Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 37
  2. Negative: 3 out of 37
  1. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Aug 8, 2012
    88
    I'm not surprised that Rashida Jones took the lead in writing this screenplay; the way things are going now, if an actress doesn't write a good role for herself, no one else is going to write one.
  2. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Aug 1, 2012
    91
    I will say that it's been a while since a romantic comedy mustered this much charm by looking this much like life.
  3. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Aug 3, 2012
    83
    It's as if we were watching one of those buddy-buddy bromances told, this time, from the perspective of the woman who is normally on the sidelines of the men's attentions and affections. It's a welcome angle.
  4. Reviewed by: Carrie Rickey
    Aug 16, 2012
    88
    It's hard to know whether this is a function of the sympathetic screenplay or of Krieger's sympathetic direction - or both - but Celeste and Jesse are endearing even when they do unsympathetic things.
  5. Reviewed by: David Lewis
    Aug 9, 2012
    100
    This film has a voice of its own. And at a time when the romantic comedy seems to be a lost art form, that's saying something.
User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 32 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 10
  2. Negative: 1 out of 10
  1. Nov 13, 2014
    7
    "Celeste and Jesse Forever" 10 Scale Rating: 7.5 (Very Good) ...

    The Good: A genuinely funny romantic comedy that does things a little
    "Celeste and Jesse Forever" 10 Scale Rating: 7.5 (Very Good) ...

    The Good: A genuinely funny romantic comedy that does things a little differently. A refreshing film as it doesn't fall into the usual cliches that this type of film typically falls victim to. I keep seeing the word "charming" in other reviews for this movie, and that is probably the best word to describe it. Just a very likable movie.

    The Bad: Celeste and Jesse are far more entertaining apart than they are together. If I met the two of them in real life I would have to resist the urge to throat punch them as their inside jokes and non-stop quips get old quickly. It is difficult to root for them ever getting back together, though you do root for them to succeed on an individual level. Great supporting cast.
    Full Review »
  2. Sep 3, 2014
    7
    Rashida Jones' writing debut is a breakthrough. She's managed to capture audiences immediately in what I'd like to call a "lo-fi" independentRashida Jones' writing debut is a breakthrough. She's managed to capture audiences immediately in what I'd like to call a "lo-fi" independent romantic-comedy. Not to mention: she and Andy Samberg are magic together. Full Review »
  3. Jul 5, 2014
    10
    It supposed to be a comedy but instead it's not. I love this story. It's actually gave me a great message about relationship. It's prettyIt supposed to be a comedy but instead it's not. I love this story. It's actually gave me a great message about relationship. It's pretty awesome. I thought Andy Samberg would be the main point of the universe but it's just about him, in bad ways. I'm proud of this movie. I'm glad. The cinematography also good and they gave lots of scenes and they were all important. Many of love drama or comedy romantic movies, they gave us many scenes but none of them really matter, but this one movie, each of scenes gave me different issues. The movie put the plot as the impressive story line. Made me being moved, actually. 10? #yes. Full Review »