Cheaper by the Dozen Image
Metascore
46

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 126 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 30
  2. Negative: 6 out of 30
  1. Equal parts fantasy and cautionary tale, a film that manages to be uplifting and off-putting simultaneously -- fortunately, more the former than the latter.
  2. Wall Street Journal
    Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    60
    Something of a shambles -- a shambles about a shambles -- but bound for big success and deservedly so.
  3. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    50
    Makes one long for Martin's edgy work in films such as "The Spanish Prisoner."
  4. 50
    Much of the film feels like watching "Home Alone" and "Mr. Mom" on 12 different TVs at once.
  5. Reviewed by: Robert Koehler
    40
    Unfortunately knows no tone between schmaltzy/gooey and slapstick/gross-out. Pic is as far from the original pic and its autobiographical memoir source as it can be while retaining the same title.
  6. The same studio has aimed a remake at the same family market. Translation: The once-modest piece has been redesigned as a vehicle (a lumbering SUV) for Steve Martin, stripped of any vestigial charm, and then thrown into neutral, where its manic engine does nothing but roar loudly and pointlessly for the duration.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 62
  2. Negative: 14 out of 62
  1. RyanB.
    Dec 29, 2003
    10
    CRITICS SUCK, they don't know comedy, this movie was hilarious.
  2. CheyenneS.
    Apr 2, 2006
    10
    I think cheaper by the dozen is the best movie ever i love jacob smith and tom welling i think they were costed perfcetly.
  3. FeliciaP.
    Jun 18, 2006
    10
    This movie was amazing! All the actors and actresses did an outstanding job. Jake Smith did one of the best jobs along with Alyson Stoner. This movie was amazing! All the actors and actresses did an outstanding job. Jake Smith did one of the best jobs along with Alyson Stoner. Great job everyone. Expand
  4. SaerA.
    Apr 17, 2004
    7
    (7.5) I really enjoyed Cheaper By The Dozen. It was really fun and funny. I enjoyed it! Fun For The Whole Family!!
  5. Jul 8, 2013
    5
    A very average family film that deals with the trials of living in a large family. I like Steve Martin and Bonnie Hunt and they do a good jobA very average family film that deals with the trials of living in a large family. I like Steve Martin and Bonnie Hunt and they do a good job here, but the script failed to capture me fully. Expand
  6. Apr 17, 2016
    4
    Cheaper by the Dozen lives up by its title because that's what makes Cheaper by the Dozen a weak movie. It literally gets cheaper by the dozenCheaper by the Dozen lives up by its title because that's what makes Cheaper by the Dozen a weak movie. It literally gets cheaper by the dozen amount of times I see this movie. Expand
  7. RobertB.
    Jul 24, 2004
    0
    Steve martin is not funny. He does the same thing every time! i hate that bit when he hangs on the chandelier and when the kids attack Ashton Steve martin is not funny. He does the same thing every time! i hate that bit when he hangs on the chandelier and when the kids attack Ashton Kutcher (who is actually as good as he is in that 70's show). Piper Perabo is the only bright spot. she is so underrated. all the kids were annoying and will not have careers. Expand

See all 62 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Spielberg Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    Spielberg Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: June 24, 2016
    We rank every movie directed by Steven Spielberg throughout his 40-plus-year career.
  2. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: June 24, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  3. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: June 22, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Independence Day: Resurgence, Free State of Jones, The Shallows, Hunt for the Wilderpeople, The Neon Demon, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  4. 21 Alien Invasion Movies, Ranked from Worst to Best

    21 Alien Invasion Movies, Ranked from Worst to Best Image
    Published: June 21, 2016
    We rank recent alien invasion movies by Metascore.