Warner Home Video | Release Date: July 23, 2004
2.7
USER SCORE
Generally unfavorable reviews based on 247 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
43
Mixed:
21
Negative:
183
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
CatwomanDec 21, 2015
This is a good movie: it's fresh take, It give Catwoman a good origin story. the plot make sense. The other characters might not get a lot of screen time but this doesn't make them shallow, just not focused on. the outfit might seem crazy,This is a good movie: it's fresh take, It give Catwoman a good origin story. the plot make sense. The other characters might not get a lot of screen time but this doesn't make them shallow, just not focused on. the outfit might seem crazy, but it actually makes sense: more skin shown symbolizes a brave, confident, catlike character. The shoes actually seem to symbolize the back paws of a cat. Remember Tigra from the west coast avengers, or Wonder woman's villain: The Cheetah. This Catwoman fall's in line with them, but without fur. Including the connection to the Egyptian mau, and the Goddess Bastet was a brilliant decision. The CGI wasn't too bad, and you have to keep in mind they did have a budget. Another good thing is that it doesn't smack you in the face with DC. If you want a movie with bat man it it, go watch a batman film. A lot of DC characters ether have had there powers all there life, or don't have any. This movie shows her finding out she has these new ability's. I also love the idea of a good girl by day, bad girl by night. Coming out of her shell, stepping outside her comfort zone, and embracing it. Another good this is it's not like other DC or Marvels movies, It doesn't have a big die hard sort of action, more of a slick sort of epic. The music is epic. The music in the opening, gives me chills, and her main theme (who's in control) could not fit cat woman more perfectly. The cat pun's might be kind of corny, but that's the kind of stuff cat woman say's normally: being able to make cat pun's sound sassy and bad ass. The ending lines of dialog really sum up what Cat woman is. This is a good movie: it might not be the same Catwomen from the comic's, but that doesn't make it bad, just different. Thank you for you're time. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Smallville-FanJun 8, 2011
I found this film great. It is a very good origin film. It shows how she got her power, how her life changed, and what happens when someone messes with her. I thought that the costume kept with catwoman's personality and that Halle BerryI found this film great. It is a very good origin film. It shows how she got her power, how her life changed, and what happens when someone messes with her. I thought that the costume kept with catwoman's personality and that Halle Berry played her role very good. I don't know why a lot of people did not like this film. Expand
5 of 9 users found this helpful54
All this user's reviews
10
Rawkstrroma95Oct 21, 2013
I believe that the new Cat Woman (2004) is the best Cat Woman,of all of the Cat Woman movies.
Halle Berry(as Patience Phillips/Cat Women) hit the mark-that I believe,Cat Woman deserves. I wasn't very impressed with Anne Hathaway's version
I believe that the new Cat Woman (2004) is the best Cat Woman,of all of the Cat Woman movies.
Halle Berry(as Patience Phillips/Cat Women) hit the mark-that I believe,Cat Woman deserves. I wasn't very impressed with Anne Hathaway's version that where she tried to be like Cat Woman in Batman Rises.
I felt like when Halle Berry played Cat Woman,it was more of a dominating version-that we expect of Cat Woman. As I watched every little detail of how Anne Hathaway made Cat Woman-a character,I didn't think Anne Hathaway had that really sick/bad girl side to her. She wasn't at her most-the flirtiest/dominating/feisty self.
Expand
5 of 9 users found this helpful54
All this user's reviews
10
catanna1Apr 20, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I think a lot of the critics just didn't get this movie. Maybe they were disappointed that it wasn't another chapter in the adventures of Selina Kyle. No, it's not: different name, different premise and totally different interpretation of what it might be like to become a Catwoman. What =I= don't get is why there is anything wrong with that? We're talking about a fictional character, people, lighten up! Some of the critics are saying that Halle Berry's performance is too "over the top" after she is transformed. Maybe for a 100% human lady but hey this is a story about a woman brought back to life by a magical Mau on an errand from Bast the Cat Goddess. Halle's facial expressions, voice and moves, especially when toying with her "prey", become verrrry feline which is a good part of the point of the movie. Another point is that Catwoman is both a tribute to female power and independence and also explores the darker side of power in both men and women and methinks some of the critics are a tad uncomfortable with both of these things. Whatever. There's plenty to like in this movie. A mythic storyline of initiation and rebirth, darkly beautiful visuals, a clever Egyptian-inspired cats-and-catwomen through history subplot that starts with elegant title art, solid performances from Sharon Stone, Benjamin Bratt, Frances Conroy and Hembert Wilson and a fine supporting cast both human and feline. Forget the critics. Go see this movie with an open mind and you'll probably enjoy it. And you might even love it as much as I did :-) Expand
5 of 12 users found this helpful57
All this user's reviews
10
FranlaviSep 26, 2014
This film is amazing: Halle berry is perfect as catwoman. The action scenes show adrenaline. This is my favourite version of catwoman. This is better than the DC version.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
9
ShoBApr 19, 2010
Great movie! Fun, okay action, nice special affects, very well acted by the major's! This is catwoman its supposed to be over the top, LOL. Could have had a bit better directing, but over all very attractive and entertaining. Not for Great movie! Fun, okay action, nice special affects, very well acted by the major's! This is catwoman its supposed to be over the top, LOL. Could have had a bit better directing, but over all very attractive and entertaining. Not for the non-comic fans however, it's not going to fit in anyone's box, gotta take it for what it is. Great movie, lighten up people for goodness sake! Sheesh! Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful
10
TheresaS.Oct 2, 2006
Lighten up, people. This movie is great fun and a totally unique take on the Catwoman myth.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
Evyan2002Jan 24, 2016
Catwoman is an ok movie. The only part I didn't like about it was that half of the time Halle Berry was animated. Her costume was good, but bad animation.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
DavidH.Jul 9, 2005
I left this one alone for awhile because the bashing the critic's gave it, I don't usually agree with these sub-humans. BUT I WAS AN IDIOT for taking their advice, i've just seen this on dvd and it's no where near as bad I left this one alone for awhile because the bashing the critic's gave it, I don't usually agree with these sub-humans. BUT I WAS AN IDIOT for taking their advice, i've just seen this on dvd and it's no where near as bad as they made it out to be. Berry is hot! the story didn't quite gel, but who cares! we have halle in torn leather pants and bikini top and a whip to boot,kick ass and that ass...what an ass! what more do you want? ...oh and halle berry's acting was above board as usual. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JagF.Jun 18, 2006
Despite what some people say, I thought this movie had pretty decent action, and an ok story. H.B. is hot!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
anahamJan 26, 2017
I don't know why people hate this sexy movie. This movie is light but interesting. The movie was good entertainment and well done. That's more than ample.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews