Truly Indie | Release Date: May 26, 2006
7.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 11 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
8
Mixed:
2
Negative:
1
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
KeithW.May 28, 2006
I saw this movie in LA and was impressed. Forget the X-Men and treat yourself to real filmmaking.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BexAug 6, 2006
Excellent story-telling and editing. The movie also gives you a real feel for the not-so-pretty side of the Philippines is like.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BenB.May 25, 2006
I saw this movie last year at Austin's SXSW 2005. I totally enjoyed every aspect of it and wished it was being released wide instead of just for one week in LA and NY. I totally bought into the plot of a young man struggling to live in I saw this movie last year at Austin's SXSW 2005. I totally enjoyed every aspect of it and wished it was being released wide instead of just for one week in LA and NY. I totally bought into the plot of a young man struggling to live in the US only to be called back to his homeland of the Phillipines to find his family that has been abducted my terrorists. However, with a plot synopsis like that, one should know that this is not an action film but rather a realistic thriller featuring a protagonists who is being led step by step by the unseen antagonists. The fact that the film was shot entirely on a DV camera only adds to the sense of realism and draws you in all the more. I highly recommend this movie. Funny enough, the marketing team at SXSW gave out cigarette boxes with little "fake surprises" inside. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MaciekK.May 29, 2006
I just saw the film in LA tonight. It was a much better thriller than the Da Vinci Code which I saw last night. It's a compelling film, despite the flaws the reviews posted here mention. How many films give voice to such extreme points I just saw the film in LA tonight. It was a much better thriller than the Da Vinci Code which I saw last night. It's a compelling film, despite the flaws the reviews posted here mention. How many films give voice to such extreme points of view and shed light on a world most of us know so little nor care to acknowledtge. It is a remarkable blend of a thriller storyline with revelations of a greater and very disturbing reality. An eye-opener indeed! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AgentCBJul 13, 2006
stunning visuals of true life in the philippines. i'd give it a 10 but i got nauseous because of the handycams.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JasonT.May 23, 2006
A true indie worth checking out. Don't expect a production value like today's other "indie" films but do expect a twisting, 24-like adventure with real passion behind the filmmaking. Great score also. I saw it at SXSW a year or two A true indie worth checking out. Don't expect a production value like today's other "indie" films but do expect a twisting, 24-like adventure with real passion behind the filmmaking. Great score also. I saw it at SXSW a year or two ago and really enjoyed it. I really want to see their first film but can't find it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KateyN.May 29, 2006
for what it cost to make, the pleasure/budget ratio is better than most summer movies so far.
0 of 0 users found this helpful