User Score
4.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 132 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 132
  2. Negative: 45 out of 132

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 21, 2014
    6
    The idea is fairly unique and creative making for and interesting plot, however It's dim scenes and shaky camera movements make for a difficult ride. So interesting it deserves a sequel (A shot at redemption)
  2. Oct 12, 2014
    10
    Very awesome! I would like to see pewdiepie on this movie and hearing him screaming like a little girl.

    I don't know why this movie has low ratings, I enjoyed a lot.
  3. Oct 8, 2014
    4
    Summary: Chernobyl Diaries boasts an eerie setting, but its screenplay is awful and the characters are forgettable. 40/100 [C-]

    Directed by Bradley Parker and written by Oren Peli. Chernobyl Diaries is a horror film released in 2012. It was filmed in Hungary and some other close locations. Its whole location is scary and the plot is quite interesting. Its first act delivers some fake
    jump-scares; So, if you're a person who gets scared easily, i recommend it. Even though it has 86 minutes of running time, it was pretty boring, because the suspense is awfully handled. Also, the script and the situations are very cliché. The worst thing about it is that it had lots of potential, this is such a waste of time.

    There's a huge lack of screenplay, the direction and the writing are so lazy. The camera work is cheap and crappy. It's great to see a film about this catastrophe, of course it's a good idea, but "Chernobyl Diaries" fails to give us interesting characters and genuine scares. It definitely has its moments but the plot is very confusing, especially in its last act. Sometimes the film is way too dark, it's almost unwatchable. Well, at least the performances were decent and a few scares were effective. It is just another mediocre Blumhouse production just like "The Devil Inside" and "Insidious: Chapter 2".

    I recommend it only for very curious horror fans and people who get scared easily. The first time i saw it i really liked it, but after the second viewing i realize how bad written it was. In conclusion, Chernobyl Diaries boasts a frightening setting that is wasted by an awful script, poor direction and awful camera work. Anyway i recommend it if you're curious horror fan, or if you have low expectations. I don't recommend it if you're not a huge fan of the genre, or if you expect lots of scares and surprises. Spooky location, bad execution, that's it. [C-] Check out my blog: www.memobosque.blogspot.mx Twitter: @MemoBosque
    Expand
  4. Feb 18, 2014
    0
    Simply aweful. The movie itselfdragged on and on despite its relatively short run time. To be clear it is not found footage, it's just bad filming. I had high hopes for the movie as Chernobyl is a very unique setting, however that is where the uniqueness ends. If you've seen one bad horror movie, you've seen this one. Any difference would be that there aren't actually any scary parts or suspense. Many have said it's a low budget film as though that's an excuse, but i have seen scarier movies on YouTube. The acting was meh but that's probably more a consequence of the bad writing. The characters seem to be competing with those from Scary Movie for idiocy. If there is an upside, it's that the movie is so bad it makes it easy to miss some of the many plot holes. The mutants are strong enough to filp a van over and roll it at least a hundred feet but cabt push a door open? The guy with the broken leg runs quite a ways back to the van but then cant walk? At one point the group walks for 5-10 minutes in one direction but then it takes them at least 6 hours to go back the same distance. There are numerous times when things like flashlights just appear in the characters hands. Not to mention the idea that spending 3 days within 1/2 a mile of Chernobyl should have made them all very sick. This movie is bad from start too finish, don't waste your time watching it. Expand
  5. Sep 26, 2013
    6
    Chernobyl Diaries in an effective thriller, but only good at most. It is shot in the style of Paranormal Activity, except the story that captivated millions in Paranormal doesn't show here. Instead, we have a shell of a horror movie that has many clichés and flaws, but is worth a look-see. Well, at least a look-see at the last half hour, because the rest of the movie is just filler.
  6. Aug 23, 2013
    10
    I don't know why Chernobyl Diaries isn't liked much; maybe it has to do with the movie Cabin in the Woods (That I never saw). That movie might by good, but Chernobyl Diaries is my favourite horror movie of all time! The setting is a big bowl of yay, being set in the title's location and now not your sister's diary. The plot is a group of tourists, some family and friends, others now, going to Chernobyl with an ex-Spetsnaz. Obviously goes down, but in a very well paced manner. Many horror movies annoy me with either the paranormal or psycho killer threat, Chernobyl Diaries is like The Tunnel and makes the threat neither truly human, nor truly fictitious, but instead-REALLY CREEPY. The plot may not be the most focused, but there are two huge awesome parts, 1. There is like no music, so when there is tension rising, it is on screen and also, the camera angles work to give a good angle of what we need to be scared. Also; the ending is perfect, rather than be ambiguous, sequel bait or happy time; this movie goes "This is how this ends" and gives the most respectful horror movie ending ever-GO. WATCH. IT. Expand
  7. Jul 29, 2013
    5
    Chernobyl Diaries is far from the Paranormal Activity series or Insidious, but it is a good film in its own right. View the film knowing that it is less for the scares and more for the anxiety. Appreciate it for what it is meant to be. The acting isn't great, but the camera work and setting are absolutely phenomenal. A+ cinematography on this film. Motion graphics not so much, but cinematography was excellent. In regards to the end, since everyone seemed to hate it to the bones, what did you think was going to happen? For once a horror film fully realizes that sometimes actions have consequences. Though it seemed like a no brainer story-wise, it played completely original on screen and I honor Peli for that. Chernobyl Diaries is not the greatest horror movie ever made, but it is worth a watch. Expand
  8. Jun 11, 2013
    7
    That's a great film. Good plot and great direction. The end.. bahh extraordinary I am sad that this movie has such bad reviews. In my opinion it's a must-see horror movie of the decade. Not the best of course, but still a good one
  9. Jun 10, 2013
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I found the first half of the movie good. If it would have stuck with the first half, and continued as a documentary, this movie would have been a 9 or a 10, easily. The second half of this movie is frustrating, with bad camera angles, and constant sprinting from zombies, something which is being overused. The idea was great, even with the zombies, and this movie had a lot of potential. How the movie was presented was close to pathetic, and it was just frustrating seeing the wasted potential of this movie. Expand
  10. May 4, 2013
    8
    This is the scariest horror I have seen. The suspense and tension is jaw dropping and some quality plot twists towards the end.

    NO SPOILERS: The story is about 6 people who take a tour out to Chernobyl were the reactor core 4 blew up 26 years ago causing everyone to evacuate and while they are there they become stuck and with no one to help them they are lost... but are they alone.


    The acting is mediocre with some bland acting mixed with good but its the atmosphere and tension which really keeps the movie alive and it never drops is pace of awe and terror and using the atmosphere around them really keeps it interesting. The only problem I have with the movie is that I fell the characters could of been more deeper and interesting as they are very generic but still worth a buy under 8 pounds or a rent and it really doesn't deserve the bashing its been getting.
    Expand
  11. May 1, 2013
    3
    I am not a fan of this genera of movie. I am normally a scaredy cat but this movie didn't even make me flinch. The acting was horrid, it even made me laugh it was so bad. I liked the idea of being in Chernonyl and the exposer to radiation. I think they could have done it a lot better than they did.
  12. Apr 23, 2013
    3
    I honestly can't believe all the negative reviews, In my opinion from so-called horror movies like Paranormal Activity, Saw, Psycho, etc. This has been the mos entertaining sure the characters were bad, excluding. the girl who made it to the end, She was actually the only real one and good one and smart one. Sure I didn't get scared my girlfriend jumped a few times, but eh. But the atmosphere was creepy. I liked the idea a good mutant/zombie film better then 28 Days Later. Were ever Chernobyl actually happened this better not be shown there or America will have another war going on, unless there reasonable enouh to realize its just a movie. The only part of the film tha literally felt the most unrealistic didnt include any mutants, it envovled a bear in some building. My point is watch it. Expand
  13. Mar 30, 2013
    5
    All I can say is it's not scary. It has a creepy setting and could have been downright terrifying had they relied on something other than predictable jump scares that you can see coming from a mile away. There's no real atmosphere and they spent to long in the beginning of the movie trying to get you to like the characters by giving us their story before going into this ordeal, and I've never been a big fan of that kind of thing. In my opinion they should just throw the people into the middle of the horror ASAP and sprinkle their story throughout. It's never gruesome enough, never smart enough, and certainly never scary enough to be considered a good horror movie. Which is sad because there are some true hints of genius hidden throughout that show potential for an outstanding horror movie, but I have to review the movie based on what it is and not what it could be. Collapse
  14. Mar 16, 2013
    1
    This movie stinks, just another terrible horror movie. How fun would it be to visit Chernobyl? That is a serious question that this movie asks. Chernobyl Diaries is one of the worst of 2012.
  15. Mar 11, 2013
    6
    Chernobyl Diaries is the Directorial debut from Bradley Parker and Written by the man who brought us four installments of Paranormal Activity, Oren Peli, but the only thing original about this film is it's location. A group of friends are traveling through Europe in what looks like a shot for shot remake of Hostel, when they meet a man who gives tours of the abandon city near Chernobyl. After being rejected entry into the city, the group sneaks in and runs into a whole mess of trouble. This is your very basic zombie film, with nothing extraordinary about it. You've seen this story a hundred times, but what makes Chernobyl Diaries different is that it takes place in Russia and features a talent cast. What's interesting about this cast is that none of them have any background in horror. Jesse McCartney is a singer who does mostly voice over work, and Devin Kelley is almost strictly a TV actress. Taking these role was something new for them and they really put all they had into it. I feel like it was wasted effort though, as this film really is nothing different. Friends on vacation go to a unique location and run into something supernatural that tries to kill them, it's been done over and over again. The unique location made for a great start to something, unfortunately the writers didn't know what to do with that, and the result is another ordinary film that gets an average rating. Expand
  16. Jan 12, 2013
    10
    "Chernobyl Diaries" is like being in the world of Silent Hill which is 100% scary, no, terrifying to be honest.
    "Chernobyl Diaries" delivers good scares, good scenes, and a great horrific-adventurous plot, with a great movie twist, expected somehow that they will get stick in Chernobyl, but great!
  17. Jan 5, 2013
    0
    Well i know that Metacritic is giving us the 5000 maximum character to write our reviews. But for this movie i think i don't need 1000-5000 characters to write the review of this movie. This movie is a total crap, didn't live up to it's expectation. Bad acting, really not scary at all, and stupid execution. And i think this movie gives all of us a very valuable lesson, and that is: TO NOT GET EXCITED VERY QUICKLY WHEN YOU SEE THE TRAILER OF THE FILM. Expand
  18. Jan 4, 2013
    4
    Suspense and atmosphere may be present at times as with a couple well constructed scares, but Chernobyl Diaries is a horribly executed film that could have been fun but ends up being cheap and frustrating.
  19. Jan 1, 2013
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. "Chernobyl Diaries" has a promising setup, but ultimately gives you nothing you haven't seen before in countless other horror films. When a group of American teenagers accepts an offer from a Russian extreme tourist guide to an abandoned town just outside Chernobyl, they quickly discover they're not alone and find themselves in a grim fight for survival . . . only, really, there's less fighting in this movie than just vaguely incoherent running, chasing and split-second scary images. It honestly plays and feels like a found-footage movie, despite not actually being one, and although the acting is decent, it's only at its best in the first act, when it's relying on the atmosphere of the abandoned town itself to build suspense. After that, you just get some dogs, a bunch of people you never see clearly, a series of moronic decisions to continue further and further into the high-radiation zones (they actually end up right outside the friggin' Chernobyl reactor), and a conclusion that is as unsurprising as it is unoriginal. I'll give the film credit for its characters, as they are much more believable and likeable than most other horror flick teenagers, but they're only slightly less idiotic in their decisions and, of course, all die (the last one counts, I say). The result? A rather messy and underdeveloped film that wastes an engaging context on cliches, tropes and a thorough lack of authentic tension or excitement. Expand
  20. Nov 20, 2012
    9
    Chernobyl is scary as hell
  21. Nov 7, 2012
    5
    I was expecting a LOT more of what it could be . The setting is what maintains this movie alive because it's interesting but what drags CD is that is so predictable all around it that makes you yell your TV not by how scary it is ( that it really isn't ) but by how stupid the script is . While the acting was admirably fine and the atmosphere really accomplished what you deserved in the last minutes everything collapse and breaks the pace. Expand
  22. Oct 29, 2012
    7
    "Terror in Chernobyl" is not a perfect film, but it has its quasi-found-footage charm terrifying. This is due to the simplicity of fictional suspense, and perhaps the film disappoint Hollywood fans, but it fits well and leads to a curious adventure where terror is not just a pompous CGI monster. It's like a little walk of skewed insinuation becomes in darkness radioactive danger.
  23. Oct 20, 2012
    3
    There is no denying the set pieces are amazing. I will give the film one point for that. Another point comes from the creative writing and conversations the characters have towards the start of the movie. And the third and final point comes from the fact that this is not a found footage film. I'm sick of those. Other than that this is a scare-deprived, cop out ending, recycled piece of garbage.
  24. Sep 30, 2012
    4
    Whilst there are a few moments where tension is built nicely, the fact that the only interesting thing about the film atall is the setting says a lot. A forgettable breeze of a horror movie that packs a few moments of brief tension, but no actual scares to back it up.
  25. Sep 23, 2012
    9
    It's one of the scary movies I have been afraid. This movie has a little of what happened after the Chernobyl disaster, and I personally find very interesting topic. The film is highly recommended and entertaining.
  26. Aug 8, 2012
    3
    What I enjoyed the most, was the complete lack of logic, no plot, bad acting and less brain then Paris Hilton has
  27. Aug 7, 2012
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie, is bad and good. But, mostly bad. What really pissed me off about this movie was how it ended.. It didn't leave me extremely disappointed, but extremely pissed. You find out that Chernobyl is pretty much controlled by these people. The movie went too fast. It was one thing after the other. The acting was pretty awful. But, I was somewhat entertained. Expand
  28. Jul 9, 2012
    7
    Unlike most people, I enjoyed this movie. It was terrifying, but in a good way. Jesse McCartney did a good job in the film, and I can definitely see him appearing in some more over the next few years. My only real reservation is how the ending was orchestrated. I would have done it differently. However, I was definitely not expecting it to end that way, so I give a kudos to the makers of this film on that. Expand
  29. Jul 7, 2012
    5
    I had a rather good time watching this. It is the kind of low budget movie you know will get made over and over. Simple idea. Simple execution. Simple to follow. And easy to enjoy. In fact there's not even a need for real name actors of any kind... If you are an independent filmmaker and your uncle has a bag full of money, make this movie. It will work. Guaranteed.
    I found the script to
    be well crafted. It didn't ask much from the audience. The problem upon which the horror theme is built is quite simple. It revolves around a nuclear disaster with enough notoriety to gain instant credibility. What of the small towns that surround the Chernobyl nuclear meltdown? Specially when we have in current news the nuclear disaster in Japan? Perhaps we should repeat this formula in its Japanese version? I'm in!
    The scares come mostly from what we don't see. A job well done by the filmmakers. They keep us wondering what the hell is out there? And they actually hold out long enough to show us and stay interested. Also, the Russian guide does a great job hinting at the fact that he knows more than he is telling these kids. And the kids themselves make good use of their roles. Believable all the way through.
    I don't want to give away the surprises. But if there was a small shortcoming, and I do insists on short, it was their practical effects budget. You'll see what I mean.
    I would have rewritten the ending slightly different. A couple of choices didn't need to overdo it, but it is believable where it is. I liked it, and I'm sure you won't be disappointed when you watch it.
    Expand
  30. Jun 28, 2012
    6
    First things first, this is NOT another found footage movie, even though the trailer made it seem that way. Instead, it is a pretty atmospheric, creepy and in some spots genuinely frightening piece of modern horror. I enjoyed the film for its creepy atmosphere and mood. However, my only qualms about it concern the fact that at times it seems the filmmakers are trying to make some money off the worst nuclear disaster in history. Also, venturing into the highly radioactive Prypiat doesn't really sound like a fun day out, especially if at night you'll be dragged off screaming by a bunch of zombie-mutants that want to rip your intestines out and feast on your flesh. Overall, its good for an adrenaline rush of fast-paced horror with no intelligence behind it. Expand
Metascore
32

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 17
  2. Negative: 8 out of 17
  1. Reviewed by: Ken McIntyre
    Jun 21, 2012
    40
    Diaries is dark and gruesome, but with little in the way of genuine shock or surprise, you should expect the expected.
  2. Reviewed by: Hank Sartin
    May 29, 2012
    40
    If, as some critics have claimed, "The Cabin in the Woods" made the horror genre obsolete, someone forgot to tell screenwriter Oren Peli.
  3. Reviewed by: Wesley Morris
    May 26, 2012
    25
    The movie wants us to find this frightening, but there's no suspense, no terrifying images.