User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 526 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. saffronf
    Aug 29, 2005
    10
    I loved the film as soon as i watched it the umpa lumpas are my fav because i loved thier song chewing chewing they should make a cd from thier songs. johnny depp was really great for the part of willy wonka.
  2. jr
    Aug 9, 2005
    10
    Superb!
  3. FabioC.
    Sep 29, 2005
    10
    Wonderful movie. Great acting (Depp plays an intriguing Wonka, Highmore is a truly expressive Charlie), stunning visuals, usual great music by Elfman, great humour, the Oompa-Loompas... Highly recommended.
  4. alicew.
    Oct 24, 2005
    9
    Delightfully creepy.
  5. LemonC.
    Jul 15, 2005
    10
    Anyone who says this movie sucks is just a hater because this movie is fierce!
  6. BitBurn
    Jul 31, 2005
    7
    It was alright I thought, except for the singing part that were bugging me.
  7. Julio
    Jul 30, 2005
    9
    Is great.
  8. emmaw.
    Aug 31, 2005
    10
    I think it awsome. JONNY YOU ROCK and yer i want the golden ticket =p
  9. mobius
    Aug 4, 2005
    7
    Enjoyable film. the problem is that the americans have ran out of ideas for films and have now gone back to remake anyfilm they can get a licence to. personally im waiting for the remake of men in black, im sure the yanks will remake that in a couple of years
  10. WallyS.
    Dec 6, 2005
    9
    A true family film, technically masterfull, brilliantly directed, and Depp once more prooves himself an excellent actor. The art direction, fantastic. The score, superb...and the fun never stops.
  11. CrystalS.
    Oct 27, 2005
    10
    I loved this movie. Tim Burton is the best no matter whta people think. The movie was NOT a remake or a sequel..It was what tim thought it should be so he expressed it how he saw it, U go tim burton. Work ur magic!!!
  12. ChrisJ
    Jul 15, 2005
    10
    This is fantastic. Even better than the original. It has more vision and is true to the book. SEE IT IN IMAX, It is even beter.
  13. cripij.
    Jul 15, 2005
    8
    Nice and overwhelming experience trough candymaster Burton and cripi actor Depp.
  14. RyanG
    Jul 15, 2005
    8
    I think Prudence K. may, in fact be schizo. ("Worst film of the year...or the best...I HATED IT" um..what?!?) It's people like that who give user reviews a bad rep. This is neither the worst film of the year (we still have 5 months left, Prude! Unless perhaps you're clairvoyant) nor the best, but it is a marked improvement over Burtons last few films (though Big Fish is highly I think Prudence K. may, in fact be schizo. ("Worst film of the year...or the best...I HATED IT" um..what?!?) It's people like that who give user reviews a bad rep. This is neither the worst film of the year (we still have 5 months left, Prude! Unless perhaps you're clairvoyant) nor the best, but it is a marked improvement over Burtons last few films (though Big Fish is highly underrated) and Depp's performance is SUPPOSED to be creepy. That's kind of the point. Expand
  15. JoeC.
    Jul 16, 2005
    10
    i think people like Seth A should let big people review movies- and maybe so some homework. The movie is based off on a book.
  16. JosipM
    Jul 16, 2005
    10
    The best movie in quite some time.
  17. AaronF.
    Jul 16, 2005
    8
    this movie was...interesting. in my opinion the original is better because of its more 'magical' qualities. wilder's willy wonka is superior to depp's because depp becomes annoying as the film progresses (there is only so much weird one can take). also the imagery, though more consistent with the book, looks processed at times. i will say that the children are overall this movie was...interesting. in my opinion the original is better because of its more 'magical' qualities. wilder's willy wonka is superior to depp's because depp becomes annoying as the film progresses (there is only so much weird one can take). also the imagery, though more consistent with the book, looks processed at times. i will say that the children are overall better cast here than in the original (with the exception of veruca salt - "i want it now" will always be a favorite) and it is an enjoyable watch. i recommend it for the casual movie-goer, it's great fun but not cult-classic good. Expand
  18. Ed
    Jul 17, 2005
    10
    Honestly, the best move I've seen all summer, and one of the most entertaining movies I've seen in quite some time. Johnny Depp's performance is hysterically quirky and still loveable despite what all the critics say.
  19. ClintM.
    Jul 18, 2005
    9
    Johnny Dep is BRILLIANT! Can I just say that? He created the hilarious and memorable "Jack Sparrow" in Pirates of the Carribean, and now he's made a whole new, whackier, weirder, and BETTER Willy Wonka! There's a darker side to be seen in this Wonka but a darker side w/a story to tell. Which is another reason I enjoyed this version just as much (if not more) as the original: Johnny Dep is BRILLIANT! Can I just say that? He created the hilarious and memorable "Jack Sparrow" in Pirates of the Carribean, and now he's made a whole new, whackier, weirder, and BETTER Willy Wonka! There's a darker side to be seen in this Wonka but a darker side w/a story to tell. Which is another reason I enjoyed this version just as much (if not more) as the original: there was more "meat on the bones". There's still a lot of the same mishaps and eye candy as before, but we get a new ending which is far superior to the original in my eyes. The kids are hilarious and annoying at the same time, the visuals are superb, but again, Johnny Depp is absolutely wonderful, proving he's the best Hollywood's got to offer right now. You'll find yourself smiling and laughing the entire time! Expand
  20. JeremiahC.
    Jul 18, 2005
    8
    Good remake. Same concept as the first movie, with a few twists and turns to keep you guessing.
  21. MikeT.V.
    Jul 18, 2005
    10
    Almost too good. Burton, Depp, and a fantastic chocolate factory. seriously, what more do you want?
  22. TerryS.
    Jul 23, 2005
    7
    good movie heavily dragged down by depp.No longer riffing on Richards,Burton appars to be feeding wonka chunks of austin powers/dr. evil and depp only shines during the moments he is riffing on Myers.
  23. RobertB.
    Jul 25, 2005
    9
    Suprisingly warm with a picture perfect ending. I have to admit that I was a bit worried about this film prior to seeing it due in part to the lukewarm reviews I had read. Especially considering most of these reviews focused on a poor performance from Johnny Depp. Well, you can always count on the critics to muddy things up, most predictably regarding any film that is a "remake." They Suprisingly warm with a picture perfect ending. I have to admit that I was a bit worried about this film prior to seeing it due in part to the lukewarm reviews I had read. Especially considering most of these reviews focused on a poor performance from Johnny Depp. Well, you can always count on the critics to muddy things up, most predictably regarding any film that is a "remake." They don't like'em, period. I, however, found Depp to be quite good. Very funny and creatively unique. Both of which are becoming trademark characteristics. Charlie was likeable and warm and all the other characters are well cast and non-distracting. If you are going to see a newer version of the original, don't go. Remember, this is not a musical and is defintely recognizeable as a Tim Burton film. I particularly enjoyed the flashback scenes of Wonka as a child as well as discovering the umpa-lumpas. A visually interesting piece, laced with a quirky style of cerebral humor, and slightly altered to stand on it's own as a film Charlie and the Chocolate Factory is a keeper. Expand
  24. cassidyh
    Jul 27, 2005
    7
    This movie i think was one of the best remakes (out at this time). It went into more detail about willy than the origianal movie which was nice. Being a 13 year old it was nice to see that it had funny parts about Willy's "daddy" issues. The acting by jonny depp was incredible! (no doubt i am a jonny fan) but i think he gave an excellent effort. The childrens acting i thought This movie i think was one of the best remakes (out at this time). It went into more detail about willy than the origianal movie which was nice. Being a 13 year old it was nice to see that it had funny parts about Willy's "daddy" issues. The acting by jonny depp was incredible! (no doubt i am a jonny fan) but i think he gave an excellent effort. The childrens acting i thought wasn't perfect but good , the casting was PERFECT! i loved the opma lumpa's they/he were/was excellent. The best part in that movie to me was @ the end when charlie was shining Mr.Wonka's show and commented on willy's hair!! THAT WAS FUNNY! :D Expand
  25. MarcD
    Aug 17, 2005
    8
    Great entertainment. A movie which succeeds in doing what all entertainment should be doing with more regularity.
  26. JohnH.
    Aug 3, 2005
    9
    Perhaps I am easily impressed, but I found Depp's faces to be absolutely hilarious. And, can you believe the nerve of the people that suggest that the Oompa-Loompa songs (song) were better in the original?! Watching the original at my house, and then seeing this, I found I enjoyed Charlie much more.
  27. Melissa
    Aug 9, 2005
    9
    I thought this movie was very good. Johnny Depp did excellent in this movie, his portrayal of Willy Wonka was great. I prefer this movie to the original Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory.
  28. HarveyC.
    Sep 15, 2005
    7
    Has much of the fun-house entertaining quality of "Beetlejuice". Depp's edgy, ambiguous, emotionally alienated character is well done, and the awful children are very well played. Is it for children or adults? The reviewers' manifold disagreements are amusing. Certainly it won't be played over and over on the VCR, as the Wilder version is. But it's more dramatically Has much of the fun-house entertaining quality of "Beetlejuice". Depp's edgy, ambiguous, emotionally alienated character is well done, and the awful children are very well played. Is it for children or adults? The reviewers' manifold disagreements are amusing. Certainly it won't be played over and over on the VCR, as the Wilder version is. But it's more dramatically satisfying. Expand
  29. AustinG.
    Sep 24, 2005
    10
    I really loved this movie. In the original Charlie and the Chocolate factory, the producers captured all of Roald Dahl's goofiness but did not reallly have a point or a plot. To be frank, the book was one of my least favorites of Dahl's for these exact reasons. However, in this new movie, Tim Burton gave life to a formerly dull and uninspiring movie. Also, he did something that I really loved this movie. In the original Charlie and the Chocolate factory, the producers captured all of Roald Dahl's goofiness but did not reallly have a point or a plot. To be frank, the book was one of my least favorites of Dahl's for these exact reasons. However, in this new movie, Tim Burton gave life to a formerly dull and uninspiring movie. Also, he did something that I have onlly ever seen before in I, Robot. I liked this movie in spite of all its flaws because the director, instead of following the lead of countless other book-inspired producers, took the general spirit of the book, and then built the sory around this, leaving much of the original story behind. Though Burton stuck more to the original plot, he changed it just enough to make it better. This truly is a masterpiece of a movie. Expand
  30. GregL.
    Sep 27, 2005
    9
    Nothing against Gene Wilder, but this is light years ahead of the treacly original in terms of visuals, overall acting, and sticking to the original intent of Roald Dahl's book. It's also worth noting that this version is officially sanctioned by the Dahl family. And why do some critics bash Depp's portrayal? Perhaps they were expecting the second coming of Gene Wilder... I Nothing against Gene Wilder, but this is light years ahead of the treacly original in terms of visuals, overall acting, and sticking to the original intent of Roald Dahl's book. It's also worth noting that this version is officially sanctioned by the Dahl family. And why do some critics bash Depp's portrayal? Perhaps they were expecting the second coming of Gene Wilder... I think he did a great job. Expand
  31. Rev.Gomez
    Nov 10, 2005
    7
    Not a great movie, but not horrible. It was entertaining enough. I just need to post in response to the resident genius 'Pooch'. Okay, Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory probably should have been left pristine. The idea here was to make it more similar to the book. And, this is for you Pooch, the book was titled Charlie and the Chocolate Factory. Get a clue!
  32. KumarR.
    Nov 21, 2005
    9
    Tim Burton has done a great job in adapting Roald Dahl's classic BOOK. "Wily Wonka and the Chocolate Factory" is not a concern here. This is not a remake of the movie. It's an adaptation of the book. Johnny Depp and Freddie Highmore play a wonderful Wily Wonka and Charlie respectively. A must see for all.
  33. TonyaT.
    Nov 8, 2005
    10
    I loved this movie! Tim Burton is my favorite director and this was wonderfully creepy and fun!
  34. jennyh.
    Oct 18, 2005
    10
    This was the best movie of many i sawe this summer...IT ROX MY SOX. I just love those oopa loompas. I coould listen to that Agustus Gloop song over and over again!!!
  35. marshallm.
    Oct 18, 2005
    10
    It's great entertainment! for younger kids and adults. go see it!
  36. J.S.
    Dec 12, 2005
    10
    It is great!!! whatever Johnny Depp has a role is SUPER!!!! I LOVE JOHNNY DEPP!!!!
  37. richardb.
    Dec 18, 2005
    9
    Love Roald Dahl's books. Didnt love the Gene Wilder Wonka movie. Loved Beetlejuice & Pee Wee's Big Adventure. Didnt love Scissorhands or Corpse Bride. This Chocolate Factory, I must say, was a sweet surprise. I did miss Pure Imagination & the Oompah Loompah songs from the older flick, but everything else was vastly improved. I even thought the "dad was a mean dentist" backstory Love Roald Dahl's books. Didnt love the Gene Wilder Wonka movie. Loved Beetlejuice & Pee Wee's Big Adventure. Didnt love Scissorhands or Corpse Bride. This Chocolate Factory, I must say, was a sweet surprise. I did miss Pure Imagination & the Oompah Loompah songs from the older flick, but everything else was vastly improved. I even thought the "dad was a mean dentist" backstory was a brilliant conceit, maybe not literally true to Dahl's writings, but certainly true to Dahls spirit. Great casting, from every face in Charlie Buckets hovel to every mean boy or girl and enabling parent in the Factory. And Johnny Depp just added another classic characterization to his trophy wall. Speaking of Classics, after a long dry spell, Tim Burton has finally created another one. Expand
  38. TomH
    Dec 3, 2005
    7
    First off I did not like the first one all that much. second this movie would have gotton a much better score from everybody if it had tried to be less child like and just stick to the adult references.
  39. MrNihilism
    Dec 6, 2005
    7
    Not bad.
  40. JeremyD.
    Jul 13, 2005
    9
    Turn off your brain, don't worry when it deviates from the book, and immerse yourself in the wonderful, wacky, illogical world of Tim Burton. This is a very entertaining visual feast that it's best to not think too hard about.
  41. MikeL
    Jul 14, 2005
    10
    Almost wholly true to the book....an amazing film.
  42. Jan
    Jul 14, 2005
    10
    A treat for all ages. Depp and Burton have done it again.
  43. DearPrudenceBeatles
    Jul 15, 2005
    10
    I just saw this movie and it was fantastic. While Johnny Depp might have been scary, I think that was the point. The person who doesn't like this movie because it was slightly scary should stay away from any movie not rated G.
  44. MarshallM
    Jul 15, 2005
    10
    One of those movies, so full of originality and visual spectacle, its almost hard to not like it! a must see! (PS, if ur a big fan of the original, u might not like this movie, but nonetheless, a wonderful fantasy film)
  45. DaveS.
    Jul 15, 2005
    10
    I just got back from a packed theatre. The place was full of many kids who seemed to love it. Johnny Depp was perfect as Willy Wonka...odd and eccentric. Charlie and the Grandpa were perfectly cast. The entire theatre clapped at the end of the film. The sets were gorgeous!
  46. ScottM.
    Jul 15, 2005
    10
    Visually Stunning, Entertaining and Dark! Tim Burton & Johnny Depp
  47. Cass
    Jul 15, 2005
    9
    Visually stunning, heartwarming, funny, and just loads of fun. The audience I saw it with loved it, and clapped and cheered at the end. It had some flaws but those were insignificant compared to the overall quality of the movie.
  48. NickH
    Jul 15, 2005
    9
    It's the book onscreen, combining Dahl's inventive and strange plot with Burton's gothic yet colorful vision. Do not mistake this for a remake. It is a "reimagining," much like the recent Planet of the Apes (also Burton). It takes the same source material, but instead of viewing it the same way as someone else in the past viewed it, it shows another way that the source It's the book onscreen, combining Dahl's inventive and strange plot with Burton's gothic yet colorful vision. Do not mistake this for a remake. It is a "reimagining," much like the recent Planet of the Apes (also Burton). It takes the same source material, but instead of viewing it the same way as someone else in the past viewed it, it shows another way that the source material could be viewed. This movie, as it should, portrays Wonka (Depp) as a creepy, antisocial, germophobic ecentric. He is not Michael Jackson, please, it's not Michael Jackson - even though Michael Jackson is a creepy, antisocial, germophobic ecentric who believes he is a child. Wonka, however, holds a sort of contempt for kids, seeming to dislike each and every one of them. He's more like a high - pitched, creepy Howard Hughes. Speaking of those kids, they each give a great preformance. Their parents - top marks for Charlie's grandfather - do a fantastic job as well. As you may have guessed by the previews Burton's vision of CF has sharp colors, crazy sights, and a sort of gothic whimsy. He did a fantastic job. Some quick notes, the plot is tight and true to the book - no dancing old people and there ARE squirrels! There is only ONE Ompa Loompa, he does a great job AND he's the only one who sings (he plays all of the little guys, as in the novel). That sums it up, great movie. Does not remake, it reinvents. I don't know what Prudence K's problem is, but I suggest you disregard her comment on the movie as it makes no sense. It is, in fact, the second best of the summer (no, WOTW is not one... it's Batman). Expand
  49. GerardK.
    Jul 15, 2005
    9
    Brilliant visuals and amazing direction make Charlie and the Chocolate Factory and ideal family film.
  50. Jax
    Jul 15, 2005
    9
    Hands down.... awesome.
  51. AlexaS.
    Jul 15, 2005
    9
    I thought this movie was great! I've always been a fan of tim burton, and when he teams up with Johnny Depp it never goes wrong! I was happy that Tim Burton stayed close to the book. Johnny put his own spin on the character of Willy Wonka, he made it a little diturbing and fun. You have to expect that kind of character comming from Johnny Depp, especially when he's doing a Tim I thought this movie was great! I've always been a fan of tim burton, and when he teams up with Johnny Depp it never goes wrong! I was happy that Tim Burton stayed close to the book. Johnny put his own spin on the character of Willy Wonka, he made it a little diturbing and fun. You have to expect that kind of character comming from Johnny Depp, especially when he's doing a Tim Burton film. This movie was brilliant! I cannot wait to see it again! Johnny Depp performance is unbeatable! He is one of the greatest actors of his generation, and this movie only more so proves my point! Expand
  52. JoeyM.
    Jul 16, 2005
    9
    Deep Roy, as all of the Oompa Loompa, is outstanding in this, one of the most fun movies of the last year. I found Wonka and his chocolate factory to be delightfully creepy. A sense of menace (and a sense that he had planned somewhat gruesome fates for the four naughty children) hung over the chocolate factory from the factory gates open. As for the four naughty children and their creepy Deep Roy, as all of the Oompa Loompa, is outstanding in this, one of the most fun movies of the last year. I found Wonka and his chocolate factory to be delightfully creepy. A sense of menace (and a sense that he had planned somewhat gruesome fates for the four naughty children) hung over the chocolate factory from the factory gates open. As for the four naughty children and their creepy parents, they were terrific. Veruca Salt in particular was great fun. This is that rare movie that I will try and see a second time. Expand
  53. JohnnyD.
    Jul 16, 2005
    10
    I just saw this movie last night and it was the best movie I've seen in some time. Tim Burton is an amazing filmmaker.
  54. JoeS.
    Jul 16, 2005
    10
    This was an amazing reimagination of the Dahl classic. Apparently, Tim Burton hadn't seen the first movie with Gene Wilder until after he was done making the movie. So, I was initially disappointed that there were no orange Oompa Loompas singing their song. However, the new Oompas were terrific. Johnny Depp was terrific in this role and the new Charlie is great.
  55. AllegraS.
    Jul 16, 2005
    10
    Charlie and the Chocolate Factory was the greatest movie I ever saw! It was wildly funny.
  56. JamesP.
    Jul 16, 2005
    10
    I've seen the 1971 version easily over 100 times throughout the course of my 24 years on this earth. This T.B. remake is just as amazing as the first. It's beautiful thing.
  57. Sarah
    Jul 16, 2005
    7
    Teens and adult may not like it but kids will love it. does have some fun moments and depp does a great job with his role
  58. JoshuaM.
    Jul 16, 2005
    9
    Much closer to the spirit (and letter) of the book than the saccharine 1971 film. High points: Lots of twisted humor, a truly memorable and touching performance by Freddie Highmore as Charlie, the hilarious Missi "Galaxy Quest" Pyle, mostly delightful art direction, great production numbers with the Oompa Loompas (who are far closer to the Oompa Loompas described in the book than were the Much closer to the spirit (and letter) of the book than the saccharine 1971 film. High points: Lots of twisted humor, a truly memorable and touching performance by Freddie Highmore as Charlie, the hilarious Missi "Galaxy Quest" Pyle, mostly delightful art direction, great production numbers with the Oompa Loompas (who are far closer to the Oompa Loompas described in the book than were the green-haired, orange-skinned aliens in the first film), and a chocolate river that actually looks like chocolate as opposed to the dirty water in the first film. Lows: as with the first film, why is it so difficult to find a decent actor for Augustus Gloop? Left out the book's (and first film's) sequence with the fizzy lifting drinks. Still never felt we got to know enough about Wonka, but what backstory there was felt simplistic and tacked-on. Depp certainly had the oddity, but not the capacity for merriment, of the Wonka in the book. Overall, far more satisfying than the 1971 film, but still lacking a little something. Expand
  59. Todd
    Jul 17, 2005
    10
    Great movie with a sarcastic edge.
  60. MikeD.
    Jul 17, 2005
    8
    "Seriously, kid, I can't understand you through that mumbling." Freaking hilarious. Didn't expect to like it nearly as well as I did. Its only flaw, in my mind, was its corny reunion ending with Wonka's father. Also, I would have appreciated it more if it incorporated the spy factor with Charlie's character, like it did in the original movie.
  61. RussellL-H
    Jul 17, 2005
    9
    Funny, visually creative, and REAL trained squirrels!?!?! what more could you ask for?
  62. Prattdaddy
    Jul 18, 2005
    7
    What a strange but enjoyable movie...Tim Burton did Wonka justice (Unlike Johnny Depp). Depp is a very versatile actor, however his performance as Wonka was so overdone, it was burnt to a crisp... All the other characters were spot-on, though, especially the Oompa-loompas with their revamped song styles, and all the children. Special effects were good as well, and artistically, the What a strange but enjoyable movie...Tim Burton did Wonka justice (Unlike Johnny Depp). Depp is a very versatile actor, however his performance as Wonka was so overdone, it was burnt to a crisp... All the other characters were spot-on, though, especially the Oompa-loompas with their revamped song styles, and all the children. Special effects were good as well, and artistically, the factory was superb. The only reason I am giving it only a seven, is because the whole Wonka backstory/flashback thing, and Willy's ultimate reunion with his dad, was not needed whatsoever, and drug the film down. Still, I think an improvement on the original. 7 out of 10. Expand
  63. ChadS.
    Jul 18, 2005
    8
    Willie Wonka(Johnny Depp) is so out there, perhaps the film does have an obligation to show us why the candy-maker sometimes speaks like a castrated Jack Nicholson. We need formulaic screenwriting like we need a hole in our heads, but Willie's backstory, entertaining though it may be, does wreck havoc with the story's pacing and manic tone. All that childhood trauma Willie Wonka(Johnny Depp) is so out there, perhaps the film does have an obligation to show us why the candy-maker sometimes speaks like a castrated Jack Nicholson. We need formulaic screenwriting like we need a hole in our heads, but Willie's backstory, entertaining though it may be, does wreck havoc with the story's pacing and manic tone. All that childhood trauma would've made a dynamite prologue. "Charlie and the Chocolate Factory" soars before we ever get to the chocolate factory. That ensemble of bedsit geriatrics are a lot of fun. The flashbacks narrated by Charlie's grandfather(David Kelley) work because it doesn't jar. The movie, as of yet, doesn't feel interrupted by narrative overkill, like when we learn about the origin of the Oompa-Loompas, which keeps us in the chocolate room for too long a period. It's fun, but unnecessary. What's fun, and works, is the production design on the squirrel room. It's rare to see such great special effects put to such humorous use. Expand
  64. ZoeMc
    Jul 18, 2005
    7
    I have mixed feelings. Freddie Highmore as Charlie is heartbreakingly earnest and just magical to watch. Wish there had been more of him. Johnny Depp as Wonka is inventive and captivating. HIs character is more fully realized than in the first version of the book, although I found the flashbacks somewhat distracting and offputting. If told in a linear fashion, maybe in the opening I have mixed feelings. Freddie Highmore as Charlie is heartbreakingly earnest and just magical to watch. Wish there had been more of him. Johnny Depp as Wonka is inventive and captivating. HIs character is more fully realized than in the first version of the book, although I found the flashbacks somewhat distracting and offputting. If told in a linear fashion, maybe in the opening credits, the story would have been more compelling. The kids in the other supporting roles are quite good as well, although the fact that the Slugworth stealing secrets plot is scrapped makes what happens to each of the kids less deserved more mean-spirited than necessary. I know the oompah loompah song lyrics are from Dahl himself, so it's hard to find fault with Burton for going in that direction, but I found the songs and the oompah loompah (the ONE oompah loompah) distracting. The trick of using one man to play the oompah loompahs seems like trickery that Wonka wouldn't have approved of in the first place. All in all, this movie has enough elements to make it enjoyable, and potentially a cult classic, but it could have been a mere "classic" and its failure in reaching for "cult" makes missing the mark that much more painful. Expand
  65. kathyS.
    Jul 18, 2005
    9
    As seen on an imax screen at a midnite showing it was a pure delight. quirky, it is and i see critics are all over the place with it. which means it will probably be a cult classic.
  66. irky
    Jul 19, 2005
    7
    Good movie overall. It has it's strengths and weaknesses. I like how it follows the book more than the 1971 version. Don't like the ending of this one much. Johnny Depp did a decent job as Willy Wonka, but Gene Wilder was much, much better. I thought the Oompa Loompa songs were weak, and it really wasn't all that funny, not unlike the '71 version. I do like how we find Good movie overall. It has it's strengths and weaknesses. I like how it follows the book more than the 1971 version. Don't like the ending of this one much. Johnny Depp did a decent job as Willy Wonka, but Gene Wilder was much, much better. I thought the Oompa Loompa songs were weak, and it really wasn't all that funny, not unlike the '71 version. I do like how we find out more about Willy Wonka, and some of his personal history and whatnot. Younger kids will probably be bored at the beginning and end, but thouroughly entertained through most of the middle. I also thought Charlie Bucket was perfectly cast in this new version. Overall, good show. I would wait for the DVD however, and just rent it when it comes out. Expand
  67. WAKOJAKO
    Jul 19, 2005
    8
    Charmingly memorable but not brilliant. Best acting by squirrels EVER! Johnny Depp's unique characterization of the eccentric Wonka was amusing but never quite seemed to get off the ground. That doesn't mean I didn't like it. Maybe it's just that in the end I might have been expecting something FANTASTIC and got something just a bit less so. Or, maybe that on first Charmingly memorable but not brilliant. Best acting by squirrels EVER! Johnny Depp's unique characterization of the eccentric Wonka was amusing but never quite seemed to get off the ground. That doesn't mean I didn't like it. Maybe it's just that in the end I might have been expecting something FANTASTIC and got something just a bit less so. Or, maybe that on first viewing you can't help to compare it to the original, which I haven't seen for ages but somehow still holds a good spot in my memory... Oh, just go see it and decide for yourself. Expand
  68. m.
    Jul 19, 2005
    8
    Better than expected. Creepy funny in a Tim Burton kind of way, but not enough to make my skin crawl. Woth paying- didn't feel ripped off.
  69. PaulF.
    Jul 21, 2005
    9
    Let me first start out by saying I absolutely loved the first movie with Gene Wilder. I would have given it a perfect ten hands down. It's pretty hard to live up to that kind of legacy. Well all in all the remake came as close as reasonably expected to duplicating the feat. It did have a few flaws such as the horrible lip sychning (sp?) by the Oompa Loompas and an anti climatic Let me first start out by saying I absolutely loved the first movie with Gene Wilder. I would have given it a perfect ten hands down. It's pretty hard to live up to that kind of legacy. Well all in all the remake came as close as reasonably expected to duplicating the feat. It did have a few flaws such as the horrible lip sychning (sp?) by the Oompa Loompas and an anti climatic ending. It seemed as if the movie stopped and started a whole new short movie and then ended. This part was my least favorite part. However there were so many good parts, the puppet show, all the wonderous rooms, the dance sequences of the Oompa Loompas, and even Johnny did a better job acting then I had expected. His character's mentally off balanced nature definitely showed through. This Version of Willy Wonka was less stable and may have been attempting to go for more of a dark cult classic effect, or maybe it's just Tim Burton's style. Whatever the case I found myself laughing out loud many a time. It's definately worth seeming on the big screen. Two thumbs and two more big toes up for this one. Expand
  70. MarkB.
    Jul 20, 2005
    7
    Until its mostly superfluous last 15 minutes, this visually fattening-but-delicious, agreeably demented rethinking (after seeing both The Longest Yard and The Honeymooners less than two weeks apart from one another, I've got too much respect for this to call it a remake) of Roald Dahl's classic 1964 children's book and Mel Stuart's beloved 1971 movie version is perfect Until its mostly superfluous last 15 minutes, this visually fattening-but-delicious, agreeably demented rethinking (after seeing both The Longest Yard and The Honeymooners less than two weeks apart from one another, I've got too much respect for this to call it a remake) of Roald Dahl's classic 1964 children's book and Mel Stuart's beloved 1971 movie version is perfect any-and-all-ages summer entertainment...and an equally perfect fit for idiosyncratic genius savant Tim Burton. He's undoubtedly the loopiest mainstream director we've got, and this material plays perfectly to his strengths (limitless visual imagination, gleeful satiric touches, darkly subversive wit) while mostly skirting his limitations. Despite his attempts to tell you otherwise in his last effort, Big Fish (an uncharacteristic attempt at a sentimental family drama that came to life only during the father's typically Burtonesque tall tales and fish stories), Burton is neither especially good at nor interested in handling "heartfelt" material: the two relationships Burton depicted with the most genuine feeling in his film resume were between Edward D. Wood and Bela Lugosi and between Pee Wee Herman and his bicycle. The potentially treacly, gooey set-up stuff involving good-boy Charlie (Finding Neverland's Freddie Highmore) and his impoverished parents and other relatives is satisfyingly glossed over, and Burton hilariously lodges them in the ultimate "crooked little house"! The fun gets quickly underway with a deeply strange, unpredictable portrayal of Howard Hughes-like confectionary wunderkind Willy Wonka by Johnny Depp that's more difficult to get a handle on than many of his characters in pre-Pirates of the Caribbean indie films...which makes it even more courageous than most of those performances. (Great Gene Wilder vocal impersonation in the early scenes, too.) Lots of lovely little touches abound, including a jab at automation and unemployment that would do Michael Moore's heart proud, a squirrel-atteck scene that has quite literally never been seen before (and that nobody will ever try to repeat, even in the inevitable 2039 remake!), and Deep Roy's work as all the Oompa Loompas (does it qualify as one of the best supporting performances of the year...or 100 of the best?) Burton raises the stakes by making young Charlie's four rivals for the grand prize on Wonka's chocolate factory tour even brattier and deserving of whatever Wonka and Burton want to throw at them than they were in 1971...and then drops the ball with a postscript that, given Burton's sensibilities, was probably forced on him against his will by nervous Warner Bros. studio executives. It's fascinating to contrast the difference between what will fly in a 1971 G-rated film and a 2005 PG, but the suits responsible for the change clearly don't understand a large portion of this movie's intended audience (kids understand instinctively that fairy tales, cartoons and video games are JUST PRETEND, regardless of how grim or violent the conclusions are) and we're all the poorer for this version's ultimate cop-out. The psychobabble involving Wonka's relationship with his strict, demanding dentist dad is unnecessary and stretches out the material farther than Wonka's patented taffy, but you gotta say something for the career of Christopher Lee, who plays the father: here's the man who, in addition to his long-running stints in Hammer horror movies, has also appeared in Star Wars films, James Bond flicks AND the Lord of the Rings trilogy...to say nothing of Billy Wilder's The Private Life of Sherlock Holmes AND this! He may not be absolutely the best actor continuing to work in pictures these days, but there's no doubt that he's a prime candidate for the coolest. Expand
  71. ChelseaM.
    Jul 23, 2005
    10
    It was the best movie. It was so hillariouis. Johnny Depp was really good and did the part better than anybody else. He was perfect. He made the movie as funny as it was.
  72. SamanthaM.
    Jul 23, 2005
    10
    I loved it it was hillarious best movie johnny depp has ever done.
  73. SurelyS.
    Jul 23, 2005
    7
    The movie is somewhat a betrayal of the book. in coming off as soulless, it fails to support Dahl's over-riding appreciation of the beauty of intrinsic spirit.
  74. AlanS.
    Jul 24, 2005
    9
    How can you people diss this movie? It rocked my face off. Great acting and awesome music. Some people say the 'modern oompa loompa songs were stupid'. No they weren't, they rocked. Oh ya, take a look at the over rated old movies songs, pretty stupid if you ask me. This movie is so much better than the old one, Johnny Depp does a great job.
  75. DavidM
    Jul 25, 2005
    9
    This is a more faithful interpretation of Roald Dahl's 1964 classic story than Stuart's 1971 flick starring Gene Wilder. Whereas Wilder's Wonka was a wistful hippie with a mischievious side, Depp's take on the candyman is much more delightfully sinister. In this version Wonka is the child that was denied a childhood by his strict father (quite a welcome surprise by This is a more faithful interpretation of Roald Dahl's 1964 classic story than Stuart's 1971 flick starring Gene Wilder. Whereas Wilder's Wonka was a wistful hippie with a mischievious side, Depp's take on the candyman is much more delightfully sinister. In this version Wonka is the child that was denied a childhood by his strict father (quite a welcome surprise by Christopher Lee). He's completely uncomfortable around others yet he has a caustic and sharp wit that allows him free reign to smile and preen with saccharin insincerity, yet tell you what is really on his mind in the same moment. Depp is genuinely creepy with his pasty complexion and foppish hairdo, and parallels to the Once King of Pop are undeniable and darkly funny. In fact, the whole movie is darker. The four brats that accompany Charlie on their tour are cast in even more reprehensible molds than before, and I smiled with sadistic glee along with Wonka as one by one their failings do them in. I would rather Burton have kept their ultimate fates a mystery as Stuart did, however. Freddie Highmore, his Grandpa Joe and the rest of the Bucket clan are probably the only "good" people in this film, which unfortunately forces Charlie's saintly character into the background against the more bizzare characters, which is a shame, since the story really is supposed to be about him. Ultimately it is Charlie's good nature and love for his family that saves the day and may have even redeemed the misanthropic Wonka. The lone sour note is the transformation of the Oompa Loompas into dour pygmies rather than the mythical, impish munchkins from Stuart's film. Indian actor Deep Roy was digitally multiplied over a hundred times to create the horde of Oompa Loompas, and it's mind-numbingly obvious (though oddly apropos to an industrial factory work force). "Charlie and the Chocolate Factory" is another strange but eerily enjoyable Burton film and Depp does a perfect job not only filling Gene Wilder's shoes but returning the character to its roots. Expand
  76. NickR
    Jul 29, 2005
    9
    This movie is great, one of the best of the summer (hell, the year)! To me it's better than those shlockfests Cinderella Man and Crash. If you don't like this movie, there's something wrong with you and I have the deepest sorrow for you. You may have become a media drone, comparing Depp to Jackson. You'd never say that if the 'trial' hadn't took place This movie is great, one of the best of the summer (hell, the year)! To me it's better than those shlockfests Cinderella Man and Crash. If you don't like this movie, there's something wrong with you and I have the deepest sorrow for you. You may have become a media drone, comparing Depp to Jackson. You'd never say that if the 'trial' hadn't took place this year. Or, you don't want to admit that the original had a fantastic Gene Wilder, and that's it... the songs, children, and direction all stank in the original. Maybe, perhaps, your inner child died? Did it render you emotionless and cold. Are you a cynic/snob, who hates movies like this? This is a great film, I'm sure Dahl would be happy. Please, don't whine about the "Of course you ___" moment, they had to flush out Wonka's childhood. And to Katherine B, your review doesn't warrant a 1... seems more like a 5 or 6 review. **Please, everyone, a 1 means "scum" not "wasn't too good." Likewise, a 10 doesn't mean "pretty good" it means "masterpiece." Think about your score.** Expand
  77. RachelD.
    Aug 15, 2005
    9
    A typical modern kids-10-and-older movie would star the sticky-sweet, peroxide-dipped Hilary Duff, whose acting skills need to be not brushed up on, but sweeped. It would also be 80 minutes long - just long enough until the dragged-along moms and dads suffocate of stupidity. But not "Charlie". This movie is full of whimsical delight, frivolous fun, and ACTUALLY teaches a lesson. The A typical modern kids-10-and-older movie would star the sticky-sweet, peroxide-dipped Hilary Duff, whose acting skills need to be not brushed up on, but sweeped. It would also be 80 minutes long - just long enough until the dragged-along moms and dads suffocate of stupidity. But not "Charlie". This movie is full of whimsical delight, frivolous fun, and ACTUALLY teaches a lesson. The camerawork is beautiful, and the music perfectly fits the creepy-but-magical theme that the movie centers around. The only reason I took off a star? With his pale skin, dark high-shouldered coat, and excruciatingly feminine voice, Johnny Depp is one Michael Jackson-like Willy Wonka. But don't let that stop you. This movie is a visual delight that will entertain everyone. Expand
  78. TylerD.
    Aug 15, 2005
    10
    A truly magical movie. I loved it.
  79. DeannaM.
    Aug 4, 2005
    9
    Everything about this movie was great, except possible the Oompa Loompa songs. The rest of the music on this film was awesome, I espescially like the Willy Wonka song.
  80. Sam
    Aug 5, 2005
    10
    As odd as it is hearing this from a 12 year old kid that loves violence, crude humor, and sex scenes, I loved this movie. I thought it was the 3rd best film of the summer (First Batman and 2nd, gulp, War of the Worlds, 3rd This and 4th Star Wars) and it's humorous, flawless, and weird. A Must-see.
  81. Micria
    Jan 12, 2006
    7
    This was am O.K. video, Johney Depp is hott!
  82. R.Dalvi
    Mar 26, 2006
    9
    Good movie. Delicious, chocolaty and sweet-at-heart. Depp rocks. Very imaginative.
  83. Myles#13
    Sep 8, 2006
    8
    Although it's not as good as the original, this film is surprisingly good! It's quite funny, yet still maintains that good ol' Burton mood to it... unfortunately, people don't understand the guy's style. Oh and in case you're wondering... Depp IS imitating Michael Jackson and is really witty in doing so... that little laugh makes me crack up!
  84. MissyA.
    Jan 8, 2009
    10
    This movie was great, funny and entertaining. I love the BOOK "Charlie and the Chocolate Factory" since I was young. I've watched the "Willy Wonka" movie a million times and I always thought something was missing...Now, finally Tim Burton has done the BOOK justice. I think most people need to relax. People are going crazy because they think it is a remake when in fact it is a This movie was great, funny and entertaining. I love the BOOK "Charlie and the Chocolate Factory" since I was young. I've watched the "Willy Wonka" movie a million times and I always thought something was missing...Now, finally Tim Burton has done the BOOK justice. I think most people need to relax. People are going crazy because they think it is a remake when in fact it is a re-adaption of the BOOK. Tim captured the true spirit of Roald Dahl's genius. And Depp did a wonderful job in capturing the true spirit of Willy Wonka from the BOOK. Expand
  85. MikeG.
    Nov 12, 2005
    9
    With a lot of pressure to live up to, Burton's version of "Charlie" stakes out its own ground and soars on its own merits. This isn't the hippy-trippy early 70s colorful world of Willy Wonka, but instead a postmodern dark version of the tale, and probably far closer to what Dahl initially intended. The film works, entertaining as well as leaving you a little unsettled.
  86. lalapoloza
    Nov 13, 2005
    10
    Pros: Stunnningly original, great acting done by Depp, dark humor. Cons: Some things from the original were taken out. Overview: One of the best most orignila comedies in years. Gets us thinking, where would the world be without Tim Burton.
  87. LineaK.
    Oct 14, 2005
    10
    It was soooooooo funny! Depp adds a whole new twist to the story.
  88. ScottJ
    Nov 9, 2005
    9
    Hey geniuses, the ones bashing the film as a "remake of a classic," or as one person put it, gave it a "new name" and "tried to make it a little darker," here's a newsflash: this was originally a BOOK. The name isn't new, it's the original title of the book, the 'classic' Diz-nee film changed the title, and actually made Dahl's story sappy and LESS dark. Hey geniuses, the ones bashing the film as a "remake of a classic," or as one person put it, gave it a "new name" and "tried to make it a little darker," here's a newsflash: this was originally a BOOK. The name isn't new, it's the original title of the book, the 'classic' Diz-nee film changed the title, and actually made Dahl's story sappy and LESS dark. Burton's film isn't perfect, but he comes close to getting it right while the Diz-nee film got most of it wrong. The new music ain't great, but it's a lot better than the syrupy show-tunes wedged into the Diz-nee film. Expand
  89. ktriplex
    Dec 17, 2005
    10
    This movie is so awesome, all of the actors in it did a much better job in this one than in the first. when i saw this movie i new from the start that it would be much better than the first. i didn't yoosto be a Depp fan but now i am!!
  90. MarcelaD.
    Dec 3, 2005
    9
    Was a good movie. The actors were well chosen. It certainly got me laughing. I think it was better and funnier than the old one.
  91. [Anonymous]
    Jul 15, 2005
    10
    Who the hell are you people to rate it with a 5 or below. Great acting, funny scenes, beautiful designs, Tim Burton, I salute you, this is probably his best movie yet. It mad me happy even though it was dark.
  92. ReboV.
    Jul 15, 2005
    10
    Start by putting the 1971 version out of your head. This is not even attempting to recreate that film but instead simply take the book and relate that to film. The imagery is bizarre and yet astounding. Johnny Depp is naturally the star of the show, choosing a performance of a man who has isolated himself so long that he is a bundle of contained neuroses, setting him well apart from Gene Start by putting the 1971 version out of your head. This is not even attempting to recreate that film but instead simply take the book and relate that to film. The imagery is bizarre and yet astounding. Johnny Depp is naturally the star of the show, choosing a performance of a man who has isolated himself so long that he is a bundle of contained neuroses, setting him well apart from Gene Wilder's interpretation. I loved the crazed twist on the Oompa Loompa songs (especially their farewell to Mike Teevee), and immediately came to enjoy this interpretation of them (which is much closer to Dahl's original Pygmies). Oh, and wonderfully, darkly twisted as only Tim Burton can. It does lose a bit of steam in the middle, but the overall effort makes it well worth it, especially if you read the book as much as I did as a child. Expand
  93. AustinA.
    Jul 16, 2005
    8
    Hysterical.
  94. MichelleK.
    Jul 16, 2005
    10
    Burton and Depp have created a visually beautiful film and a fascinating eccentric character much closer to the book's Willy Wonka. Don't listen to the media--this Willy is not Michael Jackson.
  95. BikeBoy
    Jul 16, 2005
    8
    A lot more interesting than I'd have believed. If you like Burton's movies, then you'll like this one. If you find him strange, this will be no different. Depp was OK, but Highmore is enjoyable to watch. My children (8 and 6) really liked it.
  96. MattA.
    Jul 17, 2005
    10
    Excellent work by Tim Burton again. The movie was funny, and very creative. I would love to see it again.... Also... Danny elfman's score was dead on with what happened on screen. A pleasure to watch and to hear.
  97. SteveK.
    Jul 17, 2005
    8
    Magical. Depp's versatility is on grand display. Slightly strange in true Tim Burton fashion, but, in the end, charming and heartwarming.
  98. JakeL
    Jul 17, 2005
    9
    I agree, this is the best movie of the summer, better than Batman Begins and Cinderella Man. Depp isn't creepy so much as hilariously flaky, and this is BETTER than the original Diz-nee movie - it leaves out the added sappiness of that one and remains more faithful to Dahl's dark humor. The BEST movie Burton's made in a long time.
  99. EdwardE.
    Jul 18, 2005
    10
    Absosmurfly brilliant!
  100. JoshR.
    Jul 18, 2005
    10
    Much better than any other comedy or family film released this year. As for 'ruining' the 'original,' that's a crock. This is BETTER, and they keep everything good about the book and thankfully got rid of the lame stuff that was in the 'original.' As for the new songs, they aren't classic but at least the musical numbers are funny. The music from Much better than any other comedy or family film released this year. As for 'ruining' the 'original,' that's a crock. This is BETTER, and they keep everything good about the book and thankfully got rid of the lame stuff that was in the 'original.' As for the new songs, they aren't classic but at least the musical numbers are funny. The music from the 'original' is vastly overrated. "Candy Man" is NOT a good song, no matter who sings it. Expand
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 40
  2. Negative: 1 out of 40
  1. Here's a film about kids and for kids that has not lost touch with what it is like to actually be a kid.
  2. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    70
    Entertaining and fabulously imaginative in many ways, this second bigscreen rendition of the late author's modest morality tale on the wages of unbridled excess sports excesses of its own.
  3. Reviewed by: Richard Schickel
    60
    This is rather a thin tale, not much thickened by Burton's direction or Depp's playing. There's a distance, a detachment to this film. It lacks passion.