User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 460 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JackB.
    Mar 29, 2008
    0
    A shocking and unnecessary remake. What a complete and utter piece of tripe. Tim Burton and Johnny Depp should be ashamed of themselves.
  2. Bman
    Oct 28, 2005
    3
    Depp aint no Gene Wilder. What a pile of tripe.
  3. KatherineB
    Oct 30, 2005
    2
    This movie is still horrendous. I would call it "scum," but I'm too nice of a person. In my earlier review, I pointed out positive aspects of the movie. Well, really, I pointed out aspects of the movie that weren't as devastatingly horrible as Depp's performance. The Oompa Loompas are bad, the writing is bad, the acting is bad, and the aesthetic elements are only enough to This movie is still horrendous. I would call it "scum," but I'm too nice of a person. In my earlier review, I pointed out positive aspects of the movie. Well, really, I pointed out aspects of the movie that weren't as devastatingly horrible as Depp's performance. The Oompa Loompas are bad, the writing is bad, the acting is bad, and the aesthetic elements are only enough to entertain those who aren't yet old enough to understand that movies aren't all about pretty pictures and sing alongs. The only reason I give it a 2 now is to appease Nick R. And I do **think about [my] score**. Expand
  4. Aug 26, 2011
    8
    Before I start, let me say that I never read the original book nor have I ever watched the old Willy Wonka movie, and frankly, I have no intention of doing either. So without any expectations, I ended up enjoying this fun movie. However, I have to be honest in this review by saying Johnny Depp's performance in this movie was disappointing, becuase it just didn't feel like it was him, whichBefore I start, let me say that I never read the original book nor have I ever watched the old Willy Wonka movie, and frankly, I have no intention of doing either. So without any expectations, I ended up enjoying this fun movie. However, I have to be honest in this review by saying Johnny Depp's performance in this movie was disappointing, becuase it just didn't feel like it was him, which is really unfortunate since I am a huge fan of him, especially in the Pirates of the Caribbean movies. But ignoring that, everything else in the movie is good. Expand
  5. Apr 3, 2012
    9
    Weird on every level, but that is what made it truely what it was. This remake is far better than the first crappy one. Depp was great and was such a lively character. Burton thought this one out well.
  6. Aug 11, 2010
    10
    Tim Burton is a master at constructing brilliant and unique films that boggle the mind and defy all beliefs there films that deliver a bold new twist each time but what makes Burton a master is his attention and devotion to his story. The detail and meticulous design of the sets, the costumes, the atmosphere of his films and how they all in some strange way impart a certain message ofTim Burton is a master at constructing brilliant and unique films that boggle the mind and defy all beliefs there films that deliver a bold new twist each time but what makes Burton a master is his attention and devotion to his story. The detail and meticulous design of the sets, the costumes, the atmosphere of his films and how they all in some strange way impart a certain message of sorts that has a bizarre connection to real life. Tim Burton's 2005 adaptation of Roald Dahl's beloved children book "Charlie and the Chocolate Factory" has a method to its madness and a meaning to its story. "Charlie and the Chocolate Factory" is one of Burton's best films since Big Fish and Sleepy Hollow. Tim Burton's take on the legendary tale of eccentric chocolate maker Willy Wonka and young dreamer Charlie Bucket is a film of meticulous design, it is meant to be a children movie but "Charlie and the Chocolate Factory" plays out better as a quirky adult fantasy adventure with a PG rating. Burton doesn't spare any detail he uses all his style and energy to create the bleak world of Charlie Bucket and all his imagination and light hearted enthusiasm to make the beautiful chocolate factory of Willy Wonka, it's astounding how it works, how it moves along flawlessly telling it's story and just wowing the audience in each and every scene. It is not a cheap exploitation flick with a famous name slapped on it it is a story about a person, a place and a situation that comes to be fall that person (Freddie Highmore). Burton has not only updated a classic story for a modern generation he has effectively made a film that is both true to his quirky style and mainstream enough for modern audiences, It's one of the best films of the last decade and also one of Burton's very best. The film only works whether you believe in what you are seeing; it succeeds on how you look at it if you look at it with a cynical point of view than this film will be a terrible time and a complete waste of money to you. However, if you keep your eyes open and your mind clear of any doubt than this film will work wonders on your soul, your imagination and your imagination. Tim Burton's "Charlie and the Chocolate Factoryâ Collapse
  7. Oct 23, 2010
    8
    Johnny Depp realises Tim Burton's strange adaptation of Roald Dahl's classic in one of his finest acting performances. He brings the bizarre to a character who was originally enigmatic, a bold and successful move. Not to mention the funky Umpa Lumpa songs, much better than 'Doo pa dee doo'. I don't care what the parents say, I prefer this version!
  8. Oct 23, 2010
    9
    Tim Burton is the master of darkness. every movie he makes kicks a**. including this one. the cast was very supporting, the songs were enjoyable, the visuals were brilliant, and the cinematography was awesome. with Burton around, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory is the best movie ever made.
  9. Dec 8, 2012
    3
    This movie sucked. It completely changed from the original movie which I love, and the books. I have no idea why this movie was even made. WHY!? WHY DID THEY MAKE IT?!!
  10. Sep 24, 2011
    5
    "Charlie and the Chocolate Factory" adds up overwhelming creativity into the book based movie. The result is that the movie got drunk with chocolate.
  11. Sep 3, 2010
    3
    I simply can't wrap my mind around how this movie has such high critical scores. Personally, I think Tim Burton is a visionary genius, but he can only work with stories that his type of directing specializes in: outcasts. In this movie, Wonka isn't an outcast, he's just weird and even creepy at times. All this balanced out by not-so-great songs and a cast that simply can't beat theI simply can't wrap my mind around how this movie has such high critical scores. Personally, I think Tim Burton is a visionary genius, but he can only work with stories that his type of directing specializes in: outcasts. In this movie, Wonka isn't an outcast, he's just weird and even creepy at times. All this balanced out by not-so-great songs and a cast that simply can't beat the original. Not the worst film, but overrated at the very least. Expand
  12. saffronf
    Aug 29, 2005
    10
    I loved the film as soon as i watched it the umpa lumpas are my fav because i loved thier song chewing chewing they should make a cd from thier songs. johnny depp was really great for the part of willy wonka.
  13. CAENT
    Dec 6, 2005
    5
    It was a decent movie, but if your like me, and have watched the original, this comes nowhere even close. The oompa loompas were horrible, Johnny Depp, didnt do a bad job, but his character (willy wonka) was annoying, silly, and sometimes boring. The one cool thing about this movie, was that we got to see into Wonka's past and how he became a chocolate maker. The young kid, playing It was a decent movie, but if your like me, and have watched the original, this comes nowhere even close. The oompa loompas were horrible, Johnny Depp, didnt do a bad job, but his character (willy wonka) was annoying, silly, and sometimes boring. The one cool thing about this movie, was that we got to see into Wonka's past and how he became a chocolate maker. The young kid, playing Charlie, did an excellent job, but overall, this movie was a huge letdown. Alot of the humor fell short, and Gene Wilder is a much better fit for Willy Wonka, both as an actor and in the script. This was definately a remake of sorts, mainly aimed towards the younger audience. I was hoping it was like the original, but with Tim Burton's amazing talent. But it wasnt. Expand
  14. LemonC.
    Jul 15, 2005
    10
    Anyone who says this movie sucks is just a hater because this movie is fierce!
  15. emmaw.
    Aug 31, 2005
    10
    I think it awsome. JONNY YOU ROCK and yer i want the golden ticket =p
  16. mobius
    Aug 4, 2005
    7
    Enjoyable film. the problem is that the americans have ran out of ideas for films and have now gone back to remake anyfilm they can get a licence to. personally im waiting for the remake of men in black, im sure the yanks will remake that in a couple of years
  17. CrystalS.
    Oct 27, 2005
    10
    I loved this movie. Tim Burton is the best no matter whta people think. The movie was NOT a remake or a sequel..It was what tim thought it should be so he expressed it how he saw it, U go tim burton. Work ur magic!!!
  18. AmmonL.
    Dec 15, 2005
    3
    Johnny Depp's characterization of Willy Wonka looked bad to me in the previews, so I just saw this on video. Be warned: if you didn't like Depp's Wonka in the trailers, you likely won't like him anymore after seeing the movie. I've heard Depp's Wonka compared to Michael Jackson in his mannerisms, and that's an apt comparison. They both seem very odd, and Johnny Depp's characterization of Willy Wonka looked bad to me in the previews, so I just saw this on video. Be warned: if you didn't like Depp's Wonka in the trailers, you likely won't like him anymore after seeing the movie. I've heard Depp's Wonka compared to Michael Jackson in his mannerisms, and that's an apt comparison. They both seem very odd, and like someone you wouldn't want to have your children around- even supervised. Aside from Wonka, the Oompa Loompas aren't fun, the songs are forgettable, the adults are brainless, the children are pretty decent and so are the squirrels, but not enough to make this even an average movie-going experience. Expand
  19. Mar 26, 2011
    0
    Tim Burton takes the original mediocre movie and makes it worse, the acting sucks and the characters and acting is crap there is no reason to see this movie at all.
  20. Jan 2, 2015
    6
    Charlie and the Chocolate Factory is an amusing adaptation from Tim Burton. His style is stamped all over this movie in everything from ethos to characters to design. The film is not successful 100% of the time but it's a more than adequate re-interpretation.
  21. Feb 15, 2012
    5
    Unlike the 1971 film 'Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory', this movie manages to stray closer to the original book that Roald Dahl penned. The result creates a more weird and quirky atmosphere that even Tim Burton fanboys are used to. Whilst the soundtrack was orchestrated beautifully by longtime collaborator Danny Elfman, it was another fellow confederate in Johnny Depp who wasUnlike the 1971 film 'Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory', this movie manages to stray closer to the original book that Roald Dahl penned. The result creates a more weird and quirky atmosphere that even Tim Burton fanboys are used to. Whilst the soundtrack was orchestrated beautifully by longtime collaborator Danny Elfman, it was another fellow confederate in Johnny Depp who was puzzling. His portrayal of Willy Wonka was so random in his mannerisms you couldn't help but scream out for Gene Wilder. Expand
  22. Aug 29, 2014
    3
    I held higher hopes for Tim Burton on the reigns for this remake. Johnny Depp also gives a disappointingly creepy turn as Willy Wonka. Yes, there are some tasteful visuals but not much more.
  23. Apr 3, 2012
    5
    Charlie and the Chocolate Factory is a pretty average for very weird movie. There's a distance, a detachment to this film. It lacks passion. But its has some very funny scenes with Jonny Depp.
  24. Dec 23, 2013
    6
    This is the perfect example of a film that never needed to be made. It adds nothing to the original film and if anything it takes away from the original. This Burton remake has none of the charm of the original and what it lacks in charm it makes up in the creepy Burton style. That said the film is more faithful to the book but that doesn't make it any more enjoyable. If you like the bookThis is the perfect example of a film that never needed to be made. It adds nothing to the original film and if anything it takes away from the original. This Burton remake has none of the charm of the original and what it lacks in charm it makes up in the creepy Burton style. That said the film is more faithful to the book but that doesn't make it any more enjoyable. If you like the book go and see it. If you love the original film you might just want to skip this remake. Expand
  25. Jun 11, 2013
    5
    Tim Burton's weird adaption of Roald Dahl's novel is a partly hilarious movie that stars a fantastic Johnny Depp as the maverick chocolatier and Freddie Highmore as the eponymous boy who is allowed to pay a visit to the former's mysterious chocolate factory. While the funny, yet not at all musically complex musical numbers are a welcome and amusing gimmick and Depp providesTim Burton's weird adaption of Roald Dahl's novel is a partly hilarious movie that stars a fantastic Johnny Depp as the maverick chocolatier and Freddie Highmore as the eponymous boy who is allowed to pay a visit to the former's mysterious chocolate factory. While the funny, yet not at all musically complex musical numbers are a welcome and amusing gimmick and Depp provides all-ages-entertainment at its best, very little of this movie stays in memory. The production design and the costumes are impressive, but it's the 21st century and a creative director like Mr. Burton could've really made more out of the source material. Furthermore, most of the movie's cast is miserable and extremely overacts their parts. The bad performances are also bred by the utterly silly screenplay that may contain good laughs for pre-school kids, however, is oftentimes boring and really cheaply written. I can't help myself but think that Mr. Burton didn't even utilize half of the potential that the original story has. But besides that, it's a very enjoyable family movie that has truly humorous scenes for both kids and adults. Expand
  26. Dec 4, 2012
    6
    This movie was okay and I really enjoyed Johnny Depp's Michael Jackson-esque version of WIlly Wonka (although he's stated on the Ellen show that his inspiration was imagining what a stoned George W. Bush would act like lol). But I prefer the original over this version. The one thing that really annoyed me in this movie was how bad the Oompa Loompa scenes were, the music was way too fast toThis movie was okay and I really enjoyed Johnny Depp's Michael Jackson-esque version of WIlly Wonka (although he's stated on the Ellen show that his inspiration was imagining what a stoned George W. Bush would act like lol). But I prefer the original over this version. The one thing that really annoyed me in this movie was how bad the Oompa Loompa scenes were, the music was way too fast to understand what they were saying. In the original movie what they were saying was the focus of the movie, that got lost in translation in this remake. Expand
  27. Jun 29, 2013
    4
    As a big fan of the original I may be unfairly critical, but when you remake a classic you should be held to a high standard which this film fails to deliver.
  28. Sep 26, 2013
    6
    In its quirky and fun ways, Chocolate Factory succeeds, especially with Depp as its leading man. Playing his usual kooky but fun character, Depp amazes you as Willy Wonka.
  29. jr
    Aug 9, 2005
    10
    Superb!
  30. FabioC.
    Sep 29, 2005
    10
    Wonderful movie. Great acting (Depp plays an intriguing Wonka, Highmore is a truly expressive Charlie), stunning visuals, usual great music by Elfman, great humour, the Oompa-Loompas... Highly recommended.
  31. alicew.
    Oct 24, 2005
    9
    Delightfully creepy.
  32. BitBurn
    Jul 31, 2005
    7
    It was alright I thought, except for the singing part that were bugging me.
  33. Julio
    Jul 30, 2005
    9
    Is great.
  34. SpiroA.
    Nov 29, 2005
    2
    If you love Tim Burton flicks and haven't read the book or seen the Wilder movie, you will probably like or even love this movie. If you've read the Dahl book, seen the original movie with Wilder, and or dislike Burton flicks (as I do), you will probably be disappointed or outright disgusted. Burton's perverse rendition is a disjointed freak show that relies on quirkiness If you love Tim Burton flicks and haven't read the book or seen the Wilder movie, you will probably like or even love this movie. If you've read the Dahl book, seen the original movie with Wilder, and or dislike Burton flicks (as I do), you will probably be disappointed or outright disgusted. Burton's perverse rendition is a disjointed freak show that relies on quirkiness and cinematography over character development and plot. The movie does nothing to distinguish itself and pales in comparison to the original. It also assininely changes important storylines from the book and the Wilder flick to it's detriment. The movie left me thinking, "Hmmmm... some of the lines were funny, the sets were neat, and some of the acting was okay, but overall this really sucks". I gave a 2 rating only because of the quirkiness and cinematography (both Burton staples). If you dislike Burton, love Wilder, and/or Dahl, this movie will piss you off and leave you puzzled and empty. Otherwise, rent it and it may amuse you. Expand
  35. WallyS.
    Dec 6, 2005
    9
    A true family film, technically masterfull, brilliantly directed, and Depp once more prooves himself an excellent actor. The art direction, fantastic. The score, superb...and the fun never stops.
  36. LaurenU
    Jul 15, 2005
    6
    Pros: The script is closer to the book, which was nice The acting of the children was surprisingly good. The flaming puppet introduction. The store designs. They were amazing, breathtaking set designs, but the only ones of their kind in the movie. The other set designs I found were suprisingly uninspired, especially for Burton. Cons: So many sets were direct copies of the original movie, Pros: The script is closer to the book, which was nice The acting of the children was surprisingly good. The flaming puppet introduction. The store designs. They were amazing, breathtaking set designs, but the only ones of their kind in the movie. The other set designs I found were suprisingly uninspired, especially for Burton. Cons: So many sets were direct copies of the original movie, why even bother with the remake? Johnny Depp's performance made Wonka creepy (and not in a good, Gene Wilder way) and vaguely revolting and the over-stylized delivery made even his humorous lines fall flat The Wonka backstory was formulaic, sappy, useless, and not true to even the sentiment of the book. Why were all the Oompa-loompas played by one actor? Tim Burton, if anything, is gifted at making beautiful things look rather sinister and sinister things beautiful, but this movie was so flawless and bright that it looked sterile and boring. Also, this movie provided so many great opportunities to insert visual gags regarding other, fantastical candies in development at the Wonka factory and to feature twisted and complicated machines (that I know Burton can design) to make the candies, but he totally dropped the ball. Expand
  37. MR
    Jul 15, 2005
    6
    Special efffects were good...we all know the story , so basically we watch jhonny depp do a creepy micheal jackson.
  38. ChrisJ
    Jul 15, 2005
    10
    This is fantastic. Even better than the original. It has more vision and is true to the book. SEE IT IN IMAX, It is even beter.
  39. cripij.
    Jul 15, 2005
    8
    Nice and overwhelming experience trough candymaster Burton and cripi actor Depp.
  40. RyanG
    Jul 15, 2005
    8
    I think Prudence K. may, in fact be schizo. ("Worst film of the year...or the best...I HATED IT" um..what?!?) It's people like that who give user reviews a bad rep. This is neither the worst film of the year (we still have 5 months left, Prude! Unless perhaps you're clairvoyant) nor the best, but it is a marked improvement over Burtons last few films (though Big Fish is highly I think Prudence K. may, in fact be schizo. ("Worst film of the year...or the best...I HATED IT" um..what?!?) It's people like that who give user reviews a bad rep. This is neither the worst film of the year (we still have 5 months left, Prude! Unless perhaps you're clairvoyant) nor the best, but it is a marked improvement over Burtons last few films (though Big Fish is highly underrated) and Depp's performance is SUPPOSED to be creepy. That's kind of the point. Expand
  41. JoeC.
    Jul 16, 2005
    10
    i think people like Seth A should let big people review movies- and maybe so some homework. The movie is based off on a book.
  42. JosipM
    Jul 16, 2005
    10
    The best movie in quite some time.
  43. LolaR.
    Jul 16, 2005
    2
    Warning Will Robinson do not go see it. Bad - Bad - Bad.
  44. AaronF.
    Jul 16, 2005
    8
    this movie was...interesting. in my opinion the original is better because of its more 'magical' qualities. wilder's willy wonka is superior to depp's because depp becomes annoying as the film progresses (there is only so much weird one can take). also the imagery, though more consistent with the book, looks processed at times. i will say that the children are overall this movie was...interesting. in my opinion the original is better because of its more 'magical' qualities. wilder's willy wonka is superior to depp's because depp becomes annoying as the film progresses (there is only so much weird one can take). also the imagery, though more consistent with the book, looks processed at times. i will say that the children are overall better cast here than in the original (with the exception of veruca salt - "i want it now" will always be a favorite) and it is an enjoyable watch. i recommend it for the casual movie-goer, it's great fun but not cult-classic good. Expand
  45. Ed
    Jul 17, 2005
    10
    Honestly, the best move I've seen all summer, and one of the most entertaining movies I've seen in quite some time. Johnny Depp's performance is hysterically quirky and still loveable despite what all the critics say.
  46. ClintM.
    Jul 18, 2005
    9
    Johnny Dep is BRILLIANT! Can I just say that? He created the hilarious and memorable "Jack Sparrow" in Pirates of the Carribean, and now he's made a whole new, whackier, weirder, and BETTER Willy Wonka! There's a darker side to be seen in this Wonka but a darker side w/a story to tell. Which is another reason I enjoyed this version just as much (if not more) as the original: Johnny Dep is BRILLIANT! Can I just say that? He created the hilarious and memorable "Jack Sparrow" in Pirates of the Carribean, and now he's made a whole new, whackier, weirder, and BETTER Willy Wonka! There's a darker side to be seen in this Wonka but a darker side w/a story to tell. Which is another reason I enjoyed this version just as much (if not more) as the original: there was more "meat on the bones". There's still a lot of the same mishaps and eye candy as before, but we get a new ending which is far superior to the original in my eyes. The kids are hilarious and annoying at the same time, the visuals are superb, but again, Johnny Depp is absolutely wonderful, proving he's the best Hollywood's got to offer right now. You'll find yourself smiling and laughing the entire time! Expand
  47. JeremiahC.
    Jul 18, 2005
    8
    Good remake. Same concept as the first movie, with a few twists and turns to keep you guessing.
  48. AlK.
    Jul 18, 2005
    1
    Disgusting movie compared to the original. They completely ruined it. The music was horrible and lost the classic Oompa Loompa song. The cheap director also reuses ONE character for every oompa loompa. The modernized oompa song is dispicable. The so called "comedy" was not funny, and the acting was very poor on behalf of Charlie. The grandfather also has very poor acting. The reason Disgusting movie compared to the original. They completely ruined it. The music was horrible and lost the classic Oompa Loompa song. The cheap director also reuses ONE character for every oompa loompa. The modernized oompa song is dispicable. The so called "comedy" was not funny, and the acting was very poor on behalf of Charlie. The grandfather also has very poor acting. The reason behind Willy's "fear" b/c of his father is just plain stupid. This movie was horrible and I would pay $6.50 to you just NOT to see it. Ever lasting gobstopper? It's the size of a baseball. Lame. Expand
  49. MikeT.V.
    Jul 18, 2005
    10
    Almost too good. Burton, Depp, and a fantastic chocolate factory. seriously, what more do you want?
  50. michab.
    Jul 19, 2005
    1
    This is the worst movie ever I hate it an i like The O.C Better.
  51. TerryS.
    Jul 23, 2005
    7
    good movie heavily dragged down by depp.No longer riffing on Richards,Burton appars to be feeding wonka chunks of austin powers/dr. evil and depp only shines during the moments he is riffing on Myers.
  52. MaryH.
    Jul 23, 2005
    2
    Mr. Depp's acting talents seem to have disappeared in this movie, lending no charm or depth to the role of Willie Wonka. What should have been a high point of the film, was barely tolerable. After the first half hour I was looking at my watch hoping it was a short film. And keep in mind that I am a great fan of Tim Burton, Johnny Depp and the story of Willa Wonka! So the Mr. Depp's acting talents seem to have disappeared in this movie, lending no charm or depth to the role of Willie Wonka. What should have been a high point of the film, was barely tolerable. After the first half hour I was looking at my watch hoping it was a short film. And keep in mind that I am a great fan of Tim Burton, Johnny Depp and the story of Willa Wonka! So the disappointment was triple! Expand
  53. Docta
    Jul 23, 2005
    2
    Aweful in so many ways. If I ever see the guy who plays the Oompa Loompas I'm gonna kick him in the nuts.
  54. RobertB.
    Jul 25, 2005
    9
    Suprisingly warm with a picture perfect ending. I have to admit that I was a bit worried about this film prior to seeing it due in part to the lukewarm reviews I had read. Especially considering most of these reviews focused on a poor performance from Johnny Depp. Well, you can always count on the critics to muddy things up, most predictably regarding any film that is a "remake." They Suprisingly warm with a picture perfect ending. I have to admit that I was a bit worried about this film prior to seeing it due in part to the lukewarm reviews I had read. Especially considering most of these reviews focused on a poor performance from Johnny Depp. Well, you can always count on the critics to muddy things up, most predictably regarding any film that is a "remake." They don't like'em, period. I, however, found Depp to be quite good. Very funny and creatively unique. Both of which are becoming trademark characteristics. Charlie was likeable and warm and all the other characters are well cast and non-distracting. If you are going to see a newer version of the original, don't go. Remember, this is not a musical and is defintely recognizeable as a Tim Burton film. I particularly enjoyed the flashback scenes of Wonka as a child as well as discovering the umpa-lumpas. A visually interesting piece, laced with a quirky style of cerebral humor, and slightly altered to stand on it's own as a film Charlie and the Chocolate Factory is a keeper. Expand
  55. JDFitzmaurice
    Jul 26, 2005
    2
    Wow, what a dissapointment. I was really looking forward to Tim Burtons take on Dahl's twisted story and Johnny Deep's take on the sugar mogel himself but this film in no way met my expectations. Firstly the settings although fantastically Burton like held no charm or appeal. The factory itself was not the magical world of wonder a child like Charlie would want to make his own Wow, what a dissapointment. I was really looking forward to Tim Burtons take on Dahl's twisted story and Johnny Deep's take on the sugar mogel himself but this film in no way met my expectations. Firstly the settings although fantastically Burton like held no charm or appeal. The factory itself was not the magical world of wonder a child like Charlie would want to make his own more like a sterile house of horror. Charlie himself was likeable and Dave Kelly was a loveable rogue as Granpa Joe but the rest of the children and parents were just not so unlikable that you looked forward to their demise, unlike the kids of the book who made the reader want to tear out pages. In fact on the contrary it was like Wonka was running some sick torture factory for his hapless guests. Now to Wonka, I love Johnny Depp but this was far and away his worst performance. Instead of portraying Wonka as a charismatic madman we were presented with none other that Michael Jackson, sure he was creepy and odd but like Jackson had no redeemable characteristics. As a huge fan of the original it was always going to be hard to watch a remake but I really thought Burton would nail it, unfortunetly I came out feeling like a nasty child who had just met his demise in the evil factory. Expand
  56. cassidyh
    Jul 27, 2005
    7
    This movie i think was one of the best remakes (out at this time). It went into more detail about willy than the origianal movie which was nice. Being a 13 year old it was nice to see that it had funny parts about Willy's "daddy" issues. The acting by jonny depp was incredible! (no doubt i am a jonny fan) but i think he gave an excellent effort. The childrens acting i thought This movie i think was one of the best remakes (out at this time). It went into more detail about willy than the origianal movie which was nice. Being a 13 year old it was nice to see that it had funny parts about Willy's "daddy" issues. The acting by jonny depp was incredible! (no doubt i am a jonny fan) but i think he gave an excellent effort. The childrens acting i thought wasn't perfect but good , the casting was PERFECT! i loved the opma lumpa's they/he were/was excellent. The best part in that movie to me was @ the end when charlie was shining Mr.Wonka's show and commented on willy's hair!! THAT WAS FUNNY! :D Expand
  57. JonathanH.
    Jul 30, 2005
    4
    The vacuous performance by Depp is like a black hole in the film.
  58. MarcD
    Aug 17, 2005
    8
    Great entertainment. A movie which succeeds in doing what all entertainment should be doing with more regularity.
  59. LaurenS.
    Aug 19, 2005
    4
    Depp is uncomfortably creepy, far cry from the orignal.
  60. AndrewWD
    Aug 3, 2005
    0
    Unbelievably bad. I can't even scratch the surface of this movie's failings in this short review. I love the original, but this version is truly horrible. Awful, awful, awful.
  61. JohnH.
    Aug 3, 2005
    9
    Perhaps I am easily impressed, but I found Depp's faces to be absolutely hilarious. And, can you believe the nerve of the people that suggest that the Oompa-Loompa songs (song) were better in the original?! Watching the original at my house, and then seeing this, I found I enjoyed Charlie much more.
  62. BradR.
    Aug 9, 2005
    6
    I was looking forward to this movie, as the original was one of my favourite childhood films. I took my daughter to see it, and her reaction was not too dissimilar from my own: fairly subdued. When compared to the original there was very little that was better. Johnny Depp's performance was a brave attempt to be somewhat different, but the effete character he portrayed never seemed I was looking forward to this movie, as the original was one of my favourite childhood films. I took my daughter to see it, and her reaction was not too dissimilar from my own: fairly subdued. When compared to the original there was very little that was better. Johnny Depp's performance was a brave attempt to be somewhat different, but the effete character he portrayed never seemed to have genuine enthusiasm to be Willy Wonka (I could not help but think in parts he resembled the 'misunderstood' Michael Jackson), as opposed to Gene Wilder's zaniness and great humour. The songs of the Oompa-loompas were difficult to understand given the music, which overpowered the lyrics, although there were a few good scenes involving them. Charlie's grandfather had no real independent character, unlike the original, and the subplots in the original were lacking. Altogether, it confirms my view of most re-makes -a far cry from the original. Expand
  63. Melissa
    Aug 9, 2005
    9
    I thought this movie was very good. Johnny Depp did excellent in this movie, his portrayal of Willy Wonka was great. I prefer this movie to the original Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory.
  64. DonaaB.
    Sep 11, 2005
    1
    This movie was disgusting!!! A shameful attempt of a remake! This movie has nothing catchy about and no interesting songs. The old movie is a million times better. This movie was just plain stupid. Don't waste your money.
  65. HarveyC.
    Sep 15, 2005
    7
    Has much of the fun-house entertaining quality of "Beetlejuice". Depp's edgy, ambiguous, emotionally alienated character is well done, and the awful children are very well played. Is it for children or adults? The reviewers' manifold disagreements are amusing. Certainly it won't be played over and over on the VCR, as the Wilder version is. But it's more dramatically Has much of the fun-house entertaining quality of "Beetlejuice". Depp's edgy, ambiguous, emotionally alienated character is well done, and the awful children are very well played. Is it for children or adults? The reviewers' manifold disagreements are amusing. Certainly it won't be played over and over on the VCR, as the Wilder version is. But it's more dramatically satisfying. Expand
  66. AustinG.
    Sep 24, 2005
    10
    I really loved this movie. In the original Charlie and the Chocolate factory, the producers captured all of Roald Dahl's goofiness but did not reallly have a point or a plot. To be frank, the book was one of my least favorites of Dahl's for these exact reasons. However, in this new movie, Tim Burton gave life to a formerly dull and uninspiring movie. Also, he did something that I really loved this movie. In the original Charlie and the Chocolate factory, the producers captured all of Roald Dahl's goofiness but did not reallly have a point or a plot. To be frank, the book was one of my least favorites of Dahl's for these exact reasons. However, in this new movie, Tim Burton gave life to a formerly dull and uninspiring movie. Also, he did something that I have onlly ever seen before in I, Robot. I liked this movie in spite of all its flaws because the director, instead of following the lead of countless other book-inspired producers, took the general spirit of the book, and then built the sory around this, leaving much of the original story behind. Though Burton stuck more to the original plot, he changed it just enough to make it better. This truly is a masterpiece of a movie. Expand
  67. TheElusivePossom
    Sep 2, 2005
    3
    It's no secret that Roald Dahl despised the original book-to-film adaptation of his classic children's novel of the same name, but this rehash of that popular classic would surely make him turn in his grave. Johnny Depp certainly makes the character of Wonka his own, which turns out to be a bizarre and often irritating abomination lacking any of Gene Wilder's aimiable It's no secret that Roald Dahl despised the original book-to-film adaptation of his classic children's novel of the same name, but this rehash of that popular classic would surely make him turn in his grave. Johnny Depp certainly makes the character of Wonka his own, which turns out to be a bizarre and often irritating abomination lacking any of Gene Wilder's aimiable charm. Helena Bonham Carter, however, plays a very lovely mum, and the majority of the film's laughs are gained from Violet Beauregarde's mum's face - every expression is comedy gold! The film's plot seems stunted and wayward, with classic scenes from the original (the bubble room) omitted in favour of visiting a room full of killer CGI squirrels. The film is also littered with unnecessary insights into Wonka's childhood, all of which failing to draw the wacky chocolateer out of being 1-dimensional. On top of all this, the conclusion is extremely poor and overly sugar-sweet. See it if you love Mr Depp; otherwise buy a box of Milk Tray and stay at home. Expand
  68. GregL.
    Sep 27, 2005
    9
    Nothing against Gene Wilder, but this is light years ahead of the treacly original in terms of visuals, overall acting, and sticking to the original intent of Roald Dahl's book. It's also worth noting that this version is officially sanctioned by the Dahl family. And why do some critics bash Depp's portrayal? Perhaps they were expecting the second coming of Gene Wilder... I Nothing against Gene Wilder, but this is light years ahead of the treacly original in terms of visuals, overall acting, and sticking to the original intent of Roald Dahl's book. It's also worth noting that this version is officially sanctioned by the Dahl family. And why do some critics bash Depp's portrayal? Perhaps they were expecting the second coming of Gene Wilder... I think he did a great job. Expand
  69. groundfisher
    Sep 4, 2005
    6
    The plot is entirely linear with no sub-plots at all. The ending comes about abruptly and is excessivly 'happy ever after'. --New Paragraph-- Johnny Depp was superb and to my mind his performance was inspired/influenced by a combinaton of Mike Myers in Austin Powers, Jim Carrey, and Depp's own originality. --New Paragraph-- However, the character himself is another matter. The plot is entirely linear with no sub-plots at all. The ending comes about abruptly and is excessivly 'happy ever after'. --New Paragraph-- Johnny Depp was superb and to my mind his performance was inspired/influenced by a combinaton of Mike Myers in Austin Powers, Jim Carrey, and Depp's own originality. --New Paragraph-- However, the character himself is another matter. Wonka's flashbacks were unnecessary and intrusive, taking up time in the movie that could've been better spent developing other characters or spent on wondrous scenes inside the chocolate factory (the Bubble Room would've been nice). --New Paragraph-- And despite the fact 'there is so much to see' inside the factory, we didn't see very much at all. --New Paragraph-- It was slightly jarring to hear English characters referring to chocolate as 'candy' and to their currency as 'dollars' (don't Americans know what sweets and pounds are?). --New Paragraph-- All in all quite an enjoyable film with a very simple plot and a disappointing ending. If you can laugh along with the movie while it laughs with and at itself, you'll enjoy it. If you're expecting a sincere, morality tale with a feel-good chocolate factory that evokes a child-like sense of awe, you won't get your money's worth. Expand
  70. Rev.Gomez
    Nov 10, 2005
    7
    Not a great movie, but not horrible. It was entertaining enough. I just need to post in response to the resident genius 'Pooch'. Okay, Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory probably should have been left pristine. The idea here was to make it more similar to the book. And, this is for you Pooch, the book was titled Charlie and the Chocolate Factory. Get a clue!
  71. georgea.
    Nov 21, 2005
    5
    Johnny depp amazing as always however i think that he's version of willy wonka is ott. My favourite scene in the old film is where he pretends to fall over and does a forward roll which isen't in the film instead it's replaced by a very tacky song that lets u know wat the rest of the film is going to be like. A dissapointing film and should only be seen by those who Johnny depp amazing as always however i think that he's version of willy wonka is ott. My favourite scene in the old film is where he pretends to fall over and does a forward roll which isen't in the film instead it's replaced by a very tacky song that lets u know wat the rest of the film is going to be like. A dissapointing film and should only be seen by those who haven't read the book or seen the original film. Expand
  72. KumarR.
    Nov 21, 2005
    9
    Tim Burton has done a great job in adapting Roald Dahl's classic BOOK. "Wily Wonka and the Chocolate Factory" is not a concern here. This is not a remake of the movie. It's an adaptation of the book. Johnny Depp and Freddie Highmore play a wonderful Wily Wonka and Charlie respectively. A must see for all.
  73. Pooch
    Nov 7, 2005
    2
    This movie was possibly the worst idea to come out of Tim Burtons hatfull of worst ideas. Remaking the classic movie, WIlly Wonka and the Chocolate Facotry, and giving it a new name, trying to knock it off as being different, what a horrible idea. They tried to make it a little darker by including Wonka's childhood, but that ended up sucking a big one. It was a bad idea to make this This movie was possibly the worst idea to come out of Tim Burtons hatfull of worst ideas. Remaking the classic movie, WIlly Wonka and the Chocolate Facotry, and giving it a new name, trying to knock it off as being different, what a horrible idea. They tried to make it a little darker by including Wonka's childhood, but that ended up sucking a big one. It was a bad idea to make this movie. Period. The classic movie has now been ruined for me, since I have seen these new cheap knock-offs for Oompa Loompas. The Oompa Loompas used to be my favorite part, and now I just want to slice my wrists open everytime I hear their name mentioned. The music sucked too. Expand
  74. ShaneJ.
    Nov 8, 2005
    3
    It just didn't have the same fun factor as the first one. Also, Depp seemed like he was just trying way to hard to be wierd. The movie was just not as good as the orginal.
  75. TonyaT.
    Nov 8, 2005
    10
    I loved this movie! Tim Burton is my favorite director and this was wonderfully creepy and fun!
  76. jennyh.
    Oct 18, 2005
    10
    This was the best movie of many i sawe this summer...IT ROX MY SOX. I just love those oopa loompas. I coould listen to that Agustus Gloop song over and over again!!!
  77. marshallm.
    Oct 18, 2005
    10
    It's great entertainment! for younger kids and adults. go see it!
  78. TrentS.
    Nov 9, 2005
    4
    Could have done without the musical numbers.
  79. J.S.
    Dec 12, 2005
    10
    It is great!!! whatever Johnny Depp has a role is SUPER!!!! I LOVE JOHNNY DEPP!!!!
  80. richardb.
    Dec 18, 2005
    9
    Love Roald Dahl's books. Didnt love the Gene Wilder Wonka movie. Loved Beetlejuice & Pee Wee's Big Adventure. Didnt love Scissorhands or Corpse Bride. This Chocolate Factory, I must say, was a sweet surprise. I did miss Pure Imagination & the Oompah Loompah songs from the older flick, but everything else was vastly improved. I even thought the "dad was a mean dentist" backstory Love Roald Dahl's books. Didnt love the Gene Wilder Wonka movie. Loved Beetlejuice & Pee Wee's Big Adventure. Didnt love Scissorhands or Corpse Bride. This Chocolate Factory, I must say, was a sweet surprise. I did miss Pure Imagination & the Oompah Loompah songs from the older flick, but everything else was vastly improved. I even thought the "dad was a mean dentist" backstory was a brilliant conceit, maybe not literally true to Dahl's writings, but certainly true to Dahls spirit. Great casting, from every face in Charlie Buckets hovel to every mean boy or girl and enabling parent in the Factory. And Johnny Depp just added another classic characterization to his trophy wall. Speaking of Classics, after a long dry spell, Tim Burton has finally created another one. Expand
  81. Filmgirl
    Dec 2, 2005
    3
    What a disappointment! What's with those stupid Oompaloompas???? What's with Johnny Depp? He is one creepy dude.... Miss this one, trust me!
  82. TomH
    Dec 3, 2005
    7
    First off I did not like the first one all that much. second this movie would have gotton a much better score from everybody if it had tried to be less child like and just stick to the adult references.
  83. DV8
    Dec 5, 2005
    3
    Oh my god... I hate Tim Burton's visions of, well, just about everything. I realize that this movie stays closer to the book than Willy Wonka does, but all the symbolism, all the mystery about Willy Wonka are completely obviated, and the movie withers as it becomes sentimental and preachy.
  84. MrNihilism
    Dec 6, 2005
    7
    Not bad.
  85. MalcomM.
    Oct 26, 2005
    4
    Not as good as they say. Quite dissapointing really, coming from Burton, and Depp's character lacks, well, 'Depth'. What can I say? Most might find it sweet, yes, to some extend. Colorful, oh yes, that comes with the territory. But in all this kiddy delight and muse, the approach Tim took felt more creepy and pretty disturbing, more than anything. I mean, c'mon, no Not as good as they say. Quite dissapointing really, coming from Burton, and Depp's character lacks, well, 'Depth'. What can I say? Most might find it sweet, yes, to some extend. Colorful, oh yes, that comes with the territory. But in all this kiddy delight and muse, the approach Tim took felt more creepy and pretty disturbing, more than anything. I mean, c'mon, no matter how bad and spoilt or rotten a kid's attitude, he or she shouldn't be punished to the extend that Mr Burton deemed justifiable to teach these kids a lesson. Coz, as it turns out, the lesson was extreme and for life! And heck, the kid's were still rotten, and worst off. Maybe he's right, i dunno, but it was more a nightmare than a sweet chocolate to me. And please, the oompa loompas or whatever heck those midgets were, they're so freakingly irritating what with their crazy dance routines and forgettable songs! Man, bring me back Planet of The Apes, Tim! At least that was more watchable than this bash of brownish nonsense. Or better still, let us just go watch the original Charlie with Gene Wilder, now that was a classic. Expand
  86. JeremyD.
    Jul 13, 2005
    9
    Turn off your brain, don't worry when it deviates from the book, and immerse yourself in the wonderful, wacky, illogical world of Tim Burton. This is a very entertaining visual feast that it's best to not think too hard about.
  87. PrudenceK.
    Jul 14, 2005
    0
    Johnny Depp scared me. This is the worst film of the year or the best. I HATED IT!
  88. MikeL
    Jul 14, 2005
    10
    Almost wholly true to the book....an amazing film.
  89. Jan
    Jul 14, 2005
    10
    A treat for all ages. Depp and Burton have done it again.
  90. JeffreyT.
    Jul 15, 2005
    3
    The wit and morals are gone. What's left is a wonka who couldn't invent the leaver if he had a diagram, and yet we are to believe he's the best at everything candy.
  91. DearPrudenceBeatles
    Jul 15, 2005
    10
    I just saw this movie and it was fantastic. While Johnny Depp might have been scary, I think that was the point. The person who doesn't like this movie because it was slightly scary should stay away from any movie not rated G.
  92. MarshallM
    Jul 15, 2005
    10
    One of those movies, so full of originality and visual spectacle, its almost hard to not like it! a must see! (PS, if ur a big fan of the original, u might not like this movie, but nonetheless, a wonderful fantasy film)
  93. SethA.
    Jul 15, 2005
    0
    Do the Brits know that nothing they do is funny to Americans? Anyway, I just could not get into this insipid film. Oompa Loompas? What? Even in dreamworld this made no sense. The only thing that was somewhat cool was Johnny Depp. He had a weird pedophilic quality that made this way more credible and added a darkness that simpler minds would never pick up. Too bad about the rest of the movie.
  94. DaveS.
    Jul 15, 2005
    10
    I just got back from a packed theatre. The place was full of many kids who seemed to love it. Johnny Depp was perfect as Willy Wonka...odd and eccentric. Charlie and the Grandpa were perfectly cast. The entire theatre clapped at the end of the film. The sets were gorgeous!
  95. ScottM.
    Jul 15, 2005
    10
    Visually Stunning, Entertaining and Dark! Tim Burton & Johnny Depp
  96. Cass
    Jul 15, 2005
    9
    Visually stunning, heartwarming, funny, and just loads of fun. The audience I saw it with loved it, and clapped and cheered at the end. It had some flaws but those were insignificant compared to the overall quality of the movie.
  97. NickH
    Jul 15, 2005
    9
    It's the book onscreen, combining Dahl's inventive and strange plot with Burton's gothic yet colorful vision. Do not mistake this for a remake. It is a "reimagining," much like the recent Planet of the Apes (also Burton). It takes the same source material, but instead of viewing it the same way as someone else in the past viewed it, it shows another way that the source It's the book onscreen, combining Dahl's inventive and strange plot with Burton's gothic yet colorful vision. Do not mistake this for a remake. It is a "reimagining," much like the recent Planet of the Apes (also Burton). It takes the same source material, but instead of viewing it the same way as someone else in the past viewed it, it shows another way that the source material could be viewed. This movie, as it should, portrays Wonka (Depp) as a creepy, antisocial, germophobic ecentric. He is not Michael Jackson, please, it's not Michael Jackson - even though Michael Jackson is a creepy, antisocial, germophobic ecentric who believes he is a child. Wonka, however, holds a sort of contempt for kids, seeming to dislike each and every one of them. He's more like a high - pitched, creepy Howard Hughes. Speaking of those kids, they each give a great preformance. Their parents - top marks for Charlie's grandfather - do a fantastic job as well. As you may have guessed by the previews Burton's vision of CF has sharp colors, crazy sights, and a sort of gothic whimsy. He did a fantastic job. Some quick notes, the plot is tight and true to the book - no dancing old people and there ARE squirrels! There is only ONE Ompa Loompa, he does a great job AND he's the only one who sings (he plays all of the little guys, as in the novel). That sums it up, great movie. Does not remake, it reinvents. I don't know what Prudence K's problem is, but I suggest you disregard her comment on the movie as it makes no sense. It is, in fact, the second best of the summer (no, WOTW is not one... it's Batman). Expand
  98. GerardK.
    Jul 15, 2005
    9
    Brilliant visuals and amazing direction make Charlie and the Chocolate Factory and ideal family film.
  99. Jax
    Jul 15, 2005
    9
    Hands down.... awesome.
  100. AlexaS.
    Jul 15, 2005
    9
    I thought this movie was great! I've always been a fan of tim burton, and when he teams up with Johnny Depp it never goes wrong! I was happy that Tim Burton stayed close to the book. Johnny put his own spin on the character of Willy Wonka, he made it a little diturbing and fun. You have to expect that kind of character comming from Johnny Depp, especially when he's doing a Tim I thought this movie was great! I've always been a fan of tim burton, and when he teams up with Johnny Depp it never goes wrong! I was happy that Tim Burton stayed close to the book. Johnny put his own spin on the character of Willy Wonka, he made it a little diturbing and fun. You have to expect that kind of character comming from Johnny Depp, especially when he's doing a Tim Burton film. This movie was brilliant! I cannot wait to see it again! Johnny Depp performance is unbeatable! He is one of the greatest actors of his generation, and this movie only more so proves my point! Expand
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 40
  2. Negative: 1 out of 40
  1. Here's a film about kids and for kids that has not lost touch with what it is like to actually be a kid.
  2. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    70
    Entertaining and fabulously imaginative in many ways, this second bigscreen rendition of the late author's modest morality tale on the wages of unbridled excess sports excesses of its own.
  3. Reviewed by: Richard Schickel
    60
    This is rather a thin tale, not much thickened by Burton's direction or Depp's playing. There's a distance, a detachment to this film. It lacks passion.