Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 35 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: Celeste is convinced that divorcing Jesse is the right thing to do -- she is on her way up, he is on his way nowhere, and if they do it now instead of later, they can remain supportive friends. Jesse passively accepts this transition into friendship, even though he is still in love with her.Celeste is convinced that divorcing Jesse is the right thing to do -- she is on her way up, he is on his way nowhere, and if they do it now instead of later, they can remain supportive friends. Jesse passively accepts this transition into friendship, even though he is still in love with her. As the reality of their separation sets in, Celeste slowly and painfully realizes she has been cavalier about their relationship, and her decision, which once seemed mature and progressive, now seems impulsive and selfish. But her timing with Jesse is less than fortuitous. While navigating the turbulent changes in their lives and in their hearts, these two learn that in order to truly love someone, you may have to let them go. (Sony Pictures Classics) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 37
  2. Negative: 3 out of 37
  1. Reviewed by: David Lewis
    Aug 9, 2012
    100
    This film has a voice of its own. And at a time when the romantic comedy seems to be a lost art form, that's saying something.
  2. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Aug 3, 2012
    83
    It's as if we were watching one of those buddy-buddy bromances told, this time, from the perspective of the woman who is normally on the sidelines of the men's attentions and affections. It's a welcome angle.
  3. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Aug 15, 2012
    75
    Despite flouting Hollywood clich├ęs, it nevertheless manages to be both romantic and funny even though it starts with the separation of the main couple.
  4. Reviewed by: John DeFore
    Jul 30, 2012
    70
    Jones is great in the part, even if this movie doesn't quite prove she should be carrying films on her own, and the actress makes her character's clumsy heartache feel like more than a plot point.
  5. Reviewed by: Ellen E. Jones
    Nov 25, 2012
    60
    This honest, if not funny, comedy is all about Celeste. If anyone can make you sympathise with affluent LA yuppies, Rashida Jones can.
  6. Reviewed by: Noel Murray
    Aug 1, 2012
    50
    If nothing else, the shaggy romantic comedy Celeste And Jesse Forever establishes that Parks And Recreation's Rashida Jones is a movie star.
  7. Reviewed by: Kate Taylor
    Aug 2, 2012
    25
    So why are they divorcing, you ask. Who knows? Certainly not the creators of the very confused Celeste and Jesse Forever.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. Jul 5, 2014
    10
    It supposed to be a comedy but instead it's not. I love this story. It's actually gave me a great message about relationship. It's prettyIt supposed to be a comedy but instead it's not. I love this story. It's actually gave me a great message about relationship. It's pretty awesome. I thought Andy Samberg would be the main point of the universe but it's just about him, in bad ways. I'm proud of this movie. I'm glad. The cinematography also good and they gave lots of scenes and they were all important. Many of love drama or comedy romantic movies, they gave us many scenes but none of them really matter, but this one movie, each of scenes gave me different issues. The movie put the plot as the impressive story line. Made me being moved, actually. 10? #yes. Expand
  2. Apr 11, 2015
    9
    Charming,Sweet and heartfelt describes this rom-com. Rashida Jones and Will McCormack's script is touching and original, however the comedy iCharming,Sweet and heartfelt describes this rom-com. Rashida Jones and Will McCormack's script is touching and original, however the comedy i do not find the humor material funny. Andy Samberg's performance is somewhat good since his other comedy roles. Grade A- Expand
  3. Sep 3, 2013
    8
    My expectations weren't high for this one but thanks to a great script from Rashida Jones and Will McCormack that takes the tired,My expectations weren't high for this one but thanks to a great script from Rashida Jones and Will McCormack that takes the tired, same-old-same-old romcom genre and gave it some heart and authenticity, I was pleasantly surprised with this one. The only real downside I had for this one was that the supporting characters don't have a large enough presence in the story but the film is touching, funny and Andy Samberg and Rashida Jones are incredible to watch and that easily makes up for any shortcomings the film has. Collapse
  4. Aug 7, 2012
    7
    I think you'd be stretching the definition by calling this a Rom-Com, but I enjoyed it. It certainly explored an original premise and playedI think you'd be stretching the definition by calling this a Rom-Com, but I enjoyed it. It certainly explored an original premise and played it out, which is nice. Samberg can certainly play the dramatic roles, but Jones is the breakout star here. I'd like to see her considered for more leading-lady roles. Incidentally, if you're grossed out by dick jokes and that sort of thing, you might want to skip this. (I'm not, btw. I enjoyed all of it.) Expand
  5. Apr 13, 2015
    6
    This movie has a lot of things going for it, like a stunning and talented cast and the beautiful backdrop of LA, but somehow the whole thingThis movie has a lot of things going for it, like a stunning and talented cast and the beautiful backdrop of LA, but somehow the whole thing managed to fall flat. The character of Celeste herself, who dominates the film first with her upbeat acceptance of her marital separation, and then with her downward spiral when she discovers the hard way that she isn't as over things as she thinks, is compelling and interesting in her struggle. But the movie spends a lot of time acting out rom-com stereotypes but with a meta-wink so that we know they're too clever, which is wasted time and often unfunny--Elijah Wood is completely unbelievable and not at all entertaining when his character makes a conscious attempt to be the over-the-top stereotypical gay friend, and of course Rashida Jones has to give a slightly drunk maid-of-honour speech at her BFF's wedding. There's also a weird but somehow not awful interlude where the adult Rashida Jones strikes up a friendship with the young pop star (played by Emma Roberts, who brings just the right amount of attitude and melodrama to the role) Jones' workplace has recently signed, in which Jones somehow finds clarity in the comfort and company of the younger woman--definitely an unexpected plot turn, and not very believable, but Roberts' was charming enough in the role that I didn't mind. Still, the charm of the cast couldn't make up for the lack of direction in the story, which strayed into shapelessness. Expand
  6. Lyn
    Jul 14, 2013
    6
    They're getting divorced, but this cute-as-puppies couple are still best friends. What's wrong with this picture? I would say the honest,They're getting divorced, but this cute-as-puppies couple are still best friends. What's wrong with this picture? I would say the honest, endearing Rashida Jones, and Samberg to a lesser extent, keep this always-unrealistic concept going pretty well.But they are so believable as "pals" that you never quite buy them as passionate. Similar plots have been done amusingly ("It's Complicated") and horrendously ("The Break-Up"), with this film falling in between. Expand
  7. Aug 25, 2012
    2
    I really, really find Rashida Jones attractive, and I even liked her character in this movie. Nothing sexier than an earthy, naturallyI really, really find Rashida Jones attractive, and I even liked her character in this movie. Nothing sexier than an earthy, naturally beautiful, sarcastic intellectual for me. But I didn't like any of the other characters, and the script was weak and the dialogue full of cliches. Her husband was very annoying, and her sort-of boyfriend even worse. The drug dealer guy? I won't even say. Expand

See all 12 User Reviews

Trailers