Journey 2: The Mysterious Island Image
Metascore
41

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 106 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Journey 2: The Mysterious Island begins when 17-year-old Sean Anderson receives a coded distress signal from a mysterious island where no island should exist. It's a place of strange life forms, mountains of gold, deadly volcanoes, and more than one astonishing secret. Unable to stop himJourney 2: The Mysterious Island begins when 17-year-old Sean Anderson receives a coded distress signal from a mysterious island where no island should exist. It's a place of strange life forms, mountains of gold, deadly volcanoes, and more than one astonishing secret. Unable to stop him from going, Sean's new stepfather, Hank, joins the quest. Together with a helicopter pilot and his beautiful, strong-willed daughter, they set out to find the island, rescue its lone inhabitant and escape before seismic shockwaves force the island under the sea and bury its treasures forever. [New Line Cinema] Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 27
  2. Negative: 8 out of 27
  1. Reviewed by: Lisa Schwarzbaum
    Feb 8, 2012
    75
    The movie flies by pleasantly, and is then instantly forgettable. Perhaps Jules Verne can explain the science of that.
  2. 63
    Yes, The Mysterious Island is everything a 12-year-old boy could want – endless adventure involving a reckless adolescent hero, with a pretty girl in a clinging T-shirt around to watch him struggle.
  3. Reviewed by: Russell Edwards
    Feb 7, 2012
    60
    A fun though rarely funny family adventure whose lively special effects compensate somewhat for actors who largely sleepwalk through their roles.
  4. Reviewed by: Randy Cordova
    Feb 8, 2012
    50
    The look of the film is impressive, as are the effects. Overall, however, it's a big, loud, 3-D-drenched jumble.
  5. Reviewed by: David Fear
    Feb 9, 2012
    40
    Even "Bwana Devil" showed less crassness in its attempts to wow, however, and the more this cardboard blockbuster piles on the cut-rate F/X, the less anyone - the cast, the filmmaker, you - can muster up the energy to care.
  6. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Feb 9, 2012
    38
    Anyone old enough to have read Jules Verne or seen the way his work was successfully adapted in the past will suffer worse than the kids in the audience who just came to laugh.
  7. Reviewed by: John DeFore
    Feb 9, 2012
    0
    The movie's flexibility with its own rules would be less noticeable if it were busy thrilling us.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 32
  2. Negative: 6 out of 32
  1. Feb 20, 2012
    10
    My 9 year old daughter and I thoroughly enjoyed this movie!! In fact, I told her I was going to buy it when it came out on dvd!! :) I thinkMy 9 year old daughter and I thoroughly enjoyed this movie!! In fact, I told her I was going to buy it when it came out on dvd!! :) I think people giving this a very low rating are pretty harsh, and a bit stuffy!! Collapse
  2. Jun 10, 2012
    9
    The best PG movie in a long time. This was a great science fiction adventure, even better then the first movie, with an amazing plot and greatThe best PG movie in a long time. This was a great science fiction adventure, even better then the first movie, with an amazing plot and great action. You need to get this whenever you are near a redbox machine. Expand
  3. Dec 8, 2012
    7
    It`s a good movie and a good adventure but its not as good as Journey 1. Its worth watching and better then the avr. movie but nothing AmazingIt`s a good movie and a good adventure but its not as good as Journey 1. Its worth watching and better then the avr. movie but nothing Amazing like I was hoping for. Expand
  4. May 20, 2012
    5
    A delightful movie for the children. A terrible movie to sit through for an adult. If a Movie ever was made via a paint by numbers route.,A delightful movie for the children. A terrible movie to sit through for an adult. If a Movie ever was made via a paint by numbers route., Journey 2 is a text book example.

    A great movie to bring your kids. Just make sure you have your ipad with you and a great set of headphones.
    Expand
  5. Apr 30, 2012
    5
    Due to uneven pacing, cheesy dialogue, lacking ambition like the stories have, and losing Brendan Fraiser's charm. Thanks to it being quiteDue to uneven pacing, cheesy dialogue, lacking ambition like the stories have, and losing Brendan Fraiser's charm. Thanks to it being quite funny, visually stunning, and bringing plenty of visual and frightening thrills it is worth the money for a solid adventure flick. It just doesn't live up to its predecessor. I give this movie 52%. Expand
  6. Feb 13, 2012
    4
    The movie is bad. Dwayne Johnson is terrible as usual and the script is downright awful. Thank the lord that at least I watched it in IMAX 3D,The movie is bad. Dwayne Johnson is terrible as usual and the script is downright awful. Thank the lord that at least I watched it in IMAX 3D, which increased my rating to like a 4. Expand
  7. Mar 5, 2013
    1
    There is no limit to the worst, the horrible performances of Dwayne Johnson and Vanessa Hudgens are an example of incompetence. The film is aThere is no limit to the worst, the horrible performances of Dwayne Johnson and Vanessa Hudgens are an example of incompetence. The film is a bad copy of Jurassic Park and one of the worst films of the year so far. Expand

See all 32 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Film Friday (7/29): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/29): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 29, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Wonder Woman, Fantastic Beats and Where to Find Them, Suicide Squad, Doctor Strange, Bad Santa 2, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  2. DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: August 2016

    DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: August 2016 Image
    Published: July 28, 2016
    Find a complete guide to TV and movie titles heading to Blu-ray and DVD throughout the month of August, including The Nice Guys, Keanu, The Jungle Book, The Lobster, Weiner, and more.
  3. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 27, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Jason Bourne, Nerve, Bad Moms, Indignation, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  4. 23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    We rank some of cinema's most notable buddy films by Metascore.