Columbia Pictures | Release Date: November 17, 2006
8.5
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1280 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,119
Mixed:
69
Negative:
92
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
JeffM.Mar 4, 2007
Casino Royale is the best Bond film ever and Daniel Craig, as Bond, was awsome. I only wish we can see more of him as Bond in remakes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MaryD.Jan 26, 2010
I enjoyed the action in this movie to make him more of a human event instead of a computer role. Thanks Daniel for your energy throughout the movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesN.Jan 1, 2007
More realistic than the previous Bond movies which have been too much like cartoons. Daniel Craig does a great job as Bond and the story and intro are great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CharlesT.Apr 10, 2007
The best James Bond movie ever made. It is a great fresh movie. It shows the series by doing something something i would not have ever thought of in my whole life and that is creating Daniel Craig into the best Bond ever and making it a great movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RichardK.Apr 1, 2007
Waiting for this movie to come out on DVD is my mistake. I wish I saw this one on the large theatre screen. The most impresive Bond Movie in decades. Daniel Craig brings 007 back to someone we respect & love. This change in style was exactly Waiting for this movie to come out on DVD is my mistake. I wish I saw this one on the large theatre screen. The most impresive Bond Movie in decades. Daniel Craig brings 007 back to someone we respect & love. This change in style was exactly what the Bond franchise needed to save itself. I can't wait to see the next one, this time at the Theatre . Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RyanS.Jan 9, 2008
Best Bond film since Goldfinger.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
VitusP.Dec 28, 2006
This is a James Bond that introduces the stark duality of humanity into the series. Throughout the series of movies we see some very good acting, but next to Craig's bond, everyone else just looks like a comic book character. Another This is a James Bond that introduces the stark duality of humanity into the series. Throughout the series of movies we see some very good acting, but next to Craig's bond, everyone else just looks like a comic book character. Another exciting aspect about this bond movie is that it IS more dependant on the plot and the characters than the gadgets, 2 bit sex scenes, and myriad of explosives. Just to point out, I think the opening ("You Know My Name", appropriately enough) is the first Bond movie not to feature dancing females' nude silhousettes. This suggests that Bond films are becoming more than just toy commercials for middle aged men. Also, it's about time we saw another Bond film based on Ian Flemming's novels. Praise be that they got the first one right. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
OrielDec 9, 2006
Captivating. Casino Royale hearkens back to the early days when Bond, played by Connery, was Ian Flemming's creation. Over the years, the Bond franchise had been reduced to fluff with irrelevant but money-making sequels. A huge thanks Captivating. Casino Royale hearkens back to the early days when Bond, played by Connery, was Ian Flemming's creation. Over the years, the Bond franchise had been reduced to fluff with irrelevant but money-making sequels. A huge thanks to the filmmakers who helped bring an old childhood friend back. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DougMJan 18, 2007
In looking over the reviews, one thing that keeps coming up is a list of by the numbers Bond cliches that are missing that allegedly make this a bad movie. In "The Living Daylights" commentary, the director mentions that what has kept BondIn looking over the reviews, one thing that keeps coming up is a list of by the numbers Bond cliches that are missing that allegedly make this a bad movie. In "The Living Daylights" commentary, the director mentions that what has kept Bond alive for so long is that he changes with the times. The Bond movies were dying. The Brosnan movies were close to the bottom of the pile in terms of total number of tickets sold amongst Bond movies (not how much money made as a movie ticket costs three times what it did in Connery's day but actual number sold). It was dying. The new Bond is exactly what was needed to reinvent Bond for 2006 and onward. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesB.Apr 2, 2007
This movie was absolutely perfect, I don't know why some guys gave it a "1" or a "3". The story is when Bond gets his 00 license and his license to kill. Since this is Fleming's first book on James Bond, there is no "Q" (he This movie was absolutely perfect, I don't know why some guys gave it a "1" or a "3". The story is when Bond gets his 00 license and his license to kill. Since this is Fleming's first book on James Bond, there is no "Q" (he didn't debue until from Russia with love). Because there is no "Q" no gadgets. This knew Bond may seem reckless at first, but hey, it's when he is young and most energetic of his time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CandyR.May 8, 2007
I must admit that I was one of those skeptical about the new Bond. I doubted I would even go and see it. However, I happened to be at a different movie when the previews came out and in seeing them I began to reconsider. Unfortunately I I must admit that I was one of those skeptical about the new Bond. I doubted I would even go and see it. However, I happened to be at a different movie when the previews came out and in seeing them I began to reconsider. Unfortunately I didn't get to see it in the theater (which is always the best way to watch a new movie), but rented it when it became available. Daniel Craig turned out to be the most breathtaking and enigmatic persona I've seen on the screen in a very long time! Imagine, Bond, a real person after all! For those who vastly enjoy the intellectual qualities of a film greater than the mindless and gratuitous sexual content with its childish repartees, this is the REAL McCOY!!! The dialogue is fresh, the action is riveting, and I've never seen anything so wonderful as Bond in a bathing suit! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JimPFeb 8, 2009
Best Bond ever, best Bond film ever. Period.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TimJ.Nov 17, 2006
I never thought there could be a bond like Sean Connery. I was wrong. Peirce B. came close. But Daniel Craig has gone beyond. You get to watch how events change the man and the man becomes Bond. And Daniel Craig IS Bond. I hope he makes a I never thought there could be a bond like Sean Connery. I was wrong. Peirce B. came close. But Daniel Craig has gone beyond. You get to watch how events change the man and the man becomes Bond. And Daniel Craig IS Bond. I hope he makes a dozen bond movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KevinM.Nov 17, 2006
This movie was absolutely amazing. Without question, it was one of the best films of the 20th century, in my opinion. Between the elaborately drawn up plot, extremely humorous typical "Bond" humor, and of course, the absoutely phenomenal This movie was absolutely amazing. Without question, it was one of the best films of the 20th century, in my opinion. Between the elaborately drawn up plot, extremely humorous typical "Bond" humor, and of course, the absoutely phenomenal stunts & filmography, this movie tops the world's greatest, and also rivals GoldenEye for the greatest bond movie ever. Daniel Craig's acting is fantastic, and the frequent remarks and humorous quick comments keep viewers on the edge of their seat, if not standing up yelling. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EricN.Nov 18, 2006
Long time Bond fan here. This one does not disappoint. It's a good bit different from the usual, but to me- that's a good thing. Very little cheese in this one. All the actors are incredible, great writing, great action scenes, Long time Bond fan here. This one does not disappoint. It's a good bit different from the usual, but to me- that's a good thing. Very little cheese in this one. All the actors are incredible, great writing, great action scenes, great adaption of the original book. The only two flaws I could find were: 1) A cheesy finger-licking scene. 2) It might have run a little long. This was ok for me as a Bond-geek, but my non-Bond-geek companions were getting a little worn out toward the end. Also, I haven't seen my local theater that packed in a long time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BruceC.,CraneTexasNov 18, 2006
This is the Best Bond film ever to be put on screen! Daniel Craig did Excellent on playing the role Bond. I can't wait to see him again. Daniel Craig brought a new personality to Bond. Which I love how he did it. The main 3 reasons I This is the Best Bond film ever to be put on screen! Daniel Craig did Excellent on playing the role Bond. I can't wait to see him again. Daniel Craig brought a new personality to Bond. Which I love how he did it. The main 3 reasons I love this film. Is because there is no gadgets. no Q, or no Moneypenny. But most of all. I love the new Bond!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnthonyS.Nov 20, 2006
This is the best Bond movie I've seen in 15 years, I'd have to say Daniel Craig really surprised me here. I was very skeptical about him playing the new bond, but boy was I ever mistaken! He flat out dominates every other actor This is the best Bond movie I've seen in 15 years, I'd have to say Daniel Craig really surprised me here. I was very skeptical about him playing the new bond, but boy was I ever mistaken! He flat out dominates every other actor back to Sean Connery. This film has given me a new hope for the future of Bond!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KennethK.Nov 21, 2006
Most satisfying movie experiece I've had in quite some time. Daniel Craig is the best Bond of all time. No question.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RedRoseNov 21, 2006
1) This is the best bond film of the last 20 years; 2) Daniel Craig is the best bond since Connery; 3) The pacing is absolutely perfect. 120 mins is just about right. Those reviewers complaining that 120 mins is too long either have ADD or I 1) This is the best bond film of the last 20 years; 2) Daniel Craig is the best bond since Connery; 3) The pacing is absolutely perfect. 120 mins is just about right. Those reviewers complaining that 120 mins is too long either have ADD or I suspect are very young/immature and do not have the patience to sit through this kind of film as they have most likely been force fed on a diet of Mission Impossible/XXX etc and are used to seeing films run no longer than 100 mins. 4) This is the best film of the year. Vastly superior to the overrated Departed. BRITAINS FAVOURITE SPY IS BACK. 10/10 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanS.Nov 20, 2006
I'll say it now, since everyone will be saying it later anyway--Daniel Craig is likely the best Bond ever, and this is certainly the best Bond movie. None of the cheesy lasers and judo chops and bad guys falling over the railing after I'll say it now, since everyone will be saying it later anyway--Daniel Craig is likely the best Bond ever, and this is certainly the best Bond movie. None of the cheesy lasers and judo chops and bad guys falling over the railing after they get shot. This is fast-paced, dark, suspenseful, and sets a new standard of cool. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RD.Dec 11, 2006
Very good movie. I can't compare it with other Bond movies as I have not seen them. But this is a great entertainer.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaulDec 1, 2006
This movie is great. I took my parents last night (my second viewing), and they loved it, too. At the end my pop said "This is the best Bond movie I have ever seen". No disrespect to Mr. Connery, who is the best---I have to agree with my This movie is great. I took my parents last night (my second viewing), and they loved it, too. At the end my pop said "This is the best Bond movie I have ever seen". No disrespect to Mr. Connery, who is the best---I have to agree with my pops. Any movie where you want a repeat viewing is a 10! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PeterDec 14, 2006
Best James Bond movie to date. Daniel Craig really roughened up Bonds character yet still kept the cool suave aspects that make Bond...Bond.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ThomL.Dec 15, 2006
Most well thought out Bond film since from Russia with Love. Certain people on this post don't know anything. Steve H, just so you know, this is a loyal adaptation to the first Bond novel Ian Fleming ever wrote, so chronologically, it Most well thought out Bond film since from Russia with Love. Certain people on this post don't know anything. Steve H, just so you know, this is a loyal adaptation to the first Bond novel Ian Fleming ever wrote, so chronologically, it can't be an Austin Powers rip off, and for once, a Bond girl gave a great performance. They took a bold move and threw ridiculous gadgets to the curb to make a superb, believeable espionage thriller. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StormGDec 2, 2006
Outstanding!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KatyaS.Dec 23, 2006
Craig certainly makes his bond debut a splash, this is exactly what the bond movies needed to bring the younger generation back to them.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PatM.Dec 24, 2006
I loved this movie---from the initial graphics to the ending scene!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PepitaR.Dec 2, 2006
Fantastic film. One word to describe the new bond and the entire film. "RAW". I loved it. The action, the romance, the mood has lingered with me through the night up to this minute.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TomS.Dec 31, 2006
Loved the film. Fab special effects, good story line and lots of twists and turns you would'nt expect. Not like the other Bond films, but that is not a bad thing just different!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JasonL.Dec 3, 2006
Best Bond movie in years. After watching Craig in action, I wonder why Pierce Brosnan didn't get shafted to the cheese factory years ago. This movie has renewed my faith in the whole Bond franchise, which was starting to go into death Best Bond movie in years. After watching Craig in action, I wonder why Pierce Brosnan didn't get shafted to the cheese factory years ago. This movie has renewed my faith in the whole Bond franchise, which was starting to go into death throes. Craig has saved Bond from the garbage bin. When I tell my friends this is a good movie, they all moan until they have actually watched it, just goes to show you how tired that whole disturbing comedy trash (with John Cleese of all people) was becoming. Thank god for this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful