Metro Goldwyn Distributing Company | Release Date: February 22, 2008
7.1
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 72 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
48
Mixed:
15
Negative:
9
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
cryhardhumorJul 28, 2015
Charlie Bartlett is inexplicably cheap looking and sounding. If I were shown this movie without knowing anything about it I would have thought it was from the 90's. Aside from that, I have never seen a teen coming of age comedy with suchCharlie Bartlett is inexplicably cheap looking and sounding. If I were shown this movie without knowing anything about it I would have thought it was from the 90's. Aside from that, I have never seen a teen coming of age comedy with such strong performances. The story often times is confused and scattered, but focuses up enough at vital moments to make it solid, and respectful to the issues it is dealing with. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
pesho_oneJan 1, 2015
Well, it's a fun enough comedy. The cast is nice and likable, nobody too annoying. The plot is interesting and keeps changing without you especially noticing but also not entirely predictable. And while these things might as well don'tWell, it's a fun enough comedy. The cast is nice and likable, nobody too annoying. The plot is interesting and keeps changing without you especially noticing but also not entirely predictable. And while these things might as well don't matter, the important thing is that this is one light-weight, unpretentious comedy that will probably keep you interested from start to finish. And this is not an easy task to pull off for any movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
cameronmorewoodNov 15, 2012
Anton Yelchin is phenomenal as Bartlet. Though the movie may not always be fantastic, his performance echoes Matthew Broderick's Bueller, and is a breakthrough role.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
katherineeJan 19, 2011
I adore this movie! After renting it out randomly at my local video store I became obsessed with this amazing film. Anton Yelchin is a standout and Kat Dennings as usual is a absolute pleasure to watch on screen. The film combines humourI adore this movie! After renting it out randomly at my local video store I became obsessed with this amazing film. Anton Yelchin is a standout and Kat Dennings as usual is a absolute pleasure to watch on screen. The film combines humour with hard hitting topics such as drugs, depression and family. When my friends and family ask me to recomend a movie to them this is always the first one that pops into my head. The only negative comment I have to say is why the hell wasn't this movie released in theatres in Australia. For such a great film, I don't believe it received the applause that it was definitely lacking. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
docterdeathNov 26, 2010
If you ask me it reminds me of what Ferris Bueller would do if he while he was at school other than Chalie's huge house other than when it gets all bad in the middle and nearer the end.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JoeSmoeMar 5, 2009
Are you kidding? This film was an excellent parody of life as an American teenager in today's world: oversexed, overmedicated, dysfunctional family dynamics, completely irrational school hierarchy - and witty, funny, creative, excellent Are you kidding? This film was an excellent parody of life as an American teenager in today's world: oversexed, overmedicated, dysfunctional family dynamics, completely irrational school hierarchy - and witty, funny, creative, excellent acting all across the board! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChristianL.Nov 28, 2008
Great movie with funny parts, powerful parts, and dramatic parts. Heavily underrated movie with great plot.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NicholeK.Nov 20, 2008
This is my favorite movie. It was very funny and very good acting. It was a smart move to cast Robert Downing Jr., and the music and score was also very well done. Good job!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
CraigG.Oct 23, 2008
An entertaining film that has some very fun scenes, and some that pretty much fall flat. It tries to be more than it really is, but it still succeeds in deciphering many of the problems that a teenager faces.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JuliaA.Sep 14, 2008
This movie was sooooooo funny it has very good actors and actresses i don't know watch the other people were talkin about. if i were a real critic i'd give it a A-
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
chrisM.Sep 13, 2008
this is a beautiful film, with very good actors in my opinion robet downey jr should win best supporting oscar
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JesterM.Jul 23, 2008
This movie wasn't Ferris Bueller. It wasn't even Pump Up The Volume. It was a sad and pathetic attempt for a studio to cash in on the teen angst market which they have become so adept at exploiting. But who can blame them, when we This movie wasn't Ferris Bueller. It wasn't even Pump Up The Volume. It was a sad and pathetic attempt for a studio to cash in on the teen angst market which they have become so adept at exploiting. But who can blame them, when we have a teenage population in this country with the cultural force of a Paris Hilton song, who can blame the suits for trying to take full advantage of the situation. The sad thing our teen friends won't even lift their lazy heads high enough off of their Sidekick devices to actually care. It's not Nevermind anymore, it's Neverwhere. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
BasilEJul 11, 2008
Excellent, if you have teenage kids present or just recenlty this movie will appeal to you as a parent,. its a good family comedy with a lttle attached to make you feel slightly emotional! Really don't know where these critics get their Excellent, if you have teenage kids present or just recenlty this movie will appeal to you as a parent,. its a good family comedy with a lttle attached to make you feel slightly emotional! Really don't know where these critics get their scores from everyone for themselves, on this site i definitrly find user ratings more realistic and critics a waste of time Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
RyanM.Jun 25, 2008
Ughh!! Unbearable!! So poorly acted. Lame, predictable, overbearing, egotistical character. Nothing real about the character or plot. Nothing felt sincere. Add in a horrible actor, and this movie was a huge disappointment. Was looking for Ughh!! Unbearable!! So poorly acted. Lame, predictable, overbearing, egotistical character. Nothing real about the character or plot. Nothing felt sincere. Add in a horrible actor, and this movie was a huge disappointment. Was looking for witty, original, quirky and real. Everything seemed borrowed and quite the opposite of anything genuine. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
JayH.Jun 18, 2008
Offbeat with a fairly original approach. More than one scene reminded my of Harold and Maude. Good use of music, nice score. Appealing film with effective performances.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
GrahamXMay 23, 2008
Pretty good film, light hearted and enjoyable if you don't take it all too seriously it's pretty enjoyable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
KayleighmsMar 28, 2008
Like its confused teenaged hero (Anton Yelchin),
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DrewT.Feb 25, 2008
I loved this film, there were a lot of interesting plot twists, heck, story in general was awesome. Yelchin was excellent, Robert Downey was excellent. The only thing keeping me from giving it a ten was that I was disappointed about the I loved this film, there were a lot of interesting plot twists, heck, story in general was awesome. Yelchin was excellent, Robert Downey was excellent. The only thing keeping me from giving it a ten was that I was disappointed about the truth of Charlie's father, as I was expecting something that Charlie would relate to, or something, but it wasn't. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
WayneC.Feb 25, 2008
likely that not everyone will enjoy this quirky little film, but i got a kick out of it despite its uneven quality.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
PatPFeb 24, 2008
In my opinion, this is another case of a deceptively well made movie trailer. I went in expecting something fresh and different, but wound up experiencing an occasionally entertaining, but heavily flawed movie. It continually reminded the In my opinion, this is another case of a deceptively well made movie trailer. I went in expecting something fresh and different, but wound up experiencing an occasionally entertaining, but heavily flawed movie. It continually reminded the audience that it was similar but inferior to Wes Anderson's classic Rushmore. There were some very funny scenes sprinkled throughout, and the overall premise and several of the characters were pretty strong. Unfortunately most of these strengths are overshadowed by the glaring flaws, including: some very illogical scenes that shatter the suspension of disbelief, the predictable plot, and personally I was quite annoyed by the numerous "high schoolers" that appeared to be closer to baby boomers than teenagers. Overall, this movie does not really deliver on its promise, or on the quirky fun shown in the trailer, and ended up disappointingly mediocre. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChadS.Feb 23, 2008
Riff through this, the John Hughes oeuvre, and like a Bruce Watson is-it-a-bagpipe-or-a-guitar solo does "Charlie Bartlett", a post-modern shred on Hughes art-teen masterpieces such as: "Sixteen Candles", "The Breakfast Club", "Pretty in Riff through this, the John Hughes oeuvre, and like a Bruce Watson is-it-a-bagpipe-or-a-guitar solo does "Charlie Bartlett", a post-modern shred on Hughes art-teen masterpieces such as: "Sixteen Candles", "The Breakfast Club", "Pretty in Pink", and "Ferris Bueller's Day-Off"; riff away "like a lover's voice fires the mountainside". For starters, Charlie(Anton Yelchin) and Susan(Kat Dennings) are the twenty-first century version of Anthony Michael Hall and Molly Ringwald. In "Sixteen Candles", 'The Geek' gets a pair of Samantha's panties; this time, the geek gets the girl. Susan also reminded me of the proto-goth chick that Ally Sheedy portrayed in "The Breakfast Club". To be worthy of Andy's hand(Emilio Estevez's hand) on the small of her back, Allison had to go easy on the eyeliner. "Charlie Bartlett" updates Hughes' take on George Bernard Shaw's "Pygmallion" by turning the tables; this time, the figurative Eliza Doolittle goes drag when Charlie's sidekick Murphey(Tyler Hilton) grows out his mohawk to win the small of a cheerleader's back. The spirit of "Pretty in Pink" is best expressed in Susan's room. Look at her stuff. It's a pop culture wasteland. Andie Walsh(Ringwald, again) had a "Sparkle in the Rain"(Simple Minds' sixth, and best album) poster hung on her wall. Susan likes music, too; she's into Mecca Normal(an uber-cool Vancouver two-piecer from the early-nineties(and still active), who along with Portland's The Spinanes, probably inspired The White Stripes), whose cacophonic albums of feminist ideas and grrrl-y guitars would most definitely meet Andie's approval. "Ferris Bueller's Day-Off", however, casts the mightiest shadow on "Charlie Bartlett". Ferris(Matthew Broderick), in the course of a day, wanted to save his friend Cameron(Alan Ruck); while Charlie, in the course of a semester, wants to save the world. If you're "not expecting to grow flowers in the desert," but "can live and breathe and see the sun in wintertime," consider yourself lucky. You're young. "Charlie Bartlett" is a paean to the eighties. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JonFeb 22, 2008
Take it for what it's worth, it's a very enjoyable film. Although it's about teens, the film is directed more towards adults. Think about it as a Fuerris Bueller for the next century. To be fair, it did get a little sappy at Take it for what it's worth, it's a very enjoyable film. Although it's about teens, the film is directed more towards adults. Think about it as a Fuerris Bueller for the next century. To be fair, it did get a little sappy at one point, but all in all, I definitely got my money's worth. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RobTFeb 15, 2008
This is one of those movies that makes you get up and realize how much fun a movie can be, and the performance by Anton Yelchin is likely to become one of the most ridiculously underrated of all time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful