same angry boss and the same ugly villian, But it's Bond. Have some fun.
  87. RaymondM.
    Nov 18, 2006
    10
    A darker, deeper and very human Bond is delivered by Craig. Eva Green is more of an exceptional Bond Woman than a typical Bond Girl. As M, Judi Dench finally gets to excersice her acting chops opposite someone (Craig) who can hold his own and take a few bites himself. Great movie, a must see. Best Bond movie in a very, very long time.
  88. TobeP.
    Nov 19, 2006
    8
    It was an awesome film with very good special effects that keep up to bond standards, however i cant seem to wrap my head round the fact that their target audience has been narrowed so much by the torture and drowning scenes. this definitely isnt a PG13.
  89. ChrisKandtKandt
    Nov 19, 2006
    10
    It was a very good movie. I've seen all of them. This one making 21. I came into it critcally tuned but came out pleasantly surprised. Daniel Craig, despite being blond, is worthy of bond in my mind. And though this movie breaks the traditional ending, it is the prequel.
  90. SheilaPechman
    Nov 19, 2006
    10
    I loved the movie. It was an edge of your seat movieand Daniel Craig was an excellent James Bond. It was fun, the plot was exciting and fast moving and Bond looked great. I have seen every Bond movie and this one was exceptional. Can't wait for more.
  91. Gary
    Nov 21, 2006
    10
    What a breath of fresh air to get away from the gadgetry and the fluff of the previous 007 to a hardcore real Secret Service Agent. Daniel Craig where have you been? Instead of the predictable escape with comic touch, there was a real story and suspense that the viewer felt and sat on the edge of his seat. Thank you for reinventing what James Bond used to be. Don't miss this!
  92. JaredBrusky
    Nov 21, 2006
    10
    Wow...thats all i can say about this movie.
  93. CarlM.
    Nov 21, 2006
    7
    Best Bond in eons. A captivating and actually somewhat believable story, and this itteration of the Bond character is actually more real. Every woman will want him. Every man will want to be him.Craig is perfect. If not just a TAD too beefcake. All in all well worth it.
  94. DrewK.
    Nov 22, 2006
    9
    A captivating portrayal of Mr. Bond. While many elements of the film took a turn for the grittier, actually seeing Bond at true moments of weakness was a breath of fresh air. Daniel Craig played the character quite well. There were several lines which made me groan (most by Eva Green's character Vesper), but for the most part the film stepped away from the cliche'd dialogue so A captivating portrayal of Mr. Bond. While many elements of the film took a turn for the grittier, actually seeing Bond at true moments of weakness was a breath of fresh air. Daniel Craig played the character quite well. There were several lines which made me groan (most by Eva Green's character Vesper), but for the most part the film stepped away from the cliche'd dialogue so relentlessly present in all other 007 flicks. A+. Expand
  95. PaulE.
    Nov 23, 2006
    9
    The best Bond movie in many years. I had given up on the franchise after the last several Bond movies, which were all about special effects and pyrotechnics. Casino Royale actually has a story, good characterizations, strong acting, amazing stunts, and great fun. Daniel Craig is a terrific 007, without the camp and charactature of some of the others who have had the role. The only The best Bond movie in many years. I had given up on the franchise after the last several Bond movies, which were all about special effects and pyrotechnics. Casino Royale actually has a story, good characterizations, strong acting, amazing stunts, and great fun. Daniel Craig is a terrific 007, without the camp and charactature of some of the others who have had the role. The only downside for me was the unnecessary torture scene. Also, the length could have been pared a little. Overall, a fantastic film. Expand
  96. KristinaD.
    Nov 24, 2006
    10
    I thought that this was an amazing James Bond and that Daniel Craig and Eva Green did brilliantly. I own all the other James Bond movies and really enjoy them in general, but i thinnk that this just may become my favourite. It was well made and well acted. It makes me mad that people say that Craig couldn't be Bond because he's blonde... utterly ridiculous, he may just be one of I thought that this was an amazing James Bond and that Daniel Craig and Eva Green did brilliantly. I own all the other James Bond movies and really enjoy them in general, but i thinnk that this just may become my favourite. It was well made and well acted. It makes me mad that people say that Craig couldn't be Bond because he's blonde... utterly ridiculous, he may just be one of the best Bonds. If i could rate this movie higher than a 10, i would. Expand
  97. MoiM
    Nov 25, 2006
    8
    This is a real "Bond Begins": a way of revitalizing the Bond franchise. Craig is an amazing dark character. I really enjoyed the movie.
  98. YohannesT.
    Nov 25, 2006
    9
    Outstanding Movie. The only thing I would have like to see move is probably a little more gadgets. James Bond wouldn't be James Bond with out the gadgets.
  99. BrianY.
    Nov 25, 2006
    10
    Nothing short of spectacular in this one! The only complaint I have is the lack of showcasing of the Bond car and other gadgets. Daniel Craig did a great job and I'm looking forward to future films!
  100. CharlieB.
    Nov 25, 2006
    10
    Definitely a 10 out of 10! The new bond movie is simultaneously a man's and a woman's dream -- it got real action and a really great story line. I used to love Roger More. Now, Daniel Craig is my new favorite Bond. And the movie itself is up there among the best Bond movies ever made.
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. What a relief to escape the series' increasing bondage to high-tech gimmicks in favor of intrigue and suspense featuring richly nuanced characters and women who think the body's sexiest organ is the brain.
  2. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    80
    Craig comes closer to the author's original conception of this exceptionally long-lived male fantasy figure than anyone since early Sean Connery.
  3. This Bond is haunted, not yet housebroken, still figuring out the persona. In Casino Royale, the reset button has been pressed in the manner of "Batman Begins."