Metascore
41

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 95 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Journey 2: The Mysterious Island begins when 17-year-old Sean Anderson receives a coded distress signal from a mysterious island where no island should exist. It's a place of strange life forms, mountains of gold, deadly volcanoes, and more than one astonishing secret. Unable to stop himJourney 2: The Mysterious Island begins when 17-year-old Sean Anderson receives a coded distress signal from a mysterious island where no island should exist. It's a place of strange life forms, mountains of gold, deadly volcanoes, and more than one astonishing secret. Unable to stop him from going, Sean's new stepfather, Hank, joins the quest. Together with a helicopter pilot and his beautiful, strong-willed daughter, they set out to find the island, rescue its lone inhabitant and escape before seismic shockwaves force the island under the sea and bury its treasures forever. [New Line Cinema] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 27
  2. Negative: 8 out of 27
  1. Reviewed by: Lisa Schwarzbaum
    Feb 8, 2012
    75
    The movie flies by pleasantly, and is then instantly forgettable. Perhaps Jules Verne can explain the science of that.
  2. 63
    Yes, The Mysterious Island is everything a 12-year-old boy could want – endless adventure involving a reckless adolescent hero, with a pretty girl in a clinging T-shirt around to watch him struggle.
  3. Reviewed by: Russell Edwards
    Feb 7, 2012
    60
    A fun though rarely funny family adventure whose lively special effects compensate somewhat for actors who largely sleepwalk through their roles.
  4. Reviewed by: Randy Cordova
    Feb 8, 2012
    50
    The look of the film is impressive, as are the effects. Overall, however, it's a big, loud, 3-D-drenched jumble.
  5. Reviewed by: David Fear
    Feb 9, 2012
    40
    Even "Bwana Devil" showed less crassness in its attempts to wow, however, and the more this cardboard blockbuster piles on the cut-rate F/X, the less anyone - the cast, the filmmaker, you - can muster up the energy to care.
  6. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Feb 9, 2012
    38
    Anyone old enough to have read Jules Verne or seen the way his work was successfully adapted in the past will suffer worse than the kids in the audience who just came to laugh.
  7. Reviewed by: John DeFore
    Feb 9, 2012
    0
    The movie's flexibility with its own rules would be less noticeable if it were busy thrilling us.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 30
  2. Negative: 6 out of 30
  1. Feb 20, 2012
    10
    My 9 year old daughter and I thoroughly enjoyed this movie!! In fact, I told her I was going to buy it when it came out on dvd!! :) I thinkMy 9 year old daughter and I thoroughly enjoyed this movie!! In fact, I told her I was going to buy it when it came out on dvd!! :) I think people giving this a very low rating are pretty harsh, and a bit stuffy!! Collapse
  2. Jun 10, 2012
    9
    The best PG movie in a long time. This was a great science fiction adventure, even better then the first movie, with an amazing plot and greatThe best PG movie in a long time. This was a great science fiction adventure, even better then the first movie, with an amazing plot and great action. You need to get this whenever you are near a redbox machine. Expand
  3. Dec 12, 2012
    7
    Let's face it, this is not the type of movie you pit against the classics or try to take too seriously - nor should you be expected to. WithLet's face it, this is not the type of movie you pit against the classics or try to take too seriously - nor should you be expected to. With Dwayne Johnson as a lead you probably also know what you're getting into when you see it on the shelf, though I admit, I did find him enjoyable in a goofy sort of way. All that being said, Journey 2 is good for what it is. Provided you can manage your expectations it's not a bad film. I found it entertaining and would probably watch it again with my young nephews since even the "scary" parts aren't that bad for younger audiences. Plus, all the book references they throw out in the movie could maybe even lead to them picking up one of the novels - and that's fine in my book....pun intended. Expand
  4. Feb 11, 2012
    5
    I can't say that it film the best or very gut. I have seen more interestings film like Harry Potter or Transformers or Tron: Legency and II can't say that it film the best or very gut. I have seen more interestings film like Harry Potter or Transformers or Tron: Legency and I thought that it will be more interesting! Expand
  5. Apr 30, 2012
    5
    Due to uneven pacing, cheesy dialogue, lacking ambition like the stories have, and losing Brendan Fraiser's charm. Thanks to it being quiteDue to uneven pacing, cheesy dialogue, lacking ambition like the stories have, and losing Brendan Fraiser's charm. Thanks to it being quite funny, visually stunning, and bringing plenty of visual and frightening thrills it is worth the money for a solid adventure flick. It just doesn't live up to its predecessor. I give this movie 52%. Expand
  6. May 20, 2012
    5
    A delightful movie for the children. A terrible movie to sit through for an adult. If a Movie ever was made via a paint by numbers route.,A delightful movie for the children. A terrible movie to sit through for an adult. If a Movie ever was made via a paint by numbers route., Journey 2 is a text book example.

    A great movie to bring your kids. Just make sure you have your ipad with you and a great set of headphones.
    Expand
  7. Mar 5, 2013
    1
    There is no limit to the worst, the horrible performances of Dwayne Johnson and Vanessa Hudgens are an example of incompetence. The film is aThere is no limit to the worst, the horrible performances of Dwayne Johnson and Vanessa Hudgens are an example of incompetence. The film is a bad copy of Jurassic Park and one of the worst films of the year so far. Expand

See all 30 User Reviews