Open Road Films | Release Date: May 9, 2014
7.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 275 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
223
Mixed:
40
Negative:
12
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
LowbrowCinemaMay 19, 2014
CHEF is a total delight! I was expecting a forced attempt by Hollywood veterans to make a "charming" and "heartfelt" indie. Instead, I discovered a truly genuine film that is both charming and heartfelt for real with no unnecessary plotCHEF is a total delight! I was expecting a forced attempt by Hollywood veterans to make a "charming" and "heartfelt" indie. Instead, I discovered a truly genuine film that is both charming and heartfelt for real with no unnecessary plot points (OK, the end is a bit rushed and tagged on). This is the best film since SINGIN IN THE RAIN to depict the pleasure and fun of hard work, friendship, and camaraderie. CHEF has a great spirit that is never forced and every performance is truly perfect. Just spot on in every way. Favreau really shows what a great director of actors he is in the direction of Emjay Anthony. This is a real kid, not a movie kid.

CHEF will surprise you in the best way! Work hard, appreciate what you've got. A great message.
Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
LamontRaymondMay 9, 2014
It's a heartwarming flick that struck me as a cross between HBO's Treme and Kramer vs. Kramer. Great supporting cast, and the kid is surprisingly talented. Favreau is just excellent as the everyman type of character. Now that he's doneIt's a heartwarming flick that struck me as a cross between HBO's Treme and Kramer vs. Kramer. Great supporting cast, and the kid is surprisingly talented. Favreau is just excellent as the everyman type of character. Now that he's done Chef, and Sandler's done Spanglish, they should have a cook-off. What film has the hotter Latina leading lady? Paz Vega vs. Sophia Vergara.... (Incidentally, Sophia is great in this movie in more of a toned down, realistic performance....) Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
2
csw12Nov 2, 2014
Chef uses the same tired out story lines I've seen a hundred times in movies. So you would think the comedy would make up for it, not a chance. Chef is overlong and extremely boring, with a main character that i wanted to fail. Not a goodChef uses the same tired out story lines I've seen a hundred times in movies. So you would think the comedy would make up for it, not a chance. Chef is overlong and extremely boring, with a main character that i wanted to fail. Not a good recipe for a film. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
amboyJun 5, 2014
Pure delight. Funny, heartwarming, true to life. It helps to know a little about the difference between chef's food and street food, but the movie has something for everyone. I wasn't a Favreau fan, but I am now. Vergara proves shePure delight. Funny, heartwarming, true to life. It helps to know a little about the difference between chef's food and street food, but the movie has something for everyone. I wasn't a Favreau fan, but I am now. Vergara proves she doesn't need to be a Latin bombshell to make you love her, and Leguizamo and Cannavale are perfection--my only complaint is that the latter doesn't get enough screen time. A gem. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
FleshWorldMay 10, 2014
I really love this movie primarily for the food but secondarily for the cast which was just so much fun and it made you want to be a part of their crew. The local color in both Austin and New Orleans was taken advantage of beautifully. II really love this movie primarily for the food but secondarily for the cast which was just so much fun and it made you want to be a part of their crew. The local color in both Austin and New Orleans was taken advantage of beautifully. I don't know exactly what kind of meat was being cooked in Austin maybe brisket but I have to have that immediately. I thought the whole Twitter thing was going to be more annoying than it turned out to be but in reality the convergence of Twitter and the food truck revolution in LA was historically important I think Favreau portrayed and represented it in fine fashion. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
philatJun 9, 2014
Don't see this movie if you are hungry! There are many closeups of delicious food being prepared and sometimes eaten that will head you to the nearest four star restaurant. But this is much more than a foodie movie. Rather it is a story ofDon't see this movie if you are hungry! There are many closeups of delicious food being prepared and sometimes eaten that will head you to the nearest four star restaurant. But this is much more than a foodie movie. Rather it is a story of human relationships, primarily that between writer-director-actor Jon Favreau, who plays an ultra chef, and his growing relationship with his 10 year old son who is seen only occasionally because of a divorce. Fate intervenes, father and son are together for a protracted period during a trip from Miami to California in a food truck, and excellent acting by Favreau and the boy will warm one's heart as father and son bond . The ending is a bit contrived, but leaves the audience in an upbeat mood--people applauded at the end. One caveat. The film is rated R because the grown-ups all seem addicted to the F word. An occasional use would have been sufficient and allowed a PG-13 rating. A pity but something that Hollywood does all too often under the mistaken impression that the vast majority of Americans are using the word in everyday conversation. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
phoenixchickMay 14, 2014
I love this film, it is the most accurate portrayal of how things really work in a commercial kitchen I have seen in the cinema. I love the food, the colours and the atmosphere in each town. It was cast really well and the supporting castI love this film, it is the most accurate portrayal of how things really work in a commercial kitchen I have seen in the cinema. I love the food, the colours and the atmosphere in each town. It was cast really well and the supporting cast really brought it together. Fantastic! I will definitely watch it again :)

The passion behind the line is just awesome to watch!
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
jdolan74Jun 29, 2014
I didn't know what to expect going into this movie, except that I've wanted to see a food truck movie for quite a while. And Jon Favreau gave us a masterpiece.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
GreatMartinJun 6, 2014
A man returning to his love, a father getting to know his son, a sweet, leisurely told story, the power of social media, a road trip, mouth watering food, an excellent child actor along with a first class cast equals a film that should getA man returning to his love, a father getting to know his son, a sweet, leisurely told story, the power of social media, a road trip, mouth watering food, an excellent child actor along with a first class cast equals a film that should get your attention.

“Chef” is a touching film that really should be seen without expectations and will having you walking out of the theatre with a smile on your face and might even cause out loud laughter at points along with, possibly, a tear here and there because of the tenderness between father and son.

Jon Favreau stars as the chef and father , wrote the screenplay and directed the high wattage cast, who quits his job when his boss, Dustin Hoffman, tells him to cook and serve the menu as is not what he wants to cook to get even with a food blogger, Oliver Platt, who writes a scathing review of him and his cooking. With some prodding from his ex, Sofia Vergara, rich (not really clear how she got rich or what she does for a living) wife who is also the ex of Robert Downey, Jr.

Favreau and Vergara share custody of a son, played by Emjay Anthony, without a self conscious bone in his body, who happens to be a whiz at, and with, the social media from posting videos to getting attention by tweeting and has to teach his father how thinks work.

There is no spoiler in saying that the chef buys and remakes a food truck with the help of former co-worker, played by John Leguizamo, though another co-worker, Bobby Cannavale, stays at the restaurant taking over the chef’s job. Scarlett Johansson, as the hostess of Hoffman’s restaurant and a sometime lover of Favreau, with Amy Sedaris as a publicist, add some unnecessary spice to the film. (Heck when you are the star, writer and director of the film why not have Vergara and Johansson as lovers?!)

Favreau’s relationship with Anthony is believable and just on this side of being too sweet. Adding to this the father’s search for who he really is also realistic.

“Chef” is not an award winning movie that is a must see but in this season of loud, special effects, comic book movies, it certainly is worth seeing even, as with most movies today, if it is about 10-15 minutes too long at 115 minutes. By the way there is a dare you to stay still in your seat soundtrack!
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
ArcendusJun 2, 2014
This is really a fantastic movie, however the one thing I absolutely must say (and if only one person benefits from it, it will be enough) is DO NOT WATCH THE MOVIE TRAILER! Even moreso than most movie trailers in general, this one gives awayThis is really a fantastic movie, however the one thing I absolutely must say (and if only one person benefits from it, it will be enough) is DO NOT WATCH THE MOVIE TRAILER! Even moreso than most movie trailers in general, this one gives away the entire plot and leaves 0 surprise. While knowing all of that before seeing it doesn't exactly ruin the movie, you already know everything that's going to happen so when it does it really has no weight at all. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
alangeeJun 23, 2014
What a surprise!! I figured it would be something along the lines of a Food Network style production and boy was I wrong.This was an absolutely charming film filled with warmth, humour and characters I cared about. Jon Favreau wrote, directedWhat a surprise!! I figured it would be something along the lines of a Food Network style production and boy was I wrong.This was an absolutely charming film filled with warmth, humour and characters I cared about. Jon Favreau wrote, directed and acted brilliantly along with an amazing supporting cast. So nice to see a movie that's about people and the trails and tribulations of their lives. It was also an interesting look at the power of social media. Definitely my favourite movie of the year and one of my favorite movies ever. An absolute delight!! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
hdbflySep 3, 2014
This was a movie that desperately needed edited down. Scenes and sequences that were way too long. Repetition and indulgence. It takes forever for the film to get going and then when it does, it's so flabby, it's boring. Inexplicably, heThis was a movie that desperately needed edited down. Scenes and sequences that were way too long. Repetition and indulgence. It takes forever for the film to get going and then when it does, it's so flabby, it's boring. Inexplicably, he yells at son. Inexpiicably, his ex-wife remarries him (what does she do, exactly, to live that lifestyle and wear those dresses constantly?) After being fired, he inexplicably goes home and cooks enough food for a banquet . . . that he eats? that goes to waste? Why didn't he call the critic to his house and have him enjoy what looked like an amazing meal? Oh, because he inexplicably knows nothing about social media even though he's one of the hippest chefs in LA. In LA! How do you not know about social media in LA? Inexplicable . . . I wanted to give this film to one of my classes and have them edit it down to less than 90 minutes. It could be easily done, and it would be a better movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
cryhardhumorJan 30, 2015
It often seems to lose focus, and there is a noticeable tone change halfway through, but Chef is too well directed and acted to not love. Jon Favreau gives such a powerful performance, that you can't help but get sucked into Carl Casper'sIt often seems to lose focus, and there is a noticeable tone change halfway through, but Chef is too well directed and acted to not love. Jon Favreau gives such a powerful performance, that you can't help but get sucked into Carl Casper's life.
Deliciously enjoyable 9/10
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
pthilAug 26, 2014
Don't expect great cinema here. Lame, cheesy, boring at times. A movie about Twitter, etc, first of all. And about someone rising from defeat and failure to do what he Really Loves to do, and connects with his son, and, oh yeah, a road tripDon't expect great cinema here. Lame, cheesy, boring at times. A movie about Twitter, etc, first of all. And about someone rising from defeat and failure to do what he Really Loves to do, and connects with his son, and, oh yeah, a road trip movie. Feel-good?, yes, but again, done in such a poor manner. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
AustinFilmFanMay 25, 2014
Chef is a highly watchable, warm, genuinely funny movie with a very positive spirit. It's not your typical Hollywood slick silliness (doesn't insult your intelligence) but, instead, a film made by smart people who care about the story and theChef is a highly watchable, warm, genuinely funny movie with a very positive spirit. It's not your typical Hollywood slick silliness (doesn't insult your intelligence) but, instead, a film made by smart people who care about the story and the characters. I came in with very low expectations (Favreau throwing out a slick, by-the-numbers, self-serving lightweight home movie between blockbusters). Instead, I (along with a packed Austin movie theatre crowd), watched this funny foodie movie with a big time smile on my face throughout. I kept waiting for the other melodramatic shoe to drop which would bring down the pure spirit of fun. At the end, the audience burst into applause. What a kick! Key tip -- do not go on an empty stomach (killer food scenes). Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
Rivera74Jun 9, 2014
Funny, smart, interesting, full of Latin music but too long and sometimes unemotional. The portrayal of Favreau is good and the simplest interpretation of Vergara was enjoyable. I was a little lost in the Robert Downey Jr scene, for me,Funny, smart, interesting, full of Latin music but too long and sometimes unemotional. The portrayal of Favreau is good and the simplest interpretation of Vergara was enjoyable. I was a little lost in the Robert Downey Jr scene, for me, totally unnecessary. But, I had a good time seeing this movie. I recommend it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
OpinionatedGuySep 10, 2014
This movie is clearly food porn. Only I don't have to turn off my brain for this movie.

This feel-good indie movie is a nice change for the director Jon Favreau who also wrote and stared the movie after directing a couple of blockbusters
This movie is clearly food porn. Only I don't have to turn off my brain for this movie.

This feel-good indie movie is a nice change for the director Jon Favreau who also wrote and stared the movie after directing a couple of blockbusters including Iron Man and Iron Man 2.

The food in this movie are yummy. Oh my god. Don't watch this movie with an empty stomach. I wish there is something that if you pay extra money to see this movie, one of the foods shown in the movie will be given to you to eat. I would pay extra money for that perk to happen.

The cinematography is excellent, especially the food parts. lol.

The direction is also great. Jon Favreau seemed to really care about this movie that even small details in this movie is something he should focus on.

Speaking of care, I liked how he cared this movie that he is also dedicated in his role as a chef. He took tips from an consultant producer to replicate a chef's dish. That is dedication right there.

The cast seems to be a very A-list-y for an indie movie. Maybe because Jon Favreau has connections with so many big stars that they won't mind being in a production like this especially they are offered free food! The cast did a good job especially Sofia Vergara and Emjay Anthony (the kid in the movie). I can sense they had a very good time making the movie in the set.

The script and the plot is really good and well-organized. I liked how this movie isn't just about food but it's also about a father-son relationship as well as being happy for something you love the most.

The soundtrack in this movie fits the entire movie especially on the food parts. lol. I can't stop saying food all the time. lol.

Don't see this movie with an empty stomach.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
ToFewViewsOct 29, 2014
This is a great warmhearted film that is written,directed,stars Jon Favreau and a huge list of major actors/actresses. It follows a chef (Jon Favreau) and how he leaves his job at a classy restaurant to start a food trunk and cook what heThis is a great warmhearted film that is written,directed,stars Jon Favreau and a huge list of major actors/actresses. It follows a chef (Jon Favreau) and how he leaves his job at a classy restaurant to start a food trunk and cook what he loves. They journey across part of the US stopping at cities on the way. Acting in this film is amazing, nothing feels forced/phoned in, It makes everything feel more natural almost like you where watching a documentary. But the main topic in this movie is the food and oh my does it look good, lots of reviews say this but it's true "Don't See Chef On A Empty Stomach" doing so is pure torture to yourself.
If your looking for a lighthearted movie that's going to make you laugh I suggest you watch Chef.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
DemeterAug 11, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie requires 2 major leaps of faith.
First, that a chef who wanted to be creative and design a variety of new dishes devotes his venture to creating one dish over and over again.
Second, that there would be someone who just happens to have a food truck sitting around and is willing to give it away.
The other problem for me was the way he told his son he could never help him on the truck in the future. Why not ?
Also, the abrupt ending was lame.
This movie only shows me that someone has great connections in Hollywood.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
MovieGuysJun 1, 2014
Who knew a movie about a food truck could turn into one of the best movies of the year? Of course, that's a rudimentary plot synapsis, but it is the heart and soul of the film. It's sometimes sweet, but sometimes serious. It has a nice blendWho knew a movie about a food truck could turn into one of the best movies of the year? Of course, that's a rudimentary plot synapsis, but it is the heart and soul of the film. It's sometimes sweet, but sometimes serious. It has a nice blend of wit and humor, and features an amazing script that just feels like everyday conversation. The best part of the movie is what many directors strive for but never fully achieve: it shows how skilled professionals work, and how they feel when they do what they love (or hate for that matter). The food shown in the movie makes you lick your lips and just want to eat all the gourmet dishes Chef Casper prepares. And in some ways, the movie resembles the food he prepares: fresh, irresistible, and easily taken in. I could go on and on about what a good movie this was. Expand
11 of 12 users found this helpful111
All this user's reviews
9
silasbodnickMay 9, 2014
This is absolutely one of the better movies of the year and I think John Favreau deserves a hell of a lot of credit for putting it altogether. Probably the biggest joke of this movie's release is the fact that it has achieved an R ratingThis is absolutely one of the better movies of the year and I think John Favreau deserves a hell of a lot of credit for putting it altogether. Probably the biggest joke of this movie's release is the fact that it has achieved an R rating simply because it has one too many F bombs in it. The last time a great family movie with virtually no adult aspect to it got an R rating was the classic win-win. I think the MPAA or whoever does these ratings needs to pull its head out of his own ass and start reading movies appropriately. One final mention of John Leguizamo. He is outstanding in this film and pretty much makes every movie he's in better. Casting directors get this guy in more movies. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
0
KnowNothingMar 28, 2015
Pointless, boring waste of time. Never struck an emotional chord at all. I'd rather do dishes than watch this movie. As a matter of fact, at one point I did. I had to. The movie was killing me!
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
6
Brent_MarchantMay 17, 2014
An occasionally amusing though often-episodic offering that can never quite make up its mind what kind of film it wants to be -- a feel good flick, a road trip story, an edgy comedy -- thanks to its loosely strung-together collection of bitsAn occasionally amusing though often-episodic offering that can never quite make up its mind what kind of film it wants to be -- a feel good flick, a road trip story, an edgy comedy -- thanks to its loosely strung-together collection of bits that are sometimes funny in themselves but lack a general overall cohesiveness. Its endless references to various social media sites gets tedious after a while, too, looking more like a Twitter commercial than a motion picture. Wait for this one to come to DVD. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
2
ScraperApr 20, 2015
This movie was not good. A long road back to your ex and reconcilement with your kid is a personally soulful and revealing journey. In Chef, it's used the same as typical Thursday night tv plot fodder. I don't care how many hugs you load theThis movie was not good. A long road back to your ex and reconcilement with your kid is a personally soulful and revealing journey. In Chef, it's used the same as typical Thursday night tv plot fodder. I don't care how many hugs you load the cannon with, I do not give a **** Also, hooray for food. We've all had slow-cooked meat before. Stop rolling your eyes with enjoyment. It doesn't take us there. Finally, I don't think whoever made this realized what a shameless Twitter commercial this movie was. People, there were animated tweeting Twitter birds when someone sent a tweet in this film. Hooray for popularity and two extra big cheers for social media. Dumb. I mean dumb. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
DAL1960Jun 23, 2014
This is probably best film that Jon Favreau has ever directed.
It moved and the performances are stellar. Getting Bobby Cannivale
and John Leguizamo to support him was genius. "Johnny Legs" as Leguizamo was finally given some material that
This is probably best film that Jon Favreau has ever directed.
It moved and the performances are stellar. Getting Bobby Cannivale
and John Leguizamo to support him was genius. "Johnny Legs" as
Leguizamo was finally given some material that he could sink his teeth into.
Dustin Hoffman and Robert Downey Jr. was great in their short stints.
I like Sofia Vergara, but I had a hard time believing the two were involved.
Scarlett Johanssen was sexy and smart. What really sells the movie is
the music. New Orleans brass music as well as Salsa were big as stars
as were the food and the actors. One minor hitch for me was the ending was too
formulaic. Otherwise bravo!! Maybe Vince Vaughn can find something just as good
to revive his dying career.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
BHBarryMay 12, 2014
“Chef” is the brainchild and creation of the very talented Jon Favreau who produced, directed, wrote and stars in this film about a chef, his relationship with his son, his ex-wife and the food he loves to cook. In addition to Mr. Favreau,“Chef” is the brainchild and creation of the very talented Jon Favreau who produced, directed, wrote and stars in this film about a chef, his relationship with his son, his ex-wife and the food he loves to cook. In addition to Mr. Favreau, the film also stars Sofia Vergara, Scarlett Johansson, Bobby Cannavale, Dustin Hoffman, John Leguizamo, Robert Downey Jr., and a soundtrack that will make the viewer truly enjoy the intensity of this salsa musical journey. Almost 2 hours in length the film speeds along on its merry way through the spirited and improvisational style of its director who quickly shows us that simple uncomplicated themes well written and performed can make for more than adequate entertainment. This is a film where you simply sit back in your chair, relax and watch this feel good story turn out as predicted but with humor, pathos and culinary delights filling the screen in between. I give the film an 8 and urge that it be seen by vegans and meat lovers alike for food, comedy and music make this film truly an enjoyable experience. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
LynNov 3, 2014
A fluffy fairy tale of a movie that benefits from having a slew of competent, likable actors and a fun soundtrack. The rotund chef somehow has a lot of capital with which to rebuild his career, a loyal friend who'll work for nothing, a loyal,A fluffy fairy tale of a movie that benefits from having a slew of competent, likable actors and a fun soundtrack. The rotund chef somehow has a lot of capital with which to rebuild his career, a loyal friend who'll work for nothing, a loyal, adorable son who's a social media genius, and a gorgeous ex-wife who still loves him. It's impossible to hate, but feels like a Lifetime movie with an A-list cast. The food looks delicious, though! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
djniceyJun 30, 2014
I had pretty high expectations for this film, and they were met, I really enjoyed this film from start to finish. Its a believable, down-to-earth, and heartwarming feel-good movie, but it isn't at all cheesy or overly sentimental. The actingI had pretty high expectations for this film, and they were met, I really enjoyed this film from start to finish. Its a believable, down-to-earth, and heartwarming feel-good movie, but it isn't at all cheesy or overly sentimental. The acting is superb, the pacing and length just right and it has some really funny moments. The characters are all very endearing and all very well scripted and acted. The cinematography is superb and the food looks sumptuous. I don't have anything bad to say about this movie, I thoroughly enjoyed it and would definitely watch it a second time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TVJerryMay 27, 2014
Jon Favreau (who also wrote/directed) plays an innovative chef whose confrontation with a critic devastates his career, so he ends up on a food truck to reestablish his love for cooking (and his relationship with his son, winningly played byJon Favreau (who also wrote/directed) plays an innovative chef whose confrontation with a critic devastates his career, so he ends up on a food truck to reestablish his love for cooking (and his relationship with his son, winningly played by Emjay Anthony). John Leguizamo joins the trip to add some enjoyable spice. The first half spends too much time with Favreau's character blustering and **** but once he hits the road, the story takes on a sweet charm. This is the kind of small personal film that started Favreau's career (before he became director of blockbusters like "Iron Man") and it's a welcome return to a heart-felt, charming little gem. The music's great fun too. NOTE: Stay thru the credits to see the real chef giving Favreau some technique tips. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
BikerjamesJul 7, 2014
Chef was an unexpected pleasure. I have to admit, even though I attend movies all the time, I had no idea who Jon Favreau was. Turns out he's both a talented actor and director. The movie is about the relationship between a father and son,Chef was an unexpected pleasure. I have to admit, even though I attend movies all the time, I had no idea who Jon Favreau was. Turns out he's both a talented actor and director. The movie is about the relationship between a father and son, and choosing to live a life that makes you happy. There are a few moments of unbelievability, such as his ex wife and girlfriend are two of the most beautiful women working in Hollywood (Scarlett Johansson and Sofía Vergara), and just when you think he finally realizes his relationship with his son is the most important thing in his life he nearly blows it yet again. But that is nitpicking. It's well written and acted and funny throughout. Especially the road trip. Really enjoyed it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
adhamhanySep 20, 2014
A very delicious and entertaining feelgood movie. The acting from the entire cast is superb, thanks in no small part to its dialogue which makes the conversations sound so natural.

The directing is excellent, as it showcases the details of
A very delicious and entertaining feelgood movie. The acting from the entire cast is superb, thanks in no small part to its dialogue which makes the conversations sound so natural.

The directing is excellent, as it showcases the details of cooking, the extraordinary meals that can water your mouth just by looking at it, and the occasional floating windows of social media interactions.

Perhaps the things that keep the movie from being a masterpiece are the rushed ending and the slight lack of character development. Nonetheless, they don't ruin the film in any major way.

It's a joyous, funny, and delightful movie. I'm very glad to have seen it.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
lordslayerSep 6, 2014
Such a heartwarming movie.
Jon Favreau really shines in this one, as an actor and as Director!
I just downloaded it because of RDJ and Scarlett, little did i know they only have (along with dustin Hoffman) around 20 mins of screenplay
Such a heartwarming movie.
Jon Favreau really shines in this one, as an actor and as Director!

I just downloaded it because of RDJ and Scarlett, little did i know they only have (along with dustin Hoffman) around 20 mins of screenplay between them.

little nice feel good movie, altho a bit predictable, maybe the best of the year in its category..
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
lancekozOct 2, 2014
Gee, I have to weigh in here, since I think that the viewer's rating is skewed by real Favreau fans. Although there are a bunch of good ingredients here... they never produce a tasty dish. There are long, cranky, un-funny dialogs, rattledGee, I have to weigh in here, since I think that the viewer's rating is skewed by real Favreau fans. Although there are a bunch of good ingredients here... they never produce a tasty dish. There are long, cranky, un-funny dialogs, rattled off at high speed with little credible passion. It takes a long time before the story leaves the character's collapse and starts to progress to a resolution. The idea of a high cuisine chef going into street food has possibilities either comic or as a serious story, but this weak, improvised-seeming fare ries to walk somewhere in-between and largely bored me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
heloheJul 31, 2015
C'mon, why are people giving this movie good reviews? I was bored throughout.
There was only one good thing: The food in the movie looked excellent. Really tasty. I got hungry when I saw the dishes. But, that is it.
Everything else was
C'mon, why are people giving this movie good reviews? I was bored throughout.
There was only one good thing: The food in the movie looked excellent. Really tasty. I got hungry when I saw the dishes. But, that is it.
Everything else was boring. There were very lame jokes, that were not funny. The movie is supposed to be a comedy, but I never laughed.
The acting is terrible or worse. The "actress" playing the chef's ex-wife, did not even try acting. She was like she was reading down from the script. It looks like she never acted before and never practised her role. Same with the boy.
The whole movie was predictable. With a plot that could be told to someone in 1 minute.
I was waiting for the whole movie for anything interesting to happen, anything unexpected, but nothing. It is like a happy-family-good-life-everything-perfect-movie or something.
And even more bottering, lots of well known actors having some minor role just for the sake of getting their name in the credits.
Don't waste your time and money on this movie.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
LightlySaltedFeb 2, 2015
The film is funny, creative and inspirational. Without giving away too much, it does fall to some common cliche pitfalls -- namely that the child in the film is far more tech savvy than the average person meanwhile, the adult is completelyThe film is funny, creative and inspirational. Without giving away too much, it does fall to some common cliche pitfalls -- namely that the child in the film is far more tech savvy than the average person meanwhile, the adult is completely ignorant about the expensive devices he owns. While we get that this reversal may be founded to a degree, the movie's portrayal of the subject was nothing less than hyperbole. That aside, it is refreshing to watch a down to earth movie about not compromising your values and picking up the pieces of your life without having had to watch everything burn to the ground first. Accurate portrayals of life and living make this a great film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
dylan111Jul 6, 2014
There's a lot to like in Chef besides the fact that it's a summer movie without any monsters in it. Certainly the relationship between the dad, Jon Favreau, and his son was well done, as was the portrayal of our current obsession with food,There's a lot to like in Chef besides the fact that it's a summer movie without any monsters in it. Certainly the relationship between the dad, Jon Favreau, and his son was well done, as was the portrayal of our current obsession with food, celebrity chefs, and the power of the media.

But I really do not know how I'm supposed to believe that beautiful women like Scarlett Johanssen and Sofia Vergara, the girlfriend and ex-wife of the Favreau character, are in love with or attracted to a guy who is a lot older, heavier, and, well, at best average looking. No way. It was really a distraction every time they were on the screen.

I think it's a screenwriter/director's conceit or maybe just wish fulfillment. Not reality.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
imthenoobDec 3, 2016
We all know Jon as this big action film director and it was cool to see him go back to his roots and deliver one of the most underestimated films in recent years. Chef has everything you could want - A great cast, A solid plot and greatWe all know Jon as this big action film director and it was cool to see him go back to his roots and deliver one of the most underestimated films in recent years. Chef has everything you could want - A great cast, A solid plot and great directing. That alone doesn't make it good though. What makes it so good is that so much heart was put into it. You can tell this was a big passion project and that shows through out the film.

I also think that it's pretty much a big F You to the critics who view him as a one trick pony and a talent-less director. There's one scene where the Chef, played by Jon, brutally breaks down what makes a molten lava cake a molten lava cake to a critic who bashed him in a review. You can definitely see this as throwing shade at the critics who probably wouldn't even know the smallest thing about directing and how to set up these complex shots and yet they are calling him out for his "lack of ability".

But all that aside, It is a really good film and really worth watching.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
beingryanjudeSep 4, 2014
Chef is exactly the type of film movie we have been longing for. An impressive take on today's food world--and what a fun ride. Jon Favreau makes a wonderful addition to his often hit-or-miss career. Bon appetite!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Trev29Nov 15, 2014
It was one cliché after another. The movie was not that irritating, but there was just nothing that surprised or interested me. Not sure how a movie like this attracted a big named cast.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SpangleJun 28, 2014
Overall, this effort from Jon Favreau is a heart warming, touching, and loaded with charm. For the most part, Chef is a relatively straightforward film with good comedic elements blended with good dramatic elements, which combine to produce aOverall, this effort from Jon Favreau is a heart warming, touching, and loaded with charm. For the most part, Chef is a relatively straightforward film with good comedic elements blended with good dramatic elements, which combine to produce a pretty good film. Not world beating by any means, but it is undoubtedly endlessly enjoyable and fun for the whole family. In terms of acting, John Leguizamo has a great charismatic performance in support here and really is the bright star in this bunch. For a child actor, EmJay Anthony is also good and never really sticks out like a sore thumb. The kid was entirely convincing. Jon Favreau was fine in the lead role as well, he made you like him right away and while he may not be my first choice, it worked well overall. Scarlett Johansson and Robert Downey Jr. also had good, though small, roles here. Now, I do not know if I can buy that Favreau dates Johansson and used to be married to Sofia Vergara here, but since the guy wrote, directed, and acted in this one, I can appreciate the dream, haha. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Agent314Dec 15, 2014
A delightful film if somewhat predictable. Favreau is clearly in his element relating this clever discovery story wrapped in a Cuban sandwich and garnished with a couple hot peppers.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
NightReviewsJun 6, 2014
Chef is a film about a battle we all face to reconnect with our passions when the flame has burned out. Jon Favreau, a jack-of-all-trades in Hollywood who has hidden behind his passions for the last decade or so, has stuck to his guns on thisChef is a film about a battle we all face to reconnect with our passions when the flame has burned out. Jon Favreau, a jack-of-all-trades in Hollywood who has hidden behind his passions for the last decade or so, has stuck to his guns on this one and delivered an indie film that not only delivers a tasty slice of one’s person’s struggle to keep their passion alive, but also shows the consequences when one follows their passion too closely. Carl Casper (Favreau) is a phenomenal chef but a lousy father to his son Percy (Emjay Anthony). Carl tries hard to entertain his son with artificial activities that he thinks would allow them to bond by taking him on roller coasters, to town fairs and the beach, while failing to realize that all Percy wants to do is just hang out with his dad. In an early scene, Carl and Percy connect over a homemade grilled cheese sandwich, discussing twitter, social media and the effects of the Internet on youth and an older generation of users. Percy smiles and the art of subtly is established. Chef could then best be described as the perfect grilled cheese sandwich; familiar and fattening, yet, when cooked right, its gooey, cheesy deliciousness and soft center always finds a place in your heart. Chef may be cheesy and formulaic at times, but at its core it’s just plain comfort food that is perfect for the soul. Simply put, Chef is mm-mmm satisfying filmmaking in the shape of a surprisingly delicious film.

It’s not hard to see the comparison Favreau is making between his career in Hollywood and his love for independent filmmaking. There is no denying that Favreau is a modern-day pioneer when it comes to directors and writers with humble beginnings. Favreau, who started off his career scripting Swingers as well as writing/directing/producing his 2001 smash Made, has set a trend for Hollywood studios who snatch up promising young directors to spearhead big-budget blockbuster film franchises. After all, Favreau was the first director for Marvel to successfully launch the Marvel universe on the big screen and reignited good friend Robert Downey Jr.’s career after his stint in rehab. Favreau is undoubtedly a man of wonders and shows off his skills here behind the burner.

With Chef, it is not hard to see that Favreau is a lover, not a fighter; a lover of culture; of beautiful women; of fine filmmaking and most of all, a lover of good food. Through Chef, Favreau serves up his signature dish: real-world comedy that doesn’t sugarcoat what real-relationships actually look like.

Carl Casper is surely a representation of everything Favreau has been feeling for a very long time. Lost and unhappy behind the scenes of a posh Venice Californian restaurant owned by the business oriented Riva (Dustin Hoffman), Carl is given a little hint of hope when he gets wind that the critic who helped launch his career from culinary obscurity in Miami is coming back to review him. Last time Ramsey Michel (Oliver Platt) and he met, Ramsey was a small time food critic, doing it for the love of food. This time, Ramsey, backed by AOL and nearly ten million followers, challenges Carl to cook something special. As he gets his kitchen staff ready, namely his sous-chef Tony (Bobby Cannavale), his line chef Martin (John Leguizamo) and his hostess and gorgeous Sommelier Molly (Scarlett Johansson), Carl begins to prepare a menu that will knock Ramsey’s socks off. Despite his best efforts, the restaurant’s owner Riva thwarts Carl’s plans, forcing him to prepare the same, tired menu that he’s been doing for a decade. As tempers flare and egos parade, the events of Ramsey’s return find Carl without a job, forcing him to seek refuge in his ex-wife Inez (Sofia Vergara) and her eccentric ex-boyfriend Marvin (Robert Downey Jr.). On a surprise trip back to Miami, Carl allows the spice and sizzle of the Latin culture to take hold, and while enjoying a simple Cubano sandwich [basically a ham and cheese sandwich], Carl finds inspiration in owning a food truck.

It’s no surprise that Favreau, who has made excellent relations with A-list actors during his time in the big leagues, likes to surround himself with the best. Chef may not look like your typical independent film feature courtesy of the generic polished coating and a star-studded cast that would make the night sky jealous, but the film uses its high-profile cast to its advantage. From Dustin Hoffman, who plays a the perfect, grumpy restaurateur, to Scarlett Johansson, who captivates with subtle sounds during a seductively sexy food foreplay scene, to the mega superstar Robert Downey Jr., who in only mere minutes, finds a way to convince audiences that he is able to create a more outrageous character than Tony Stark, the film showcases the organic talent of a cast who have spent a little too much time in the bright Hollywood spotlight.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TrilobiteGJun 13, 2015
Family friendly without too much 'cringe sauce', but don't hold the cheddar as it is a tad cheesy. Apart from this, it is pure food pornography at it's finest. I'd go as far to say this is a new genre of movie. Food and Cinema, eat somethingFamily friendly without too much 'cringe sauce', but don't hold the cheddar as it is a tad cheesy. Apart from this, it is pure food pornography at it's finest. I'd go as far to say this is a new genre of movie. Food and Cinema, eat something nice whilst watching the movie, you're gonna get hungry. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
nicholasbertSep 6, 2014
I was positevely impressed by Chef: I originally thought it was going to be worthless, by looking at the trailer - that same trailer that lets you think Scarlett Johansson and Downey Jr. are actually acting in this movie. Rather, andI was positevely impressed by Chef: I originally thought it was going to be worthless, by looking at the trailer - that same trailer that lets you think Scarlett Johansson and Downey Jr. are actually acting in this movie. Rather, and especially for the latter, I think their appearance should be counted as just a cameo.

Chef, helped by Latin music and food imagery, is a handsome comedy without too many pretences and one good script - not good because it's epic or intelligent, good because the dialogues sound natural, for once. Good performances by the supporting cast, in my opinion, but I'm not too fond of the kid and the model.

Good fun watch. Nothing to wrap your brain around, but still.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
BrianMcCriticSep 30, 2014
This is a wonderful heartfelt comedy and one of Favreau's best films. The acting is well done especially the food make sure your ready to eat after this movie. A-
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
joyalSep 5, 2014
Yummy film...!!!!!!!!!!!!!! sweet,tasteful & good feel family film, loved it by my belly , nice timing acting by all actors, sweet screen play make it wonderful ,R D J shines in his little cameo , a perfect film for family's and kid's . iYummy film...!!!!!!!!!!!!!! sweet,tasteful & good feel family film, loved it by my belly , nice timing acting by all actors, sweet screen play make it wonderful ,R D J shines in his little cameo , a perfect film for family's and kid's . i love this chef very much, go for it Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SQG_SlasherJul 9, 2014
An all-around fun film which doesn't bore all of time or go overboard on the comedy. The jokes are correctly deployed while leaving room for what films are meant to do: Tell stories.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
lukechristianscFeb 14, 2016
Writer-director Jon Favreau's "Chef" is a delightful film with great characters, heartwarming not to mention has a heart and a soul, forgot to mention is a piece of art. It's exquisite and after done watching the film it's if you haven't ateWriter-director Jon Favreau's "Chef" is a delightful film with great characters, heartwarming not to mention has a heart and a soul, forgot to mention is a piece of art. It's exquisite and after done watching the film it's if you haven't ate some food this will make you starved to death. Plot: Jon Favreau writes, directs and stars as Carl Casper, an acclaimed chef with a family life as decaying as his artistic freedom. Those frustrations boil over into a raucous viral-videoed public confrontation against a food critic (Oliver Platt) who panned his cooking that his boss Riva (Dustin Hoffman) ordered him to make against his own extincts. His career now ruined, his ex-wife Inez (Sofia Vergara) offers an unorthodox solution in Miami: refit an old food truck. Now him and his son Percy (Emjay Anthony) and old colleague Martin (John Leguizamo) take a working trip across America. Favreau does an amazing job in front and behind the camera, what's also spectacular is the supporting cast not to mention the best child acting performance from Emjay Anthony. Leguizamo is actually funny also does a good performance. 4 out of 5 stars Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
CherryxldApr 11, 2015
Chef es una película que al fin y al cabo resulta agradable en su atmósfera y con un tono disfrutable.

Esta película, a pesar de no ser una comedia potente, sí resulta ser una comedia disfrutable con la que se puede pasar un rato bastante
Chef es una película que al fin y al cabo resulta agradable en su atmósfera y con un tono disfrutable.

Esta película, a pesar de no ser una comedia potente, sí resulta ser una comedia disfrutable con la que se puede pasar un rato bastante agradable en familia, y que además es un film optimista que contiene una trama admirable y decente que logra presentarse de una forma carismática encajándose bien en el género que se desarrolla (la comedia) y que de cierta forma le enseña al público a luchar por sus metas.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
chwOct 19, 2014
Chef wasn't fantastic, but Chef was just as good as the food Jon Favreau made, at the least how it looked. Chef is nearly like Rocky and Taxi Driver, movies about low life's lives, only this movie added some flavor to it to be original.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
diogomendesDec 21, 2014
"Chef" is an enjoyable feel-good comedy that benefits from its compelling cast (especially from its main lead) and its sharp script, even if it's not as funny as the movie wanted it to be.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
alwayswatchingDec 6, 2015
It was fun to watch but I had two problems with it. It very obviously tricks the viewers into resenting the restaurant owner and it is the same old cliche story that we have seen over and over: "follow your dreams and they will come true"
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SilverscreensnoJun 9, 2014
Director - Jon Favreau

Starring - Jon Favreau, John Leguizamo, Sofia Vergara Jon Favreau is a man whose work is more well known than his face. Pete Becker? Happy Hogan? Maybe this is because he has spent the past few years behind the
Director - Jon Favreau

Starring - Jon Favreau, John Leguizamo, Sofia Vergara

Jon Favreau is a man whose work is more well known than his face. Pete Becker? Happy Hogan? Maybe this is because he has spent the past few years behind the camera, helping to create the Iron Man franchise. In his latest film he pulls triple duty; writing, directing and starring.

Chef is a dramedy which tells the tale of Favreau's Carl Casper, a talented chef who, following an incident involving a food critic, lava cake and the internet, takes his talents on the road in a food truck. The film then shows how this affects his relationship with his son and ex wife (the beautiful Sofia Vergara).

Some people may be attracted to the prospect of an Iron Man reunion with the inclusion of Robert Downey Jr. and Scarlett Johansson. However neither actor is in the film for very long, although R.D.J's short turn is utterly hilarious.

Instead the film is at its best when we see the relationship Carl shares with his son Percy (Emjay Anthony) and best friend Martin, (John Leguizamo), as they journey across America in their truck. All three actors are wonderful; their scenes are sparky yet natural.

Do not see this film on an empty stomach. Food is lovingly shot and used to great effect. Meats, spices, fruit, sweets and so on, are given screen time most actors would kill for.

Music is also used creatively with a special guest appearance by Gary Clark Jr. and a brass band version of Marvin Gaye's Sexual Healing; it shouldn't work but somehow, it does. The music adds to each scene without detracting from the action on screen.

The film uses social networking, such as Twitter, as a convincing plot device; from the downfall of Carl to his rapid resurrection and beyond. The audience is reminded how the internet can affect a person's life (maybe a little shot at critics everywhere).

This film was nice. That isn't an insult; it was a genuine pleasure to watch a film that was funny without being embarrassing or gross out. The cast were superb and all looked like they were genuinely having a good time together. I left the cinema feeling happy without having been overwhelmed by action. I would thoroughly recommend this film to cheer up the most miserable soul.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
BetterOffDead_May 16, 2014
brilliant movie, about a chef that over comes adversity by starting his own business with his son and co chef. the cinematography in this if fantastic, this is a movie that anyone can enjoy especially if your into a cooking or a chefbrilliant movie, about a chef that over comes adversity by starting his own business with his son and co chef. the cinematography in this if fantastic, this is a movie that anyone can enjoy especially if your into a cooking or a chef yourself. the acting is this is good, great cast. well written script. a must see! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
elvenkingJan 5, 2015
I think we`re all tired of watching plot twists and struggling characters.That`s why i liked to watch this movie so much. This movie tells a good heartwarming story without upsetting you. You`ll end this film with a satisfying smile on your face
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
kaustubhkumar94Jun 10, 2014
Going into the theater, one might think that they are in for a "one-time watch" comedy flick but it's quite the other way around. I could definitely watch this movie again for all the following reasons
1. Realistic- As funny as it is, one
Going into the theater, one might think that they are in for a "one-time watch" comedy flick but it's quite the other way around. I could definitely watch this movie again for all the following reasons
1. Realistic- As funny as it is, one can imagine this kind of a story "go down" in real life
2. Comedy- It has it's highs and has the crowd laughing.
3. Fast paced story line- one thing i notice in many comedy flicks is that they tend to slow down way too much at times like moments which have emotions running high. This movie kept it going. This movie had its moments but the story kept going.
4. Drama- What i liked a lot about this movie was that this movie did not overly dramatize the story with overly emotional/troubled characters behaving in ways a normal person wouldn't.
5. Characters- Due to the low drama quotient, the audience was able to relate to them.
6. Most of all, i expected an average movie but got my money's worth by watching an above average movie.
The movie did have some flaw but they were barely big enough to keep your thoughts stuck to them. I'd recommend anyone to watch this movie! Kudos to John Favreau!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
4peakflickJun 17, 2014
I loved this film. How refreshing to see a low budget, entertaining American movie. Jon Favreau was brilliant and I purposely ate before I went as the trailer gave a 'taster' of the culinary delights to be expected. Yum! It was slightly weirdI loved this film. How refreshing to see a low budget, entertaining American movie. Jon Favreau was brilliant and I purposely ate before I went as the trailer gave a 'taster' of the culinary delights to be expected. Yum! It was slightly weird to wait approx 45 mins before seeing Robert Downey Jr on screen, and only then briefly - this too, for Dustin Hoffman.
A definite recommend for a light hearted, laugh out loud evening.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
IWattsiusJul 5, 2014
Do not watch "Chef" if you are hungry. Get something to eat and then watch it. It showcases Jon Favreau on fine form, as a director, writer and actor. His sharp script, succulent direction and warm lead performance (backed up by a charismaticDo not watch "Chef" if you are hungry. Get something to eat and then watch it. It showcases Jon Favreau on fine form, as a director, writer and actor. His sharp script, succulent direction and warm lead performance (backed up by a charismatic ensemble) intersect to headline one of the unexpected marvels of the year, a comedy-drama of surprisingly soulful poignancy and wit. A true treat of a film, "Chef" deserves to be seen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
HaithamBAug 4, 2014
Chef is not only the light hearted, smart and catchy comedy of the year, but it also proves that Jon Favreau can pull it off as a director, writer and actor all at the same time!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
ydnar4Nov 28, 2014
Jon Favreau is a person that is relatively unknown in film, despite directing Iron Man 1 and 2 and Elf. Chef was a movie that took a while for me to warm up to. I wasn't really interested in the first part of the movie, it seemed likeJon Favreau is a person that is relatively unknown in film, despite directing Iron Man 1 and 2 and Elf. Chef was a movie that took a while for me to warm up to. I wasn't really interested in the first part of the movie, it seemed like something I had seen so many times before. However I really began to enjoy it after about an hour or so. Facvreau has obviously made an incredible amount of connection while in Hollywood. There are lots of stars scattered through this movie. Chef could have been better but I applaud the effort and hope to see more from Favreau Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
tvnewsguidoSep 6, 2014
A delightful slice of life.

Chef is, at its core, a mid-life crisis story where a middle-aged man is forced by circumstance (and internet notoriety) to find his true artistic voice and redefine his life. There's also a bunch of really
A delightful slice of life.

Chef is, at its core, a mid-life crisis story where a middle-aged man is forced by circumstance (and internet notoriety) to find his true artistic voice and redefine his life. There's also a bunch of really great looking food and some amazing father/son stuff. Emjay Anthony gives an understated and spot on performance here.

The film is somewhat flawed. Many of the actors are given far too much "strutting and fretting" time. Another round in edit might have made this a leaner and more palatable film.

Despite this, I find it hard to believe that you won't find a great deal to like about Chef.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
zperry-20Aug 16, 2014
Apart from dead end character ( characters that weren't necessary ) , Chef provides laughs and heart , some of the best child acting and all of the lead characters were strong. But there were some cringe worthy social media scenes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
werd_119Oct 7, 2014
It's a cute movie. Favreau continues to be an amazing director that stars in his own films. There's an energy and sincerity for the art of making food that instantly makes you hungry. The child actor isn't grating, the Cameo by Robert DowneyIt's a cute movie. Favreau continues to be an amazing director that stars in his own films. There's an energy and sincerity for the art of making food that instantly makes you hungry. The child actor isn't grating, the Cameo by Robert Downey Jr. is excellent, and the Scarlett Johansson bit was well done. John Leguizamo continues to be typecast, but he's believable and good in the role. It also ends upbeat. It's cute.

The only thing that really detracts from it being a perfect movie is the fairly supreme lack of adversity. A man swallows his pride and goes from a bad station in life, to a better one, all while reuniting with his child. I have no problem with trite, and I love movies that are positive, but in my book, this one could have had a bit more gravitas.

It's a happy little splash in the pan, and there's nothing wrong with that, but it doesn't have the weight to pull a 10/10.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
seventhsealSep 23, 2014
A nice warm feel-good movie with one of the best soundtracks I have heard in a very long time. Might even go as far to say I am adding an extra point to overall score due to quality soundtrack.

The story is simply a pretentious but
A nice warm feel-good movie with one of the best soundtracks I have heard in a very long time. Might even go as far to say I am adding an extra point to overall score due to quality soundtrack.

The story is simply a pretentious but miserable and bored chef has a midlife incident as a result of pressure from a restaurant owner scared of change and revered food critic publishing a scathing review.

There are elements of Hollywood cheese but overall i really enjoyed this.

Highly recommended.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
BeachLoverSep 23, 2014
I must say this movie was a pleasant surprise. It ended up being a great cast, a good story and the food was exquisite. It fueled your passion. I think that is when a movie is not just good, but great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MeHimOct 4, 2014
A very good movie to watch overall, only bad thing is that I watched it when I was hungry and couldn't get food (didn't affect my rating btw)

Something that did surprise me is that there was good character development, which didn't happen
A very good movie to watch overall, only bad thing is that I watched it when I was hungry and couldn't get food (didn't affect my rating btw)

Something that did surprise me is that there was good character development, which didn't happen through the amazing "wizard did it".
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
pesho_oneNov 19, 2014
Very well made movie. It hooks you right in the beginning and the plot starts to develop in a nice pace. It also does some good turns. The problem for me - it tries too hard and fails to be fun.
Interesting, maybe, but fun - no. And about
Very well made movie. It hooks you right in the beginning and the plot starts to develop in a nice pace. It also does some good turns. The problem for me - it tries too hard and fails to be fun.
Interesting, maybe, but fun - no. And about that "interesting" factor - after the movie reached 50% it started to loose grip. The plot became stale and predictable.
6 out of 10 for high production values, but not actually making me care nor have a good enough time.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
danippMar 13, 2015
Delicious! An amazing comedy about family, food and also digital marketing. No villains but a comedy about the ordinary life of a very talented Chef who quits his job and starts selling food in a food truck. Seeing this makes you wannaDelicious! An amazing comedy about family, food and also digital marketing. No villains but a comedy about the ordinary life of a very talented Chef who quits his job and starts selling food in a food truck. Seeing this makes you wanna eat...A LOT. And you will also laugh like hell and learn about how to promote your businness on social networks, specially Twitter. The end needed a better contextualization of supporting characters lives but Chef is incredible. Must see! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
boubadiopMar 15, 2015
Chef is just an all round great feel good film, defo worth a watch.

Soundtrack for the film works really well as well with some decent songs in there.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
DavidV293May 19, 2015
A creative most food eating piece of film. Don't watch it when you're hungry or you will just die of hunger. Chef is the perfect cooking film everyone should try to watch. It could be family-friendly but the F bombs is what makes it ratedA creative most food eating piece of film. Don't watch it when you're hungry or you will just die of hunger. Chef is the perfect cooking film everyone should try to watch. It could be family-friendly but the F bombs is what makes it rated 'R'. Adults and teens will sure love this beautiful piece of good movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MattBrady99Mar 10, 2015
Okay before I watched this movie I had a really big meal and while watching the movie I was freaking hungry. This movie is about a failed chef starts up a food truck in order to jump start his creative process while at the same timeOkay before I watched this movie I had a really big meal and while watching the movie I was freaking hungry. This movie is about a failed chef starts up a food truck in order to jump start his creative process while at the same time attempting to reconnect with his estranged family. The best way to describe Jon Favreau character. his a hard working man with a lot of things on his plate, with all the food critics bashing him and he has to spent time with his son and the son really likes spending time with him but with business and keeping up with his job it's really hard for him and you can see that in that movie. And the reason I bring that up because the movie Descendants, in my review for that movie I describe George Clooney's
character in that movie. and in a strange way Jon Favreau is like George Clooney's in the descendants. This movie has cheesy writing at it's best and a fantastic cast & characters. Is it a re-watchable movie, well no but i think this is a well done movie.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
nozamanOct 15, 2015
A great effort from writer/director Jon Favreau. He does a great job of taking a simple premise and turning it into an authentic, at times funny, and often affecting film-- Chef plays like a satisfying short story. At its heart, the film isA great effort from writer/director Jon Favreau. He does a great job of taking a simple premise and turning it into an authentic, at times funny, and often affecting film-- Chef plays like a satisfying short story. At its heart, the film is about a father/son relationship, and Favreau does not dumb it down or fall back on (too many) clichés. You get the feeling these are real people with real issues, yet the film never veers into melodrama. Only caveats: There are maybe a few too many "food porn" montages, and I don't totally buy that a guy like Favreau's Carl could have been with Sofia Vergara AND Scarlett Johansson-- He really doesn't have much to offer. Overall, Chef is the rare film that actually earns the "feel good" label. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MadMaxFuryRoadMay 23, 2015
This is an okay film with LOTS of good food. Definitely better than a lot of 2014 films, yet the plot did have some issues. Scarlet Johannson was in this film barely.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
JackOfNoTradesAug 13, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is a movie about Jon Favreau, written, directed, produced, and starring Jon Favreau. No characters are developed because why would we want to know anything about anyone other than Jon Favreau? The guy is mega-talented, but has lost his inspiration. He's hit rock bottom, except that he's sleeping with Scarlett Johansson, which is rock bottom for a stud like Jon Favreau. That's just one of dozens of plot holes we're supposed to ignore. The predictable ending includes Jon Favreau getting back together with Sofia Vergara, you know, because he's Jon Favreau and he's found his way again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
OscarTJan 26, 2016
Have you seen Chef? Because it is without a shadow of a doubt, THE BEST Anime of all time. Anyone who says otherwise must have brain cancer or something
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MEFzelderMay 26, 2016
Con un poco de humor, mensajes sobre la familia y mucho porno gastronómico "Chef" es una buena película que sobresale gracias a su fotografía.
La película nos presenta a Carl Casper (Jon Favreau), un chef separado más enfocado en sostener
Con un poco de humor, mensajes sobre la familia y mucho porno gastronómico "Chef" es una buena película que sobresale gracias a su fotografía.
La película nos presenta a Carl Casper (Jon Favreau), un chef separado más enfocado en sostener su carrera que compartir con su hijo. El día en que esta preparándose para enfrentar la crítica de un reconocido blogger. Tras haber fallado, desconociendo el mundo de Internet, inicia sus pasos en las redes sociales y arregla un reto con el crítico que lo vuelve viral.
Todo inicia tras esos hechos, con su carrera golpeada por los comentarios positivos y negativos con los que nos tiene acostumbrado éste mundo debe reestructurar su vida, ayudado por su hijo y un asistente.
En general la película te entretiene todo el tiempo, si no es por el humor que nos brinda el elenco, es por las imágenes, exhibiendo la cultura gastronómica y estatal de diferentes ciudades de Estados Unidos. El mensaje que nos deja es muy bueno, ejemplificando que una relación se contruye a base de compartir más que solo estar presente; sin mencionar el mensaje en contra de las críticas de Internet.
Si hay algo para criticarle son los tiempos muertos, momentos en donde no sucede nada y solo sirven para quemar segundos de película, y un par de decisiones de producción como forzar una relación amorosa solo para cumplir con lo convencional, y a pesar de que la película no lo necesite.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews