Chasing Amy

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 104 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 93 out of 104
  2. Negative: 2 out of 104
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BubbaF.
    Jan 15, 2007
    10
    WOW! One of the best movies I have ever seen. Joey Lauren Adams is phenomenal. Her talent is immensely under utilized, supposedly because of her voice. Personally I find her voice intoxicating. Keep up the good work Smith.
  2. TedH.
    Feb 7, 2005
    10
    I came out as being gay nearly six months ago, and I want to take this opportunity to point out how accurately Jason Lee portrays Banky. The mixture of hostility and confusion is so distinct and recognizable, I cannot help but see some of myself in his character. The scene early in the flick where Hooper kisses Banky and his reaction is one of mild irritation coupled with subtle signs of I came out as being gay nearly six months ago, and I want to take this opportunity to point out how accurately Jason Lee portrays Banky. The mixture of hostility and confusion is so distinct and recognizable, I cannot help but see some of myself in his character. The scene early in the flick where Hooper kisses Banky and his reaction is one of mild irritation coupled with subtle signs of appreciation and even desire (watch his eyes....) is one that I have played out many times in my own life, and Lee's performance gives Banky a realism that is eerie to observe. Affleck, however, has perhaps the most difficult task--he must be needy and simultaneously inaccessible, and he succeeds through a muted and oddly innocent performance. It is Joey Lauren Adams' performance, though, that gives the film its intensity. She has seen so much more of the sexual world than any of the characters involved, and yet she is no more equipped to handle her situation than any of them. I have yet to watch the scene that takes place outside the hockey rink without crying. The dialogue is excellent, but these three make it live. Chasing Amy covers difficult emotional territory. The humor is unforced, and the characters utterly real. On the DVD commentary track, Kevin Smith reveals that none of the many tears shed during the film were fake--actors and actress cried on and off camera, as well as members of the crew. It's just that kind of movie. Expand
  3. MichaelM.
    Oct 23, 2004
    9
    This is Kevin Smith's second best film (out of 5). This is an excellent movie! The directing is magnificent, the writing is wonderful, the acting is extraordinary, it is safe to say this will go down in history as a classic. Supurb performances given by Jason Lee, Joey Lauren Adams, and surprisingly, Ben Affleck. Personally, I think Ben Affleck is not that good of an actor, but in This is Kevin Smith's second best film (out of 5). This is an excellent movie! The directing is magnificent, the writing is wonderful, the acting is extraordinary, it is safe to say this will go down in history as a classic. Supurb performances given by Jason Lee, Joey Lauren Adams, and surprisingly, Ben Affleck. Personally, I think Ben Affleck is not that good of an actor, but in Kevin Smith's films he really shines. He is also great in Dogma, and gives a little, but memorable performance as the notorious, mean, Shannon in Mallrats. The story is about a comic book artist (Ben Affleck) and his tracer (Jason Lee) who likes to think of himself as an "inker". Everyone takes him for a tracer, and he gets very irritated and angry. It's actually quite comical. Anyway, he falls inlove with a girl (Joey Lauren Adams), but she cannot be with him, because she roots for the different team! Get it? Anyway, he becomes her friend, and can't fight off his love for her, and Jason Lee hates that, and is strongly against their relationship. The only downside to this movie is that the comic duo, Jay and Silent Bob (Jason Mewes and Kevin Smith) have the shortest part they have ever had in any of Kevin Smith's movies. Though, Kevin Smith gives a very surprisingly long speech to Ben Affleck's character explaining to him, once you find the woman you love, never let her go! This extremly long speech (not really that long, but long for Silent Bob because he only says really one or two lines per movie, hence the name "Silent Bob") is suprisingly very intelectual leaving viewers thinking Silent Bob is much more intelligent than he appears to be, and too smart to hang out with stoner, bonehead Jay. Silent Bob has as much or has more lines than big-mouth Jay. This is a really excellent movie, but doesn't live up to standard of "Clerks.". That is kind of unfortunate, but maybe one of Kevin Smith's future movies such as "Fletch Won" and "Jersey Girl" will. I wouldn't bet my money on "Jersey Girl" because it is starring obnoxious Jennifer Lopez (or J-Lo as she stupidly likes to call herself). I would highly recommend this to anybody looking for a good, funny and very twisted piece of cinema. See it now! (2/20/03) Expand
  4. ToddB.
    Apr 18, 2005
    7
    Note: That 7 is an overall rating. If I were rating just on my personal love for the movie it would be an easy 10. In the grand scale of filmmaking, Chasing Amy is a niche film. Honestly, how big an audience can a low-budget, "dick and fart joke" film about a male comic book artist falling in love with a lesbian appeal to? That said, if you happen to be in that niche (Gen Xers who are Note: That 7 is an overall rating. If I were rating just on my personal love for the movie it would be an easy 10. In the grand scale of filmmaking, Chasing Amy is a niche film. Honestly, how big an audience can a low-budget, "dick and fart joke" film about a male comic book artist falling in love with a lesbian appeal to? That said, if you happen to be in that niche (Gen Xers who are unlucky in love), this is about as perfect a movie as there is. Humor carries the flick through it's first thirty minutes. And whether its debates over racism in Star Wars, the sexual proclivities of Archie and the River Dale Gang, or whether or not an inker is just a glorified tracer, its some of the best comedy Kevin Smith has written. It also gives the dramatic love story some time to grow. The notion that a lesbian will cast aside her sexual preference for a guy may sound ludicrous, but this story manages to sell it. And the problems that arise -not to mention the inevitable conclusion- ring true. Even if nothing else in the film appeals to you, the clever dialog in the first 15 minutes and the heart in the final fifteen make this film worth seeing. Say what you will about it, but if nothing else, Chasing Amy is a brutally honest film, by a filmmaker who, "had something personal to say." It may not be for everyone, but those that identify with it and empathize with the characters (as well as those with an appreciation of a well-timed dick and fart joke) will find something to love. Expand
  5. MichaelF.
    Aug 24, 2001
    9
    This is the best Kevin Smith film that I've seen! Its smart, but at the beginning it feels pretentiously smart. That's probably because of Joey Lauren Adams who wasn't very good in this. But aside from her, all of the acting was top notch and a great ending Affleck monolouge.
  6. ThomasS.
    Mar 18, 2003
    0
    Couldn't sit thru this one. Neither Affleck nor Adams are actors; their lines are wooden, delivered with two or three fixed facial expressions. The dialogue is not just raunchy, but repetitiously so, with no emotions visible. Lame, sophmoric. Can;t understand how the critics lost their heads over this one.
  7. DaveH.
    Nov 29, 2006
    4
    Good concept, poor execution. The script is sophomoric, Affleck and Lee are dull, the direction is amateurish. That critics could universally pan funnier and more thought-provoking films on human sexuality and relationships such as Storytelling while lavishing Chasing Amy with such reviews as that of Richard Schickel is a testament to their smug conceit.
  8. MarcD.
    Apr 3, 2001
    9
    Joey Lauren Adams needs more leading roles like this one. She jumps off the screen like few other actresses these days.
  9. BruceJ.
    Jul 6, 2002
    8
    Raw honesty, beautiful and funny and truly in keeping with the freshness of "Clerks". One of the most enjoyable films I've seen in a long time.
  10. MaxC.
    Jun 9, 2004
    7
    It's a good movie! Funny in most parts- true in others- easy to belive- it happens every day thumbs up to kevin smith it's a great film.
  11. WobiekisserM.
    Aug 27, 2001
    9
    One of Smiths best. I was enflamed with joy after finishing this comic masterpiece, which is also one of the best films of the year.
  12. HadsomeB.Wonderful
    Jul 31, 2002
    10
    This film is absolutely wonderful, from beginning to end!
  13. Marc-oO.
    Sep 25, 2003
    10
    QUITE SIMPLY WHY I LIKE MOVIES!! Jason Lee' s delivery of lines is superb!!!
  14. TL
    May 18, 2005
    8
    Excellent movie, without a doubt. I liked Clerks, I enjoyed Mallrats, I liked Strike Back (haven't seen Dogma yet - with an emphasis on the yet). But Chasing Amy is a different movie entirely. It differs from the others in that it's not entirely a comedy or a comedy with a message, like the others. It's a cross between a drama, a comedy and a romance, and Smith handles it Excellent movie, without a doubt. I liked Clerks, I enjoyed Mallrats, I liked Strike Back (haven't seen Dogma yet - with an emphasis on the yet). But Chasing Amy is a different movie entirely. It differs from the others in that it's not entirely a comedy or a comedy with a message, like the others. It's a cross between a drama, a comedy and a romance, and Smith handles it very well. The film has the usual central two types of guys, one loud crude launcher (Banky), and one quieter more deep-thinking person (Holden). Like Clerks, it focuses on the quiet one and his relationship with a girl, with the added twist of the girl being a lesbian. Seems like a crazy idea but Smith really made it work powerfully. Unlike the others, Jay and Silent Bob only appear once and just briefly, but Silent Bob gives his longest speech to date, and together with the music throughout, that speech is really powerful emotionally and can really make one think. Followed by the climax at Holden and Banky's apartment and then the appearances at the Comic-Con, this made for one of the most stirring endings I have seen in a movie, rivalling that of the Fellowship of the Ring The acting surpassed all expectations, with Ben Affleck playing Holden, his second of four characters in the series, and Jason Lee returning, this time with a backwards hat and a beard as Banky instead of the slightly less intelligent yet just-as funny Brodie. Joey Lauren Adams again makes a comeback as a new character, playing her role to perfection. Her performance came second only to Lee's. Other returning actors Jason Mewes, Kevin Smith and Brian O'Halloran played their cameos very well. Newbie to the series Dwight Ewell played the black rage/gay crossover extremely well. First time around I couldn't tell the shooting was a bluff. Awesome stuff This film is a powerful mix of emotion, contraversy and just plain humour, and is definitely the most unqiue J&SB movie. Expand
  15. MonicaB.
    Dec 25, 2003
    10
    I love this movie.Its funny as hell.
  16. Jan 12, 2013
    7
    As a production, it was ok; I did feel it didn
  17. Mar 29, 2012
    8
    A surprisingly honest film that proves Smith is capable of displaying tender, raw emotion and the hardship that goes with it. The characters are believeable and well-acted, and to be honest I think Jason Lee gave a stronger performance than Ben Affleck. Joey Lauren Adams was pretty annoying at times, but in the more serious dualogues between herself and Affleck she shows some realA surprisingly honest film that proves Smith is capable of displaying tender, raw emotion and the hardship that goes with it. The characters are believeable and well-acted, and to be honest I think Jason Lee gave a stronger performance than Ben Affleck. Joey Lauren Adams was pretty annoying at times, but in the more serious dualogues between herself and Affleck she shows some real emotional intensity which doesn't seem forced in the slightest, something I really respect from actors/actresses. There's a lot of smart, snappy dialogue which has always been Smith's forte. The film drags a little in the middle third, and some scenes could certainly have been shortened or cut out. Overall though, Chasing Amy is a fresh and charming film, and one of the few romcoms I can tolerate. Expand
  18. Sep 7, 2011
    5
    Chasing Amy is funny, but not hilarious. The story is decent. The ending is less than adequate. Joey Lauren Adams is a very annoying actresses, especially when she's yelling, which she does for at least a third of her lines. If they had cast somebody else in her role, the movie would've been much better.
  19. Feb 8, 2012
    8
    Woah, first off let me say see this movie right now. I had seen clerks and dogma and jay and silent bob strike back forever ago, I knew about chasing amy i just never watched it. I'm going to go out on a limb and say it's kevin smith's best movie. There are some really, almost corny, dramatic scenes but in that situation people would act pretty emotional so i have no problem with it. ButWoah, first off let me say see this movie right now. I had seen clerks and dogma and jay and silent bob strike back forever ago, I knew about chasing amy i just never watched it. I'm going to go out on a limb and say it's kevin smith's best movie. There are some really, almost corny, dramatic scenes but in that situation people would act pretty emotional so i have no problem with it. But this movie is laugh out loud hilarious, I think kevin smith's best writing. Expand
  20. Sep 15, 2013
    8
    I really liked this movie as it really did try to be something different (at least at the time it came out.)

    The acting is average. the tone is a bit bland and pacing is really slow. But, problems aside, like most of Smith's movie, this movie had really thought provoking writing. This movie really did make me look at the concept of homosexuality in a completely different light. Of
    I really liked this movie as it really did try to be something different (at least at the time it came out.)

    The acting is average. the tone is a bit bland and pacing is really slow.

    But, problems aside, like most of Smith's movie, this movie had really thought provoking writing. This movie really did make me look at the concept of homosexuality in a completely different light. Of course allot of the information is nothing new for many but for me it changed my perspective.

    Overall:
    It isn't the best movie in the world, but it did make a lasting impression and for that I score it higher than it deserves.
    Expand
  21. Apr 23, 2015
    8
    Chasing Amy is far more romantic than Kevin Smith's other films. It still has the humour that his other movies have but the movie is more a love story than anything else. I love the cast, this is one of my favorite Ben Affleck movies, this came out just before Good Will Hunting made him a star. Jason Lee is also great as he has always been one of my favorite comedy actors but really itsChasing Amy is far more romantic than Kevin Smith's other films. It still has the humour that his other movies have but the movie is more a love story than anything else. I love the cast, this is one of my favorite Ben Affleck movies, this came out just before Good Will Hunting made him a star. Jason Lee is also great as he has always been one of my favorite comedy actors but really its Joey Lauren Adams who delivers what could be the best performance of her career. Chasing Amy is excellent writing and directing by Kevin Smith on display once again. It deals with lots of dialogue about sexual stereotypes and its a film that deals with one of the most weird but possible dilemmas in finding that special someone. The film is just as fresh now as ever. Expand
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 28
  2. Negative: 2 out of 28
  1. Reviewed by: Sean Means
    70
    What Smith does best in Chasing Amy is write clever, raunchy and emotionally true-to-life dialogue.
  2. 88
    Touching, funny, sweet, and most important of all, real -- a welcome breath of fresh air.
  3. The intention is there, but the needed emotional maturity isn't.